Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regard to claim 9.
Karjalainen et al. (US 20240267181 A1) or Karjalainen
Karjalainen teaches a network node receiving, through many ports, an uplink signal, detecting, for a port in the many ports, an uplink transmit power, with the port being impaired power limited or at least one non-impaired port depending on the uplink transmit power associated with the at least one port, and performing an action based on the uplink transmit powr associated with at least one port.
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
(See Karajalainen paragraph 0146, The apparatus 1400 of FIG. 14 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a base station such as a gNB.)
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to:
(See Karajalainen paragraph 0146, The apparatus 1400 may comprise a communication control circuitry 1410 such as at least one processor, and at least one memory 1420 including a computer program code (software) 1422 wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code (software) 1422 are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus 1400 to carry out...)
Shows the base station with memory and a processor
(See Karajalainen paragraph 0147, The processor is coupled to the memory 1420.)
Shows the processor coupled to the memory
receive, via a plurality of ports, an uplink signal;
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0119, Referring to FIG. 7, a UE transmits 701, to a base station such as a gNB, one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values associated with a plurality of its UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching. The one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values may be reported, for example, by using MAC CE transmitted via PUSCH.)
Shows the UE transmitting, through multiple antenna ports, antenna-port-specific power headroom values through a PUSCH or uplink signal
detect, for a port associated with the plurality of ports, an uplink transmit power associated with the port,
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0119, In order to obtain power balance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, the base station determines 703, based at least partly on the identified imbalance and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values (i.e. p0) for the plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. The configuration may also comprise one or more path loss compensation factors (i.e. alpha) for UL power control of the UE.)
Shows the base station determining antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for the many antenna ports of the UE
wherein the port is an impaired power limited port or one or more non-impaired ports depending on the uplink transmit power associated with the one or more ports; and
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0120, The base station identifies 702 a power imbalance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, wherein the power imbalance is identified based at least partly on the one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values received from the UE.)
Shows the ports consists of impaired power limited ports with a power imbalance between the many ports of the UE
perform an action based at least in part on the uplink transmit power associated with the one or more ports.
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0123, The base station indicates 704, to the UE, the determined UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for transmitting UL RS.)
Shows the base station transmitting to the UE a UL RS antenna switching resource configuration for the many UE ports with antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karjalainen et al. (US 20240267181 A1) or Karjalainen.
Claim 9
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
(See Karajalainen paragraph 0146, The apparatus 1400 of FIG. 14 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a base station such as a gNB.)
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to:
(See Karajalainen paragraph 0146, The apparatus 1400 may comprise a communication control circuitry 1410 such as at least one processor, and at least one memory 1420 including a computer program code (software) 1422 wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code (software) 1422 are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus 1400 to carry out...)
Shows the base station with memory and a processor
(See Karajalainen paragraph 0147, The processor is coupled to the memory 1420.)
Shows the processor coupled to the memory
receive, via a plurality of ports, an uplink signal;
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0119, Referring to FIG. 7, a UE transmits 701, to a base station such as a gNB, one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values associated with a plurality of its UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching. The one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values may be reported, for example, by using MAC CE transmitted via PUSCH.)
Shows the UE transmitting, through multiple antenna ports, antenna-port-specific power headroom values through a PUSCH or uplink signal
detect, for a port associated with the plurality of ports, an uplink transmit power associated with the port,
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0119, In order to obtain power balance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, the base station determines 703, based at least partly on the identified imbalance and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values (i.e. p0) for the plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. The configuration may also comprise one or more path loss compensation factors (i.e. alpha) for UL power control of the UE.)
Shows the base station determining antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for the many antenna ports of the UE
wherein the port is an impaired power limited port or one or more non-impaired ports depending on the uplink transmit power associated with the one or more ports; and
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0120, The base station identifies 702 a power imbalance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, wherein the power imbalance is identified based at least partly on the one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values received from the UE.)
Shows the ports consists of impaired power limited ports with a power imbalance between the many ports of the UE
perform an action based at least in part on the uplink transmit power associated with the one or more ports.
(See Karjalainen paragraph 0123, The base station indicates 704, to the UE, the determined UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for transmitting UL RS.)
Shows the base station transmitting to the UE a UL RS antenna switching resource configuration for the many UE ports with antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values
Claim 13
Regarding Claim 13, Karjalainen et al. discloses The apparatus of claim 9, and further the reference disclose wherein power splitting for the uplink signal is among one or more impaired power limited ports or one or more non-impaired ports (Karjalainen et al. discloses the UE applies the UL RS antenna switching resource configuration, and determines 606 one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control values based at least partly on the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values and/or the downlink pathloss reference signal per reception antenna port associated with at least one of the plurality of UL RS antenna ports. The available UL TX power may be determined by dividing the available TX power budget per resource by the number of antenna ports. The network may configure a weight vector, i.e. power weighting values, with two values: ¾ and ¼. Those values indicate how the UE shall share the available UL TX power budget among these two antenna ports (para. [0112]))
Claim 14
Regarding Claim 14, Karjalainen et al. discloses The apparatus of claim 9, and further, the reference discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine, from the plurality of ports, a first set of ports that are impaired power limited ports and a second set of ports that are non-impaired ports, based at least in part on uplink transmit powers associated with each port of the plurality of ports (Karjalainen et al. discloses a UE transmits 701, to a base station such as a gNB, one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values associated with a plurality of its UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching. In other words, antenna-port-specific power headroom reporting (PHR) type 3 may be performed. The antenna-port-specific PHR can provide valuable information to the base station about UE TX impairments (para. [0119]), The base station identifies 702 a power imbalance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, wherein the power imbalance is identified based at least partly on the one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values received from the UE (para. [0120])).
Claim 15
Regarding Claim 15, Karjalainen et al. discloses The apparatus of claim 9, and further the reference disclose wherein the uplink signal is associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (Karjalainen et al. discloses that one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values is reported by using MAC CE transmitted via PUSCH (para. [0119]); the antenna port specific PHR provides valuable information to the base station about UE TX impairments (para. [0118]); UE TX includes PUSCH (para. [0128])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20230209478 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 101123782 A) or Zhang.
Claim 1
Nilsson teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
(See Nilsson paragraph 0054, FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a node, such as the UE 102...)
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to:
(See Nilsson paragraph 0054, As shown in FIG. 6, the node may comprise: a data processing apparatus (DPA) 602, which may include one or more processors (P) 655...)
Shows the processor
(See Nilsson paragraph 0054, ...and local storage unit (a.k.a., “data storage system”) 608, which may include one or more non-volatile storage devices and/or one or more volatile storage devices (e.g., random access memory (RAM)).)
Shows the memory
See Nilsson FIG. 6[602][data processor apparatus with the FIG.6[655][processor] connected to or coupled to the FIG.6[608][Data storage system] or memory
detect an impaired power limited port of the UE;
(Nilsson discloses certain UE transmit beams that transmit power towards sensitive objects, such as a human body) will need to be restricted (para. [0005]). The UE 102 determines one or more power parameters. For instance, the UE 102 can determine the P-MPR for the different UE antennas. This can be done using different sensors or measurements (para. [0032]). An output power restriction (e.g., a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR)) can be considered when port mapping reference signals to a plurality of antennas of a UE (para. [0006])) UE determines output power restrictions for one or a subset of the UE antenna (para. [0024]))
refrain from transmitting an uplink signal on the impaired power limited port; and
(Nilsson discloses certain UE transmit beams that transmit power towards sensitive objects, such as a human body) will need to be restricted (para. [0005]). The UE 102 determines one or more power parameters. For instance, the UE 102 can determine the P-MPR for the different UE antennas (para. [0032]). The UE 102 determines an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on SRS output power (para. [0033]). The UE 102 transmits the SRS ports according to the SRS port to antenna port mapping (para. [0034]). The mapping step s420 comprises mapping first and second transmit ports to a first antenna, and mapping no transmit ports to a second antenna (para. [0041]). The transmitting step s430 comprises transmitting first and second reference signals on a first antenna, and transmitting no reference signals on a second antenna (para. [0045]))
transmit the uplink signal on remaining non-impaired ports based at least in part on an uplink transmit power splitting applied amongst the remaining non- impaired ports,
(Nilsson discloses in this example, UE Antenna 1 is suffering from P-MPR. Instead of transmitting one SRS port per UE antennas, performs an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on the output power of the SRS ports. For instance, a UE 102 can transmit one SRS port on UE Antenna 2 and UE Antenna 3, and two SRS ports on Antenna 4. In this way, the P-MPR will not limit the output power of any of the SRS ports (para. [0035]). An output power restriction (e.g., a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR)) can be considered when port mapping reference signals to a plurality of antennas of a UE (para. [0006]))
However, Nilsson fails to explicitly teach,
wherein the one or more processors, when detecting the impaired power limited port, are configured to:
determine a minimum allowed uplink transmit power of a port;
determine a maximum allowed uplink transmit power of the port;
calculate a delta value between the minimum allowed uplink transmit power and the maximum allowed uplink transmit power;
determine that the delta value satisfies a delta threshold value; and
determine that the port is the impaired power limited port based at least in part on the delta value satisfying the delta threshold value.
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
wherein the one or more processors, when detecting the impaired power limited port, are configured to:
determine a minimum allowed uplink transmit power of a port;
determine a maximum allowed uplink transmit power of the port;
(See Zhang page 4 last paragraph ...the control unit performs the data analysis can realize the maximum emitting power of the tested terminal and the minimum transmission power,)
Shows the determination of the maximum and minimum transmission power
(See Zhang page 4 paragraph 3, …connected with the RF module of the detected terminal communication port B through the second transceiver.)
Shows the terminal transmits through a communication port through a transciever
calculate a delta value between the minimum allowed uplink transmit power and the maximum allowed uplink transmit power;
(See Zhang pages 4-5 last and first paragraphs, ...transmission power control range is a difference between the maximum transmission power and the minimum transmission power,...)
Shows the calculation of a difference between the maximum and minimum transmission power
determine that the delta value satisfies a delta threshold value; and
determine that the port is the impaired power limited port based at least in part on the delta value satisfying the delta threshold value.
(See Zhang page 5 first paragraph , if the difference does not reach the emission performance index threshold, the available power range smaller and the terminal can know the tested terminal by detecting the transmission power control range of the possible failure reason is radio frequency chip damage.)
Shows the difference between the maximum and minimum transmission power fails to reach an emission performance index threshold
Shows determining a radio frequency chip damage or port damage based on the difference being smaller than the performance index threshold
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a user equipment or UE detecting an impaired power limited port of the UE, refraining from transmitting an uplink signal on the impaired power limited port, and transmitting the uplink signal on remaining non-impaired ports based on an uplink transmit power splitting applied among the remaining non-impaired ports as disclosed by Nilsson with determining a minimum and maximum allowed uplink transmit power of a port, calculating a delta value between the minimum and maximum allowed transmit power, determining the delta value satisfies a delta threshold value, and determine the port consists of being an impaired power limited port based on the delta value satisfying the delta threshold value as disclosed by Zhang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of further damaging other antenna ports by applying power to the impaired port).
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, Nilsson discloses The apparatus of claim 1, and further the reference discloses wherein the uplink signal on the impaired power limited port is blanked (Nilsson discloses the UE 102 avoids transmission on the antenna affected by a power restriction (e.g. P-MPR) in the case that it reduces the SRS output power (para. [0052]). The mapping for a particularly restricted antenna port may be the null set or zero (para. [0053]))
The motivation to combine Nilsson and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Nilsson discloses The apparatus of claim 4, and further the reference discloses wherein an uplink grant is not throttled based at least in part on the uplink signal being blanked on the impaired power limited port (Nilsson discloses certain UE transmit beams that transmit power towards sensitive objects, such as a human body) will need to be restricted (para. [0005]). The UE 102 determines one or more power parameters. For instance, the UE 102 can determine the P-MPR for the different UE antennas (para. [0032]). The UE 102 determines an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on SRS output power (para. [0033]). The UE 102 transmits the SRS ports according to the SRS port to antenna port mapping (para. [0034]). The mapping step s420 comprises mapping first and second transmit ports to a first antenna, and mapping no transmit ports to a second antenna (para. [0041]). The transmitting step s430 comprises transmitting first and second reference signals on a first antenna, and transmitting no reference signals on a second antenna (para. [0045]) [Examiner’s Note: The base station does not make any adjustment to the configuration]) and the uplink signal being transmitted on the remaining non-impaired ports (Nilsson discloses in this example, UE Antenna 1 is suffering from P-MPR. Instead of transmitting one SRS port per UE antennas, performs an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on the output power of the SRS ports. For instance, a UE 102 can transmit one SRS port on UE Antenna 2 and UE Antenna 3, and two SRS ports on Antenna 4. In this way, the P-MPR will not limit the output power of any of the SRS ports (para. [0035]). An output power restriction (e.g., a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR)) can be considered when port mapping reference signals to a plurality of antennas of a UE (para. [0006]))
The motivation to combine Nilsson and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Nilsson discloses The apparatus of claim 1, and further the reference discloses wherein the uplink signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Nilsson discloses UL reference signals include the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (para. [0003]). if a UE 102 is triggered to transmit an SRS resource set with multiple SRS ports, and the UE 102 transmits one SRS port per antenna port (para. [0023])
The motivation to combine Nilsson and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 3, 31, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20230209478 A1) in view of Tang (CN 107769833 A).
Claim 3
Nilsson teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
(See Nilsson paragraph 0054, FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a node, such as the UE 102...)
one or more memories:
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories,
the one or more processors configured to:
(See Nilsson paragraph 0054, As shown in FIG. 6, the node may comprise: a data processing apparatus (DPA) 602, which may include one or more processors (P) 655...)
Shows the processor
(See Nilsson paragraph 0054, ...and local storage unit (a.k.a., “data storage system”) 608, which may include one or more non-volatile storage devices and/or one or more volatile storage devices (e.g., random access memory (RAM)).)
Shows the memory
See Nilsson FIG. 6[602][data processor apparatus with the FIG.6[655][processor] connected to or coupled to the FIG.6[608][Data storage system] or memory
detect an impaired power limited port of the UE;
(Nilsson discloses certain UE transmit beams that transmit power towards sensitive objects, such as a human body) will need to be restricted (para. [0005]). The UE 102 determines one or more power parameters. For instance, the UE 102 can determine the P-MPR for the different UE antennas. This can be done using different sensors or measurements (para. [0032]). An output power restriction (e.g., a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR)) can be considered when port mapping reference signals to a plurality of antennas of a UE (para. [0006])) UE determines output power restrictions for one or a subset of the UE antenna (para. [0024]))
refrain from transmitting an uplink signal on the impaired power limited port;
(Nilsson discloses certain UE transmit beams that transmit power towards sensitive objects, such as a human body) will need to be restricted (para. [0005]). The UE 102 determines one or more power parameters. For instance, the UE 102 can determine the P-MPR for the different UE antennas (para. [0032]). The UE 102 determines an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on SRS output power (para. [0033]). The UE 102 transmits the SRS ports according to the SRS port to antenna port mapping (para. [0034]). The mapping step s420 comprises mapping first and second transmit ports to a first antenna, and mapping no transmit ports to a second antenna (para. [0041]). The transmitting step s430 comprises transmitting first and second reference signals on a first antenna, and transmitting no reference signals on a second antenna (para. [0045]))
transmit the uplink signal on remaining non-impaired ports based at least in part on an uplink transmit power splitting applied amongst the remaining non-impaired ports
(Nilsson discloses in this example, UE Antenna 1 is suffering from P-MPR. Instead of transmitting one SRS port per UE antennas, performs an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on the output power of the SRS ports. For instance, a UE 102 can transmit one SRS port on UE Antenna 2 and UE Antenna 3, and two SRS ports on Antenna 4. In this way, the P-MPR will not limit the output power of any of the SRS ports (para. [0035]). An output power restriction (e.g., a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR)) can be considered when port mapping reference signals to a plurality of antennas of a UE (para. [0006]))
However, Nilsson fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the one or more processors, when detecting the impaired power limited port, are configured to:
identify an individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power of a port; \
determine that the individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power satisfies an absolute threshold value; and
determine that the port is the impaired power limited port based at least in part on the individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power satisfying the absolute threshold value.
Nevertheless, Tang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the one or more processors, when detecting the impaired power limited port, are configured to:
identify an individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power of a port;
(See Tang page 10 paragraph 7, ...at a time A antenna is shielded by the signal transmitting and receiving is reduced suddenly, antenna switching control module after receiving the receiving signal intensity of the diagnosis service module or radio-frequency drive module sends the A antenna and the uplink transmission power,...)
Shows identifying an uplink transmission power of an antenna
determine that the individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power satisfies an absolute threshold value; and
(See Tang page 10 paragraph 7, ...are respectively uplink transmission power and received signal intensity threshold, the uplink transmission power threshold, comparing result is that the received signal strength is less than the received signal strength threshold and the uplink transmission power is less than the uplink transmission power threshold,...)
Shows the uplink transmission power of an antenna consists of being less than a transmission power threshold
determine that the port is the impaired power limited port based at least in part on the individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power satisfying the absolute threshold value.
(See Tang page 10 paragraph 7 ...comparing result is that the received signal strength is less than the received signal strength threshold and the uplink transmission power is less than the uplink transmission power threshold, it is determined that satisfies the antenna switching condition;)
Shows determining antenna A requires switching or impaired from comparing the uplink transmission power less than the uplink power threshold
(See Tang page 4 first paragraph, …,the working deterioration of antenna performance, under the condition of signal attenuation, re-selecting the two groups of antenna communication performance as the main antenna and the auxiliary antenna to participate in operation, reduces the terminal power consumption, improves the calling/called call completion rate of the user and the data traffic throughput, and improves the user experience.)
Shows antenna switching occurring due to an antenna deteriorating and switching to antennas with higher data traffic throughput
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a user equipment or UE detecting an impaired power limited port of the UE, refraining from transmitting an uplink signal on the impaired power limited port, and transmitting the uplink signal on remaining non-impaired ports based on an uplink transmit power splitting applied among the remaining non-impaired ports as disclosed by Nilsson with identifying an individual per-pot permissible uplink transmit power of a port, determine the individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power satisfies an absolute threshold value, and determine the port consists of being impaired based on the individual per-port permissible uplink transmit power satisfying the absolute threshold value as disclosed by Tang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the UE to transmit data to a base station).
Claim 31
Nilsson teaches limitations of claim 31 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Nilsson and Tang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 33
Nilsson teaches limitations of claim 33 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Nilsson and Tang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 35
Nilsson teaches limitations of claim 35 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine Nilsson and Tang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claims 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20230209478 A1) in view of Tang (CN 107769833 A) in further view of Yang et al. (US 20220022223 A1) or Yang.
Claim 32
Nilsson teaches limitations of claim 32 as stated in claim 5. However, Nilsson fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 32 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 32 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Nilsson, Tang, and Yang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 34
Nilsson teaches limitations of claim 34 as stated in claim 7. However, Nilsson fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 34 as stated in claim 7. Nevertheless, Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 34 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Nilsson, Tang, and Yang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen et al. (US 20240267181 A1) or Karjalainen and in view of Yang et al. (US 20220022223 A1) or Yang.
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Karjalainen et al. discloses The apparatus of claim 9, and further, Karjalainen et al. disclose wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to determine that the uplink transmit power associated with the port does not satisfy a threshold for a current channel condition (Karjalainen et al. discloses the base station identifies 702 a power imbalance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, wherein the power imbalance is identified based at least partly on the one or more antenna-port-specific power headroom values received from the UE (para. [0120]); base station configures the UE with antenna-port-specific repetition patterns resulting in DL CSI is improved (para. [0122])[Examiner Note: Determining a power imbalance requires a threshold for current channel condition]).
However, Karjalainen et al. does not explicitly teach and the one or more processors, when performing the action, are configured to throttle a number of layers based at least in part on the uplink transmit power associated with the port. Yang et al. discloses such a limitation.
Yang et al. is directed to Uplink rank adaptation for MIMO communication. More specifically, Yang et al. discloses wherein: the one or more processors, when performing the action, are configured to throttle a number of layers based at least in part on the uplink transmit power associated with the port (Yang et al. teaches that the UE perform channel measurement based on the CSI-RS transmitted for each SRS port, and that UE selects the best SRS port based on a metric (para. [0091]); multiple SRS ports that is fewer than the total number of ports available are selected (para. [0091]); BS transmits an UL scheduling grant to the UE indicating multiple layers, e.g., 2 or 4 layers (para. [0127]))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Karjalainen et al. so that wherein: the one or more processors, when performing the action, are configured to throttle a number of layers based at least in part on the uplink transmit power associated with the port, as taught by Yang et al. The modification would have allowed the UE to preserve resources such as energy by allowing the reduction of layers used to transmit (see Yang et al., para. [0043]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen et al. (US 20240267181 A1) or Karjalainen and in view of Nilsson (US 20230209478 A1).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, Karjalainen et al. discloses The apparatus of claim 9, however, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, when performing the action, are configured to: perform a rank reduction and refrain from performing an uplink grant throttling, based at least in part on the uplink transmit power. Nilsson discloses such limitations.
Nilsson is directed to Emission restricted transmission of reference signals. More specifically, Nilsson discloses wherein the one or more processors, when performing the action, are configured to: (Nilsson discloses the TRP may comprise, for instance, a memory and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method (para. [0009])) perform a rank reduction and refrain from performing an uplink grant throttling, based at least in part on the uplink transmit power (Nilsson discloses UE Antenna 1 is suffering from P-MPR of 15 dB, meaning that the maximum allowed output power of that antenna is 8 dBm (assuming 23 dBm max output power of the UE 102). Previously, the UE would have had to transmit one SRS port per UE antenna, meaning that the maximum allowed output power per SRS port would 8 dBm, since all SRS ports should be transmitted with the same output power. The UE 102 instead of transmitting one SRS port per UE antennas, performs an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on the output power of the SRS ports. For instance, a UE 102 can transmit one SRS port on UE Antenna 2 and UE Antenna 3, and two SRS ports on Antenna 4. In this way, the P-MPR will not limit the output power of any of the SRS ports (para. [0035]))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Karjalainen et al. so that perform a rank reduction and refrain from performing an uplink grant throttling, based at least in part on the uplink transmit power, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have allowed improved output power mapping for reference signals that can account for output power restrictions (see Nilsson, para. [0005]).
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, Karjalainen et al. discloses The apparatus of claim 9, however, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS). Nilsson discloses such a limitation.
More specifically, Nilsson discloses a method of receiving one or more reference signals from a UE at a node, such as a TRP (para. [0009]). TRP 104 sends a reference signal configuration to the UE 102. The reference signal configuration may correspond, for instance, to an SRS resource set (para. [0048]). The TRP 104 receives a set of reference signals from the UE 102, wherein the UE 102 (para. [0050])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Karjalainen et al. so that the uplink signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS), as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have allowed improved output power mapping for reference signals that can account for output power restrictions (see Nilsson, para. [0005]).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20230209478 A1) and in view of Yang et al. (US 20220022223 A1) or Yang.
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Nilsson discloses The apparatus of claim 4, and further, Nilsson does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of layers is throttled based at least in part on the uplink signal being blanked on the impaired power limited port and the uplink signal being transmitted on the remaining non-impaired ports (Nilsson discloses in this example, UE Antenna 1 is suffering from P-MPR. Instead of transmitting one SRS port per UE antennas, performs an SRS port to antenna port mapping that reduces the impact of P-MPR on the output power of the SRS ports. For instance, a UE 102 can transmit one SRS port on UE Antenna 2 and UE Antenna 3, and two SRS ports on Antenna 4. In this way, the P-MPR will not limit the output power of any of the SRS ports (para. [0035])).
However, Nilsson does not explicitly teach wherein a number of layers is throttled based at least in part on the uplink signal being blanked on the impaired power limited port and the uplink signal being transmitted on the remaining non-impaired ports. Yang et al. discloses such a limitation.
Yang et al. is directed to Uplink rank adaptation for MIMO communication. More specifically, Yang et al. discloses wherein a number of layers is throttled based at least in part on the uplink signal being blanked on the impaired power limited port (Yang et al. discloses the first quantity of transmission layers may be the maximum number of layers on which the UE could reliably transmit data to the BS under the current channel condition. The UE may then determine a second quantity of transmission layers based on various factors (para. [0046]); UE reduces the number of SRS ports it uses to transmit sounding reference signal (SRS), where each port corresponds to antenna panel, and the number of ports corresponds to number of spatial layers (para. [0051])) and the uplink signal being transmitted on the remaining non-impaired ports (Yang et al. discloses at step 420, rather than transmit an SRS on each SRS port (each single-port SRS resource) as in steps 406-408, the UE 115 may transmit a single SRS on the SRS resource corresponding to the selected SRS port (para. [0093]; FIG. 4). The UE may then transmit to the BS an indication related to the transmission rank. The indication may include at least one of (1) one or more first single-port UL reference signal resources of the plurality of single-port UL reference signal resources based at least in part on the first minimum quantity, or (2) a number of single-port UL reference signal resources based at least in part on the first minimum quantity. In other words, the UE may indicate either specific single-port UL reference signal resources, or a count of single-port UL reference signal resources (para. [0046]))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nilsson so that the number of layers is throttled based at least in part on the uplink signal being blanked on the impaired power limited port and the uplink signal being transmitted on the remaining non-impaired ports, as taught by Yang et al. The modification would have allowed the UE to preserve resources such as energy by allowing the reduction of layers used to transmit (see Yang et al., para. [0043]).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Nilsson discloses The apparatus of claim 1, and although teaching port mapping reference signals to a plurality of antennas of a UE (para. [0007]), Nilsson does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is configured for uplink multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO). Yang et al. discloses such a limitation.
More specifically, Yang et al. discloses the UE may support multiple ports, where each port may correspond to an antenna panel at the UE. The number of ports may correspond to a number of spatial layers, multiple-input-multiple output (MIMO) layers, or transmission layers, which may also be referred to as transmission rank. Each of the single-port UL reference signal resources may be configured for transmission by a different port at the UE (para. [0044]))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nilsson and Yang et al. so that the UE is configured for uplink multiple-input-multiple-output, as taught by Yang et al. The modification would have allowed the UE to preserve resources such as energy by allowing the reduction of layers used to transmit (see Yang et al., para. [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mao (US 20170214440 A1) teaches determining the antenna transmit power for multiple antennas and determining if the transmit power of an antenna consists of being higher than a threshold.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414