DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed on 04/02/2026. In virtue of the amendment:
Claims 1-25 are pending in the instant application.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-25 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 1-25 is made in view of SUDO (U.S. Pub. 2012/0229356 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the third side portion” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear because “a third side portion” is not previously cited in claim 23 or claim 25.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (U.S. Pub. 2021/0013610) in view of SUDO (U.S. Pub. 2012/0229356 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chiang discloses an antenna device (Figs. 1-4g) comprising:
a ground plate (G0, Figs. 1a-1b);
a patterned radiating layer (r[1]-r[4], Figs. 1a-1b), arranged above the ground plate (G0); and
a wall structure (g[1]-g[4] & p[1]-p[4], Figs. 1a-1b, 2b, 4a), formed above the ground plate (G0),
wherein, on a first reference plane (x-plane, Figs. 1a-1b) substantially parallel with the ground plate (G0), a projection of the wall structure (g[1]-g[4] & p[1]-p[4]) overlaps a projection of the patterned radiating layer (r[1]-r[4]) (Figs. 1a-1b, 1e-1f, 4a), and, with respect to a first reference axis (y-plane, Figs. 1a-1b) substantially perpendicular to the ground plate (G0), an upper surface of the wall structure (g[1]-g[4] & p[1]-p[4]) is lower than the patterned radiating layer (r[1]-r[4]) (Figs. 1a-1b, 4a).
Chiang does not teach the wall structure isolated from the patterned radiation player.
However, as evidenced by SUDO, providing the wall structure (the plural vias 10 form a conductive wall surface 11, Figs. 1-4, par [0043]) isolated from the patterned radiation player (4, Figs. 1-4) is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the antenna device of Chiang with the wall structure and connection as taught by SUDO in order to form the antenna device for transmitting and/or receiving the signal with the conductive wall that capable of reflecting a high frequency signal radiated from the radiation element.
Regarding claim 2, Chiang/SUDO discloses the antenna device wherein the wall structure (g[1]-g[4] & p[1]-p[4]) is formed on an upper surface of the ground plate (G0) (Figs. 1a-1b of Chiang).
Regarding claim 3, Chiang/SUDO discloses the antenna device wherein a projection of the upper surface of the wall structure (g[1]-g[4] & p[1]-p[4]) overlaps the projection of the patterned radiating layer (r[1]-r[4]) (Figs. 1a-1b of Chiang).
Regarding claim 5, Chiang/SUDO discloses the antenna device wherein the patterned radiating layer comprises: a first radiating plate (r[1]) and a second radiating plate (r[3]), forming a first dipole antenna extending along a first reference direction (Figs. 1a-1b of Chiang), wherein the wall structure forms a cavity which substantially surrounds the first dipole antenna (Figs. 1a-1b, 1e-1f of Chiang).
Regarding claim 6, Chiang/SUDO discloses the antenna device wherein the patterned radiating layer further comprises: a third radiating plate (r[2]) and a fourth radiating plate (r[4]), forming a second dipole antenna extending along a second reference direction (Figs. 1a-1b of Chiang) substantially orthogonal to the first reference direction, wherein the cavity formed by the wall structure substantially surrounds the second dipole antenna (Figs. 1a-1b, 1e-1f of Chiang).
Regarding claim 7, Chiang/SUDO discloses the antenna device further comprising: a plurality of parasitic plates (p[1]-p[4], Figs. 1a-1b, 1e-1f, 4a of Chiang), arranged above the wall structure (g[1]-g[4] & p[1]-p[4]), wherein a projection of the wall structure overlaps projections of the parasitic plates on the first reference plane, and projections of the parasitic plates substantially surround the projection of the patterned radiating layer (Figs. 1a-1b, 1e-1f, 4a of Chiang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcome the 112 rejection as set forth above.
Inquiry
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2800.
/JIMMY T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845