DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 09/01/2026.
Status of Rejections
The objections to the drawings and claims are mostly withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
One objection to the drawings is maintained.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 6 is/are obviated by applicant’s cancellation.
The rejection of claim(s) 8, 11 and 19 under 35 USC 112(b) is/are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
All other previous rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 17-19 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: in Fig. 5, the length and widths L3(L4) and W3(W4) do not match the identified elements 2(3)/2A(3A)/2B(3B), particularly second electrode “2” is described in paragraph 0066 as having length “L4” and width “W4”, and length and width “L3” and “W3” are described in paragraph 0050 as being those of first electrode “1”. It appears that 2(3), 2A(3A) and 2B(3B) in the Figure should instead be 1(2), 1A(2A) and 1B(2B). The amended replacement drawings filed 09/01/2026 have not addressed this objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the inside surface of the second resin sheet" in line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous explicit mention of an “inside surface of the second resin sheet”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al. (U.S. 2018/0274110) in view of Lentz et al. (U.S. 2025/0243590).
Regarding claim 1, Nakano teaches a membrane electrode assembly (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5, membrane electrode assembly 200; Paragraph 0037, lines 1-3) comprising:
a first electrode (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5, second electrode (anode) 4; Paragraph 0038, line 4);
a second electrode (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5, first electrode (cathode) 3; Paragraph 0038, line 1);
an electrolyte membrane provided between the first electrode and the second electrode (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5, electrolyte membrane 100; Paragraph 0037, lines 3-5);
and a first seal provided on a peripheral portion of the first electrode, having a first opening, housing the first electrode in the first opening, and being in contact with the electrolyte membrane (see e.g. Fig. 5, gasket (seal) 10 with opening containing electrode 4 and in contact with membrane 100; Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7), and a second seal provided on a peripheral portion of the second electrode, having a second opening, housing the second electrode in the second opening, and being in contact with the electrolyte membrane (see e.g. Fig. 5, gasket (seal) 9 with opening containing electrode 3 and in contact with membrane 100; Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7).
Nakano does not teach the first seal including a first rubber sheet, a first resin sheet, and a second rubber sheet, the first rubber sheet, the first resin sheet, and the second rubber sheet being stacked, the first resin sheet being provided between the first rubber sheet and the second rubber sheet, the second seal including a third rubber sheet, a second resin sheet, and a fourth rubber sheet, the third rubber sheet, the second resin sheet, and the fourth rubber sheet being stacked, the second resin sheet being provided between the third rubber sheet and the fourth rubber sheet, the first rubber sheet being in direct contact with the first electrode, the first resin sheet being in direct contact with the first electrode, the third rubber sheet being in direct contact with the second electrode, and the second resin sheet being in direct contact with the second electrode. Nakano does however teach inner side surfaces of the first and second seals respectively being in direct contact with sides of the first and second electrodes (see e.g. Fig. 5, inner surfaces of gaskets (seals) 9 and 10 directly contacting sides of electrodes 3 and 4 respectively; Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7).
Lentz teaches a frame for a PEM electrolysis cell and cell stack (see e.g. Abstract) which comprises two outer layers of rubber sealing material (see e.g. Fig. 3b, top and bottom sealing material 22 of rubber; Paragraph 0029) stacked with an inner core layer which may be polytetrafluoroethylene, which is a resin (see e.g. Fig. 3b, central core 21 which may be PTFE; Paragraph 0030, lines 3-8), this structure providing both mechanical stability and sealing effect for the electrolytic cell and stack (see e.g. Paragraph 0028, lines 15-17, and Paragraph 0030, lines 3-11), wherein the inner side surface of the frame, and thereby each of the layers, contacts the side of respective electrodes surrounded by the frame (see e.g. Figs. 7b-7c and 8-8a, inner surfaces of frames 8 and 11 directly contacting sides of anode 7 and cathode 10, respectively, such inner surfaces including the inner surface of the core layer 21 and sealing layers 22 in the sandwiched configuration of Fig. 3b; Paragraphs 0076 and 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second seals of Nakano to each comprise outer rubber sealing layers stacked with and sandwiching a core PTFE resin layer, resulting in an inner side of each resin layer and the first and third rubber layers contacting the sides of each respective electrode, as taught by Lentz as a sealing structure suitable for a PEM electrolysis cell/stack that provides both mechanical stability and the desired sealing effect. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, modified Nakano teaches the electrolyte membrane including a noble metal region on the first electrode side containing noble metal particles containing one or more selected from the group consisting of Pt, Rh, Ir, Pd and Ru (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0038, lines 1-4, Paragraph 0039, lines 24-28, and Paragraphs 0040 and 0043, catalyst layer of second electrode/anode in contact with electrolyte membrane comprising nano-sized particles or nanosheets of said noble metals).
Regarding claim 8, Nakano as modified by Lentz teaches an inside surface of the first seal being in direct contact with a side surface of the first electrode (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, inside surface of gasket 10 in contact with side of electrode 4; Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7),
a surface of the first rubber sheet facing to the electrolyte being in direct contact with a surface of the electrolyte membrane (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, surface of gasket 10 facing and in contact with membrane 1100, Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7; see e.g. Lentz Fig. 3b and 8-8a, lower and upper surfaces of frames 11 and 8 facing and contacting membrane 13 each comprising layer of the rubber sealing material 22 in the sandwiched configuration of Fig. 3b, Paragraphs 0073 lines 1-8, and Paragraph 0116),
an inside surface of the first resin sheet being in direct contact with the side surface of the first electrode (see e.g. Lentz Figs. 7b-7c and 8-8a, inner surfaces of frames 8 and 11 directly contacting sides of anode 7 and cathode 10, respectively, such inner surfaces including the inner surface of the core layer 21 in the sandwiched configuration of Fig. 3b; Paragraphs 0076 and 0116),
an inside surface of the second seal being in direct contact with a side surface of the second electrode (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, inside surface of gasket 9 in contact with side of electrode 3; Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7),
a surface of the third rubber sheet facing to the electrolyte membrane being in direct contact with a surface of the electrolyte membrane (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, surface of gasket 9 facing and in contact with membrane 1100, Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7; see e.g. Lentz Fig. 3b and 8-8a, lower and upper surfaces of frames 11 and 8 facing and contacting membrane 13 each comprising layer of the rubber sealing material 22 in the sandwiched configuration of Fig. 3b, Paragraphs 0073 lines 1-8, and Paragraph 0116), and
an inside surface of the second resin sheet being in direct contact with the side surface of the second electrode (see e.g. Lentz Figs. 7b-7c and 8-8a, inner surfaces of frames 8 and 11 directly contacting sides of anode 7 and cathode 10, respectively, such inner surfaces including the inner surface of the core layer 21 in the sandwiched configuration of Fig. 3b; Paragraphs 0076 and 0116).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakano teaches the first seal being in contact with a region of the electrolyte membrane where the noble metal region does not exist (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, gasket 10 in contact with membrane 100 at edges without electrode 4 and its catalyst layer; Paragraph 0038 and Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, modified Nakano teaches the first electrode including a substrate and a catalyst layer (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0038 and 0073, second electrode/anode comprising support and catalyst layer), an amount of metal per area of the catalyst layer being 0.15 mg/cm2 (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0073), and a porous ratio of the catalyst layer being 50-90% (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0039, last 5 lines).
Regarding claim 17, modified Nakano teaches an electrochemical cell comprising the membrane electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, electrolysis cell 300 comprising MEA 200; Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7), wherein, the first electrode is an anode (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, second electrode (anode) 4; Paragraph 0038, line 4).
Regarding claim 18, modified Nakano teaches a stack comprising the membrane electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 6, stack 400 comprising a plurality of membrane electrode assemblies 200; Paragraph 0052), wherein, the first electrode is an anode (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, second electrode (anode) 4; Paragraph 0038, line 4).
Regarding claim 19, modified Nakano teaches an electrolyser comprising the stack according to claim 18 (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 7, electrolysis apparatus, i.e. electrolyser, comprising stack 400; Paragraph 0053, lines 1-3).
Claims 3, 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Lentz, as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Zuber et al. (U.S. 2012/0012457).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 2 as stated above. Modified Nakano does not explicitly teach, when a width of the electrolyte membrane is W1, and a width of the noble metal region is W2, W1-W2 being 0.01 times or more and 0.98 times or less of W1, and, when a length of the electrolyte membrane is L1, and a width of the noble metal region is L2, L1-L2 being 0.01 times or more and 0.98 times or less of L1. Nakano does however teach the noble metal region having dimensions smaller than the electrolyte membrane and accommodating the seal in the formed periphery (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, electrode 4 and catalyst layer being smaller than membrane 100 with gasket (seal) 10 fit in the periphery thereof; Paragraph 0038 and Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7), as well as the noble metal region having exemplary length and width dimensions of 20 mm x 20 mm (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0073 and Paragraph 0075, lines 1-2, catalyst coated anode electrode cut to 20 mm square).
Zuber teaches membrane electrode assemblies for electrolysis of water (see e.g. Abstract), wherein the membrane has a free margin not in contact with a catalyst layer that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to a sealing material in the peripheral region of the MEA (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, free membrane surface 6 without catalyst layer 2 with sealing material 7; Paragraphs 0024-0025), this margin having a width of at least 0.5 mm and limited to a maximum of 5 mm for cost reasons (see e.g. Paragraph 0026). In combination with the 20x20 mm noble metal region of Nakano, W1-W2 and L1-L2 would each be 0.024 to 0.2 times of W1 and L1, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the membrane electrode assembly of modified Nakano to have the dimensions of the noble metal region be 0.5 to 5 mm less than the membrane dimensions, resulting in W1-W2 and L1-L2 each being 0.024 to 0.2 times W1 and L1, as taught by Zuber as a suitable exposed membrane margin dimension for an MEA that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to the peripheral seal while being cost-effective.
Regarding claim 5, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 2 as stated above. Modified Nakano further teaches the noble metal region on the first electrode side being entirely surrounded by a region which is not the noble metal region (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, electrode 4 and catalyst layer being smaller than membrane 100 with gasket (seal) 10 fit in the periphery thereof, i.e. entirely surrounding; Paragraph 0038 and Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7). Modified Nakano does not explicitly teach, when a width of the electrolyte membrane is W1, a width of the noble metal region is W2, a length of the electrolyte membrane is L1, and a length of the noble metal region is L2, W2 is 0.8 time or more and less than 1.0 times of W1 and L2 is 0.8 times or more and less than 1.0 times of L1. Nakano does however teach the noble metal region having exemplary length and width dimensions of 20 mm x 20 mm (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0073 and Paragraph 0075, lines 1-2, catalyst coated anode electrode cut to 20 mm square).
Zuber teaches membrane electrode assemblies for electrolysis of water (see e.g. Abstract), wherein the membrane has a free margin not in contact with a catalyst layer that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to a sealing material in the peripheral region of the MEA (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, free membrane surface 6 without catalyst layer 2 with sealing material 7; Paragraphs 0024-0025), this margin having a width of at least 0.5 mm and limited to a maximum of 5 mm for cost reasons (see e.g. Paragraph 0026). In combination with the 20x20 mm noble metal region of Nakano, W2 and L2 would each be 0.8 to 0.98 times of W1 and L1, respectively
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the membrane electrode assembly of modified Nakano to have the dimensions of the noble metal region be 0.5 to 5 mm less than the membrane dimensions, resulting in W2 and L2 each being 0.8 to 0.98 times of W1 and L1, as taught by Zuber as a suitable exposed membrane margin dimension for an MEA that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to the peripheral seal while being cost-effective.
Regarding claim 12, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Nakano does not explicitly teach, when a width of the electrolyte membrane is W1, and a width of the first electrode is W3, W1-W3 satisfies 0.01 time or more and 0.2 times or less of W1, and when a length of the electrolyte membrane is L1 and a length of the first electrode is L3, L1-L3 satisfies 0.01 time or more and 0.2 times or less of L1. Nakano does however teach the first electrode having dimensions smaller than the electrolyte membrane and accommodating the seal in the formed periphery (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, electrode 4 being smaller than membrane 100 with gasket (seal) 10 fit in the periphery thereof; Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7), as well as the first electrode having exemplary length and width dimensions of 20 mm x 20 mm (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0075, lines 1-2, anode electrode cut to 20 mm square).
Zuber teaches membrane electrode assemblies for electrolysis of water (see e.g. Abstract), wherein the membrane has a free margin not in contact with an electrode catalyst layer and gas diffusion layer that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to a sealing material in the peripheral region of the MEA (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, free membrane surface 6 without catalyst layer 2/gas diffusion layer 4 with sealing material 7; Paragraphs 0024-0025), this margin having a width of at least 0.5 mm and limited to a maximum of 5 mm for cost reasons (see e.g. Paragraph 0026). In combination with the 20x20 mm first electrode of Nakano, W1-W3 and L1-L3 would each be 0.024 to 0.2 times of W1 and L1, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the membrane electrode assembly of modified Nakano to have the dimensions of the first electrode be 0.5 to 5 mm less than the membrane dimensions, resulting in W1-W3 and L1-L3 each being 0.024 to 0.2 times of W1 and L1, as taught by Zuber as a suitable exposed membrane margin dimension for an MEA that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to the peripheral seal while being cost-effective.
Regarding claim 13, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Nakano does not explicitly teach, when a width of the electrolyte membrane is W1, and a width of the second electrode is W4, W1-W4 satisfies 0.01 time or more and 0.2 times or less of W1, and when a length of the electrolyte membrane is L1 and a length of the second electrode is L4, L1-L4 satisfies 0.01 time or more and 0.2 times or less of L1. Nakano does however teach the second electrode having dimensions smaller than the electrolyte membrane and accommodating the seal in the formed periphery (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, electrode 3 being smaller than membrane 100 with gasket (seal) 9 fit in the periphery thereof; Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7), as well as the second having exemplary length and width dimensions of 20 mm x 20 mm (see e.g. Nakano Paragraph 0075, lines 1-2, cathode electrode cut to 20 mm square).
Zuber teaches membrane electrode assemblies for electrolysis of water (see e.g. Abstract), wherein the membrane has a free margin not in contact with an electrode catalyst layer and gas diffusion layer that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to a sealing material in the peripheral region of the MEA (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, free membrane surface 6 without catalyst layer 2/gas diffusion layer 4 with sealing material 7; Paragraphs 0024-0025), this margin having a width of at least 0.5 mm and limited to a maximum of 5 mm for cost reasons (see e.g. Paragraph 0026). In combination with the 20x20 mm second electrode of Nakano, W1-W4 and L1-L4 would each be 0.024 to 0.2 times of W1 and L1, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the membrane electrode assembly of modified Nakano to have the dimensions of the second electrode be 0.5 to 5 mm less than the membrane dimensions, resulting in W1-W4 and L1-L4 each being 0.024 to 0.2 times of W1 and L1, as taught by Zuber as a suitable exposed membrane margin dimension for an MEA that provides improved adhesion and gastightness to the peripheral seal while being cost-effective.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Lentz, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Abouatallah et al. (U.S. 2020/0173037).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 2 as stated above. Modified Nakano further teaches, when a width of the electrolyte membrane is W1, a width of the noble metal region is W2, and a width of the first electrode is W3, W1>W2 and W1>W3 is satisfied, and when a length of the electrolyte membrane is L1, a length of the noble metal region is L2, and a length of the first electrode is L3, L1>L2 and L1>L3 is satisfied (see e.g. Nakano Figs. 3 and 5, square dimensions of electrode 4 and catalyst layer being smaller than membrane 100 with gasket (seal) 10 fit in the periphery thereof; Paragraphs 0038 and 0075 and Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7).
Modified Nakano does not explicitly teach W2>W3 and L2>L3.
Abouatallah teaches an electrochemical cell (see e.g. Abstract) comprising a catalyst layer and porous support, i.e. electrode, surrounded by a sealing frame for contacting a membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, catalyst layer 20 and porous support 22 surrounded by frame 26 on membrane 18; Paragraph 0009, lines 1-3, Paragraph 0015 and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-4), wherein the catalyst layer may extend being the edge of the porous support to overlap the sealing frame to form a stronger seal between the frame and membrane (see e.g. Paragraph 0021, lines 4-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the membrane electrode assembly of modified Nakano to have the length and width of the first electrode smaller than the noble metal region, which extends to overlap the seal, as taught by Abouatallah to form a stronger seal between the first seal and the membrane.
Regarding claim 10, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 2 as stated above. Modified Nakano further teaches the first seal being in contact with a region of the electrolyte membrane where the noble metal region does not exist (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, gasket 10 in contact with membrane 100 at edges without electrode 4 and its catalyst layer; Paragraph 0038 and Paragraph 0049, lines 1-7). Modified Nakano does not teach the first seal being in contact with a region of the electrolyte membrane where the noble metal region exists.
Abouatallah teaches an electrochemical cell (see e.g. Abstract) comprising a catalyst layer and porous support, i.e. electrode, surrounded by a sealing frame for contacting a membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, catalyst layer 20 and porous support 22 surrounded by frame 26 on membrane 18; Paragraph 0009, lines 1-3, Paragraph 0015 and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-4), wherein the catalyst layer may extend being the edge of the porous support to overlap the sealing frame to form a stronger seal between the frame and membrane (see e.g. Paragraph 0021, lines 4-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the membrane electrode assembly of modified Nakano to have the noble metal region extended such that the first seal in contact with a portion of the electrolyte membrane with the noble metal region as taught by Abouatallah to form a stronger seal between the first seal and the membrane.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Lentz, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hotta et al. (EP 3575439 A1), as evidenced by JSA (“JIS K 6251: Rubber, vulcanized or thermoplastics-Determination of tensile stress-strain properties”, Japanese Standards Association, 2010).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nakano teaches all the elements of the membrane electrode assembly of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Nakano does not explicitly teach a Young’s modulus of the first seal within a range of 5 °C or more and 100 °C or less being 0.001 GPa or more and 5 GPa or less, and a Young’s modulus of the second seal within a range of 5 °C or more and 100 °C or less being 0.001 GPa or more and 5 GPa or less. Nakano does however teach the membrane electrode assembly being used in an electrolysis stack (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 6, stack 400 comprising a plurality of membrane electrode assemblies 200; Paragraph 0052).
Hotta teaches an electrolyzer for water electrolysis (see e.g. Abstract) comprising a zero gap structure of an anode and cathode on either side of a membrane (see e.g. Paragraph 0018, lines 1-4), with anode-side and cathode-side gaskets sandwiching and sealing against the edges of the membrane (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 1-3, and Paragraphs 0249-0250), wherein the gaskets most preferably has an elastic modulus, i.e. Young’s modulus, of 1.0 MPa to 10 MPa, equal to 0.001 to 0.01 GPa, at ~25°C from the perspective of the sealing characteristic and cell strength when cells are stacked (see e.g. Paragraph 0259, elastic modulus measured in accordance with JIS K 6251; which is evidenced by JSA, to be conducted at standard laboratory/room temperature, i.e. ~25°C, see e.g. JSA Page 10, section 7.4.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second seals of modified Nakano to each have an elastic modulus, i.e. Young’s modulus, of 0.001 to 0.01 GPa as taught by Hotta to provide good sealing characteristic and cell strength when cells comprising the membrane electrode assembly are stacked.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 18-19, filed 09/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 over Nakano, particularly regarding Nakano not disclosing the particular structure, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nakano and Lentz, as previously applied to claims 6 and 8.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not all persuasive.
On pages 19-21, Applicant argues that the multilayer structure of Lentz does not disclose or suggest the amended limitation of the first rubber and first resin sheets being in direct contact with the first electrode and the third rubber and second resin sheets being in direct contact with the second electrode, particularly stating that Lentz discloses a structure in which the sealing material surrounds and separates the core from neighboring components. This is not considered persuasive. Nakano teaches inner side surfaces of the first and second seals respectively being in direct contact with sides of the first and second electrodes (see e.g. Nakano Fig. 5, inner surfaces of gaskets (seals) 9 and 10 directly contacting sides of electrodes 3 and 4 respectively; Paragraph 0049, lines 4-7). Lentz then teaches a sealing frame structure that also contacts the sides of respective electrodes, that may be in the form of two outer rubber sealing layers sandwiching a core layer on its upper and lower surfaces but not its sides, thereby resulting in the side surfaces of the core layer and sealing layers being in direct contact with the sides of the respective electrodes (see e.g. Lentz Figs. 7b-7c and 8-8a, inner surfaces of frames 8 and 11 directly contacting sides of anode 7 and cathode 10, respectively, such inner surfaces including the inner surface of the core layer 21 and sealing layers 22 in the sandwiched configuration of Fig. 3b; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0076 and 0116). Though Lentz teaches the rubber sealing layers preferably forming the upper and lower sealing surfaces of the frame, and thereby coating the entire upper and lower surfaces of the core layer, it does not require as such on the sides of the frame which would contact the electrode, as clearly exemplified by the embodiment of Lentz Fig. 3b. This is equivalent to the seal structure and positioning with respect to the electrodes shown in Figs. 3-4 and 17 of the instant disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795