DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
1. This office action is in response to applicant's Arguments/ Remarks filed on 07/02/2026. Claims 1,10 and16-18 are pending; claims 2-4 and 11 are cancelled and claims 5-9, 12-15 and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amended claim 1, applicant argues that the combination of the cited reference does not disclose “…a transmitter sub-circuit that comprises a switch that is configured to couple a low-noise amplifier circuit to an antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit, as recited in claim 1.In support argument, applicant states “..The Office Action concedes that neither Wang nor Rajendran disclose the transmitter sub-circuit comprising the switch, but asserts that Yu teaches this feature, citing to paragraphs [0038] and [0047]”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner did not use Yu’s reference to reject the above clam limitation. As indicated in previous office action claim 4 rejection, to reject the claim limitation of “…a transmitter sub-circuit that comprises a switch
that is configured to couple a low-noise amplifier circuit to an antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit, the examiner uses paragraphs 0038 and 0047 of Wang et al reference. Wang et al discloses a transmitter sub-circuit that comprises a switch that is configured to couple a low-noise amplifier circuit to an antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit (figures 4A-4B, a PA Balun and a T/R switch 430; paragraphs 0038, 0047 and 0053, “…When the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration, the input matching network of the LNA is coupled to the antenna 470 via the secondary of the PA balun 420. “) The transmitter sub-circuit (i.e., the PA Balun) that comprises a switch (the T/R switch 430) that is configured to couple a low-noise amplifier circuit to an antenna (i.e., antenna 470 ) via the transmitter sub-circuit (i.e., the PA Balun)). Thus, Wang et al clearly discloses the argued clam limitation.
In addition, Paragraph 0039 of Yu et al also discloses low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit based on a state of the switch (paragraph 0039, first switching circuit 5068 is arranged to couple a second terminal N3'' of the second capacitive circuit 5066 to the reference voltage Vgnd during the transmitting mode, and disconnect the second terminal N3'' of the second capacitive circuit 5066 from the reference voltage Vgnd during the receiving mode”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2019/0074862 A1) in view of Rajendran et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2016/0079946 A1) further in view of Yu et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2014/0199951 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al discloses a circuit (figures 4A-4B, RF front end 400), comprising: a low-noise amplifier sub-circuit configured to couple to an antenna (figures 4A-4B, LNA450 and an antenna 470; paragraph 0053, “…transistor 450 is coupled to the antenna 470”), wherein the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit comprises: a transistor that includes a gate, a source, and a drain (figures 4A-4B, a transistor 450 includes a gate, a source, and a drain; paragraphs 0042-0043 and 0046); a first inductor that includes a first terminal configured to couple to the antenna and includes a second terminal (figure 4A-4B, a first inductor (i.e., an inductor 444); paragraph 0039); a second inductor that includes a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first inductor and includes a second terminal coupled to the gate of the transistor (figure 4A-4B, a second inductor (i.e., an inductor 452); paragraph 0042, the second inductor (i.e., the inductor 452) of a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first inductor (i.e., the inductor 444) and a second terminal coupled to the gate of the transistor (i.e., the transistor 450)); and a third inductor that includes a first terminal coupled to the source of the transistor and includes a second terminal (figure 4A-4B, a third inductor (i.e., an inductor 456); paragraph 0043, the third inductor (i.e., the inductor 456) of a first terminal coupled to the source of the transistor (i.e., the transistor 450) and includes a second terminal); and wherein the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is configured to couple to the antenna (figures 4A-4B, an LNA transistor 450; paragraph 0053, “…the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration during receive mode of operation. When the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration, the input matching network of the LNA is coupled to the antenna 470 via the secondary of the PA balun 420”), wherein the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via a transmitter sub-circuit ( (paragraph 0053, “…the input matching network of the LNA is coupled to the antenna 470 via the secondary of the PA balun 420”), wherein the transmitter sub-circuit further comprises a switch (figures 4A-4B, a T/R switch 430; paragraph 0038) , and wherein the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit based on a state of the switch (paragraphs 0038, 0047 and 0053, “… the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration during receive mode of operation. When the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration, the input matching network of the LNA is coupled to the antenna 470 via the secondary of the PA balun 420. The T/R switch 430 no longer operates to pull the input of the LNA to ground, and thus, the input matching network and LNA transistor 450 are enabled to operate on received signals.”. The low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit (i.e., PA Balun) based on a state of the switch (i.e.an open/close state of switch))), and wherein the switch enables port-combining based on the state of the switch (paragraph 0047, “… the T/R switch 430 configured in the closed configuration. In this configuration, the two terminals of the T/R switch 430 are electrically connected. This condition represents the transmit configuration.”).
Wang et al does not disclose a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of the transistor, the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is configured to couple to the antenna via a first capacitor configured to couple to the antenna and a second capacitor coupled to the first capacitor and to the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit, and the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit coupled to the first capacitor, wherein the transmitter sub-circuit is coupled in parallel with the second capacitor and comprises a power amplifier and a balun.
Rajendran et al disclose a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of LNA transistor (figure 5, a tuning circuit 520; paragraphs 0041-0042 and 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Rajendran et al in to the apparatus of Wang et al, such that a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of the LNA transistor in order to tune the LNA circuit the desired frequency band as taught by Rajendran et al (paragraph 0023).
Wang et al in view of Rajendran et al does not disclose the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is configured to couple to the antenna via a first capacitor configured to couple to the antenna and a second capacitor coupled to the first capacitor and to the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit, and the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit coupled to the first capacitor
Yu et al discloses a low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is configured to couple to the antenna via a first capacitor configured to couple to the antenna (figure 5, LNA 508 and a first capacitive circuit 5062; paragraphs 0037 and 0039,the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit (i.e., the LNA 508) is configured to couple to the antenna via a first capacitor (i.e., a first capacitive circuit 5062) configured to couple to the antenna) and a second capacitor coupled to the first capacitor and to the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit (figure 5, a capacitive circuit 510; paragraphs 0036-0037, the second capacitor (i.e., the capacitive circuit 510) is coupled to the first capacitor(i.e., the first capacitive circuit 5062) and to the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit (i.e., the LNA 508), wherein the transmitter sub-circuit is coupled in parallel with the second capacitor and comprises a power amplifier and a balun (see figure 5, the capacitive circuit 510, a power amplifier 500 and a balun 504; paragraphs 0036-0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yu et al in to the apparatus of Wang et al in view of Rajendran et al, to include a first capacitor and a second capacitor in the LNA circuit, such that the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit could be configured to couple to the antenna via the first capacitor configured to couple to the antenna and the second capacitor could be coupled to the first capacitor and to the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit and the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit coupled to the first capacitor in order to maximize power transfer.
Regarding claim 10, Yu et al discloses a circuit (figure 5, a transceiver 500), comprising: a first capacitor configured to couple to an antenna (figure 5, a first capacitor (i.e., a first capacitive circuit 5062); paragraphs 0037 and 0039); a second capacitor coupled to the first capacitor and to a low-noise amplifier sub-circuit (figure 5, a second capacitor (i.e., a capacitive circuit 510); a transmitter sub-circuit coupled to the first capacitor and to the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit (figure5, a power amplifier 502 and a Balun 504 are coupled to LNA 506; paragraph 0037), wherein the transmitter sub-circuit is coupled in parallel with the second capacitor (see figure 5, the second capacitor (i.e., the capacitive circuit 510) is in parallel with the transmitter sub-circuit (i.e., a power amplifier 502 and a Balun 504)), and wherein the transmitter sub-circuit comprises a power amplifier and a balun (paragraph 0037), wherein the transmitter sub-circuit further comprises a switch (figure 5, a switch 5068; paragraph 0039).
Yu et al does not disclose wherein the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit based on a state of the switch, and wherein the switch enables port-combining based on the state of the switch; the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit comprising: a transistor that includes a gate, a source, and a drain; a first inductor that includes a first terminal configured to couple to the antenna via the first capacitor and the second capacitor and includes a second terminal; a second inductor that includes a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first inductor and includes a second terminal coupled to the gate of the transistor; and a third inductor that includes a first terminal coupled to the source of the transistor and includes a second terminal; and a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of the transistor,
Wang et al discloses a transmitter sub-circuit further comprises a switch (figures 4A-4B, a switch 430; paragraph 0037), and wherein the low-noise amplifier sub-circuit is further configured to couple to the antenna via the transmitter sub-circuit based on a state of the switch (paragraphs 0038, 0047 and 0053, “… the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration during receive mode of operation. When the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration, the input matching network of the LNA is coupled to the antenna 470 via the secondary of the PA balun 420”), and wherein the switch enables port-combining based on the state of the switch (paragraph 0047, “… the T/R switch 430 configured in the closed configuration. In this configuration, the two terminals of the T/R switch 430 are electrically connected. This condition represents the transmit configuration.”); a low-noise amplifier sub-circuit (figures 4A-4B, LNA450; paragraph 0053) comprising: a transistor that includes a gate, a source, and a drain (figures 4A-4B, a transistor 450 includes a gate, a source, and a drain; paragraphs 0042-0043 and 0046); a first inductor that includes a first terminal configured to couple to the antenna (figure 4A-4B, a first inductor (i.e., an inductor 444); paragraph 0039); via the first capacitor and the second capacitor and includes a second terminal; a second inductor that includes a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first inductor and includes a second terminal coupled to the gate of the transistor (figure 4A-4B, a second inductor (i.e., an inductor 452); paragraph 0042, the second inductor (i.e., the inductor 452) of a first terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first inductor (i.e., the inductor 444) and a second terminal coupled to the gate of the transistor (i.e., the transistor 450)) and a third inductor that includes a first terminal coupled to the source of the transistor and includes a second terminal (figure 4A-4B, a third inductor (i.e., an inductor 456); paragraph 0043, the third inductor (i.e., the inductor 456) of a first terminal coupled to the source of the transistor (i.e., the transistor 450) and includes a second terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Wang et al in to the apparatus of Yu et al, such that the LNA could be comprised a transistor that includes a gate, a source, and a drain; a first, second and third inductors by design preference.
Yu et al in view of Wang et al does not discloses a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of the transistor.
Rajendran et al disclose a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of LNA transistor (figure 5, a tuning circuit 520; paragraphs 0041-0042 and 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Rajendran et al in to the apparatus of Yu et al in view of Wang et al, such that a tuning sub-circuit coupled to the drain of the LNA transistor in order to tune the LNA circuit the desired frequency band as taught by Rajendran et al (paragraph 0023).
5. Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2019/0074862 A1) in view of Chan et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2010/0259319 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al discloses a circuit (figures 4A-4B, RF front end 400), comprising: a power amplifier (figures 4A-4B, a PA 410; paragraph 0033); a balun coupled to the power amplifier (figures 4A-4B, a PA balun 420; paragraph 0034); a switch coupled to the balun (figures 4A-4B, a switch 430; paragraph 0037); a low-noise amplifier coupled to the switch (figures 4A-4B, LNA450 and an antenna 470; paragraph 0053, “…transistor 450 is coupled to the antenna 470”) and configured to couple to an antenna based on a state of the switch (paragraphs 0038, 0047 and 0053, “… the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration during receive mode of operation. When the T/R switch 430 is in the open circuit configuration, the input matching network of the LNA is coupled to the antenna 470 via the secondary of the PA balun 420”); the low-noise amplifier circuit comprising: a first inductor (figure 4A-4B, a first inductor (i.e., an inductor 444); paragraph 0039) that includes a first set of conductive features arranged in rings; a second inductor (figure 4A-4B, a second inductor (i.e., an inductor 452); paragraph 0042) that includes a second set of conductive features arranged in rings that encircle the first set of conductive features; and a third inductor (figure 4A-4B, a third inductor (i.e., an inductor 456); paragraph 0043) that includes a third set of conductive features proximate to the second set of conductive features and disposed such that the second set of conductive features is between the first set of conductive features and the third set of conductive features; wherein the second set of conductive features comprises a first terminal configured to couple to an antenna and a second terminal coupled to a gate of a transistor (figure 4A-4B, a second inductor (i.e., an inductor 452); paragraph 0042); wherein the first set of conductive features comprises a first terminal configured to couple to the antenna and coupled to the first terminal of the second set of conductive features and a second terminal coupled to receive a bias voltage and coupled to a first ground node (figure 4A-4B, a second inductor (i.e., an inductor 452); paragraph 0042,; and wherein the third set of conductive features comprises a first terminal coupled to a source of the transistor and a second terminal coupled to a second ground node (figure 4A-4B, a third inductor (i.e., an inductor 456); paragraph 0043).
Wang et al does not discloses the first inductor that includes a first set of conductive features arranged in rings; the second that includes a second set of conductive features arranged in rings that encircle the first set of conductive features; and the third inductor that includes a third set of conductive features proximate to the second set of conductive features and disposed such that the second set of conductive features is between the first set of conductive features and the third set of conductive features.
Chan et al discloses a first inductor that includes a first set of conductive features arranged in rings; a second that includes a second set of conductive features arranged in rings that encircle the first set of conductive features; and a third inductor that includes a third set of conductive features proximate to the second set of conductive features and disposed such that the second set of conductive features is between the first set of conductive features and the third set of conductive features (figure 9, inductors with features arranged in rings; paragraphs 0057-0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chan et al in to the apparatus of Wang et al in order to provide impedance matching when the LNA is enabled as taught by Chan et al (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al in view of Chan et al discloses the apparatus of claim 16. Chan et al discloses wherein the first set of conductive features and the second set of conductive features form a single-coupled inductor coil, and wherein the third set of conductive features comprises one or more inductor coils (paragraphs 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al in view of Chan et al discloses the apparatus of claim 16. Wang et al discloses the low-noise amplifier circuit further comprising the transistor that includes the gate, the source, and a drain (figures 4A-4B, a transistor 450 includes a gate, a source, and a drain; paragraphs 0042-0043 and 0046).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/FATUMA G SHERIF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649