DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the amendment, filed 11/26/2025. Claims 4, 5, & 9 have been canceled. Claims 21-23 have been newly added. Claims 1-3, 6-8, & 10-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 8, 14-17, 21, & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mehus et al. (US 2009/0151474 A1), hereinafter Mehus.
Regarding claim 8, Mehus discloses a system comprising:
a storage member (15 – product container) for storing a product [0019 & Fig. 1]; and
a load cell (12 – load cell) that measures a force applied to the load cell [0020 & Fig. 1];
wherein at least part of the force applied to the load cell is provided, directly or indirectly, by a weight of the product [0020];
wherein the system is configured to determine a quantity of the product stored within the storage member based at least in part, on the force measured by the load cell [0020];
wherein the system comprises a dispenser (16 - tube) for dispensing the product [0019]; and
wherein the system is configured to detect at least one of:
dispensing events, in which the product is dispensed from the dispenser, based. at least in part, on changes in the force measured by the load cell [0022]; and
failed dispensing events, in which the dispenser is activated without the product being dispensed from the dispenser, based, at least in part. on the force measured by the load cell [0041 & 0052].
Regarding claim 14, Mehus discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the system is configured to determine a dosage setting of the dispenser based, at least in part, on changes in the force measured by the load cell [0030, 0049, & 0050].
Regarding claim 15, Mehus discloses the system according to claim 14, wherein the system is configured to determine the dosage setting of the dispenser during an initial time period; and wherein the system is configured to determine the quantity of the product during a subsequent time period based, at least in part, on the dosage setting [0022, 0030, 0049, & 0050].
Regarding claim 16, Mehus discloses a system comprising:
a storage member (15 – product container) for storing a product [0019 & Fig. 1]; and
a load cell (12 – load cell) that measures a force applied to the load cell [0020 & Fig. 1];
wherein at least part of the force applied to the load cell is provided, directly or indirectly, by a weight of the product [0020];
wherein the system is configured to determine a quantity of the product stored within the storage member based, at least in part on the force measured by the load cell [0020];
wherein the system comprises a dispenser (16 - tube) for dispensing the product [0019];
wherein the storage member comprises a rigid reservoir or a collapsible reservoir, and the product is a fluid [0002, 0019, 0021 & Fig. 1 – disclosing the product holder (14) supporting a product container (15), such as a pail or drum, herein interpreted as a rigid reservoir];
wherein the collapsible reservoir collapses as the fluid is dispensed from the collapsible reservoir; wherein the system comprises a housing; wherein the collapsible reservoir engages with the housing as the collapsible reservoir collapses; wherein the engagement of the collapsible reservoir with the housing is detectable as a change in a pattern of the force measured by the load cell; and wherein the system is configured to determine whether the storage member comprises the rigid reservoir or the collapsible reservoir based, at least in part, on the pattern of the force measured by the load cell [0002, 0019, 0021 & Fig. 1 – the claims presenting the storage member limitations in the alternative and the teachings of Mehus clearly disclosing a rigid reservoir].
Regarding claim 17, Mehus discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein the system is configured to determine a dosage setting of the dispenser based, at least in part, on changes in the force measured by the load cell during an initial time period; and if the system determines that the storage member comprises the collapsible reservoir, the system is configured to determine the quantity of the product during a subsequent time period based, at least in part, on the dosage setting and a detected number of dispensing events [0022, 0030, 0049, & 0050].
Regarding claim 21, Mehus discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the system is configured to detect the dispensing events [0022, 0030, 0049, & 0050].
Regarding claim 22, Mehus discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the system is configured to detect the failed dispensing events [0041 & 0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10-13, 18-20, & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehus and Bhadsavle et al. (US 11,940,320 B1), hereinafter Bhadsavle.
Regarding claim 1, Mehus discloses a system comprising:
a storage member (15 – product container) for storing a product [0019 & Fig. 1]; and
a load cell (12 – load cell) that measures a force applied to the load cell [0020 & Fig. 1];
wherein at least part of the force applied to the load cell is provided, directly or indirectly by a weight of the product [0020]; and
wherein the system is configured to determine a quantity of the product stored within the storage member based, at least in part, on the force measured by the load cell [0020].
With respect to claim 1, the teachings of Mehus have been discussed above.
Mehus is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing wherein the system is configured to identify at least one of the storage member and the product based, at least in part, on the force measured by the load cell, as recited in claim 1.
Bhadsavle teaches, regarding claim 1, wherein the system is configured to identify at least one of the storage member and the product based, at least in part, on the force measured by the load cell (Col. 6, lines 55-65 & claims 17 & 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ the identification features of Bhadsavle within the system of Mehus for at least the benefit of reducing costs and improving the reliability of inventory tracking (Col. 6, lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 2, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the system is configured to monitor the quantity of the product over time [0048-0050].
Regarding claim 3, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 2,wherein the system is configured to provide an indication when the quantity of the product reaches a threshold level [0031 & 0040].
Regarding claim 6, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the product comprises at least one of: hand cleaning fluid, toilet paper, paper towel, wipes, gloves. cleaning products, hygiene products, and waste [0002].
Regarding claim 7, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the system comprises a dispenser for dispensing the product [0019].
Regarding claim 10, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 7, wherein the system is configured to adjust an operating parameter of the dispenser based, at least in part, on the identity of the at least one of the storage member and the product [0044, 0045, 0047, & 0048].
Regarding claim 11, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the operating parameter comprises a dosage setting of the dispenser [0022, 0030, 0049, & 0050].
Regarding claim 12, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 11, wherein the product comprises a fluid, and wherein identifying the at least one of the storage member and the product comprises at least one of: identifying a type of the fluid and identifying a size of the storage member [0044, 0045, 0047, & 0048].
Regarding claim 13, Bhadsavle, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 7, wherein the dispenser comprises the storage member; and wherein the system is configured to identify the dispenser based, at least in part, on the force measured by the load cell (Col. 6, lines 55-65 & claims 17 & 18).
Regarding claim 18, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the system is configured to determine when at least one of the storage member and the product is at least one of: removed, replaced, emptied, and refilled, based, at least in party on the force measured by the load cell [0040 & 0052].
Regarding claim 19, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the system is configured to at least one of: generate, modify, and complete maintenance tasks based, at least in part, on the force measured by the load cell [0040 & 0052].
Regarding claim 20, Bhadsavle, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 1.wherein the system comprises a waste bin and the product comprises waste (Col. 25, line 39 – Col. 26, line 17).
Regarding claim 23, Mehus, as modified above, discloses the system according to claim 3,wherein the system is configured to adjust the threshold level based, at least in part, on the identity of the at least one of the storage member and the product [0040, 0044, 0045, & 0047].
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-8, & 10-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876