DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 10/07/2025. The amendments filed on 10/07/2025 are entered.
The previous rejections of claims 9, 18-20, 24, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the applicant’s remarks/amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an impulse generator” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20140257144) hereinafter Capelli, in view of Klopotek et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20080027328) hereinafter Klopotek, in view of Cioanta (U.S. Pub. No. 20160310766) hereinafter Cioanta, in further view of Reichenberger (U.S. Pat. No. 4664111) hereinafter Reichenberger ‘111.
Regarding claim 1, primary reference Capelli teaches:
A device for the treatment of malignant diseases (abstract; [0134], treating tumors or other maladies), the device comprising:
an impulse generator for generating tumor-destructive impulses ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”); The limitation of “impulse generator” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to correspond to the structure of an impulse generator types as disclosed in [0136]-[0137], [0150], of the applicant’s specification, and includes electrohydraulic pulse generation. This corresponds to the pulse generation system 26 and spark head module 22 as taught by Capelli in [0071], which corresponds to an electrohydraulic (EH) pulse generator), and
Primary reference Capelli fails to teach:
Wherein each tumor-destructive impulse exhibits a plurality of frequency bands
However, the analogous art of Klopotek of a method and apparatus for delivering treatment energy to a tissue region of interest (abstract) teaches:
Wherein each tumor-destructive impulse exhibits a plurality of frequency bands ([0163], shock wave generators that generate pulses with a broad frequency domain forms a teaching to a “plurality of frequency bands” because a broad set of frequencies covers the broadest reasonable interpretation of a plurality of individual bands within the overall set; see also [0130]-[0131])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shock wave tumor treatment device of Capelli to incorporate the broad frequency domain for shock wave pulse as taught by Klopotek because pulsed broad frequency shock waves provide for powerful mechanical tissue responses leading to enough energy to tear apart tissues and stimulate a biological response (Klopotek, [0130]-[0131]; [0163]). This leads to better treatment efficiency, leading to improved clinical outcomes.
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
a control unit configured to control said generating to cause said tumor-destructive impulses to exhibit a pressure shock repetition frequency of 0.2-30 Hz and an energy flux density of 0.1 to 10 mJ/mm2
However, the analogous art of Cioanta of an acoustic pressure shock wave treatment system (abstract) teaches:
a control unit configured to control said generating to cause said tumor-destructive impulses to exhibit a pressure shock repetition frequency of 0.2-30 Hz ([0080], repetition frequency; [0082], repetition frequency rate overlaps the claimed range with a teaching of 1 to 20 Hz; [0103]; [0107]; [0114]; [1020]-[0129]) and
an energy flux density of 0.1 to 10 mJ/mm2 ([0106], flux density of 0.1 to 1 mJ/mm2 overlaps the claimed range; [0114], flux density; [0120]-[0129], flux density overlaps the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shock wave tumor treatment device of Capelli and Klopotek to incorporate the shock repetition frequency and flux density as taught by Cioanta because it provides for sufficient depth of energy penetration within the target tissues of interest and cavitation formation, without damaging the healthy tissue structures within the overall treatment region (Cioanta, [0081]-[0082]; [0106]-[0107]). This provides for enhanced treatment, while reducing unwanted side effects.
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause the tumor-destructive impulses to be generated in a sequential manner and to cause a temporal interval between adjacent ones of the tumor-destructive impulses to be smaller than a duration of each of the tumor-destructive impulse such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping tumor-destructive impulses is produced
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘111 of a shock wave generator for delivering first and second time-staggered waves to a target of interest (abstract) teaches:
wherein the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause the destructive impulses to be generated in a sequential manner and to cause a temporal interval between adjacent ones of the destructive impulses to be smaller than a duration of each of the destructive impulse such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping destructive impulses is produced (col 1, lines 32-37, “the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the concrement.”; col 1, lines 65-68, “If the appropriate dimensions are suitably chosen, two secondary shock waves can impinge on the concrement staggered in time in such a way that their actions overlap”; col 2, lines 31-65, right hand part 5a and left wave 5b form the sequentially generated impulses that are configured to have a temporal interval between arrival of the waves at the impulse field that is smaller than the duration of the first arriving impulse. This forms an impulse field with two (a plurality) of overlapping impulses as claimed; col 2, line 66 through col 3, line 21 further discuss the time delay of 10 microseconds as an example in which the impulse arrivals are sequential, with the temporal interval between impulses small enough to enable superposition of the wave action at the target tissue region of interest)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, and Cioanta to incorporate the overlapping destructive impulses at the target region of interest by keeping a temporal interval between wave arrivals at a small enough period as taught by Reichenberger ‘111 because the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the treatment site (Reichenberger ‘111, col 1, lines 32-37). This leads to improved treatment efficiency, leading to better results at a reduced cost.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli, in view of Klopotek, in view of Cioanta, in further view of Reichenberger ‘111 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Theuer (DE 44 14 239 A1) hereinafter Theuer ‘239 (see attached combined English translation of the office action of 6/18/2025 for citations).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein:
the control unit is further configured to receive information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease; and
the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause the impulse generator to generate said tumor-destructive impulses as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
wherein:
the control unit is further configured to receive information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054]); and
the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause the impulse generator to generate said tumor-destructive impulses as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the known physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
wherein said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells ([0016], viscoelastic behavior of the cell is taken into account; [0031], visco-elastic deformation behavior of a cell; [0036]-[0037], viscosity of the malignant cells; [0044]-[0046]; [0047], visco-elastic behavior; [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information of viscoelasticity as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the different viscoelastic physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Claims 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli, in view of Klopotek, in view of Cioanta, in further view of Reichenberger ‘111 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Theuer (U.S. Pub. No. 20120109024) hereinafter Theuer ‘024.
Regarding claim 4, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising
a plurality of tumor-destructive impulse applicators connected to the impulse generator, wherein the tumor-destructive impulse applicators are in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and are positioned to direct tumor-destructive impulses emitted respectively therefrom to a common target location;
wherein the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause at least two of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators to emit said tumor-destructive impulses respectively therefrom in a successive sequence
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising
a plurality of tumor-destructive impulse applicators connected to the impulse generator wherein the tumor-destructive impulse applicators are in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and are positioned to direct tumor-destructive impulses emitted respectively therefrom to a common target location ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the positioning of a plurality of applicators relative to one another with pulsed output as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause at least two of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators to emit respective instances of said tumor-destructive impulses therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘111 of a shock wave generator for delivering first and second time-staggered waves to a target of interest (abstract) teaches:
wherein the control unit being configured to control said generating includes the control unit being configured to cause at least two of the destructive impulse applicators to emit respective instances of said destructive impulses therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the destructive impulse applicators (col 1, lines 32-37, “the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the concrement.”; col 1, lines 65-68, “If the appropriate dimensions are suitably chosen, two secondary shock waves can impinge on the concrement staggered in time in such a way that their actions overlap”; col 2, lines 31-65, right hand part 5a and left wave 5b form the sequentially generated impulses that are configured to have a temporal interval between arrival of the waves at the impulse field that is smaller than the duration of the first arriving impulse. This forms an impulse field with two (a plurality) of overlapping impulses as claimed; As shown in figure 1, reflectors 11 and 13 form at least two of the impulse applicators applying first and second waves to emit the waves in a time-staggered manner to the target location; col 2, line 66 through col 3, line 21 further discuss the time delay of 10 microseconds as an example in which the impulse arrivals are sequential, with the temporal interval between impulses small enough to enable superposition of the wave action at the target tissue region of interest)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the overlapping destructive impulses at the target region of interest in a time-staggered manner by adjacent applicators as taught by Reichenberger ‘111 because the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the treatment site (Reichenberger ‘111, col 1, lines 32-37). This leads to improved treatment efficiency, leading to better results at a reduced cost.
Regarding claim 5, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 4. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising:
an applicator holder having each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators attached thereto
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising:
an applicator holder having each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators attached thereto ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the positioning within an applicator holder as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the applicator holder is arcuate shaped
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein the applicator holder is arcuate shaped (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is arcuate shaped; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 6. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein at least two of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators are in opposing arrangement relative to each other
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein at least two of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators are in opposing arrangement relative to each other (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising:
a plurality of positioning mechanisms each attached to a respective one of the tumor- destructive impulse applicators to enable each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators to be adjustably arranged relative to a common target location
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising:
a plurality of positioning mechanisms each attached to a respective one of the tumor- destructive impulse applicators to enable each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators to be adjustably arranged relative to a common target location ([0014], positioning ability of generators; [0021]-[0022], positioning and pivoting of ultrasound generators; [0034], mechanically moveable; [0035], aligned in any position; [0044]-[0045]; figure 1 and figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the mechanically moveable positioning of applicators as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein:
the applicator holder is anatomically shaped;
the applicator holder being anatomically shaped includes the applicator holder having an interior space; and
the interior space being shaped to receive therein a portion of a breast or a portion of a skull
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein:
the applicator holder is anatomically shaped (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder);
the applicator holder being anatomically shaped includes the applicator holder having an interior space (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped with an interior space for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
the interior space being shaped to receive therein a portion of a breast or a portion of a skull (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the anatomically shaped holder for a portion of a breast as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 4. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the plurality of tumor-destructive impulse applicators includes at least one pair of tumor-destructive impulse applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein the plurality of tumor-destructive impulse applicators includes at least one pair of tumor-destructive impulse applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 10. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein a common target location of each of the tumor- destructive impulse applicators of the pair is centrally located between the at least one pair of tumor-destructive impulse applicators
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein a common target location of each of the tumor- destructive impulse applicators of the pair is centrally located between the at least one pair of tumor-destructive impulse applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region centrally located between the applicators; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with centrally located target region as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 10. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein: the plurality of tumor-destructive impulse applicators includes at least two sets of opposing tumor-destructive impulse applicators
each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein: the plurality of tumor-destructive impulse applicators includes at least two sets of opposing tumor-destructive impulse applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other and equally spaced around the treatment bell 10; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of C Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with uniformly spaced, opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 teach all of the limitations of claim 4. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein at least one of: a common target location of each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators is centrally located between the tumor-destructive impulse applicators
each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein at least one of: a common target location of each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators is centrally located between the tumor-destructive impulse applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region centrally located between the applicators; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
each of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the tumor-destructive impulse applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other and equally spaced around the treatment bell 10; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Klopotek, Cioanta, Reichenberger ‘111 and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with uniformly spaced, opposing applicators relative to the centrally located target region as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Claims 15-23, 26, 29-33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli, in view of Theuer ‘024, in further view of Reichenberger ‘111.
Regarding claim 15, primary reference Capelli teaches:
A device for the treatment of diseases (abstract), comprising
at least one shock wave generator ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 (shock wave generator) as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”););
a shock wave applicator ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 (shock wave applicator)which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”);)
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
a plurality of shock wave applicators in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and positioned to direct shock waves emitted respectively therefrom to a common target location; and
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
a plurality of pulse applicators in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and positioned to direct pulse waves emitted respectively therefrom to a common target location ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli to incorporate the positioning of a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
a control unit configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator and wherein the control unit being configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator includes the control unit being configured to cause at least two of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner and to cause a temporal interval between adjacent ones of the shock waves to be smaller than a duration of each of the shock waves such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping shock waves is produced
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘111 of a shock wave generator for delivering first and second time-staggered waves to a target of interest (abstract) teaches:
a control unit configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator and wherein the control unit being configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator includes the control unit being configured to cause at least two of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner and to cause a temporal interval between adjacent ones of the shock waves to be smaller than a duration of each of the shock waves such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping shock waves is produced (col 1, lines 32-37, “the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the concrement.”; col 1, lines 65-68, “If the appropriate dimensions are suitably chosen, two secondary shock waves can impinge on the concrement staggered in time in such a way that their actions overlap”; col 2, lines 31-65, right hand part 5a and left wave 5b form the sequentially generated impulses that are configured to have a temporal interval between arrival of the waves at the impulse field that is smaller than the duration of the first arriving impulse. This forms an impulse field with two (a plurality) of overlapping impulses as claimed; As shown in figure 1, reflectors 11 and 13 form at least two of the impulse applicators applying first and second waves to emit the waves in a time-staggered manner to the target location; col 2, line 66 through col 3, line 21 further discuss the time delay of 10 microseconds as an example in which the impulse arrivals are sequential, with the temporal interval between impulses small enough to enable superposition of the wave action at the target tissue region of interest)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the overlapping destructive impulses at the target region of interest by keeping a temporal interval between wave arrivals at a small enough period as taught by Reichenberger ‘111 because the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the treatment site (Reichenberger ‘111, col 1, lines 32-37). This leads to improved treatment efficiency, leading to better results at a reduced cost.
Regarding claim 16, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 15. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising: an applicator holder having each of the shock wave applicators are attached thereto
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising: an applicator holder having each of the applicators are attached thereto ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the positioning within an applicator holder as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 16. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the applicator holder is arcuate shaped
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein the applicator holder is arcuate shaped (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is arcuate shaped; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 18, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 17. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein at least two of the shock wave applicators are in opposing arrangement relative to each other
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein at least two of the shock wave applicators are in opposing arrangement relative to each other (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 19, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 17. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising: a plurality of positioning mechanism each attached to a respective one of the shock wave applicators to enable each of the shock wave applicators to be adjustable arranged relative to the common target location.
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising: a plurality of positioning mechanism each attached to a respective one of the shock wave applicators to enable each of the shock wave applicators to be adjustable arranged relative to the common target location ([0014], positioning ability of generators; [0021]-[0022], positioning and pivoting of ultrasound generators; [0034], mechanically moveable; [0035], aligned in any position; [0044]-[0045]; figure 1 and figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the mechanically moveable postioning of applicators as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 20, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 19. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein:
the applicator holder is anatomically shaped;
the applicator holder being anatomically shaped includes the applicator holder having an interior space; and
the interior space being shaped to receive therein a portion of a breast or a portion of a skull.
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein:
the applicator holder is anatomically shaped (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder);
the applicator holder being anatomically shaped includes the applicator holder having an interior space (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped with an interior space for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
the interior space being shaped to receive therein a portion of a breast or a portion of a skull (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the anatomically shaped holder for a portion of a breast as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 21, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 15. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the plurality of shock wave applicators includes at least one pair of shock wave applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein the plurality of applicators includes at least one pair of applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 22, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 21. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the common target location is centrally located between the at least one pair of shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein the common target location is centrally located between the at least one pair of applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region centrally located between the applicators; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with centrally located target region as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 23, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 21. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein: the plurality of shock wave applicators includes at least two sets of opposing shock wave applicators; and
each of the shock wave applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein: the plurality of shock wave applicators includes at least two sets of opposing applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
each of the applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other and equally spaced around the treatment bell 10; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with uniformly spaced, opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 26, primary reference Capelli teaches:
A device for the treatment of diseases (abstract), comprising
shock wave applicator ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 (shock wave applicator)which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”);)
shock wave generator ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 (shock wave generator) as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”);)
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
a plurality of shock wave applicators in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and positioned to direct shock waves emitted respectively therefrom to a common target location;
a plurality of shock wave generators each connected to a respective one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
a plurality of shock wave applicators in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and positioned to direct shock waves emitted respectively therefrom to a common target location ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder);
a plurality of shock wave generators each connected to a respective one of the shock wave applicators ([0044], plurality of generators for operating the probes); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli to incorporate the positioning of a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
a control unit connected to each of the shock wave generators, wherein the control unit is configured to activate each of the shock wave generators in a sequential manner whereby each of the shock wave applicators sequentially emits a respective instance of said shock waves therefrom, wherein the control unit is configured to cause a temporal interval between adjacent ones of said shock waves to be smaller than a duration of each of the shock waves such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping shock waves is produced
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘111 of a shock wave generator for delivering first and second time-staggered waves to a target of interest (abstract) teaches:
a control unit connected to each of the shock wave generators, wherein the control unit is configured to activate each of the shock wave generators in a sequential manner whereby each of the shock wave applicators sequentially emits a respective instance of said shock waves therefrom, wherein the control unit is configured to cause a temporal interval between adjacent ones of said shock waves to be smaller than a duration of each of the shock waves such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping shock waves is produced (col 1, lines 32-37, “the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the concrement.”; col 1, lines 65-68, “If the appropriate dimensions are suitably chosen, two secondary shock waves can impinge on the concrement staggered in time in such a way that their actions overlap”; col 2, lines 31-65, right hand part 5a and left wave 5b form the sequentially generated impulses that are configured to have a temporal interval between arrival of the waves at the impulse field that is smaller than the duration of the first arriving impulse. This forms an impulse field with two (a plurality) of overlapping impulses as claimed; As shown in figure 1, reflectors 11 and 13 form at least two of the impulse applicators applying first and second waves to emit the waves in a time-staggered manner to the target location; col 2, line 66 through col 3, line 21 further discuss the time delay of 10 microseconds as an example in which the impulse arrivals are sequential, with the temporal interval between impulses small enough to enable superposition of the wave action at the target tissue region of interest)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the overlapping destructive impulses at the target region of interest by keeping a temporal interval between wave arrivals at a small enough period as taught by Reichenberger ‘111 because the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the treatment site (Reichenberger ‘111, col 1, lines 32-37). This leads to improved treatment efficiency, leading to better results at a reduced cost.
Regarding claim 29, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 26. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising: an applicator holder having each of the shock wave applicators attached thereto
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising: an applicator holder having each of the applicators attached thereto ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the positioning within an applicator holder as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Regarding claim 30, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 29. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein at least two of the shock wave applicators are in opposing arrangement relative to each other
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein at least two of the applicators are in opposing arrangement relative to each other (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with opposing applicators to each other as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 31, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 26. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
further comprising:
a plurality of positioning mechanisms each attached to a respective one of the shock wave applicators to enable each of the shock wave applicators to be adjustably arranged relative to the common target location.
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
further comprising:
a plurality of positioning mechanisms each attached to a respective one of the applicators to enable each of the applicators to be adjustably arranged relative to the common target location ([0014], positioning ability of generators; [0021]-[0022], positioning and pivoting of ultrasound generators; [0034], mechanically moveable; [0035], aligned in any position; [0044]-[0045]; figure 1 and figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the mechanically moveable positioning of applicators as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 32, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 31. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the applicator holder is anatomically shaped
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein the applicator holder is anatomically shaped (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped with an interior space for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the anatomically shaped holder for a portion of a breast as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 33, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 31. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
the applicator holder being anatomically shaped includes the applicator holder having an interior space
the interior space being shaped to receive therein a portion of a breast or a portion of a skull
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
the applicator holder being anatomically shaped includes the applicator holder having an interior space (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped with an interior space for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder); and
the interior space being shaped to receive therein a portion of a breast or a portion of a skull (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the anatomically shaped holder for a portion of a breast as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 36, primary reference Capelli teaches:
A method for the treatment of a tumor (abstract)
With a shock wave applicator ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 (shock wave applicator)which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”);)
With a shock wave generator ([0022], pulse-generation of shock waves using one or more EH tips; [0023], shockwave therapies; [0024]-[0026]; [0038]-[0040]; [0070]-[0075], describe apparatus 10 with spark head 22 which produces the impulses from the pulse generation system 26 (shock wave generator) as shock waves to a patient; [0077]-[0091], describe the EH generator in greater detail; [0106], cancer treatment; [0116], EH generated shock waves to a patient; [0118], “cancer cells”; [0129], cancerous tumor; [0130]; [0134], “Some embodiments of the present methods of treating tumors or other maladies include multiple applications of shockwaves to targeted tissue (e.g., a tumor”);)
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
with a plurality of shock wave applicators, a plurality of shock wave generators each connected to a respective one of the shock wave applicators, and
a control unit connected to each of the shock wave generators,
the shock wave applicators are in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and are positioned adjacent to the tumor to direct shock waves emitted respectively therefrom into the tumor,
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
with a plurality of applicators ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder),
a plurality of generators each connected to a respective one of the applicators ([0044], plurality of generators for operating the probes), and
a control unit connected to each of the generators ([0044], plurality of generators for operating the probes; [0045]; [0021]-[0040]),
the applicators are in a spaced-apart arrangement relative to each other and are positioned adjacent to the tumor to direct pulses emitted respectively therefrom into the tumor ([0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli to incorporate the positioning of a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space (Theuer ‘024, [0032]).
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
the method comprising:
activating, by the control unit, each of the shock wave generators in a sequential manner whereby each of the shock wave applicators sequentially emits a respective instance of said shock waves therefrom; and
causing, by the control unit, a temporal interval between adjacent ones of the shockwaves to be smaller than a duration of each of the shock waves such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping shock waves is produced
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘111 of a shock wave generator for delivering first and second time-staggered waves to a target of interest (abstract) teaches:
activating, by the control unit, each of the shock wave generators in a sequential manner whereby each of the shock wave applicators sequentially emits a respective instance of said shock waves therefrom; and causing, by the control unit, a temporal interval between adjacent ones of the shockwaves to be smaller than a duration of each of the shock waves such that an impulse field exhibiting a plurality of overlapping shock waves is produced (col 1, lines 32-37, “the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the concrement.”; col 1, lines 65-68, “If the appropriate dimensions are suitably chosen, two secondary shock waves can impinge on the concrement staggered in time in such a way that their actions overlap”; col 2, lines 31-65, right hand part 5a and left wave 5b form the sequentially generated impulses that are configured to have a temporal interval between arrival of the waves at the impulse field that is smaller than the duration of the first arriving impulse. This forms an impulse field with two (a plurality) of overlapping impulses as claimed; As shown in figure 1, reflectors 11 and 13 form at least two of the impulse applicators applying first and second waves to emit the waves in a time-staggered manner to the target location; col 2, line 66 through col 3, line 21 further discuss the time delay of 10 microseconds as an example in which the impulse arrivals are sequential, with the temporal interval between impulses small enough to enable superposition of the wave action at the target tissue region of interest)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli and Theuer ‘024 to incorporate the overlapping destructive impulses at the target region of interest by keeping a temporal interval between wave arrivals at a small enough period as taught by Reichenberger ‘111 because the effect of the shock waves can be improved if they are so closely spaced in time that they overlap in their action on the treatment site (Reichenberger ‘111, col 1, lines 32-37). This leads to improved treatment efficiency, leading to better results at a reduced cost.
Claim 24, 34-35, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli, in view of Theuer ‘024, in further view of Reichenberger ‘111 as applied to claims 15 or 26 or 36 above, and further in view of Reichenberger et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4976255) hereinafter Reichenberger ‘255.
Regarding claim 24, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 15. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein:
the common target location is centrally located between the plurality of shock wave applicators;
each of the shock wave applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators; and
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘024 of a tumor cell destruction system using high frequency impulses (abstract) teaches:
wherein:
the common target location is centrally located between the plurality of applicators (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is anatomically shaped for a breast tissue region centrally located between the applicators; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder);
each of the applicators is uniformly spaced away from each adjacent one of the applicators; and (In the following citations, the treatment bell 10 is constructed with at least two of the applicators in opposing arrangement relative to each other and equally spaced around the treatment bell 10; [0014], holder includes a plurality of the generators and the probes for treatment; [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0024], pulsed outputs form successive sequence of impulses; [0031]-[0035], treatment bell 10 of figure 1 provides a plurality of applicators spaced apart relative to one another for directing treatment pulses to a common target location; [0039]-[0040]; [0044]-[0045], figure 3, individual probes 30a form spaced-apart impulse applicators within the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the arcuate applicator holder with uniformly spaced, opposing applicators relative to the centrally located target region as taught by Theuer ‘024 because it enables efficient alignment of treatment beams such that the maximum power of the treatment is focused within the target area of the treatment space such as a breast tissue region (Theuer ‘024, [0032]; [0044]-[0045]).
Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
the control unit being configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator includes the control unit being configured to cause all of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘255 of a shock wave treatment system for treating patient target areas (abstract) teaches:
the control unit being configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator includes the control unit being configured to cause all of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators (col 5, lines 52-67 and col 6, lines 34-54 with figure 5 depicting the shock wave sources of figure 1 (1a and 1b) being driven during a procedure by pulses Ia and Ib, which provide emission of shock waves from each applicator in a successive sequence across the overall treatment sequence with respect to each adjacent shock wave applicator. In combination with Reichenberger ‘111, this additional teaching to time staggered emission is applied with the time staggered teachings of Reichenberger ‘111)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the successive activation of shock waves as taught by Reichenberger ‘255 because the use of rapid successive energetic pulses can provide efficient treatment of target regions of interest while reducing the overall number of shockwaves required and diminishing the stress on a patient (Reichenberger ‘255, Col 2, lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 34, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 26. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the control unit being configured to activate the shock wave generators includes the control unit being configured to cause all of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘255 of a shock wave treatment system for treating patient target areas (abstract) teaches:
wherein the control unit being configured to activate the shock wave generators includes the control unit being configured to cause all of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators (col 5, lines 52-67 and col 6, lines 34-54 with figure 5 depicting the shock wave sources of figure 1 (1a and 1b) being driven during a procedure by pulses Ia and Ib, which provide emission of shock waves from each applicator in a successive sequence across the overall treatment sequence with respect to each adjacent shock wave applicator. In combination with Reichenberger ‘111, this additional teaching to time staggered emission is applied with the time staggered teachings of Reichenberger ‘111)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the successive activation of shock waves as taught by Reichenberger ‘255 because the use of rapid successive energetic pulses can provide efficient treatment of target regions of interest while reducing the overall number of shockwaves required and diminishing the stress on a patient (Reichenberger ‘255, Col 2, lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 35, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Reichenberger ‘255 teach all of the limitations of claim 34. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein the control unit being configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator includes the control unit being configured to activate the plurality of shock wave generators in the time-staggered manner
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘255 of a shock wave treatment system for treating patient target areas (abstract) teaches:
wherein the control unit being configured to activate the at least one shock wave generator includes the control unit being configured to activate the plurality of shock wave generators in the time staggered manner (col 5, lines 52-67 and col 6, lines 34-54 with figure 5 depicting the shock wave sources of figure 1 (1a and 1b) being driven during a procedure by pulses Ia and Ib, which provide emission of shock waves from each applicator in a successive sequence across the overall treatment sequence with respect to each adjacent shock wave applicator )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Reichenberger ‘255 to incorporate the successive activation of shock waves as taught by Reichenberger ‘255 because the use of rapid successive energetic pulses can provide efficient treatment of target regions of interest while reducing the overall number of shockwaves required and diminishing the stress on a patient (Reichenberger ‘255, Col 2, lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 41, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 36. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein activating the shock wave generators causes all of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘255 of a shock wave treatment system for treating patient target areas (abstract) teaches:
wherein activating the shock wave generators causes all of the shock wave applicators to emit respective instances of said shock waves therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators (col 5, lines 52-67 and col 6, lines 34-54 with figure 5 depicting the shock wave sources of figure 1 (1a and 1b) being driven during a procedure by pulses Ia and Ib, which provide emission of shock waves from each applicator in a successive sequence across the overall treatment sequence with respect to each adjacent shock wave applicator. In combination with Reichenberger ‘111, this additional teaching to time staggered emission is applied with the time staggered teachings of Reichenberger ‘111)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the successive activation of shock waves as taught by Reichenberger ‘255 because the use of rapid successive energetic pulses can provide efficient treatment of target regions of interest while reducing the overall number of shockwaves required and diminishing the stress on a patient (Reichenberger ‘255, Col 2, lines 39-46).
Claims 25, 27-28, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli, in view of Theuer ‘024, in further view of Reichenberger ‘111 as applied to claims 15 or 26 or 36 above, and further view of Theuer ‘239.
Regarding claim 25, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 15. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
the control unit is further configured to receive information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease;
the control unit being configured to activate each of the shock wave generators includes the control unit being configured to cause each of the shock wave generators to generate shock waves thereof as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells; and
said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
the control unit is further configured to receive information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054]);
the control unit being configured to activate each of the shock wave generators includes the control unit being configured to cause each of the shock wave generators to generate shock waves thereof as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054]); and
said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells ([0016], viscoelastic behavior of the cell is taken into account; [0031], visco-elastic deformation behavior of a cell; [0036]-[0037], viscosity of the malignant cells; [0044]-[0046]; [0047], visco-elastic behavior; [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the known physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Regarding claim 27, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 26. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein:
the control unit is further configured to receive information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease; and
the control unit being configured to activate each of the shock wave generators includes the control unit being configured to cause each of the shock wave generators to generate shock waves thereof as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
wherein:
the control unit is further configured to receive information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease; and
the control unit being configured to activate each of the shock wave generators includes the control unit being configured to cause each of the shock wave generators to generate shock waves thereof as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the known physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Regarding claim 28, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 teach all of the limitations of claim 27. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
wherein said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells ([0016], viscoelastic behavior of the cell is taken into account; [0031], visco-elastic deformation behavior of a cell; [0036]-[0037], viscosity of the malignant cells; [0044]-[0046]; [0047], visco-elastic behavior; [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information of viscoelasticity as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the different viscoelastic physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Regarding claim 37, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 teach all of the limitations of claim 36. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein:
the control unit receives information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease; and
activating each of the shock wave generators includes causing each of the shock wave generators to generate shock waves thereof as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
wherein:
the control unit receives information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells of a tumor associated with the disease ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054]); and
activating each of the shock wave generators includes causing each of the shock wave generators to generate shock waves thereof as a function of said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells ([0013], selective destruction of cells with a certain pathological condition appearance and generated targeted treatment for the respective cell type; [0014], teaches to information related to mechanical attributes of malignant cells; [0015], teaches to cancer cell specific destruction which provides for malignant cells of a tumor; [0016], vibration properties of pathologically altered cells forms reception of information characterizing mechanical attributes; [0017]-[0022] describe frequency configuration and pulse configuration (impulse shape and/or sequences) for optimal destruction of selected cells; [0027]; [0035]-[0039] further describe the cellular biology based parameters utilized to determine optimal stimulation to provide destruction of tumor cells; see also [0043]-[0050]; [0053], cell dependent treatment configurations; [0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, and Reichenberger ‘111 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the known physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Regarding claim 38, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 teach all of the limitations of claim 37. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells.
However, the analogous art of Theuer ‘239 of a device for treatment of diseased cells and malignant tissue within the body (abstract) teaches:
wherein said information characterizing mechanical attributes of malignant cells includes information characterizing viscoelasticity of said malignant cells ([0016], viscoelastic behavior of the cell is taken into account; [0031], visco-elastic deformation behavior of a cell; [0036]-[0037], viscosity of the malignant cells; [0044]-[0046]; [0047], visco-elastic behavior; [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 to incorporate the selective cancer cell targeted treatment pulses based upon measured cell information of viscoelasticity as taught by Theuer ‘239 because it provides for the specific type of targeted energy to destroy the targeted cells of interest based upon the different viscoelastic physical properties (Theuer ‘239, [0013]) while avoiding damaging healthy surrounding tissues (Theuer ‘239, [0017]).
Claims 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli, in view of Theuer ‘024, in view of Reichenberger ‘111, in further view of Theuer ‘239 as applied to claims 38 or 37 above, and further view of Reichenberger ‘255.
Regarding claim 39, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 teach all of the limitations of claim 38. Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein activating the shock wave generators causes all of the shock wave applicators to emit said shock waves respectively therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘255 of a shock wave treatment system for treating patient target areas (abstract) teaches:
wherein activating the shock wave generators causes all of the shock wave applicators to emit said shock waves respectively therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators (col 5, lines 52-67 and col 6, lines 34-54 with figure 5 depicting the shock wave sources of figure 1 (1a and 1b) being driven during a procedure by pulses Ia and Ib, which provide emission of shock waves from each applicator in a successive sequence across the overall treatment sequence with respect to each adjacent shock wave applicator. In combination with Reichenberger ‘111, this additional teaching to time staggered emission is applied with the time staggered teachings of Reichenberger ‘111)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 to incorporate the successive activation of shock waves as taught by Reichenberger ‘255 because the use of rapid successive energetic pulses can provide efficient treatment of target regions of interest while reducing the overall number of shockwaves required and diminishing the stress on a patient (Reichenberger ‘255, Col 2, lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 40, the combined references of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 teach all of the limitations of claim 37 Primary reference Capelli further fails to teach:
wherein activating the shock wave generators causes all of the shock wave applicators to emit said shock waves respectively therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators
However, the analogous art of Reichenberger ‘255 of a shock wave treatment system for treating patient target areas (abstract) teaches:
wherein activating the shock wave generators causes all of the shock wave applicators to emit said shock waves respectively therefrom in a time-staggered manner with respect to each adjacent one of the shock wave applicators (col 5, lines 52-67 and col 6, lines 34-54 with figure 5 depicting the shock wave sources of figure 1 (1a and 1b) being driven during a procedure by pulses Ia and Ib, which provide emission of shock waves from each applicator in a successive sequence across the overall treatment sequence with respect to each adjacent shock wave applicator. In combination with Reichenberger ‘111, this additional teaching to time staggered emission is applied with the time staggered teachings of Reichenberger ‘111)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the impulse tumor treatment device of Capelli, Theuer ‘024, Reichenberger ‘111, and Theuer ‘239 to incorporate the successive activation of shock waves as taught by Reichenberger ‘255 because the use of rapid successive energetic pulses can provide efficient treatment of target regions of interest while reducing the overall number of shockwaves required and diminishing the stress on a patient (Reichenberger ‘255, Col 2, lines 39-46).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Senge et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4905671) teaches to a shock wave therapy system that includes the production of shock waves that exhibit a composition of longitudinal waves covering a very large frequency range (col 6, lines 5-18).
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798