Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,715,759 to Larson in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,575,540 to Massey et al.
Referring to claims 1, 13 and 19, Larson discloses an immersion treatment system/method for treating a product by immersion in a treatment liquid, the immersion treatment system comprising, a treatment tank – at 5, for holding the treatment liquid for treating the product – see figure 1, a fluidized unloader system – at 20,61, arranged/configured to transport a product mixture of the product and the treatment liquid from an entry point at a discharge end of the treatment tank – see at 20 in figure 10, to an exit point – see point(s) where the channel between item 20 and items 52-55 meets items 52-55 as seen in figure 10, the fluidized unloader system comprising a flow regulation device – at 62,63 and 78-81, to control flow of the product mixture – see figure 10 and column 15 line 6 to column 16 line 5, the fluidized unloader system and flow regulation device controlling a residence time of the product in the treatment liquid while in the treatment tank – see figure 1 and column 10 line 15 to column 16 line 5, and a separation device – at 51-55, arranged/configured to receive a discharge of the product mixture from the exit point of the fluidized unloader system and to separate the product from the treatment liquid – see figure 10 and column 10 line 15 to column 16 line 5. Specific to claim 19, Larson further discloses a controller that operates the flow regulation device to the discharge flow rate – see figure 1 where a controller would have to be used to operate items 32-35, 51-55, 76 and 86. Larson further discloses the flow regulation device – at 62,63 and 78-81, defining an inlet end – see at 78-81, externally coupled to the treatment tank – at 5 – see via items 13 and 38-43 in figures 1-5, and the separation device – at 51-55, coupled to an outlet end opposing the inlet end of the flow regulation device – see 51-55 on opposite end of the tank – at 20 from inlet end of 78-81 at items 38-43 as seen in figures 1-5. Larson further discloses the treatment tank – at 5, holds a volume of treatment liquid – see figure 1 where treatment liquid introduce at item 77, would travel via gravity given the sloped configuration of the tank so that a volume of liquid would be formed at the lower end of the tank – at 5 proximate item 17. Larson does not disclose the product sinking, floating, or being neutrally buoyant in the volume of the treatment liquid and the product is immersed in the volume of treatment liquid. Massey et al. does disclose a treatment tank – at 131, in a sloped configuration as seen in figure 1, similar to the device of Larson, and a volume of treatment liquid in the treatment tank at the lower end of the tank – at 131 proximate item 127 and see column 3 lines 6-23 detailing the treatment liquid is retained in the reservoir 312 of the treatment tank so that components of the treatment tank are at least partially submerged and therefore forms a volume of treatment liquid in the reservoir 312 as seen via the liquid level line 311 in figure 3, and Massey et al. further discloses the product – see workpieces detailed in column 2 lines 40-55, sinking, floating, or being neutrally buoyant in the volume of the treatment liquid and the product is immersed in the volume of treatment liquid – see figures 1-3, column 3 lines 6-23 detailing a volume of liquid for treating the workpieces and see column 3 lines 50-67 where the workpieces are dipped in the treatment liquid and therefore given the liquid level line 311 as seen in figure 3, the workpieces are immersed in the treatment liquid and would have to be at least one of sinking, floating or neutrally buoyant in the treatment liquid in that the treatment liquid is proximate the top of the treatment tank 131 at the tanks lower end proximate 127 given the location of the liquid level line 311 as seen in figure 3. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device and method of Larson and add the product being immersed in the treatment liquid as disclosed by Massey et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring more of the surface area of the product is contacted by the treatment liquid as desired.
Referring to claim 2, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the product is a food product – see for example column 7 lines 37-44 of Larson, and the treatment liquid comprises an antimicrobial agent selected from a group consisting of peracetic acid (PAA), cetylpyridinium chloride (CPC), chlorine, ozone or salt – see peracetic acid detailed in column 9 lines 40-53 of Larson.
Referring to claim 3, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the fluidized unloader system transports the product mixture to the separation device by gravity – see item 20 above outlet proximate arrow labeled trim in figure 10 of Larson and therefore gravity assists transport of the mixture.
Referring to claim 6, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the flow regulation device corresponds to an air displacement flow regulation device – see air introduced via item 63 in figure 10 of Larson, and the air displacement flow regulation device comprises an air supply connection to supply air to a flow control chamber and an exhaust connection for removing air from the flow control chamber – the claim limitations of the air displacement flow regulation device are not required by the claim given the “corresponds to” phrase in the claim.
Referring to claim 7, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the flow regulation device has two or more flow control chambers – see at 20 and – at E-H in figure 10 of Larson, that fill and empty in alternating sequence – see figure 10 where the chambers are capable of filling and emptying in different sequences given the flow of fluid through the device.
Referring to claim 10, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the treatment the treatment tank – at 130,131, includes a screw conveyor – at 211, configured to regulate advancement of the product through the treatment liquid in the treatment tank from an inlet end of the treatment tank to the discharge end of the treatment tank – see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0021] thru [0023] of Massey et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Larson as modified by Massey et al. and add the screw conveyor of Massey et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the products move through the tank and treatment fluid as desired during use.
Referring to claim 11, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the treatment tank – at 5, includes a sloping interior bottom surface configured to move the product by gravity through the treatment liquid in the treatment tank from an inlet end of the treatment tank to an unloading end of the treatment tank – see downwardly sloped surface of the tank – at 5 in figure 1 of Larson.
Referring to claim 12, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the treatment tank further comprises an agitator – at 11, configured to maintain a consistent product-to-liquid ratio in the treatment liquid – see figure 1 of Larson.
Referring to claim 18, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses agitating the product in the treatment liquid within at least a portion of the treatment tank to maintain a consistent product-to-liquid ratio – see at 11 in figure 1 of Larson.
Referring to claim 20, Larson as modified by Massey et al. further discloses the discharge flow rate is controlled to achieve a desired residence time based at least in part on a volume of the fluidized unloader system – see figures 1, 10 and column and column 10 line 15 to column 16 line 5 of Larson, where the products are in the device having a volume related to the tank size for a period of time to achieve antimicrobial treatment of the products as desired.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson as modified by Massey et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,865,895 to Bass.
Referring to claims 4 and 8, Larson further discloses the flow regulation device comprises a flow control chamber – at 56,57,64, containing a variable volume of the product mixture – see figures 1-10 of Larson where items 56,57,64 are capable of containing multiple different volumes of mixture. Larson as modified by Massey et al. does not disclose a first non-return valve at the inlet end and a second non-return valve at the outlet end. Bass does disclose a first non-return valve at the inlet end – see at 144, and a second non- return valve at the outlet end – see at 142 and/or 146 – see figure 3. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Larson as modified by Massey et al. and add the non-return valves of Bass, so as to yield the predictable result of controlling flow of fluid through the device as desired.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson as modified by Massey et al. and Bass as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,167,358 to Besha.
Referring to claim 5, Larson as modified by Massey et al. and Bass does not disclose the first non-return valve and the second non-return valve individually comprise a sleeve having a fixed inlet opening and a flexible outlet opening that opens or collapses according to relative pressure generated by the flow regulation device. Besha does disclose a non-return valve comprising a sleeve – at 10,11,20, having a fixed inlet opening – proximate 20 and a flexible outlet opening – at 11 opposite 20 – see figures 1-4b, that opens or collapses according to relative pressure generated by the flow regulation device – at 71-85 – see figures 1-4b and column 6 line 51 to column 7 line 10. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Larson as modified by Massey et al. and Bass and add the valve with sleeve and flexible outlet as disclosed by Besha, for each of the first and second non-return valves claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of accurately controlling fluid flow through the device as desired.
Claim(s) 9 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson as modified by Massey et al. and Bass as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0061361 to Simkins.
Referring to claims 9 and 14-15, Larson as modified by Massey et al. and Bass does not disclose a controller configured to alternate the valve between an open position having an associated aperture size and a closed position at a periodic rate based at least in part on a controlled product mixture flow rate and residence time, wherein the open position is determined based at least in part on a size of the product such that the associated aperture size corresponds to the size of the product. Simkins does disclose a controller – at 100,200, configured to alternate the valve – at 7,9, between an open position having an associated aperture size and a closed position at a periodic rate based at least in part on a controlled product mixture flow rate and residence time – see figures 1-2b and paragraphs [0026] thru [0030]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Larson as modified by Massey et al. and Bass and add the controller to operate the valve as disclosed by Simkins, so as to yield the predictable result of automatically adjusting fluid flow through the device as desired. Larson as modified by Massey et al., Bass and Simkins does not disclose the valve open position is determined at least in part on a size of the product, such that the associated aperture size corresponds to the size of the product. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Larson as modified by Massey et al., Bass and Simkins and control the valve based on any suitable parameters including the claimed size of the product, so as to yield the predictable result of conserving use of the fluid during use. Specific to claims 14 and 15, Larson further discloses the flow regulation device comprises an inlet – at 63, an outlet – at 62, a flow control chamber – at 56,57,64, containing a variable volume of the product mixture – see figures 1-10 where items 56,57,64 are capable of containing multiple different volumes of mixture. Larson does not disclose a first non-return valve at the inlet end and a second non- return valve at the outlet end. Bass does disclose a first non-return valve at the inlet end – see at 144, and a second non- return valve at the outlet end – see at 142 and/or 146 – see figure 3. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Larson as modified by and add the non-return valves of Bass, so as to yield the predictable result of controlling flow of fluid through the device as desired.
Referring to claim 16, Larson as modified by Massey et al., Bass and Simkins further discloses moving the product mixture from the treatment tank and through the fluidized unloader system using a positive displacement pump – see at 22 and 131 of Bass. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Larson as modified by Massey et al., Bass and Simkins and add the pump of Bass, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring proper fluid flow through the device as desired.
Referring to claim 17, Larson as modified by Massey et al., Bass and Simkins further discloses operating the positive displacement pump based at least in part on the residence time – see figure 1 and column 6 lines 30-62 of Bass. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Larson as modified by Bass and Simkins and add the pump of Bass, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring proper fluid flow through the device as desired.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 5-6-26 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 4-5 detailed in the last office action dated 2-9-26.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1, 13 and 19, applicant’s claim amendments dated 5-26-26 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) rejections detailed in the last office action dated 2-9-26. However, applicant’s claim amendments dated 5-6-26 necessitates the new grounds of rejection detailed earlier in paragraph 2 of this office action. Further, the Larson reference US 8715759 discloses a separation device – at 51-55, arranged/configured to receive a discharge of the product mixture from the exit point of the fluidized unloader system and to separate the product from the treatment liquid – see figure 10 and column 10 line 15 to column 16 line 5, where a mixture of the product and liquid disposed on the product is received from the exit point proximate item 20 to the separation device– at 51-55 where the product is removed from the device while the treatment liquid not disposed on the product remains in the treatment tank and separation device.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 2-12, 14-18 and 20, applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to parent claims 1, 13 or 19 discussed earlier.
Conclusion
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643