DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
After further consideration, the restriction requirement is withdrawn since claims 11-13 depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hermans (EP3351796 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hermans teaches a mixing device comprising a chamber (paragraph 24 teaches a device, paragraph 73 teaches the type of device is a mixing device, paragraph 75 teaches a tube which is considered reading on a chamber) defining a circulation zone (paragraph 24 teaches a circulation zone), the circulation zone comprising at least a base liquid (paragraph 24 teaches a paramagnetic liquid) and a mixing fluid (paragraph 24 teaches a less paramagnetic liquid), the mixing fluid being less paramagnetic than the base liquid (paragraph 24 teaches one liquid being less paramagnetic than the other liquid), the mixing fluid comprising and/or consisting of at least one first fluid (paragraph 24 teaches a first fluid which is considered comprising at least one first fluid), the mixing device comprising at least one magnetic element generating a magnetic field in the circulation zone such that the mixing fluid flows within the base liquid (paragraph 24 teaches one element generating a magnetic field), the chamber comprising at least a first injection point of the first fluid in the circulation zone (paragraph 86 teaches introducing liquid into the circulating zone which would inherently require an injection point in order to feed material into the circulating zone), the first injection point opening into the base liquid or into the mixing fluid (paragraph 24 teaches introducing said less paramagnetic liquid into the circulating zone), the first fluid being immiscible with the base liquid (paragraph 50 teaches immiscible fluids can be used).
Regarding claim 6, Hermans teaches wherein the at least one magnetic element comprises a magnetic multipole (see paragraph 41 magnets with multipolar configuration) at least partially surrounding the chamber (see paragraph 44 which teaches rings, cylinders, coils, which are considered surrounding the chamber), the magnetic multipole being suitable for generating a magnetic field such that the magnetic field has a minimum value in the circulation zone at the center of said circulation zone (paragraph 124 zero magnetic field point at the center of the quadrupole).
Regarding claim 8, Hermans teaches wherein the base liquid is a ferrofluid (paragraph 83 teaches a ferrofluid).
Regarding claim 11, Hermans teaches a mixing method (paragraph 18 teaches a method for mixing fluids) providing the mixing device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), injecting the at least first fluid into the circulation zone via at least one first injection point (paragraph 86 teaches introducing liquid into the circulating zone which would inherently require an injection point in order to feed material into the circulating zone), the first fluid being immiscible with the base liquid (paragraph 50 teaches immiscible fluids can be used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans (EP3351796 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hermans teaches at least one first injection point (paragraph 86 teaches introducing liquid into the circulating zone which would inherently require an injection point in order to feed material into the circulating zone). Regarding claim 5, Hermans is silent to the contour shape. Regarding claim 5, Absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the circulation zone in order to obtain the desired flow since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, Hermans teaches at least one magnetic element (paragraph 32 teaches magnets) and teaches various arrangements of the magnetic element (paragraph 44 teaches the magnets in various geometries). Regarding claim 7, Hermans is silent to the specific arrangement of the magnet being at the closed end of the chamber. Regarding claim 7, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the magnet in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans (EP3351796 A1) in view of Kumaran (U.S. Publication 2015/0367344).
Regarding claim 2, Hermans teaches wherein the mixing fluid comprises and/or consists of at least one second fluid (paragraph 86 teaches at least one less paramagnetic liquid which is considered including a second fluid), the second mixing fluid opening into the base liquid (paragraph 86 teaches introducing the less paramagnetic liquid into the more paramagnetic liquid). Regarding claim 2, Hermans is silent to the chamber comprising a second injection point of the second fluid in the circulation zone. Regarding claim 2, Kumaran teaches two injection points into a circulation zone (figure 3 items 101a and 101b are two injection points which feed material into item 106, which is considered reading on a circulation zone). Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Hermans with the multiple inlets of Kumaran in order to obtain the desired fluid product. Both references are concerned with mixing fluids using magnetic fields and therefore considered in the same field of endeavor.
Hermans is silent to the language of claim 3. Regarding claim 3, Kumaran teaches wherein the first injection point and the second injection point are arranged on both sides of the chamber along a transverse direction of the chamber (items 101 a and 101b are on one side of the item 106). Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Hermans with the multiple inlets of Kumaran in order to obtain the desired fluid product. Both references are concerned with mixing fluids using magnetic fields and therefore considered in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 4, Hermans teaches using two fluids (paragraph 86 teaches at least one less paramagnetic liquid which is considered including a second fluid). Regarding claim 4, Hermans is silent to the relative paramagnetic properties of each fluid. Regarding claim 4, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to try fluids with the same paramagnetic characteristics in order to obtain the desired mixed product.
Regarding claim 9, Hermans teaches wherein the mixing fluid comprises and/or consists of at least one second fluid (paragraph 86 teaches at least one less paramagnetic liquid which is considered including a second fluid), the second mixing fluid opening into the base liquid (paragraph 86 teaches introducing the less paramagnetic liquid into the more paramagnetic liquid). Regarding claim 9, Hermans is silent to the chamber comprising a second injection point of the second fluid in the circulation zone and the contour shape. Regarding claim 9, Kumaran teaches two injection points into a circulation zone (figure 3 items 101a and 101b are two injection points which feed material into item 106, which is considered reading on a circulation zone). Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Hermans with the multiple inlets of Kumaran in order to obtain the desired fluid product. Both references are concerned with mixing fluids using magnetic fields and therefore considered in the same field of endeavor. Regarding claim 9, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the circulation zone in order to obtain the desired flow since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Hermans is silent to the language of claim 10. Regarding claim 10, Kumaran teaches wherein the second injection point is arranged at an end of the chamber, said end being an end of the chamber along a flow direction (items 101 a and 101b are on one end of the item 106 along a flow direction through item 106). Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Hermans with the multiple inlets of Kumaran in order to obtain the desired fluid product. Both references are concerned with mixing fluids using magnetic fields and therefore considered in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 13, Hermans teaches wherein the mixing fluid comprises and/or consists of at least one second fluid (paragraph 86 teaches at least one less paramagnetic liquid which is considered including a second fluid), the second mixing fluid opening into the base liquid (paragraph 86 teaches introducing the less paramagnetic liquid into the more paramagnetic liquid). Regarding claim 13, Hermans is silent to the chamber comprising a second injection point of the second fluid in the circulation zone and the reaction configuration. Regarding claim 13, Kumaran teaches two injection points into a circulation zone (figure 3 items 101a and 101b are two injection points which feed material into item 106, which is considered reading on a circulation zone) and a polymerization reaction (paragraph 91 free radical vinyl polymerization). Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Hermans with the multiple inlets and materials of Kumaran in order to obtain the desired fluid product. Both references are concerned with mixing fluids using magnetic fields and therefore considered in the same field of endeavor.
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans (EP3351796 A1) in view of Aogaki (U.S. Publication 2007/0104624).
Regarding claim 12, Hermans is silent to a chemical reaction. Regarding claim 12, Aogaki teaches a microreactor for mixing (see paragraph 1) and an organic chemical reaction (see paragraph 2, the biochemical reaction is considered reading on an organic reaction). Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of Hermans with the biochemical materials of Aogaki in order to obtain the desired mixed product. Both references are concerned with mixing fluids using magnetic fields and therefore considered in the same field of endeavor.
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774