DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment and Reply filed 5/26/26.
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are pending. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected. Claim 11 is withdrawn from consideration.
Amendments to the claims necessitated new grounds of rejection. Previous rejections of the claims under 35 USC 103 are withdrawn. New rejections are recited below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11 have been considered and persuasive with respect to claims as amended. The rejection has been amended to include art US 20220348830 to Kim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0348830).
With respect to claim 1, US 2022/0348830 teaches a continuous reforming process controlled by training a first and second predictive model. Abstract. In the process, naphtha “and circulating gas containing a large amount of hydrogen is heated to about 520° C and pressurized to 4 atmospheric pressures while passing through the feed exchanger and the heater, and then passes through four reactors in turn. In this case, the catalyst moves together with reactants in the reactor set 210. Oil from the reactor set 210 is separated into a gas containing a large amount of hydrogen and liquid phase through a separator.” [0041]; Figure 2. The process is for “efficiently operating a reactor by predicting properties of feed and products in a reformer in real time and using predicted data as an operating index of the reactor in the reformer.” [0008] “[T]he properties of feed and products in a reformer are continuously predicted in real time, it is possible to efficiently control the operation of the reactor based on the predicted data.” [0090]. The operator may directly control the operating conditions of the reactor based on the models. The control process includes receiving state and control variables and generate using two predictive models, an improved control variable to improve the performance variable. “Examples of the operating conditions of the reactor set may include the feed flow rate, the circulating gas flow rate, the hydrogen purity, the operating pressure, the operating temperature for each reactor (internal temperature for each reactor), and the inlet and outlet temperatures of each reactor.” [0044]. The predictive model is trained utilizing past, current, or experimental data. [0010]-[0011]; [0044]-[0046]. The operating conditions include the operating temperature, the operating pressure, the feed flow rate, the circulation gas flow rate, and the hydrogen purity is changed so that the degree of reaction in the reactor may be maintained at the existing level even if the content of the component increases. [0071]. The operator may adjust the control variables in the continuous reformer. [0071]
Kim teaches training the models based on real time data, which requires receiving the data. Kim teaches calculating and controlling the improved properties based on predicted properties of feed or products, which is adjusting the properties. Kim teaches that the operator may adjust control variables based on the prediction model.
With respect to claim 2, Kim teaches changing control variables which would include sending signal to actuator hardware.
With respect to claims 3-5, Kim teaches controlling a reactor in a reformer capable of predicting properties of feed and products in a reformer in real time. [0090]. Control in real time would require receiving data, generating new control variable, and adjusting the variable in real time.
With respect to claim 6, conditions used in modeling include for example feed properties ]and operating pressure. [0067]
With respect to claim 8, Kim teaches wherein the performance controlled is the product yield.
With respect to claim 9, Kim teaches wherein the reactant stream comprises refinery naphtha.
With respect to claim 10, Kim teaches wherein the predictive model includes multiple inputs, followed by computation performed, and a final prediction, thus appears to be a neural network model.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771