DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeda et al. (US 2022/0063436), hereinafter Yeda.
As to claim 1, Yeda discloses in figures 1-4, a method comprising: in response to detecting that a first device [charger device #1; see figure 1] is plugged in to a power adapter [power supply (200); see ¶0023], determining whether the first device is a preferred device [see ¶0043-0044]; if the first device is the preferred device, then allocating power to the first device up to a first value [¶0043-0044]; and in response to detecting that a second device [charger device #2] is plugged in to the power adapter, then re- allocating power to the first device up to a second value and up to a third value to the second device [see ¶0028-0029; ¶0043-0044; ¶0054].
As to claim 16, Yeda discloses in figures 1-2, an integrated circuit of a power adapter to store instructions that are executable to perform operations comprising [see figure 2, ¶0023],: determining whether a first device plugged in to a power adapter is a preferred device [see ¶0043-0044]; if the first device is the preferred device, then allocating power to the first device up to a first value; and in response to detecting a second device plugged in, then re-allocating power to the first device up to a second value and a third value to the second device, wherein a total of the second value and the third value is equal to the first value [see ¶0028-0029, ¶0043-0044, ¶0054; first device #1 and second device #2 are checked and charged with appropriate power allocation and the total power delivered to the devices are equal to the power rated such as 15W].
As to claims 5 and 19, Yada discloses in figures 1-6, in response to detecting that the first device is consuming less power than allocated, then increasing the power allocated to the second device [see ¶0043-0045; sharing power is adjusted based on attached device].
As to claim 8, Yeda discloses in figures 1-2, wherein the re-allocating power to the first device up to the second value is performed by switching on a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor that is associated with a buck converter of the power adapter [noted that the buck converter connected to the switching device 210A and controls the switching device to charge the attached device; see also ¶0023 and figure 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeda in view of Tan (US 2006/0049816).
As to claim 2, Yeda discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein a manufacturer of the preferred device is the manufacturer of the power adapter.
Tan discloses in figure 1, wherein a manufacturer of the preferred device is the manufacturer of the power adapter [Tan suggests that the manufacturer provides power supply adapter or system and for its own device; see ¶003].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use same charger and electronic devices in Yeda’s charging system in order to avoid overcharging of the electronic device and suitable to power an electronic device.
Claims 3-4 and 17 -18are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeda in view of Stephens et al. (US 5,602,455), hereinafter Stephens.
As to claims 3 and 17, Yeda discloses all of the claim limitations except, providing power to the first device and the second device until a temperature of the power adapter reaches a temperature threshold value.
Stephens discloses in figure 9, providing power to the first device and the second device until a temperature of the power adapter reaches a temperature threshold value [see Col. 6, lines 56-67].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to control charging and discharging apparatus of Yeda based on ambient temperature of the charger as taught by Stephens in order to safely and reliably operate the battery charger.
As to claims 4 and 18, Yada discloses in figures 1-6, if the temperature of the power adapter reaches the temperature threshold value, then re-negotiating power allocation to the first device[ the ambient temperature is used to adjust charging power; see ¶0025 and ¶0029].
Claims 6 -7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeda in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0069958). Hereinafter Yang.
As to claim 6, Yeda discloses in figures and a buck converter [buck converter (208A)] , wherein the buck converter is connected in series to a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor [element (210A) is semiconductor switch; see ¶0023 ] all of the claim limitations except, wherein the power adapter includes a flyback converter and a buck converter, wherein the buck converter is connected in series to a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor.
Yang discloses in figure 2, wherein the power adapter includes a flyback converter [flyback converter (210)].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use flyback adapter in Yeda’s apparatus as taught by Yang in order to efficiency power conversation with small power loss.
As to claims 7 and 20, Yeda in combination with Yang discloses, wherein the allocating power to the first device up to the first value is performed by switching on a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor that is associated with a flyback converter of the power adapter[ noted that the combination teaches flyback converters and buck converters are electrically connected with semiconductor switch devices and control charging current flows].
Claims 9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Yeda.
As to claim 9, Yeda discloses in figures 1-4, a power adapter comprising [see figure 1, element 200]:
a buck converter [see figure 2, buck/boos converters (208A and 208B); see also ¶0023]; and an integrated circuit [element (206); see ¶0023] storing instructions that when executed cause the power adapter to perform operations including:
in response to detecting that a first device is plugged in to the power adapter, determining whether the first device is a preferred device; if the first device is the preferred device, then allocating power to the first device up to a first value [charging an electronic device attached to the first port with predetermined power; see ¶0043-0044]; and in response to detecting that a second device is plugged in, then re-allocating power to the first device up to a second value and up to a third value to the second device, wherein a total of the second value and the third value is up to the first value [changing the delivery of power to the first device when the second device is attached and also allocate charging power ; see ¶0043-0044].
Yeda does not disclose a flyback converter.
Yang discloses in figures 1-2, a flyback converter [ see power Adapter (210) is flyback converter and also buck/boost convert (218) is disclosed; see ¶0029] .
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use flyback adapter in Yeda’s apparatus as taught by Yang in order to efficiency power conversation with small power loss
As to claim 12, Yeda discloses in figure 2, wherein the operations further comprise in response to detecting that the first device is consuming less power than allocated, then increasing power allocated to the second device [see ¶0043-0045; sharing power is adjusted based on attached device].
As to claim 13, Yang discloses in figure 2, wherein the buck converter [see figure 2, element 218] is connected in series to a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor [connected in series with switch (228) ; see ¶0029].
As to claim 14, Yeda in combination with Yang discloses in figure 2, wherein the allocating power to the first device up to the first value is performed by switching on a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor that is associated with the flyback converter of the power adapter [noted that the combination teaches flyback converters and buck converters are electrically connected with semiconductor switch devices and control charging current flows ].
As to claim 15, Yeda discloses in figure 2, wherein the re-allocating power to the first device up to the second value is performed by switching on a metal oxide silicon field effect transistor that is associated with the buck converter of the power adapter [switching device (210A) in series connected with the buck converter; see ¶0023].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeda in view of Yang, and in view of Stephens..
As to claim 10 Yeda discloses all of the claim limitations except, providing power to the first device and the second device until a temperature of the power adapter reaches a temperature threshold value.
Stephens discloses in figure 9, providing power to the first device and the second device until a temperature of the power adapter reaches a temperature threshold value [see Col. 6, lines 56-67].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to control charging and discharging apparatus of Yeda based on ambient temperature of the charger as taught by Stephens in order to safely and reliably operate the battery charger.
As to claim 11, Yeda discloses in figure 2, wherein the operations further comprise, if the temperature of the power adapter reaches the temperature threshold value, then re-negotiating power allocation to the first device [the ambient temperature is used to adjust charging power; see ¶0025 and ¶0029].
.Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859