DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, that Bellantoni includes no teaching regarding the shanks including a lumen, Bellantoni discloses that the cutter tool elements are hollow and sleeve shaped (C:4, L:15-21; 19-21) which discloses that the cutter tool elements 32 define a lumen. Bellantoni does not need to disclose the process of the tissue being removed from the proximal end, but the hollow and sleeve shaped cutter merely needs to be capable of performing the recited function. Tissue can forcibly be removed from either end. Functional limitations are not given full patentable weight. As long as the prior art meets the structural requirements of the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the limitations. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 55-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bellantoni, deceased et al (US 3867942).
Regarding claim 55, Bellantoni, deceased et al (hereafter Bellantoni) discloses a device comprising a scalpet assembly including a scalpet (32, 32’, 31, 74, 76) and a depth control device (33, 51, 78, 79, 76, 74) configured to removably couple to a distal region of a carrier (20, 24) and partially enclose the scalpet (figure 6, 51 and 73 enclose portion 74 of scalpet), wherein the depth control device is configured to control a depth of penetration of the scalpet into tissue (C:5, L:1-43), wherein the scalpet includes a cylindrical shaft (31, abstract, circular) comprising a distal end configured as a circular scalpel including a cutting surface (32, 32’) a lumen in communication with a sharpened distal end (32’) and at least one of an axial orifice and a proximal orifice, wherein the at least one of the axial orifice and the proximal orifice are configured to pass tissue from the sharpened distal end via the lumen (32 can be removed from 31 and tissue can be removed from either end).
Regarding claim 56, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 55, wherein the scalpet assembly is configured to couple to a motor (22).
Regarding claim 57, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 56, wherein the scalpet is configured to be driven by the motor (C:2, L:21-54).
Regarding claim 58, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 56, wherein the carrier (20, 24) includes the motor (22, figure 1)
Regarding claim 59, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 55, wherein the sharpened distal end (32’) of the scalpet includes a circular cutting surface configured to incise and receive tissue (C:2, L:41-54).
Regarding claim 60, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 59, wherein the cutting surface includes at least one of a sharpened edge, at least one sharpened point, and a serrated edge (C:4, L:12-19).
Regarding claim 61, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 55, wherein the depth control device is configured to removably couple to an outer distal region of the carrier (24 can be considered distal end of carrier 20, 24; figure 6).
Regarding claim 62, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 61, wherein the depth control device includes depth control devices (76, 74) representing a plurality of different depths (figure 6).
Regarding claim 63, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 55, wherein the axial orifice is configured to divert tissue from the lumen (tissue can be removed from the distal openings of 32).
Regarding claim 64, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 55, comprising a chuck (33) coupled to the distal region of the carrier and configured to receive a proximal region of the scalpet (figure 5).
Regarding claim 65, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 64, wherein the scalpet includes a skive scalpet (32’, 32), wherein the proximal end of the skive scalpet includes a region configured as a shank (32).
Regarding claim 66, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the lumen of the skive scalpet is in communication with the sharpened distal end and the axial orifice (figure 1).
Regarding claim 67, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 64, wherein the lumen of the scalpet is in communication with the sharpened distal end and the proximal orifice (lumen of 32 extends between sharpened distal end 32’ and proximal end of region 32).
Regarding claim 68, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 67, wherein the proximal orifice is configured to divert tissue from the lumen (scalpet 32 can be removed from 31 and tissue can be removed for the proximal opening thereof).
Regarding claim 69, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 68, wherein tissue passed from the lumen via the proximal orifice is capable of being deposited in a receptacle coupled to the carrier (this limitation is a functional limitation and therefore as long as the prior art is capable of performing the recited function the prior art meets the limitations).
Regarding claim 70, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 67, comprising an adapter (73, 75) configured as an interface between an outside surface of the scalpet and an inside region of the chuck (figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 71, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 70, wherein the chuck is configured to secure an axial position of the adapter and the scalpet relative to the carrier (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 72, Bellantoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 70, wherein the adapter is configured as the depth control device (C:4,L:55-69).
Double Patenting
Claims 55-61, 63 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 18, 19, 21, 43 of U.S. Patent No. 10905865.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 16, 18, 19, 21, 43 of Patent 10905865 recites the claimed cannula assembly plurality of cannulas, lumen, vacuum source) and a depth guide slidably coupled to the housing for variable selection of an insertion depth. Therefore, patent claims 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 13, 19, 22-26, 35-36, 39, 42, and 44 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 55-61, 63 is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 55-61, 63 is anticipated by patent claims 1, 16, 18, 19, 21, 43, it is not patentably distinct from patent claim 1, 16, 18, 19, 21, 43.
18462183
55, 56, 57, 58,
59
60
61
63
10905865
1, 43
16
18
19
21
Claims 55-60 and 69 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 13, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11109887.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 9, 13, 14 of Patent 11109887 recites the claimed a scalpet assembly, a carrier, and a depth control device, . Therefore, patent claims 1, 9, 13, 14 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 55-60 and 69 is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 55-60 and 69 is anticipated by patent claims 1, 9, 13, 14, it is not patentably distinct from patent claim 1, 9, 13, 14.
18462183
55, 69
56, 57, 58
59
60
10905865
1
9
13
14
Claims 55-60, 63 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 29 of U.S. Patent No. 11759231.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 29 of Patent 11759231 recites a scalpet assembly, a carrier, a depth control device, . Therefore, patent claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 29 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 55-60, 63 is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 55-60, 63 is anticipated by patent claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 29 it is not patentably distinct from patent claim 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 29.
18462183
55
56
57, 58
59, 60
63
11751904
1
4
6
10, 11
29
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771