DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 of U.S. Application No. 18/462046 filed on 02/12/2026 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed02/12/2026. Claims 1, & 4-6 are presently amended. Claims 1-6 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous claim objections: the amendments to the claims overcome the previous claim objection(s). Therefore, the previous claim objection(s) is/are withdrawn.
In regards to the previous claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f): Applicant does not provide separate remarks regarding the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation. Accordingly, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation is maintained.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose the limitation “the shelf includes a column having the upper tier and lower tier”. Applicant further argues on page. 6 of the remarks, “Claim 4 is amended to clarify that the sorting source box and the sorting destination box are vertically aligned within the same column of the shelf. Kimura does not disclose this single-column vertical arrangement. In Kimura, the storage box 103A and the transfer box 3101 are located in different frontages of the storage shelf 102, i.e., different horizontal positions. As shown in Kimura's Figures 31 and 33, the storage box 103A at the upper tier and the transfer box 3101 at a lower tier are not vertically aligned in the same column. Rather, Kimura's transfer boxes are placed in dedicated transfer frontages that are horizontally offset from the storage frontages where the source articles are stored. ([0219], [0220], [0235], and [0236] of Kimura). Because the sorting source and sorting destination boxes in Kimura occupy different columns of the shelf, Kimura does not teach or suggest that "the shelf includes a column having the upper tier and the lower tier" where the sorting source box and sorting destination box are both contained within that same column.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. The prior art Kimura is incorporated to disclose a picking system for taking out an article stored in a shelf or a container. Kimura further discloses a robot that travels to the storage shelf and receives instructions for exchanging articles from one storage box to another storage box (see at least Kimura, para. [0218-0220]). Further Kimura shows the exchange happening between box boxes that are in the same column in view of Figure. 31-32. The Figures 31-32 show the exchange between two boxes in the same column, considering that there are no other boxes blocking the boxes where the exchange is occurring from the Figures. In view of the arguments, the 103 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2021/0371200A1 (“Thorhallsson”).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“transfer means for putting each box in or taking it out of the shelf” in claims 1, & 5-6.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure for the above limitation described in the specification: (see at least Applicant Specification, page. 8 lines 5-20: That is, the sorting robot 140 may function as transfer means for pulling out each box 10 from the shelf 100. Alternatively, a pullout mechanism provided on the shelf 100 may also pull the box 10 halfway out.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019/137543A (“Kimura”), in view of US 10865043B1 (“Garcia”), in view of US 2021/0371200A1 (“Thorhallsson”).
As per claim 1 Kimura discloses
A sorting system comprising (see at least Kimura, para. [0001]: The present invention relates to a picking system for taking out an article stored in a shelf or a container.):
a shelf in which a plurality of boxes are contained in a plurality of tiers (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0095]: The storage shelf ID 1501 is information for identifying the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf stage number 1502 is the number of stages 202 included in the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf column number 1503 is the number of columns that each shelf surface of the storage shelf 102 has. The frontage of the storage shelf 102 can be specified by the shelf surface, stage, and row of the storage shelf 102.);
transfer means for putting each box in or taking each said box out of the shelf (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0039]: The gripper 502 may be, for example, a so-called suction gripper that sucks an object using negative pressure, or may be a type of gripper that holds the object by sandwiching the object with a plurality of claws. For example, one robot arm 501B grips the storage box 103 and pulls it out from the front of the storage shelf 102, the other robot arm 501A takes out the item to be picked from the storage box 103, and then the robot arm 501B moves to the storage box 103 may be returned to the frontage and released, the sorting box 108 corresponding to the delivery destination of the article may be pulled out from the frontage of the sorting shelf 107, and the article held by the robot arm 501A may be stored in the sorting box 108.); and
a sorting robot configured to put an item in or take the item out of each box (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0220]: The robot 110 pulls out the storage box 103A using one of the two arms 501 and takes out the article from the storage box 103A using the other arm 501 (FIG. 31A). Thereafter, the robot 110 returns the storage box 103A to the original position, pulls out the transfer box 3101, and stores the articles taken out from the storage box 103A in the transfer box 3101 (FIG. 31B). When the robot 110 returns the transfer box 3101 to the original position, the robot 110 transmits a transfer completion report to the overall management computer 116.), wherein
the transfer means pulls the box contained in an upper tier halfway out and the sorting robot puts in or takes the item out of each of the box contained in the upper tier and the box contained in a lower tier (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0220]: The robot 110 pulls out the storage box 103A using one of the two arms 501 and takes out the article from the storage box 103A using the other arm 501 (FIG. 31A). Thereafter, the robot 110 returns the storage box 103A to the original position, pulls out the transfer box 3101, and stores the articles taken out from the storage box 103A in the transfer box 3101 (FIG. 31B). When the robot 110 returns the transfer box 3101 to the original position, the robot 110 transmits a transfer completion report to the overall management computer 116.).
However Kimura does not explicitly disclose
a sorting robot attached to the shelf,
while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box.
Garcia teaches
a sorting robot attached to the shelf configured to put an item in or take the item out of each box (see at least Garcia, col. 15, lines 20-45: Further, in alternative embodiments or in some iterations of the method, the robotic manipulator122 can grasp inventory items directly from the shelfing system 106 without grasping storage containers 150 carrying the inventory items, and then can place the inventory items onto the conveyor114 without placing storage containers 150 on the conveyor 114.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kimura to incorporate the teaching of a sorting robot attached to the shelf of Garcia, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to have a higher storage density than the conventional shelving units (see at least Garcia, col. 2 lines 5-7).
Thorhallsson teaches
while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box (see at least Thorhallsson, Fig. 6 & para. [0067-0068]: FIG. 6 shows a system 43 for automatic storage, picking and packing of items, wherein the arrangement 45 of shelves 9, wherein a first 47 and second 49 sub arrangement of shelves 9 is positioned next to each other at the same side of the plane of the movement frame 17 of the robotic arm 1. Here the items may be picked more efficiently, however, fewer items can be reached by the robotic arm 1. The system 43 comprises packing boxes 51 for packing of the picked items. When the packing boxes 51 are packed, they may be moved to a trolley 53 for being collected. The shelves 9 of the trolley 53 may also be inclined, such that several packing boxes 51 may be placed on each shelf 9 of the trolley 53 simply by using the packing box 51 grabbed by the robotic arm 1 to push back the packing boxes 51 already placed on said shelf 9. The system 43 shown in this figure is thus conveyor-free, i.e. no conveyor is included in the system 43. In this way, the system 43 can easily be installed in e.g. a store without the need for installing a large conveyor system. [Examiner Note: Boxes 51 in Figure. 6 are shown to be half way out to be exchanged with articles or taken articles out.].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kimura to incorporate the teaching while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box of Thorhallsson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to be picked very efficiently (see at least Thorhallsson, para. [0067]).
As per claim 2 Kimura discloses
wherein the shelf is composed of a plurality of tiers and a plurality of columns (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0095]: The storage shelf ID 1501 is information for identifying the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf stage number 1502 is the number of stages 202 included in the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf column number 1503 is the number of columns that each shelf surface of the storage shelf 102 has. The frontage of the storage shelf 102 can be specified by the shelf surface, stage, and row of the storage shelf 102.), and
the plurality of columns include a column in which a box including an item to be sorted is contained and a column in which a box including a sorted item is contained (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0220]: The robot 110 pulls out the storage box 103A using one of the two arms 501 and takes out the article from the storage box 103A using the other arm 501 (FIG. 31A). Thereafter, the robot 110 returns the storage box 103A to the original position, pulls out the transfer box 3101, and stores the articles taken out from the storage box 103A in the transfer box 3101 (FIG. 31B). When the robot 110 returns the transfer box 3101 to the original position, the robot 110 transmits a transfer completion report to the overall management computer 116.), and
each of the box contained in the upper tier and the box contained in the lower tier is the box including the item to be sorted, or each of the box contained in the upper tier and the box contained in the lower tier is the box including the sorted item (see at least Kimura, para. [0220-0223]: In the example of FIG. 31, when both the articles stored in the storage box 103A and the articles stored in the storage box 103B are delivered to one delivery destination, these articles are put into one sorting box 108 by sorting work. Stored. If any of the articles can be picked by the robot 110, it is possible to sort the articles in the robot work area 109 without performing the transfer as described above.).
As per claim 3 Kimura discloses
wherein at least one of the box contained in the upper tier and the box contained in the lower tier is a box in which the item is temporarily placed during a sorting work (see at least Kimura, para. [0220-0223]: In the example of FIG. 31, when both the articles stored in the storage box 103A and the articles stored in the storage box 103B are delivered to one delivery destination, these articles are put into one sorting box 108 by sorting work. Stored. If any of the articles can be picked by the robot 110, it is possible to sort the articles in the robot work area 109 without performing the transfer as described above.).
As per claim 4 Kimura discloses
the shelf includes a column having the upper tier and the lower tier, and wherein the box contained in the upper tier of the column is the box including the item to be sorted and the box stored in the lower tier of the column is the box including the sorted item, or the box stored in the upper tier of the column is the box including the sorted item and the box stored in the lower tier of the column is the box including the item to be sorted (see at least Kimura, para. [0220]: The robot 110 pulls out the storage box 103A using one of the two arms 501 and takes out the article from the storage box 103A using the other arm 501 (FIG. 31A). Thereafter, the robot 110 returns the storage box 103A to the original position, pulls out the transfer box 3101, and stores the articles taken out from the storage box 103A in the transfer box 3101 (FIG. 31B). & para. [0220-0223]: In the example of FIG. 31, when both the articles stored in the storage box 103A and the articles stored in the storage box 103B are delivered to one delivery destination, these articles are put into one sorting box 108 by sorting work. Stored. If any of the articles can be picked by the robot 110, it is possible to sort the articles in the robot work area 109 without performing the transfer as described above.).
As per claim 5 Kimura discloses
A sorting method performed by a sorting system comprising (see at least Kimura, para. [0001]: The present invention relates to a picking system for taking out an article stored in a shelf or a container.):
a shelf in which a plurality of boxes are contained in a plurality of tiers (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0095]: The storage shelf ID 1501 is information for identifying the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf stage number 1502 is the number of stages 202 included in the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf column number 1503 is the number of columns that each shelf surface of the storage shelf 102 has. The frontage of the storage shelf 102 can be specified by the shelf surface, stage, and row of the storage shelf 102.);
transfer means for putting each box in or taking each said box out of the shelf (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0039]: The gripper 502 may be, for example, a so-called suction gripper that sucks an object using negative pressure, or may be a type of gripper that holds the object by sandwiching the object with a plurality of claws. For example, one robot arm 501B grips the storage box 103 and pulls it out from the front of the storage shelf 102, the other robot arm 501A takes out the item to be picked from the storage box 103, and then the robot arm 501B moves to the storage box 103 may be returned to the frontage and released, the sorting box 108 corresponding to the delivery destination of the article may be pulled out from the frontage of the sorting shelf 107, and the article held by the robot arm 501A may be stored in the sorting box 108.); and
a sorting robot configured to put an item in or take the item out of each box, the sorting method comprising, by the transfer means, pulling the box contained in an upper tier halfway out and the sorting robot putting in or taking the item out of each of the box contained in the upper tier and the box contained in a lower tier (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0220]: The robot 110 pulls out the storage box 103A using one of the two arms 501 and takes out the article from the storage box 103A using the other arm 501 (FIG. 31A). Thereafter, the robot 110 returns the storage box 103A to the original position, pulls out the transfer box 3101, and stores the articles taken out from the storage box 103A in the transfer box 3101 (FIG. 31B). When the robot 110 returns the transfer box 3101 to the original position, the robot 110 transmits a transfer completion report to the overall management computer 116.).
However Kimura does not explicitly disclose
a sorting robot attached to the shelf,
while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box.
Garcia teaches
a sorting robot attached to the shelf configured to put an item in or take the item out of each box (see at least Garcia, col. 15, lines 20-45: Further, in alternative embodiments or in some iterations of the method, the robotic manipulator122 can grasp inventory items directly from the shelfing system 106 without grasping storage containers 150 carrying the inventory items, and then can place the inventory items onto the conveyor114 without placing storage containers 150 on the conveyor 114.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kimura to incorporate the teaching of a sorting robot attached to the shelf of Garcia, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to have a higher storage density than the conventional shelving units (see at least Garcia, col. 2 lines 5-7).
Thorhallsson teaches
while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box (see at least Thorhallsson, Fig. 6 & para. [0067-0068]: FIG. 6 shows a system 43 for automatic storage, picking and packing of items, wherein the arrangement 45 of shelves 9, wherein a first 47 and second 49 sub arrangement of shelves 9 is positioned next to each other at the same side of the plane of the movement frame 17 of the robotic arm 1. Here the items may be picked more efficiently, however, fewer items can be reached by the robotic arm 1. The system 43 comprises packing boxes 51 for packing of the picked items. When the packing boxes 51 are packed, they may be moved to a trolley 53 for being collected. The shelves 9 of the trolley 53 may also be inclined, such that several packing boxes 51 may be placed on each shelf 9 of the trolley 53 simply by using the packing box 51 grabbed by the robotic arm 1 to push back the packing boxes 51 already placed on said shelf 9. The system 43 shown in this figure is thus conveyor-free, i.e. no conveyor is included in the system 43. In this way, the system 43 can easily be installed in e.g. a store without the need for installing a large conveyor system. [Examiner Note: Boxes 51 in Figure. 6 are shown to be half way out to be exchanged with articles or taken articles out.].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kimura to incorporate the teaching of while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box of Thorhallsson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to be picked very efficiently (see at least Thorhallsson, para. [0067]).
As per claim 6 Kimura discloses
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a sorting method performed by a sorting system comprising (see at least Kimura, para. [0001]: The present invention relates to a picking system for taking out an article stored in a shelf or a container. & para. [0262]: Further, each of the above-described configurations, functions, and the like may be realized by software by interpreting and executing a program that realizes each function by the processor….):
a shelf in which a plurality of boxes are contained in a plurality of tiers (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0095]: The storage shelf ID 1501 is information for identifying the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf stage number 1502 is the number of stages 202 included in the storage shelf 102. The storage shelf column number 1503 is the number of columns that each shelf surface of the storage shelf 102 has. The frontage of the storage shelf 102 can be specified by the shelf surface, stage, and row of the storage shelf 102.);
transfer means for putting each box in or taking each said box out of the shelf (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0039]: The gripper 502 may be, for example, a so-called suction gripper that sucks an object using negative pressure, or may be a type of gripper that holds the object by sandwiching the object with a plurality of claws. For example, one robot arm 501B grips the storage box 103 and pulls it out from the front of the storage shelf 102, the other robot arm 501A takes out the item to be picked from the storage box 103, and then the robot arm 501B moves to the storage box 103 may be returned to the frontage and released, the sorting box 108 corresponding to the delivery destination of the article may be pulled out from the frontage of the sorting shelf 107, and the article held by the robot arm 501A may be stored in the sorting box 108.); and
a sorting robot configured to put an item in or take the item out of each box, the sorting method comprising, by the transfer means, pulling the box contained in an upper tier halfway out and the sorting robot putting in or taking the item out of each of the box contained in the upper tier and the box contained in a lower tier (see at least Kimura, Fig. 31-32, & para. [0220]: The robot 110 pulls out the storage box 103A using one of the two arms 501 and takes out the article from the storage box 103A using the other arm 501 (FIG. 31A). Thereafter, the robot 110 returns the storage box 103A to the original position, pulls out the transfer box 3101, and stores the articles taken out from the storage box 103A in the transfer box 3101 (FIG. 31B). When the robot 110 returns the transfer box 3101 to the original position, the robot 110 transmits a transfer completion report to the overall management computer 116.).
However Kimura does not explicitly disclose
a sorting robot attached to the shelf,
while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box.
Garcia teaches
a sorting robot attached to the shelf configured to put an item in or take the item out of each box (see at least Garcia, col. 15, lines 20-45: Further, in alternative embodiments or in some iterations of the method, the robotic manipulator122 can grasp inventory items directly from the shelfing system 106 without grasping storage containers 150 carrying the inventory items, and then can place the inventory items onto the conveyor114 without placing storage containers 150 on the conveyor 114.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kimura to incorporate the teaching of a sorting robot attached to the shelf of Garcia, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to have a higher storage density than the conventional shelving units (see at least Garcia, col. 2 lines 5-7).
Thorhallsson teaches
while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box (see at least Thorhallsson, Fig. 6 & para. [0067-0068]: FIG. 6 shows a system 43 for automatic storage, picking and packing of items, wherein the arrangement 45 of shelves 9, wherein a first 47 and second 49 sub arrangement of shelves 9 is positioned next to each other at the same side of the plane of the movement frame 17 of the robotic arm 1. Here the items may be picked more efficiently, however, fewer items can be reached by the robotic arm 1. The system 43 comprises packing boxes 51 for packing of the picked items. When the packing boxes 51 are packed, they may be moved to a trolley 53 for being collected. The shelves 9 of the trolley 53 may also be inclined, such that several packing boxes 51 may be placed on each shelf 9 of the trolley 53 simply by using the packing box 51 grabbed by the robotic arm 1 to push back the packing boxes 51 already placed on said shelf 9. The system 43 shown in this figure is thus conveyor-free, i.e. no conveyor is included in the system 43. In this way, the system 43 can easily be installed in e.g. a store without the need for installing a large conveyor system. [Examiner Note: Boxes 51 in Figure. 6 are shown to be half way out to be exchanged with articles or taken articles out.].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kimura to incorporate the teaching while the box contained is in the halfway-out position, the sorting robot puts the item in or takes the item out of each of the box of Thorhallsson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to be picked very efficiently (see at least Thorhallsson, para. [0067]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668