DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: all claims must end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelso (US 4,835,893). Kelso discloses a firearm trigger spacing device comprising: a band comprising an outer circumference, a through-cavity, a first lobe (A, B), and a ridge; wherein said through-cavity is substantially circular; wherein said first lobe extends radially from the outer circumference; wherein said ridge is disposed about a portion of the outer circumference, and the ridge having a width smaller the width of the outer circumference. (see annotated Figure)
3. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 1, further comprises a second lobe that extends radially from the outer circumference.
4. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 3, wherein the second lobe extends substantially opposite the outer circumference from the first lobe.
9. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 1, wherein the first lobe has a rounded exterior surface.
10. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 1 wherein the first lobe has substantially squared edges. (in as much as applicant shows straight edges but not squared (i.e. 90o) edges).
11. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 1, wherein a distal end of the first lobe tapers, narrowing the distal end of the first lobe.
13. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 1, wherein a distal end’s surface of the first lobe concavely curves towards the band.
15. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 3, wherein the second lobe has dimensions different from the first lobe.
16. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 3, wherein the first lobe and second lobe have a rounded exterior surface.
17. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 3, wherein the first lobe and second lobe have substantially squared edges. (in as much as applicant shows straight edges but not squared (i.e. 90o) edges).
18. The firearm trigger spacing device of claim 3, wherein a distal end of the second lobe tapers, narrowing the distal end of the first lobe.
20. A system, comprising: the firearm trigger spacing device of claim 1; and a firearm apparatus having a frame (10) and a trigger (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 12, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelso as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ortiz (US 10,473,423). Kelso discloses the claimed invention but does not expressly disclose the band made from an elastomeric material, however Ortiz does. Ortiz teaches a firearm trigger spacing device comprising a band made from silicone. The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense and selecting a known material for its benefits and intended use or implementation on a shooter’s finger, as taught by Ortiz (col. 3, lines 38-57). Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps; “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964. Regarding the process for making the claimed band or the Product by Process Claims, applicant is direct to MPEP § 2113 cited in the prior office action. Therefore, the band being produced by an injection-molding process is not pertinent in this instance to the patentability of this product claim.
Kelso and Ortiz disclose the claimed invention but do not expressly disclose the exact material having the specific Shore A value. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a specific silicone having the specific Shore A value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Kelso and Ortiz disclose the claimed invention except for the specific length, narrowing, and curvature of the lobe. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the lobe with the specific dimensions, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific dimensions solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any dimensions that would interact properly with known firearms. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
than the width of the outer circumference.
/MICHELLE CLEMENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641