Detailed Action
Claim Status
Claims 1, 5-6, 9 and 11 has been amended; support for claim 1 is found in claims 2-4 and Figures 1 and 5, the amendments to claims 5-6, 9 and 11 were to change dependency.
Claims 2-4 have been cancelled.
Claims 1 and 5-16 are currently pending and have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0296272 A1) in view of Kim (US 2012/0214053 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery cell comprising:
An electrode assembly including a plurality of pole plates that are separated from one another and include positive pole plates coupled to a positive terminal of the battery cell and negative pole plates coupled to a negative terminal of the battery cell (Figures 1-2; electrode assembly having a plurality of electrode plates that are connected to first and second current collecting tabs 111 and 112 are connected to the electrode assembly and are coupled to the terminal members and electrically connected to the terminal plates 156);
One or more protective assemblies disposed on at least one side of the electrode assembly (Figure 2; insulation plate 160 is read as the protective assembly); and
A case structured to provide an internal space to accommodate the electrode assembly (Figure 2; case 140), and
a cap assembly coupled to the case and including a terminal electrically connected to a connection unit (Figure 2; cap assembly 150 having terminal plates 156 that are electrically connected to the tabs of the electrode assembly).
Wherein at least one of the one or more protective assemblies comprises;
A protective frame including an insulating material to electrically isolate the electrode from the case (Figure 2; insulation plate 160 is positioned between the cap plate and the electrode assembly to protect the electrode assembly); and
the connection unit coupled to the protective frame and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (Figures 1-3; [0063] collector plates 170 provided on the frame member 160 and are physically coupled with the tabs to create a secured connection in which the frame is then fixed with the collector plate when assembled),
wherein the connecting unit comprises:
A current collecting member electrically connected to the electrode assembly (Figure 2; Collector plate 170); and
A connection member configured to electrically connect the current collecting member to the terminal (Figure 2; [0042-0043] first and second terminal plates 120/130 that are connected to the terminal plates 156).
Lee is silent with respect to wherein the protective frame includes a coupling protrusion inserted into the current collecting member.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery and method of manufacturing the same and thus is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Kim discloses a structure in which a groove 133d is formed on a bottom surface of a terminal 133 in which a protrusion 157b of the upper insulating member 157 is inserted into the groove to prevent or protect the terminal from movement such as rotation (Figures 3-4 and [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the teaching of Kim such that the insulation plate contains a protrusion and wherein the current collecting member contains a recess such that the insulation plate’s protrusion is inserted into the terminal member’s recess in order to obtain a secure connection and prevent movement between the insulation plate and the terminal connecting member and thus to suppress movement of the insulation plate within the battery cell. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 1 as the insulating member can be coupled to an electrically conductive member to prevent movement within the battery cell and thus to protect the battery cell.
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the current collecting member includes a material having a rigidity higher than that of the insulating material of the protective frame ([0062] the insulation plate is made of a material such as polypropylene or polyethylene; [0035] a collector plate that can be the same material for 170 can be copper or nickel and is a common material in the art; conductive metal of the collector plate has a higher rigidity than the insulating material of the protective frame).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein at least a portion of the connection member is inserted into the terminal (Figures 2-3; terminal 120 has a terminal part 122 that protrudes and is inserted into the terminal plate 156).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 6. Lee further discloses wherein the terminal comprises:
A rivet having an insertion hole into which the connection member is inserted; and
A terminal portion to which the rivet is coupled (Figures 2-3; [0042] terminal part 122 may be riveted to the cap plate; [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first portion that is not coated with an active material (Figure 2; collecting tabs 111 and 112), and
Wherein the first portion is electrically connected to the current collecting member (Figures 2-3; [0040-0041] tabs are connected to the collector plate).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 9. Lee further discloses wherein at least a portion of the first portion is disposed between the current collecting member and the cap assembly (Figure 3; a portion of the tabs 111/112 are between the connection part 171 of the collector plate 170).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the protective frame includes a through-hole through which an electrolyte passes (Figure 2; electrolyte can pass through the vent hole 161).
Regarding claim 12, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the cap assembly comprises an electrolyte inlet into which an electrolyte is injected (Figure 2; electrolyte injection hole 152),
Wherein the electrolyte inlet is disposed to face the through-hole (Figure 2; electrolyte injection hole and the vent hole are at least partially aligned and would read on the limitation “face the through hole”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the protective frame comprises:
A body portion facing the electrode assembly in a first direction (Figure 2); and
One or more bend portions extending from the body portion and facing the electrode assembly in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 2; lip portion around the outer side of the insulation plate is read as the bend portion in the second direction).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 13. Lee further discloses wherein the one or more bend portions are disposed to cover edges of the electrode assembly (Figure 3; lip around the outer side of the insulation plate is larger than the electrode assembly and thus will cover the edge region of the electrode assembly).
Regarding claim 16, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein each pole plate includes a first electrically conductive portion that is coated with an active material and a second electrically conductive portion is not coated with active material (Figures 1-3; [0035-0038] electrode plates are formed with an active material wherein a portion of the electrode may be uncoated), and
Wherein the electrode assembly includes an insulating material between adjacent pole plates ([0039] separator may be positioned between the first and second electrode plates).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0296272 A1) in view of Kim (US 2012/0214053 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (US 2011/0244309 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 7. Lee is silent with respect to wherein the rivet and the terminal portion are formed of different materials.
Byun discloses a secondary battery and battery module and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Byun discloses wherein the secondary battery has a terminal structure in which a terminal unit has connecting members wherein one rivet connection member is formed of a first metallic material, and the other rivet terminal member is formed of a second metallic material that is different from the first metallic material and can be cladded together to form a stable and solid bonding structure as dissimilar welding of materials is very common in the art (abstract, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan that the rivet and the terminal portion can be formed of different materials as taught by Byun as Byun discloses two terminal members of different materials can be connected while maintaining a stable and solid bonding structure. Lee discloses wherein conductive materials can be used and thus through the combination Byun discloses that different materials can be used to the terminal portions without reducing the bonding structure. Thus all the claim limitations of claim 8 are rendered obvious through the disclosures of Byun and Lee.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0296272 A1) in view of Kim (US 2012/0214053 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0074961 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Lee discloses an electrode assembly having a cap plate on one side of the electrode assembly and wherein both terminals extend out of the one side of the battery. Lee is silent with respect to wherein two cap assemblies are provided on both sides of the case and each cap assembly having a protective assembly that faces each other.
Zhou discloses a power battery and battery module and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Zhou discloses a an orientation in which a terminal can extend from both sides of the electrode assembly and has a cap plate on each side of the electrode assembly (Figures 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the battery of Lee such that the top and bottom of the battery has the configuration taught by Zhou of a cap plate having a terminal extend from each end of the electrode assembly. Additionally, it would have been obvious to duplicate the terminal connection structure of Lee to have the same structure of the top cap plate/protective member. Through the modification the bottom portion of the electrode assembly of Lee can have a second cap plate and insulating member of Lee that would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 15 as the structure of having two cap plates is known in the art and a simple rearrangement of the terminal connection members within the battery cell. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection of record and that the secondary references Wakimoto teaches that the insulating portion is connected to the cap plate and not the current collecting member. This argument is noted and thus the previous rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims. The rejection has been updated with a new secondary reference that would render the arguments moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2018/0114954 A1)-discloses a secondary battery and further discloses wherein an insulation plate includes one or more protrusions that extend upwardly and are coupled to the current collector plate to achieve an increased fastening force ([0041] and Figures 1-4).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728