DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 17, 2024, April 11, 2025, October 14, 2025, and February 04, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, Claims 1-17, drawn to a portable beauty device
Group II, Claims 18-20, drawn to a charging dock of a portable beauty device
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the portable beauty device, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Guo (CN 210813482 U).
Guo discloses: A portable beauty device (Figure 1, Paragraph 0002, This utility model relates to the field of beauty equipment technology, and in particular to a novel handheld pulse beauty device) comprising:
a middle frame comprising a first mounting plate extending along a first direction and a second mounting plate extending along a second direction (Paragraph 0035, Inside the beauty device housing 1, there is a metal frame 4, a transmitting coil 8, an electrode ring 7, and a battery 6. A PCB board 5 is fixedly installed on the metal frame 4 with screws);
a rear housing at least partially surrounding the first mounting plate and defining a second accommodating space cooperatively with the first mounting plate (Figure 1, Paragraph 0041, As a preferred or optional implementation, the beauty device housing 1 is eggshell shaped. The housing 1 of this utility model is preferably eggshell shaped. The eggshell shape is not only easy for people to hold, but also meets the mechanical requirements, can withstand sufficient pressure, and ensure the stability of its structure);
a front housing assembly located on a side of the second mounting plate away from the rear housing and defining a third accommodating space cooperatively with the second mounting plate (Figure 1, Paragraph 0041, As a preferred or optional implementation, the beauty device housing 1 is eggshell shaped. The housing 1 of this utility model is preferably eggshell shaped. The eggshell shape is not only easy for people to hold, but also meets the mechanical requirements, can withstand sufficient pressure, and ensure the stability of its structure);
an electrode arranged in the third accommodating space and at least partially exposed out of the front housing assembly (Figure 3, Paragraph 0038, As a preferred or optional implementation, the electrode ring 7 is disposed at the bottom of the beauty device housing 1, and the transmitting coil 8 is disposed at the top of the electrode ring 7.The electrode ring 7 is used to charge the beauty device and output pulse current, while the transmitting coil 8 can output alternating electromagnetic waves);
and a processing circuit arranged in the second accommodating space and connected to the electrode to drive the electrode to discharge (Paragraph 0035, The PCB board 5 is electrically connected to the transmitting coil 8, the electrode ring 7, and the function button 2).
During a telephone conversation with Leong Lei on February 09, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group 1, Claims 1-17. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-X are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo (CN 210813482 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Guo discloses: A portable beauty device (Figure 1, Paragraph 0002, This utility model relates to the field of beauty equipment technology, and in particular to a novel handheld pulse beauty device) comprising:
a middle frame comprising a first mounting plate extending along a first direction and a second mounting plate extending along a second direction (Paragraph 0035, Inside the beauty device housing 1, there is a metal frame 4, a transmitting coil 8, an electrode ring 7, and a battery 6. A PCB board 5 is fixedly installed on the metal frame 4 with screws);
a rear housing at least partially surrounding the first mounting plate and defining a second accommodating space cooperatively with the first mounting plate (Annotated Figure 1, Paragraph 0041, As a preferred or optional implementation, the beauty device housing 1 is eggshell shaped. The housing 1 of this utility model is preferably eggshell shaped. The eggshell shape is not only easy for people to hold, but also meets the mechanical requirements, can withstand sufficient pressure, and ensure the stability of its structure);
a front housing assembly located on a side of the second mounting plate away from the rear housing and defining a third accommodating space cooperatively with the second mounting plate (Annotated Figure 1, Paragraph 0041, As a preferred or optional implementation, the beauty device housing 1 is eggshell shaped. The housing 1 of this utility model is preferably eggshell shaped. The eggshell shape is not only easy for people to hold, but also meets the mechanical requirements, can withstand sufficient pressure, and ensure the stability of its structure);
an electrode arranged in the third accommodating space and at least partially exposed out of the front housing assembly (Figure 3, Paragraph 0038, As a preferred or optional implementation, the electrode ring 7 is disposed at the bottom of the beauty device housing 1, and the transmitting coil 8 is disposed at the top of the electrode ring 7.The electrode ring 7 is used to charge the beauty device and output pulse current, while the transmitting coil 8 can output alternating electromagnetic waves);
and a processing circuit arranged in the second accommodating space and connected to the electrode to drive the electrode to discharge (Paragraph 0035, The PCB board 5 is electrically connected to the transmitting coil 8, the electrode ring 7, and the function button 2).
Guo Annotated Figure 1
Regarding Claim 2, Guo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Guo further discloses: wherein rear housing comprises a first side housing and a second side housing (See Annotated Figure 1, Paragraph 0041, The eggshell shape is not only easy for people to hold, but also meets the mechanical requirements, can withstand sufficient pressure, and ensure the stability of its structure),
the first side housing is installed on a side of the first mounting plate, and the second side housing is installed on the opposite side of the first mounting plate (See Annotated Figure 1), (Paragraph 0035, The beauty device housing 1 is equipped with a function button 2 with an indicator light. Inside the beauty device housing 1, there is a metal frame 4, a transmitting coil 8, an electrode ring 7, and a battery 6. A PCB board 5 is fixedly installed on the metal frame 4 with screws. The PCB board 5 is electrically connected to the transmitting coil 8, the electrode ring 7, and the function button 2);
the first side housing, the first mounting plate, and the second mounting plate cooperatively define a first accommodating space; the second side housing, the first mounting plate, and the second mounting plate cooperatively define the second accommodating space (See Annotated Figure 1), (Paragraph 0058, In addition, unless otherwise stated, the terms used to indicate positional relationships or shapes in any of the technical solutions disclosed in this utility model above include states or shapes that are similar to, close to, or approximate with them. Any component provided by this utility model can be assembled from multiple individual components, or it can be a single component manufactured by a one-piece molding process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 210813482 U) in view of Liao et al. (CN 217470457 U, hereinafter “Liao”).
Regarding Claim 3, Guo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. Guo does not disclose a sealing member. Liao does disclose: a first sealing member (Paragraph n0006, this application provides a waterproof housing, including an inner shell assembly, an outer shell assembly, and a sealing element),
wherein the first sealing member comprises a first sealing strip and two second sealing strips, all of which are integrated (Paragraph n00045, Please refer to 4c in Figure 4. The seal 120 includes a connecting seal (not shown) and an opening seal (not shown). The connecting seal includes a first seal 121, a second seal 122 and a connecting part 123. The opening seal includes a third seal 124), (Paragraph n0050, That is, the first sealing part 121, the connecting part 123, the second sealing part 122 and the third sealing part 124 are sequentially connected to form an integral structure);
the first sealing strip at least partially surrounds a peripheral side of the second mounting plate to seal a gap between the first side housing and the second mounting plate, as well as a gap between the second side housing and the second mounting plate (Paragraph n0046, The first sealing part 121 includes a first sealing part body 1211 and a first ring body 1212. The first ring body 1212 is disposed on the first sealing part body 1211, and the first ring body 1212 and the first sealing part body 1211 sealably connect the first inner shell 111 and the second inner shell 112)
each second sealing strip is configured to seal either one of the gaps formed between a first lateral side of the first mounting plate and the first side housing, between the first lateral side and the second side housing, between a second lateral side of the first mounting plate opposite to the first lateral side and the first side housing, and between the second lateral side and the second side housing (Paragraph n0048, The second sealing part 122 includes a second sealing part body 1221 and a second ring body 1222. The second ring body 1222 is disposed on the second sealing part body 1221. The second ring body 1222 and the second sealing part body 1221 seal and connect the first inner shell 111 and the electrode cover 113).
Both Guo and Liao teach portable beauty devices with electronic features. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Liao’s sealing member to provide additional resilience and water-proofing to the circuitry of the device (Paragraph n0003, Since liquid can damage internal components if it enters the beauty device during its flow, beauty device products need to have good waterproof performance).
Regarding Claim 4, Guo in view of Liao discloses all of the limitations of Claim 3. Liao further discloses: wherein each second sealing strip extends along both the front and back sides of either one of the first lateral side and the second lateral side of the first mounting plate, and contacts both the first side housing and the second side housing; or, each second sealing strip extends along either one of opposite surfaces of the first mounting plate to seal either one of the gaps formed between a surface of the first mounting plate and the first side housing, and between the opposite surface of the first mounting plate and the second side housing (Paragraph n0048, The second sealing part 122 is installed in the second receiving groove 1112b. The second ring body 1222 faces the fourth end 113a of the electrode cover 113. The second end 111b of the first inner shell 111 is connected to the fourth end 113a of the electrode cover 113, and the second ring body 1222 is squeezed and clamped to seal the first inner shell 111 and the electrode cover 113), (Paragraph n0050, The third sealing part 124 is located in the fourth receiving groove 111d of the first inner shell 111).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or render the following limitations of Claim 5 and 10 obvious:
wherein the first mounting plate comprises a first plate and two first side plates, each first side plate is connected to either one of two opposite sides of the first plate, each first side plate has a width greater than the thickness of the first plate, each second sealing strip is arranged around the edge of either one of the first side plates;
a bottom housing, wherein the first mounting plate comprises a first plate and two first side plates, each first side plate is connected to either one of two opposite sides of the first plate; the bottom housing is installed on an end of the first mounting plate away from the second mounting plate, both ends of the bottom housing in a length direction of the bottom housing extend to respectively abut with either one of the two first side plates.
None of the prior art references (applied individually or in combination) explicitly disclose the limitations listed above regarding the additional side plate elements of the mounting plate structure, nor does the prior art render said limitations obvious. Additional relevant prior arts are listed in the Conclusion section below. All subsequent dependent claims would also allowable in view of the amended claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 20160184602 A1) discloses a portable therapeutic device with a frontal and rear housing for the inner modules and electronic elements
Yamazaki (WO 2014208262 A1) discloses an interchangeable and modular beauty aid device with external housing and detachable unit groups
Oh (US 20210145686 A1) discloses a skin care device with a detachable head constructed of multiple structure layers and a plurality of electrodes
Ackermann (US 20140316485 A1) discloses a handheld stimulation device with a frontal and rear housing inclosing the internal control modules
Matsuo (WO 2019012748 A1) discloses a cosmetic device for optically detecting abnormalities on a user’s skin
Lee (KR 101580238 B1) discloses a modular skin massaging apparatus with various vibrational elements
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785