DETAILED ACTION
Non-final Rejection
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Priority Status
No foreign priority was claimed; EFD is 08/03/2018.
Drawings
The one (1) drawing submission filed on 09/07/2020 has been accepted by the Examiner.
Abstract Objection
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
The current submitted abstract is 27 words. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejection – 112(b)
Claim 3 recites the limitation: “wherein the sizing unit comprises a screen that the plant material passes through” renders the claims indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 also lacks antecedent basis when it depends of claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation: “wherein the sizing unit comprises a screen that the plant material passes through” renders the claims indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 also lacks antecedent basis when it depends of claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation: “wherein the at least one solvent recycling unit comprises” renders the claims indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 depends on Claims 5-8 which are dependent on Claims 1-4.
Claim 12 recites the limitation: “wherein the second refining unit comprises” renders the claims indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 depends on Claims 9 which is dependent on Claims 5-8, which depends on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 9,987,567 B1 (hereinafter “Patent’567”).
With respect to Claim 1, Patent’567 discloses integrated modular system for extracting, refining, and fractionating plant constituents, comprising (also see Fig. 2 below):
a) a biomass feeding unit; (Fig. 1 - Steps 10-14, col. 2, ln. 66 to col 3, ln. 10; Fig. 2 - Steps 100, 105, col. 3, lns. 30-57)
b) at least one solvent extraction unit; (Fig. 1 - Steps 10-14, col. 2, ln. 66 to col 3, ln. 10; Fig. 2 - Steps 112, 115; col. 4, lns. 5-14)
c) a first refining unit; (Fig. 1 - Steps 10-14, col. 2, ln. 66 to col 3, ln. 10; Fig. 2 – Steps 112, 115)
d) a second refining unit; (Fig. 1 - Steps 16, col. 2; Fig. 2 - Steps 123-128)
e) at least one chemical conversion unit; (Fig. 1 - Steps 10-14, col. 2, ln. 66 to col 3, ln. 10; Fig. 2- Step 165) and
f) a third refining unit (Fig. 1 - Steps 10-14, col. 2, ln. 66 to col 3, ln. 10; Fig. 2- Steps 129-133, 134-138, 170-180).
With respect to Claims 2-8: Patent’567 discloses the above process (col. 1, lns. 40-50) which includes:
Claim 2-4 : wherein the biomass feeding unit further comprises a biomass grinding unit; wherein the sizing unit comprises a screen that the plant material passes through; wherein the sorting unit separates the plant material by density (col. 1, lns. 65-66; col. 4, lns. 57-67; Fig. 1; Fig. 2).
Claim 5: further comprising at least one solvent recycling unit (Fig. 1 - Steps 10-14, col. 2, ln. 66 to col 3, ln. 10; Fig. 2 – Steps 112, 115).
Claims 6-8: further comprising pumps, pipes, and conveyors for transferring the biomass; wherein the system is designed and constructed for continuous extracting, refining and fractionating high purity constituents from plant material; further comprising: a) a central computer control; b) control valves; c) monitors and sensors for continuously monitoring temperature, pressure, or flow (Exemplary Process – col. 3, ln. 22 to col. 8, ln. 5; Apparatus – col. 8, ln. 8 to col. 9, ln. 67).
With respect to Claim 10: Patent’567 discloses wherein the plant biomass comprises cannabis (abstract; biomass of Patent’567).
With respect to Claim 11: wherein the first refining unit comprises: i) at least one column of granulated activated carbon (GAC) (discloses using charcoal particles in the first refining unit: col. 5, lns. 25-34).
With respect to Claims 14-16: Patent’567 discloses the above in a process which include: Claim 14: wherein the at least one chemical conversion unit comprises a stirred heating tank (col. 9, lns. 11-15; decarboxylate unit).
Claim 15: wherein the third refining unit comprises a distillation unit (col. 3, ln. 29).
Claim 16: wherein the distillation unit comprises a short path distillation unit (col. 6, lns. 60-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Joint Inventors
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,987,567 B1 (hereinafter “Patent’567”) and in view of WO 2019/156831 A1 (priority date: 02/07/2018; hereinafter “Pub’831”).
With respect to Claim 1, Patent’567 discloses integrated modular system for extracting, refining, and fractionating plant constituents, comprising (also see Fig. 2 above). The teachings of Patent’567 are disclosed above and those teachings are incorporated by reference herein. With respect to Claims 9, 12 and 13, Patent’567 discloses a process which includes an integrated modular system for extracting, refining, and fractionating plant constituents. The scope of the prior art relates to cannabis extraction, and refining.
Patent’567 fails to disclose Claims 9, 12 and 13, wherein the solvent recycling unit comprises, tanks, distillation system, a press, a dryer, a chiller, pumps, piping, etc. (for claim 9) and the second refining unit comprises a filter, an ion exchange column, settler, and an evaporator and a second temperature controlled stirring tank (for claims 12-13).
Pub’831 from WIPO discloses in the abstract image (pg. 1, abstract; Figure 1 pg. 7)
Pub’831 further teaches the system for extracting organic products. In the Figure 1 above, this teaches the following components of Claims 9, 12 and 13, wherein the solvent recycling unit comprises, tanks (primary tank-101, supply tank- 107), distillation system (pg. 42; The system 100 disclosed in FIGURE 1 advantageously permits the spray evaporation loop system 170 to be
configured to purify or collect an extracted product in flow or in batch. Purifying in flow
may permit the scaling out of an extraction process), a press (compressor-176), a dryer (dryer-180), a chiller (chiller-183), pumps (recirculation pump-150), piping (pg. 39, lns. 19-29); all above for claim 9).
Pub’831 further teaches the second refining unit comprises a filter (filtering layer-132), an ion exchange column (chromatography sensors-108; pg. 31, lns. 5-25), settler (pg. 40, lns. 21-29; the settler is a part of the mixer apparatus), and an evaporator (evaporator-175) and a second temperature controlled stirring tank (pg. 27, lns. 1-15; for claims 12-13)
It would therefore be obvious to combine Pub’831 & Patent’567 as they disclose a summary of the process in extracting and refining. In this process, the details towards the extraction process, apparatus, alternate process and variations are disclosed and would be
obvious prior to the filing date of the Instant Application since both are directed to the process of extracting plant biomass.
As seen under KSR Prong A, the processing methods to extracting cannabis biomass is known in the art. Also if using Pub’831 & Patent’567 in combination would provide the process of the instant application since the utility of the prior art and the instant application are similar. One in the art in seeking a solution to the problem being addressed, would be motivated to use the prior art for: further impurity removal since initial extraction methods (like ethanol or CO2) often pull in unwanted plant lipids, waxes, and chlorophyll. Refining removes these in such purifications. Refining transforms crude oil into high-purity distillates or isolates. And finally, refining in the cannabis process used to turn "crude" oil into high-purity product through removing unwanted compounds like fats, waxes, and chlorophyll. This is essential for enhancing potency and ensuring product stability within the product.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
Josmalen M. Ramos-Lewis, Ph.D.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1621
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621