CTNF 18/462,604 CTNF 80828 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites ‘determine charge level of the accessory” in line 8. It is unclear how the charge level of the accessory is determines. Applicant' s specification at Paragraph 058 stated the battery is charged when the battery charge level is below. The specification does not describe how “determine charge level of the accessory “. It is also unclear how this “charge level” is detected while the accessory is in charging. Thus, Appropriate correction is required. Claim 12 recites ‘sensing a charge level of the at least one accessory device” in line 8 . It is unclear how the charge level of the accessory is sensed. Applicant' s specification at Paragraph 058 stated the battery is charged when the battery charge level is below a threshold. The specification does not describe how “sensing e charge level of the at least one accessory “. It is also unclear how this “charge level” is detected while the accessory is in charging. Thus, Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 -5 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton et al. (US 2018/0102605) in view of Minamiura et al. (US 2003/0052646) . As to claims 1 and 12 , Patton discloses in figures 1-21., a system, comprising [see figures 1-21]: a device [figure 1, element (102); see ¶0027] including a first connector rotationally [see figures 4A and 5; see also elements 3A and 12] symmetrical to a second connector of an accessory, the second connector configured to couple electrically and physically with the first connector in a plurality of orientations [¶0034-36]; and a processor [figure 17; see also ¶0040] the electronic device processor to check the status of the accessory device; see ¶0029, ¶0042] configured to enable a charge level detection state when the first connector and the accessory are electrically and physically coupled [see ¶0042]; determine a charge level of the accessory [the wearable device (106)]; switch to a charging state configured to charge the accessory by electrically coupling the accessory to a power source; and switch back to the charge level detection state when the charge level meets or exceeds the predetermined first charge threshold level [see ¶0029-0034; ¶0040-42]. Patton does not disclose explicitly, when the charge level is below a predetermined first charge threshold level, switch to a charging state Minamiura disclose in figure 1, when the charge level is below a predetermined first charge threshold level, switch to a charging state [when the device battery is low the battery charger charges the battery; also see ¶0017 and claim 27]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to charge Patton’s battery when battery voltage is low as taught by Minamiura in order to extend battery life. As to claims 2 and 13 , Patton discloses in figures 1-21. wherein a first plurality of contacts of the first connector has a 2-fold, 3-fold, 4-fold, 5-fold, 6-fold, or n-fold rotational symmetry with a corresponding second plurality of contacts of the second connector [¶0036]. As to claims 3 and 14 , Patton discloses in figures 1-21, wherein a number of contacts in the first plurality of contacts is equal to a number of contacts in the second plurality of contacts [see figures 1-5; and ¶0034-0036]. As to claims 4 and 15 , Patton discloses in figures 1-21, wherein: the first plurality of contacts includes a first central contact and two first ancillary contacts, and wherein the second plurality of contacts includes a second central contact and two second ancillary contacts [¶0035]. As to claims 5 and 16 , Patton discloses in figures 1-4, wherein: the first central contact is configured to couple with the second central contact, and either first ancillary contact is configured to couple with either of the second ancillary contacts [ ¶0034-0036] . Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use different orientation of charging or power contacts in order to have reliable power flow, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton et al. (US 2018/0102605) in view of Minamiura et al. (US 2003/0052646), in view of Jeong et al. (US 2017/0346320) . As to claims 6 and 17 , neither Patton nor Minamiura discloses, wherein the device further includes: a current sensor configured to monitor a current of the at least one accessory; and a sensing unit configured to sense the charge of the at least one accessory, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive the monitored current from the current sensor; when the monitored current is below a current threshold, switch off the power source; and enable the sensing unit. Jeong discloses in figure 6B, wherein the device further includes: a current sensor [controller (530); senses charging current or current pass through resistor (522); and configured to monitor a current of the at least one accessory; and a sensing unit configured to sense the charge of the at least one accessory, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive the monitored current from the current sensor; when the monitored current is below a current threshold, switch off the power source; and enable the sensing unit [see ¶0084-0087; see also figure 6B]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to add current sensing element in Patton’s apparatus as taught by Jeong in order to improve the charging efficiently. As to claim 7 , Jeong discloses in figure 6B, wherein the current threshold is when no power draw is measured by the current sensor [see ¶0084-0086]. As to claim 8 , Jeong discloses in figure 6B, wherein the first central contact and the second central contact switch between a charging line and a communication line based on the measured charge level [see figures 1-6B and also see ¶0084-0086]. As to claim 9 , Patton discloses in combination with Minamiura and Jeong wherein the at least one accessory further includes a battery and a power line monitor, and wherein when the first connector contacts the second connector, the processor is further configured to: receive a charge level sensed by the power line monitor; and when the charge level is below the predetermined first charge threshold, switch between communicating with the at least one accessory to charging the battery of the at least one accessory [Patton discloses main electrical device charging accessory device, Minamiura also discloses monitoring battery voltage level and charging device battery, and Jeong discloses having current sensor and monitoring wire and controller]. As to claim 10, . Patton discloses in combination with Minamiura and Jeong, wherein the device further comprises a first switching circuit and a first 1-wire bus, and wherein the processor is further configured to: when the charge level is below the predetermined first charge threshold, switch off the power source; and enable the first 1-wire bus [Patton discloses main electrical device charging accessory device, Minamiura also discloses monitoring battery voltage level and charging device battery, and Jeong discloses having current sensor and monitoring wire and controller]. As to claim 11 , Patton discloses in combination with Minamiura and Jeong, wherein the at least one accessory further comprises a second switching circuit and a second 1-wire bus, and an accessory processor, wherein the accessory processor is configured to: receive a charge level from the power line monitor; when the charge level is below the predetermined first charge threshold, transmit the charge level to the first processor; and when the charge level is above a predetermined second charge threshold, toggle to the second 1-wire bus, and communicate with first processor to stop charging the battery [Patton discloses main electrical device charging accessory device, Minamiura also discloses monitoring battery voltage level and charging device battery, and Jeong discloses having current sensor and monitoring wire and controller]. As to Claims 12-18 the method merely recites the steps of using the elements of the device as disclosed above. Thus, the method steps will be met during the normal operation of the apparatus described above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nunez et al. (US 2018/00909420 discloses, system, method, and apparatus for charging a battery-powered accessory from a primary battery-powered device. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAMUEL BERHANU whose telephone number is (571)272-8430. The examiner can normally be reached M_F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian A. Huffman can be reached at Julian.Huffman@uspto.gov. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/462,604 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/462,604 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/462,604 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859