DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) rejected under Villarruel have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Examiner agrees that Villaruel is silent with respect to the analog to digital conversion structure. It is noted that newly added independent claim 24 discloses an analog signal. Further, analog-to-digital (AD or ADCs) conversions are common in the art. Therefore, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 11,588,613 to Garrett et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100183294 to Villarruel et al. in view of US 11,588,613 to Garrett et al.
Villarruel discloses in the abstract and figures 7 and 10, a receiver (252) comprising:
an optical de-multiplexer (262), configured to receive from a transmitter (10; figure 1 and paragraph 68), over an optical fiber (link 264), a combined beam that combines at least three modulated Tx light beams produced by at least three respective laser sources at different carrier frequencies, and to split the combined beam into at least three Rx light beams corresponding respectively to the modulated Tx light beams (via transmitter control system described in paragraphs 68-69);
a module, configured to convert the Rx light beams into corresponding Rx digital signals (254, 256; figure 9); and
a processor (106), configured to recover a data stream from each Rx digital signal while detecting interference in the Rx digital signal due to Four-Wave Mixing (FWM; paragraph 2) in the optical fiber, and to send to the transmitter a notification indicative of the interference for adjusting one or more of the carrier frequencies in order to mitigate the interference due to FWM (figure 10).
It is noted that no specifics are recited as to how the processor is configured to process and alter the digital signals. The prior art certainly is configured to process and alter signals as shown in Figure 10.
As to claim 12, interference is detected and accounted for (paragraph 48).
As to claim 13, an attribute is noted and an adjustment is made (boxes 310, 312 and 314; figure 10).
Claims 14-15 relate to detecting and processing pre-determined signals.
Claims 17-22 are method claims that recite the basic steps of providing and using the above structure. Since the structure has been disclosed, the general use of such is also anticipated.
However, Villaruel does not disclose certain terms such as “Front End Modules”, “Zero-dispersion f0” frequency (claim 11), and a Feed-Forward Equalizer (claim 16). It is noted that no specific structure is claimed as to how the associated functions for each of those terms are to be enabled.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that although these specific terms are not explicitly mentioned in the prior art, Villaruel discloses a processor configured to optimize signals at specific wavelengths using FWM and performs the same or similar functions as currently claimed.
Villaruel also fails to disclose a converter to convert Rx signals to digital signals (though not recited in claims 1 and 25, it is implied that signals start as analog) and newly added claim 24 discloses such conversions from analog to digital.
Garrett discloses the common use and addition of analog to digital (A/D) converters and vice-versa to generate necessary control signals for designed operations for its intended use (column 9, lines 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add an A/D converter as taught by Garrett in Villruel to generate proper control signals for a feedback control loop.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0206105 (A/D converters with synchronization).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874