DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the election made 1/23/2026.
Claims 1-11 are pending. Claim 11 is withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 1/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0350309).
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a method for operating a continuous catalytic reformer unit using machine learned model (abstract). Kim teaches passing a hydrocarbon feed to a heat exchanger for preheating, catalytic reforming in a reactor (exemplified as 4 reactors in one embodiment), and separating the effluent (0041). Kim teaches wherein the control system includes a medium including computer-readable code/instructions and enables storage and transmission, processor, output unit and control signal generation unit (0096-0097; 0068).
Kim is silent regarding the specific executable instructions of: receive: one or more signals indicative of one or more present state variables from one or more state variable actuator hardwares, wherein the present state variables are process variables that cannot be directly set in the continuous catalytic reformer unit; and one or more signals indicative of one or more present control variables of the continuous catalytic reformer unit from one or more control variable actuator hardwares, wherein the present control variables are process variables that can be directly set in the continuous catalytic reformer unit; and generate, by utilizing a machine learned model, an improved control variable that increases a selected performance variable based on the inputs of one or both of one or more present state variables or one or more present control variables, wherein the improved control variable wherein the machine learned model is trained utilizing inputs of at least historic state variable data, historic control variable data, and historic performance variable data; and adjusting one or more present control variables of the continuous catalytic reformer unit based on the improved control variable determined by the machine learned model.
However, Kim teaches receiving one signals indicative of one or more present state variables that can be controlled, such as temperature, and that cannot be controlled, such as properties of the feedstock. Kim teaches “control[ing] the operating conditions of each reactor in real time based on the predicted properties of products” (0043). Kim teaches the process control system executes (generates and adjusts) control of a property that can be directly set in the catalyst reformer unit, such as operating temperature of each reactor, in response to the model (0070).
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the instruction sequence claimed in the process of Kim because the listed instructions are general recitations of the same steps being performed in Kim of receiving the same two types of signals, generating an improved control variable from a trained predictive model, and adjusting the control variable.
With respect to claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the cos one or more signals to one or more control variable control signal generation unit sends a signal (which would be received by a hardware) to adjust the preset control variable (0009; 0070).
With respect to claim 3, Kim teaches “for controlling a reactor in a reformer capable of predicting properties of feed and products in a reformer in real time” (0008; throughout).
With respect to claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the input is received by the process control system in real-time or near-real time (0009).
With respect to claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the process control system generates the one or more improved control variables in real-time or near-real time (0009).
With respect to claims 6-7, Kim teaches using variables including experimental values for the properties of feed, the operating conditions of the reactor (0044). Such may include “the feed flow rate, the circulating gas flow rate, the hydrogen purity, the operating pressure, the operating temperature for each reactor (internal temperature for each reactor), the inlet and outlet temperatures of each reactor, and a weighted average inlet temperature (WAIT) of the reactor” (0044).
With respect to claim 8, Kim teaches wherein the performance controlled is the product reformate.
With respect to claim 9, Kim teaches wherein the reactant stream comprises refinery naphtha (0005).
With respect to claim 10, Kim teaches wherein the machine learned model includes multiple inputs, followed by computation performed, and a final prediction, thus appears to be a neural network model.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771