Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 10 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 1, ll. 2, consider amending to, --a machine frame, a workbench being arranged at [[the]]a top of the machine frame;--
Claim 1, ll. 7, consider amending to, --arranged at [[the]]an outer side of the at least two second discharging tables, a first workpiece being—
Claim 1, ll. 8, consider amending to, --placed on one of the at least two first discharging tables along a second direction, a plurality of second—
Claim 1, ll. 13, consider amending to, --drive a screw into a second location hole of the first workpiece and screw the screw to realize [[the]]a—
Claim 1, ll. 20, consider amending to, --change [[the]]a spatial position of the electric screwdriver module;--
Claim 5, ll. 4-6, consider amending to, --the at least two second discharging tables are provided with a plurality of second limiting grooves at intervals along the second direction, and one of the plurality of second workpieces is arranged in one of the plurality of second limiting grooves.—
Claim 10, ll. 2, consider amending to, --in the first direction, an avoidance groove is provided at [[the]]a position of the alignment plate that—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a driving unit… configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to move so as to change a spatial position of the electric screwdriver module” in claim 1.
“an alignment module…configured to push the plurality of second workpieces along the first direction so that the plurality of second workpieces are aligned along the second direction” in claim 1.
“a first driving unit…configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the second direction” in claim 11.
“a second driving unit…configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the first direction” in claim 11.
“a third driving unit… configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the third direction” (as best understood in 35 USC 112(b) rejection) in claim 11.
Pp. [0064], fig. 5 discloses the corresponding structure for “the driving unit” in claim 1 is an x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis driving unit (e.g. first, second, and third driving units) with independently controlled slide rails and driving sources.
Pp. [0056], fig. 4 discloses the corresponding structure for the “alignment module” is a cylinder, positioning plate, and alignment plate slidably installed on the positioning plate, or equivalence thereof.
Pp. [00065-0066], fig. 6 discloses the corresponding structure for “the first driving unit” in claim 11 is a driving source and sliding seat connected to an output end of the driving source or equivalence therefore.
Pp. [0068], fig. 7 discloses the corresponding structure for “the second driving unit” in claim 11 is a second driving source and a second sliding seat connected to the second driving source or equivalence thereof.
Pp. [0071], fig. 8 discloses the corresponding structure for “the third driving unit” is a third driving source and a third sliding seat connected with an output end of the third driving source or equivalence thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "screw the screw to realize the fixation of the first workpiece and the second workpiece" in ll. 13-14 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether “the second workpiece” is directed towards the “plurality of second workpieces” as previously recited in ll. 8 of the claim or whether “the second workpiece” is directed towards only one of the plurality of second workpieces. As best understood, the screw is realized between the first workpiece and at least one of the plurality of second workpieces. For examination purposes, claim 1, ll. 13-14 is interpreted as:
--drive a screw into a second location hole of the first workpiece and screw the screw to realize the fixation of the first workpiece and at least one of the plurality of s;--
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an alignment module…being arranged at the outer side of the first discharging table” in ll. 21-22 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for both “the outer side” and “the first discharging table” in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the alignment is arranged on the “at least two first discharging tables” or only one of the at least two first discharging tables. As best understood, the alignment module is arranged on one of the at least two first discharging tables, which is the same “one of the first discharging tables” from ll. 8 of the claim. For examination purposes, claim ll. 21-22 of claim 1 is interpreted as:
--an alignment module, being arranged on the workbench, being arranged at [[the]]]an outer side of the one of the at least two first discharging tables along the first direction, and being configured to push the plurality of second—
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the top of the first discharging table is lower than the top of the second discharging table” in ll. 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for both “the first discharging table” and “the second discharging table.” It is unclear to the Examiner whether only one of the at least two first discharging tables and only one of the at least two second discharging tables is required. As best understood and for examination purposes, ll. 2 of claim 2 recites:
--[[the]]a top of the one of the at least two first discharging tables is lower than [[the]]a top of one of the at least two second discharging tables along—
Claim 5 recites, “the first discharging tables comprise first limiting grooves, and one of the first workpieces in one of the first limiting grooves” in ll. 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient basis for both “the first discharging tables” and “one of the first workpieces.” As best understood, “the first discharging tables” is directed to “the at least two first discharging tables” from claim 1 (which claim 5 depends from). Further, it is unclear to the Examiner whether additional first workpieces are required, whether the singular first workpiece from claim 1 is arranged in one of the first limiting grooves, or whether the “one of the first workpieces” should be one of the plurality of second workpieces, which have been previously recited in claim 1. As best understood, the singular workpiece from claim 1 is arranged in one of the first limiting grooves. Therefore, for examination purposes, ll. 2-3 of claim 5 is interpreted as:
--the at least two first discharging tables comprise first limiting grooves, and
Claim 6 recites “in the first direction, the first discharging table and the second discharging table at the same side are disposed adjacent to each other” in ll. 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for both “the first discharging table” and “the second discharging table.” As best understood, only one of the at least two first discharging tables and one of the at least two second discharging tables are disposed adjacent to each other at a same side of the workbench. Therefore, for examination purposes, claim 6 recites:
--in the first direction, at least one of the at least two first discharging tables and at least one of the at least two second discharging tables at [[the]]a same side are disposed adjacent to each other, and the at least one first discharging table and the at least one second discharging table at the same side are capable of sliding relative to the workpiece in the first direction.—
Claim 7 recites, “the first discharging table and the second discharging table at the same side are all fixed to one of the first sliding blocks” in ll. 4-5 of the claim. As best understood from claim 6, which claim 7 depends from, the first and second discharging tables are directed toward the at least one of each of the at least two first and second discharging tables. Therefore, for examination purposes, ll. 4-5 of claim 7 recites:
--and the at least one first discharging table and the at least one second discharging table at the same side are all fixed to one of the first sliding blocks.—
Claim 8 recites “between the two positioning pieces” in ll. 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the two positioning pieces” since ll. 2 only requires “positioning pieces”. Though the Examiner notes the plural use of “pieces” in ll. 2 requires at least two positioning pieces, the “two” recitation is not explicitly recited and the plural “pieces” may be interpreted as more than two. Therefore, for examination purposes and as best understood in view of the instant disclosure, ll. 3 in claim 8 recites:
--rail, and [[the ]]spacing between the [[two ]]positioning pieces is adjustable.—
Claim 9 recites, “the first discharging table comprises a plurality of limiting blocks, and the first limiting groove is enclosed by the plurality of limiting blocks, or the first limiting groove is enclosed by the plurality limiting blocks together with the second discharging table.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first discharging table,” “the second discharging table” and “the first limiting groove” in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether “the first discharging table” and “the second discharging table” are directed towards the “the at least one first discharging table” and “at least one second discharging table” from the interpretation of claim 6 or whether the claim is directed towards the “at least two first discharging tables” and “the at least two second discharging tables” as originally recited in claim 1. Further, it is unclear to the Examiner whether “the first limiting groove” is directed to the “one of the first limiting grooves” in ll. 2 of claim 5 (which claim 9 is dependent on) or directed towards the “first limiting grooves.” For examination purposes and as best understood, claim 9 is interpreted as:
--the at least two first discharging tables comprise[[s]] a plurality of limiting blocks, and the first limiting grooves [[is]]are enclosed by the plurality of limiting blocks, or the first limiting grooves [[is]]are enclosed by the plurality of limiting blocks together with the at least two second discharging tables.—
Claim 10 recites “corresponds to the limiting block” in ll. 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the limiting block” and it is unclear to the Examiner whether the limiting block is directed towards one of the plurality of limiting blocks or the plurality of limiting blocks. For examination purposes and as best understood, ll. 3 in claim 10 recites:
--corresponds to [[the]]one of the plurality of limiting blocks.—
Claim 11 recites “the second driving unit is configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the third direction” in ll. 5-6 of the claim. First, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “third direction” in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether claim 11 should be dependent from claim 2, which introduces “a third direction” or whether the “third direction” is a newly introduced limitation. Second, as best understood from the instant disclosure and as recited in the earlier lines of the claim, the first and second driving units are configured to drive the electric screwdriver module in the other axes, i.e. first and second directions, and therefore, the third driving unit is configured to drive the module along a third direction. For examination purposes, ll. 5-6 recites:
--to slide along the first direction, and the third driving unit is configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along [[the]]a third direction.—
Claim 12 recites “The locking screw machine according to claim 10” which renders the claim indefinite. The subject matter of claim 12 is directed towards “the first driving unit,” “the second driving unit,” and “the third driving unit” which are introduced in claim 11, not claim 10. The subject matter of claim 10, or any preceding dependents, do not recite first, second, or third driving units. Therefore, as best understood and for examination purposes, claim 12 is dependent on claim 11 instead of claim 10.
Claim 13 recites “which is fixed below the second discharging table, an telescopic end of the second cylinder penetrates through the first discharging table” in ll. 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first discharging table” and “the second discharging table” in the claim. As best understood from the interpretation of claim 2 above, claim 13 is directed towards the “one of the at least two first discharging tables” and “one of the at least two second discharging tables.” For examination purposes, ll. 3-4 of claim 13 recites:
--the jacking mechanism comprises a second cylinder which is fixed below one of the at least two second discharging tables, [[an]]a telescopic end of the second cylinder penetrates through one of the at least two first discharging tables, and the telescopic end of the second cylinder is capable of extending and retracting along the—
Claims 3-4 and 14 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FabPlus Screwing Machine YouTube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glcIpCH3Ock&t=61s) in view of Li (CN 115106766), Tang (CN 114012427), and Sun (US 2024/0227096).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, FabPlus Screwing Machine YouTube video (referred to as FabPlus) discloses a locking screw machine (0:05-0:15 clip in video; see fig. 1 below), being characterized in that, comprising:
a machine frame (designated in fig. 1 below), a workbench (designated in annotated fig. 1 below) being arranged at the top of the machine frame;
a discharging table (designated in annotated fig. 1 below), a first workpiece (designated in annotated fig. 2 below) being placed on one of the first discharging tables along a second direction (second direction defined along length of workbench, designated in figs. 1-2; first workpiece is positioned on table along the second direction via user, video clip at 0:35), a plurality of second workpieces (designated in annotated fig. 2 below), and two ends of the second workpieces are respectively inserted into first location holes of the first workpieces on both sides of the second workpieces (first location holes designated in annotated fig. 2 below; wherein each second workpiece is inserted within a first location hole(s) of the first workpiece(s) on opposing ends of the second workpiece);
Annotated Fig. 1 of FabPlus.
an electric screwdriver module (designated in annotated fig. 1 above; defined as automatic screwing and auto-feeding machine in NPL), being arranged on the machine frame (figs. 1-2), and being configured to drive a screw into a second location hole (defined as hole through upper side of first workpiece in which screw inserts into; fig. 3 below) of the first workpiece and screw the screw to realize the fixation of the first workpiece and the second workpiece (video clip 0:55-1.32; designated in annotated fig. 3 below);
Annotated Fig. 2 of FabPlus.
a positioning camera (defined as visual laser system in video description, refer to NPL; video clip 0:13-0:17), being arranged on the electric screwdriver module (positioning camera is within electric screwdriver module; fig. 1 above) and being communicatively connected with the electric screwdriver module (positioning camera provides visual for the screwdriver module in order for user to determine position of where the screw will be inserted; video clip 0:13-0:17).
wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other (designated in annotated figs. 1-2 above), and axes of the first location hole and the second location hole are perpendicular to each other (first and second location holes are on perpendicular sides of first workpiece and therefore, perpendicular to one another).
Annotated Fig. 3 of FabPlus.
FabPlus does explicitly disclose a driving unit, being arranged on the machine frame and connected with the electric screwdriver module, and being configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to move so as to change the spatial position of the electric screwdriver module; and an alignment module, being arranged on the workbench, being arranged at the outer side of the first discharging table along the first direction, and being configured to push the plurality of second workpieces along the first direction so that the plurality of second workpieces are aligned along the second direction.
However, Li (CN 115106766) teaches an automatic locking screw machine (fig. 1) comprising a workbench (item 6; fig. 2), a discharging table (item 42; fig. 1), an electric screwdriver module (item 5; pp. [n0075]; fig. 2), a driving unit (item 50; pp. [n0075]; fig. 2 being arranged on the machine frame (corresponding to machine frame of FabPlus) and connected with the electric screwdriver module, and being configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to move so as to change a spatial position of the electric screwdriver module (pp. [n0075]; driving unit 50 is capable of moving the screwdriver module 51 to a screw-driving position via a screw-driving route to screw the screwdriver head into the workpiece) , and an alignment module (includes items 1, 3, 4; figs. 1-2 and 5-8), being arranged on the workbench, being arranged at the outer side of the discharging table along the first direction (first direction designated in annotated fig. 2 below, corresponding to first direction in FabPlus) and being configured to push the workpieces along the first direction so that the workpieces are aligned along the second direction (pp. [n0048]; alignment module is capable of positioning the workpiece along the first direction in order for the workpieces to align the second direction and secure in place).
Li Annotated Fig. 2.
Additionally, though Li discloses a discharging table, Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the discharging table comprising at least two first discharging tables and at least two second discharging tables, the at least two first discharging tables being arranged on the workbench at intervals along a first direction, the at least two second discharging tables being arranged on the workbench at intervals along the first direction, the at least two first discharging tables being arranged at the outer side of the at least two second discharging tables, wherein the first workpiece is arranged on one of the first discharging tables and the plurality of second workpieces arranged on the at least two second discharging tables at intervals along the second direction.
However, Tang (CN 114012427) teaches an automated fence production line comprising an electric screwdriver module (item 2036; pp. [n0039]; fig. 6) and a discharging table (item 5; fig. 4) configured to move a fence workpiece (item 101; pp.[n0037]; figs. 3-4) along the production line, analogous to the fence-like workpiece in FabPlus,
wherein the discharging table comprises at least two first discharging tables (designated in annotated fig. 4 below) and at least two second discharging tables (designated in annotated fig. 4 below), the at least two first discharging tables being arranged on the workbench at intervals along a first direction (first direction designated in annotated fig. 4 below, corresponding to the first direction in FabPlus above), the at least two second discharging tables being arranged on the workbench at intervals along the first direction (the at least two first and the at least second discharging tables are offset from one another along the first direction), the at least two first discharging tables being arranged at an outer side of the at least two second discharging tables (the at least two first discharging tables extend on outer sides of both second discharging tables; fig. 4 below),
wherein the first workpiece is arranged on one of the first discharging tables (item 103 of workpiece 101, corresponding to first workpiece annotated in fig. 1 of FabPlus above; first workpiece inserts into grooves 501 of first discharging tables) and the plurality of second workpieces arranged on the at least two second discharging tables at intervals along the second direction (items 102 of workpiece 101, corresponding to second workpieces in annotated fig. 1 of FabPlus above; second workpieces insert into grooves 502 of second discharging tables, wherein the grooves are disposed in intervals along the second direction).
Tang Annotated Fig. 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking screw machine, as disclosed in FabPlus, to include an automated workbench, discharging table, driving unit, and alignment module, as taught in Li, wherein the discharging table includes a least two first discharging tables and at least two second discharging tables, as further taught in Tang, in order for the locking screw machine to be automated thereby, reducing manual labor, improving efficiency, ensuring product quality (pp. [n0002] in Li), and precisely positioning and arranging the workpiece throughout the process to prevent the workpiece from moving during operation (pp. [n0049] in Li and pp. [n0037] in Tang).
Lastly, though FabPlus as modified by Li discloses a driving unit to spatially position the electric screwdriver module, Li is silent on the exact details of the driving unit (corresponding to the structure interpreted under 35 USC 112(f)), and further, is silent on the positioning camera being configured to identify the second location hole on the first workpiece.
However, Sun (US 2024/0227096) teaches an automated locking screw machine comprising an electric screwdriver module (item 130; figs. 2 and 4), a positioning camera (item 11; figs. 2 and 4) configured to identify fastener holes on the workpiece (pp [0142]), and a driving unit (includes items 10, 12, 13; figs. 4 and 7) configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to move so as to change a spatial position of the electric screwdriver module (pp. [0104]; fig. 4), wherein the driving unit comprises a first driving unit (item 13; fig. 4) configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along a second direction (corresponding to second direction in FabPlus above, i.e. y-direction), a second driving unit (item 12; fig. 4) configured to drive the electric screwdriver module along a first direction (corresponding to first direction in FabPlus above, i.e. x-direction), and a third driving unit (item 10; figs. 4 and 7) configured to drive the electric screwdriver module along a third direction (corresponding to third direction designated in annotated fig. 1 of FabPlus above, i.e. z-direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the positioning camera and the driving unit, as disclosed in FabPlus as modified by Li, to collect vision information of the workpiece and to include a first, second, and third driving unit each with driving sources and slide rails, as taught in Sun, to achieve the predictable result of accurately determining and positioning the electric screwdriver module along the workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 1, being characterized in that, a top of the one of the at least two first discharging table (Tang; designated in annotated fig. 4 above) is lower than a top of one of the at least two second discharging table (Tang; designated in annotated fig. 4 above) along a third direction (defined as the direction perpendicular to both first and second directions, i.e. up-down direction relative to machine; designated in annotated fig. 1 of FabPlus above), and the third direction is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction (annotated fig. 1 of FabPlus above).
Regarding claim 3, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 2, being characterized in that,
the alignment module comprises an alignment plate (Li; item 330; figs. 5-6) movably connected to the workbench (Li; via items 332, 333; figs. 5-6 and 8), the alignment plate is capable of sliding relative to the workbench in the first direction (Li; pp. [n0060], item 332 drives alignment plate 330 to slide along guide rail; figs. 5-6) and the alignment plate is capable of moving upward and downward relative to the workbench in the third direction (Li; pp. [n0060], alignment plate 330 is moved upward and downward via item 333; figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 4, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 3, being characterized in that,
the alignment module comprises a first cylinder (Li; item 333; figs. 1 and 5-6) and a positioning plate (Li; item 331; figs. 1 and 5-6) connected with a telescopic end of the first cylinder (Li; pp, [n0060-0061], defined as output end of first cylinder 333), the first cylinder is installed on the workbench (Li; fig. 2), the telescopic end of the first cylinder is capable of extending and retracting in the third direction (Li; pp. [n0060]; telescopic end of first cylinder 333 is capable of moving along third direction, i.e. up-and-down), the positioning plate is arranged between the alignment plate and the workbench, and the alignment plate is slidably installed on the positioning plate (Li; pp. [n0061], item 3301 of alignment plate 330 is slidably connected to positioning plate 331).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 3, being characterized in that,
the at least two first discharging tables comprise first limiting grooves (Tang; designated in annotated fig. 4 of Tang above, i.e. defined as items 501 on outermost sides of first discharging tables), and one of the first workpieces is arranged in one of the first limiting grooves (Tang, pp. [0077], column workpiece 103, i.e. first workpiece corresponding to first workpiece in FabPlus above, is positioned in first limiting grooves);
the at least two second discharging tables are provided with a plurality of second limiting grooves (Tang; items 502; fig. 4) at intervals along the second direction (Tang; plurality of second limiting grooves 502 are positioned along intervals in the second direction, fig. 4 of Tang above), and one of the second workpieces is arranged in one of the second limiting grooves (Tang, pp. [0077], row workpiece 102, i.e. second workpiece corresponding to second workpieces in FabPlus above, are positioned in second limiting grooves 502).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 5, being characterized in that,
in the first direction, at least one of the at least two first discharging table and at least one of the at least two second discharging table at a same side are disposed adjacent to each other (Tang; designated in annotated fig. 4 above; in the first direction, one of the at least two first discharging tables and one of the at least two second discharging tables are adjacent, i.e. next to, one another), and the at least one first discharging table and the at least one second discharging table at the same side are capable of sliding relative to the workbench in the first direction (both discharging tables are capable of sliding relative to the workbench along the first direction via the alignment module, as modified in from Li above).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 1, being characterized in that,
the driving unit comprises a first driving unit (Sun; item 13; pp. [0104]; fig. 4) , a second driving unit (Sun; item 12, pp. [0104]; fig. 4) and a third driving unit (Sun; item 10; pp. [0104]; figs. 4 and 7), wherein the first driving unit is configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the second direction (corresponding to second direction in FabPlus above, i.e. y-direction), the second driving unit is configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the first direction (corresponding to first direction in FabPlus above, i.e. x-direction), and the third driving unit is configured to drive the electric screwdriver module to slide along the third direction (corresponding to third direction in FabPlus above, i.e. z-direction).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 11, being characterized in that,
the first driving unit is installed on the machine frame, the first driving unit comprises a first driving source (Sun; item 131, pp. [0118] and [0121]; fig. 4) and a first sliding seat (Sun; item 134; pp. [0118]; fig. 4) connected with an output end of the first driving source (Sun; pp. [0118], first sliding seat 134 is connected to output end of first driving source 134, i.e. item 133; fig. 4), and the electric screwdriver module is installed on the first sliding seat (Sun; figs. 4 and 7; electric screwdriver module is connected to first sliding seat 134 via intermediate components);
the second driving unit is installed on the first sliding seat (Sun; fig. 4; second driving unit is installed on, i.e. above, first sliding seat 134), the second driving unit comprises a second driving source (Sun; item 121; pp. [0118] and [0121]; fig. 4) and a second sliding seat (Sun; item 124; fig. 4) connected with an output end of the second driving source (Sun; pp. [0118]; second sliding seat 124 is connected to output end of second driving source 121, i.e. item 123; fig. 4), and the electric screwdriver module is installed on the second sliding seat (Sun; figs. 4 and 7; electric screwdriver module is connected to second sliding seat 124 via intermediate components);
the third driving unit is installed on the second sliding seat (Sun; fig. 4; third driving unit 10 is installed on second sliding seat via intermediate components), the third driving unit comprises a third driving source (Sun; item 102; pp. [0145]; fig. 7) and a third sliding seat (Sun; item 104; fig. 7) connected with an output end of the third driving source (Sun; third sliding seat 104 connected to output end of third driving source, i.e. item 103; fig. 4), and the electric screwdriver module is installed on the third sliding seat (Sun; fig. 7; electric screwdriver module 105 is mounted directly to third sliding seat 104).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FabPlus Screwing Machine YouTube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glcIpCH3Ock&t=61s) in view of Li (CN 115106766), Tang (CN 114012427), Sun (US 2024/0227096), and further in view of Liang (CN 112108889).
Regarding claim 7, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose, being characterized in that,
the workbench is provided with a first slide rail below the discharging table, the first slide rail extends along the first direction, two first sliding blocks are slidably arranged on the first slide rail, and the first discharging table and the second discharging table at the same side are all fixed to one of the first sliding blocks.
However, Liang (CN 112108889) teaches a machine frame (item 100; pp. [0061]; fig. 24) and a workbench (designated in annotated fig. 24 below) provided with a first slide rail (designated in annotated fig. 24 below, including item 2600 in view of fig. 26) below the discharging table (first slide rail is positioned below discharging table, corresponding to discharging table in Li, in order to convey the discharging table along the machine frame), the first slide rail extends along a first direction (designated in annotated fig. 24 below, corresponding to first direction in FabPlus), two first sliding blocks (items 2100; figs. 24-25) slidably arranged on the first slide rail (via item 2700, pp. [0089], fig. 24), and the first discharging table and the second discharging table at the same side are all fixed to one of the first sliding boxes (the discharging table, as modified from Tang above, is positioned above the first slide rail and fixed to the sliding blocks via intermediate components during use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking screw machine, as disclosed in FabPlus as modified above, to include a first slide rail with first sliding blocks and positioning pieces (corresponding to items 2400 in fig. 25 of Liang) below the discharging table, as taught in Liang, in order to keep the discharging table and thereby, the workpiece(s) centered during transport along the machine frame (pp. [0088] in Liang).
Annotated Fig. 24 in Liang.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 7, being characterized in that,
in the first direction, positioning pieces (Liang; items 2400; figs. 24-25) are provided respectively at two sides of the first slide rail (Liang; positioning pieces 2400 are disposed on left and right sides of first slide rail along the first direction; fig. 24 above), and the spacing between the positioning pieces is adjustable (Liang; via items 2300; pp. [0088-0089], figs. 24-25).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 6, being characterized in that,
the at least two first discharging table comprises a plurality of limiting blocks (Tang; items 503, defined as opposing ends of the at least two first discharging tables), and the first limiting grooves are enclosed by the plurality of limiting blocks (Tang; first limiting grooves are enclosed within the boundaries of the plurality of limiting blocks 503; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 9, being characterized in that, in the first direction, an avoidance groove (Li; defined as groove between items 3302, designated in annotated fig. 7 below) is provided at a position of the alignment plate that corresponds to one of the plurality of limiting blocks (when in use, the avoidance groove is arranged along the length direction of the workpiece, i.e. defined as plurality of limiting blocks 503 in Tang which are disposed on outermost ends of workpiece, fig. 4 in Tang above).
Li Annotated Fig. 7.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FabPlus Screwing Machine YouTube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glcIpCH3Ock&t=61s) in view of Li (CN 115106766), Tang (CN 114012427), Sun (US 2024/0227096), and further in view of Wei (CN 108907652).
Regarding claim 14, FabPlus as modified discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 1. Though the locking screw machine as modified comprises an automated machine, FabPlus as modified does not explicitly disclose the machine comprising an operation panel; the operation panel is electrically connected with the alignment module, the electric screwdriver module, the driving unit and the positioning camera respectively.
However, Wei (CN 108907652) teaches an automated assembling device comprising a machine frame (item 6; fig. 1), a workbench (item 61; fig. 1), an electric screwdriver module (item 471; fig. 2), a positioning camera (item 55; fig. 4), an alignment module (item 5; fig. 1), a driving unit (includes items 2, 3, 4; figs. 1-2), and an operation panel (pp. [0039]; defined as control panel configured as a touch screen display), wherein the operation panel is electrically connected with the alignment module, the electric screwdriver module, the driving unit, and the positioning camera (pp. [0039]; control panel is connected with electrical control system to control the entire equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking screw machine, as disclosed in FabPlus as modified, to include an operation panel, as taught in Wei in order for the user to operate the machine through the operation panel and display relevant information to the user, such as equipment malfunctions (pp. [0039] in Wei).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, FabPlus as modified above discloses the locking screw machine as claimed in claim 2, being characterized in that, comprises a jacking mechanism (Li; item 333, pp. [n0060]; figs. 5-6), the jacking mechanism comprises a second cylinder which is fixed below at least one of the at least two second discharging tables (Li, cylinder 333 is fixed at a positioned below the second discharging table), and a telescopic end of the second cylinder is capable of extending and retracting along the third direction (pp. [0060] in Li).
FabPlus, alone or in further combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious where the telescopic end of the second cylinder penetrates through at least one of the at least two first discharging tables, as required by the claim, in combination with all additional elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723