DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejections.
Further, for clarity, Examiner would like to provide more details on how the rejections are formulated in the Office Action.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues that Kasuga's dashboard lower cross member 10 fails to disclose, among other things, "wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section.”
In response, Examiner respectfully submits that Kasuga teaches the asserted features as illustrated in Fig. 2 reproduced (with annotations added for purpose of illustrating how the components are mapped to the recited limitations) as follows:
Specifically, instead of asserting Kasuga discloses a horizontal wall, Examiner respectfully submits that Kasuga discloses a horizontal structure, i.e. the structure connecting the front portion and the cross portion as shown in the Fig. 2 reproduced above. Such a horizontal structure as shown lacks details of a wall, which Examiner interprets as comprising some flat surface running along the width direction.
Thus, Kasuga does not teach the horizontal structure above as a horizontal wall.
Ohhama et al. (US 2015/0166104 A1 – hereinafter Ohhama) teaches a horizontal structure as a horizontal wall which can be incorporated into the horizontal structure of Kasuga in order to strengthen the structure as follows:
As such, when incorporating the horizontal wall from Ohhama into the horizontal structure of Kasuga, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the structure of Fig. 2 of Kasuga would have looked as follows:
Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that Kasuga and Ohhama disclose the cross portion, vertical wall of the cross portion, the front portion, the vertical wall of the front portion, and the horizonal structure that meets the requirements of the new limitations in claim 1. For example, the cross portion shown in the figure clearly extends in a width direction of a vehicle body, the front portion protruding from the cross portion toward a front of the vehicle body, the front portion as such has a vertical wall indicated in the figure, the cross portion also has a vertical wall as indicated in figure. Further, Examiner respectfully submits that the horizonal wall is the area connecting the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion as shown. With such a horizontal wall, if looking in the direction shown above (side view), the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasuga (US 6,170,906 B1 – hereinafter Kasuga) and Ohhama.
Regarding claim 1, Kasuga discloses a vehicle dash crossmember comprising: a cross portion extending in a width direction of a vehicle body (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the portion 10 between the pair of elements 2), the cross portion comprising a vertical wall extending in the width direction of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in “Response to Arguments” above); a front portion protruding from the cross portion toward a front of the vehicle body (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the front portion of the portion 10 between the pair of elements 2); and a pair of outrigger portions provided at both ends of the cross portion, respectively, wherein the cross portion, the front portion, and the pair of outrigger portions are a unitary one-piece structure (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the pair of elements 2, the portion 10 including the front portion and the pair of elements are molded in one piece by die casting), wherein the front portion comprises: a vertical wall spaced apart from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. the vertical wall spaced apart from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body because there is a horizontal wall between them); and a horizontal structure connecting the vertical wall and the cross portion (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal structure of the front portion protrudes horizontally from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal structure of the front portion is located in the middle of the vertical wall of the front portion (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), and wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal structure of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. if looking from a side view, the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal structure of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section).
However, Kasuga does not explicitly disclose the front portion further comprises a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion; and the horizontal structure as a horizontal wall.
However, Kasuga also discloses a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between vertical walls at other positions (Fig. 2 – fin-shaped elements, also see Response to Arguments above).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate a plurality of reinforcing ribs into the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion of Kasuga as well to make the structure stronger.
Kasuga, when modified with the plurality of reinforcing ribs discussed above, does not clearly disclose the horizontal structure as a horizontal wall.
Ohhama discloses a horizontal wall connecting a vertical wall and a cross portion (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal wall of the front portion protrudes horizontally from a vertical wall of the cross portion toward a front of a vehicle body (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal wall of the front portion is located in the middle of the vertical wall of the front portion (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), and wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. if looking from a side view, the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the horizontal wall taught by Ohhama above into the horizontal structure between the front portion and the cross portion in the vehicle dash crossmember taught by Kasuga to further enhance the strength of the structure.
Regarding claim 5, Kasuga in view of Ohhama also discloses the vehicle dash crossmember according to claim 1, further comprising a pair of outer plates fixed to the pair of outrigger portions, respectively (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 35-45 – a pair of elements 11).
Regarding claim 6, Kasuga in view of Ohhama also discloses the vehicle dash crossmember according to claim 5, wherein: each outrigger portion comprises an inboard portion facing an interior of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – the portion facing inward) and an outboard portion facing and exterior of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – the portion facing outward); and each outer plate is fixed to the outboard portion of the corresponding outrigger portion (Fig. 2 – fixed to the outboard portion via elements 11).
Regarding claim 7, Kasuga in view of Ohhama also discloses the vehicle dash crossmember according to claim 6, further comprising a pair of enlarged portions provided at both ends of the front portion, respectively, wherein a width of each enlarged portion gradually increases from each end of the front portion toward the inboard portion of the corresponding outrigger portion (Fig. 2 – a pair of elements 14).
Regarding claim 8, Kasuga in view of Ohhama also discloses the vehicle dash crossmember according to claim 7, wherein each enlarged portion comprises: a side extension wall extending obliquely from the respective end of the front portion toward the corresponding outrigger portion (Fig. 2 – the side wall of elements 14); and a horizontal wall connecting the side extension wall and a vertical wall of the cross portion (Fig. 2 – a bottom wall connecting the side wall of element 14 to any vertical wall of the cross portion 10).
Regarding claim 9, Kasuga in view of Ohhama also discloses the vehicle dash crossmember according to claim 8, wherein each enlarged portion further comprises a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between the side extension wall and the vertical wall of the cross portion (Fig. 2 – the fins connecting the side wall of elements 14 to the vertical wall of portion 10).
Regarding claim 21 would have been obvious over Kasuga and Ohhama as discussed in claim 1 above, in view of incorporating the reinforcement ribs at the positions shown in Fig. 2 into the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion making the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion divided into a plurality of vertical though holes of either rectangular or square shapes (see Fig. 2 of Kasuga).
Regarding claim 24, Kasuga discloses a vehicle dash crossmember comprising: a cross portion extending in a width direction of a vehicle body (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the portion 10 between the pair of elements 2), the cross portion comprising a vertical wall extending in the width direction of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in “Response to Arguments” above); a front portion protruding from the cross portion toward a front of the vehicle body (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the front portion of the portion 10 between the pair of elements 2); and a pair of outrigger portions provided at both ends of the cross portion, respectively, wherein the cross portion, the front portion, and the pair of outrigger portions are a unitary one-piece structure (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the pair of elements 2, the portion 10 including the front portion and the pair of elements are molded in one piece by die casting); and a plurality of mounting bosses integrally provided on a bottom surface of the cross portion (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 46-59 – elements 16 and 17), wherein the front portion comprises: a vertical wall spaced apart from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. the vertical wall spaced apart from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body because there is a horizontal wall between them); and a horizontal structure connecting the vertical wall and the cross portion (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal structure of the front portion protrudes horizontally from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal structure of the front portion is located in the middle of the vertical wall of the front portion (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), and wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal structure of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. if looking from a side view, the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal structure of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section).
However, Kasuga does not explicitly disclose the front portion further comprises a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion.
However, Kasuga also discloses a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between vertical walls at other positions (Fig. 2 – fin-shaped elements, also see Response to Arguments above).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate a plurality of reinforcing ribs into the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion of Kasuga as well to make the structure stronger.
Kasuga, when modified with the plurality of reinforcing ribs discussed above, does not clearly disclose the horizontal structure as a horizontal wall.
Ohhama discloses a horizontal wall connecting a vertical wall and a cross portion (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal wall of the front portion protrudes horizontally from a vertical wall of the cross portion toward a front of a vehicle body (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal wall of the front portion is located in the middle of the vertical wall of the front portion (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), and wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. if looking from a side view, the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the horizontal wall taught by Ohhama above into the horizontal structure between the front portion and the cross portion in the vehicle dash crossmember taught by Kasuga to further enhance the strength of the structure.
Claims 11-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasuga, Ohhama, and Kawano et al. (US 2023/0286593 A1 – hereinafter Kawano).
Regarding claim 11, Kasuga discloses a vehicle body comprising: a floor panel (column 2, lines 35-45 – a floor member); a dash crossmember mounted on a front edge of the floor panel (Fig. 1), the dash crossmember comprising: a cross portion extending in a width direction of the vehicle body (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the portion 10 between the pair of elements 2), the cross portion comprising a vertical wall extending in the width direction of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in “Response to Arguments” above); a front portion protruding from the cross portion toward a front of the vehicle body (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the front portion of the portion 10 between the pair of elements 2); and a pair of outrigger portions provided at both ends of the cross portion, respectively, wherein the cross portion, the front portion, and the pair of outrigger portions define a unitary one-piece structure (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 35-45 – the pair of elements 2, the portion 10 including the front portion and the pair of elements are molded in one piece by die casting); a central longitudinal member mounted on the floor panel along a central longitudinal axis of the floor panel (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 35-45 – a floor tunnel), wherein the front portion comprises: a vertical wall spaced apart from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. the vertical wall spaced apart from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body because there is a horizontal wall between them); and a horizontal structure connecting the vertical wall and the cross portion (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal structure of the front portion protrudes horizontally from the vertical wall of the cross portion toward the front of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal structure of the front portion is located in the middle of the vertical wall of the front portion (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), and wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal structure of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section (Fig. 2 – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. if looking from a side view, the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal structure of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section)..
However, Kasuga does not explicitly disclose a pair of side longitudinal members mounted on the floor panel and symmetrically disposed with respect to the central longitudinal member; the horizontal structure as a horizontal wall, wherein the front portion further comprises a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion.
However, Kasuga also discloses a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between vertical walls at other positions (Fig. 2 – fin-shaped elements, also see Response to Arguments above).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate a plurality of reinforcing ribs into the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion of Kasuga as well to make the structure stronger.
Kasuga, when modified with the plurality of reinforcing ribs discussed above, does not clearly disclose a pair of side longitudinal members mounted on the floor panel and symmetrically disposed with respect to the central longitudinal member; and the horizontal structure as a horizontal wall.
Ohhama discloses a horizontal wall connecting a vertical wall and a cross portion (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal wall of the front portion protrudes horizontally from a vertical wall of the cross portion toward a front of a vehicle body (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), wherein the horizontal wall of the front portion is located in the middle of the vertical wall of the front portion (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above), and wherein the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section (Fig. 9A – see detailed explanation in Response to Arguments above, i.e. if looking from a side view, the vertical wall of the front portion, the horizontal wall of the front portion, and the vertical wall of the cross portion form an H-shaped cross section).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the horizontal wall taught by Ohhama above into the horizontal structure between the front portion and the cross portion in the vehicle dash crossmember taught by Kasuga to enhance the strength of the structure.
However, Kasuga and Ohhama do not disclose a pair of side longitudinal members mounted on the floor panel and symmetrically disposed with respect to the central longitudinal member.
Kawano discloses a floor panel (Fig. 1); a central longitudinal member mounted on the floor panel along a central longitudinal axis of the floor panel (Fig. 1;[0012] – floor tunnel 1); and a pair of side longitudinal members mounted on the floor panel and symmetrically disposed with respect to the central longitudinal member (Fig. 1; [0018] – floor frames 10).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kawano into the vehicle body taught by Kasuga and Ohhama in order to prevent the lower dash panel and the lower dash crossmember from deformation (Kawano: [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, see the teachings of Kasuga, Ohhama and Kawano as discussed in claim 11 above, in which Kasuga in view of Kawano also discloses a front end portion of the central longitudinal member and a front end portion of each side longitudinal member are connected to the cross portion of the dash crossmember (Kasuga: Fig. 2; column 2, lines 35-45 – a floor tunnel is connected to the cross portion. Kawano: [0019]; [0032]; Fig. 1).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kawano into the vehicle body of Kasuga and Ohhama has been discussed in claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 13, see the teachings of Kasuga, Ohhama and Kawano as discussed in claim 11 above. However, Kasuga, Ohhama and Kawano do not disclose the central longitudinal member and each side longitudinal member comprise a material having a higher strength than that of the dash crossmember.
However, Kawano discloses the central longitudinal member and each side longitudinal member receive collision load from the dash crossmember ([0031]-[0032]).
As such, Official Notice is taken that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to use a material having a higher strength than that of the dash crossmember for the central longitudinal member and each side longitudinal member so that they can tolerate the load collision.
Regarding claim 14, Kasuga in view of Ohhama and Kawano also discloses the vehicle body according to claim 11, wherein: the cross portion comprises a reinforcement integrally connected to the vertical wall (Fig. 2 – the element 10 comprises at least a vertical wall); and the reinforcement comprises a plurality of ribs intersecting with each other (Fig. 2 – fin-shaped elements between vertical walls).
Regarding claim 15, see the teachings of Kasuga, Ohhama and Kawano as discussed in claim 14 above. Kawano also discloses a reinforcement comprises: a central mounting portion on which a front end portion of the central longitudinal member is mounted (Fig. 1; [0012] – floor tunnel 1); and a pair of side mounting portions on which front end portions of the pair of side longitudinal members are mounted, respectively (Fig. 1; [0018] – floor frames 10).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kawano into the vehicle body taught by Kasuga and Ohhama has been discussed in claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 16, Kasuga in view of Ohhama and Kawano also discloses the vehicle body according to claim 15, wherein a plurality of ribs are configured to at least partially surround the central mounting portion and the pair of side mounting portions (Fig. 2 – fin-shaped elements between vertical walls).
Regarding claim 17, Kasuga in view of Ohhama and Kawano also discloses the vehicle body according to claim 11, further comprising a pair of outer plates fixed to the pair of outrigger portions, respectively (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 35-45 – a pair of elements 11), wherein: each outrigger portion comprises an inboard portion facing an interior of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – the portion facing inward) and an outboard portion facing and exterior of the vehicle body (Fig. 2 – the portion facing outward); and each outer plate is fixed to the outboard portion of the corresponding outrigger portion (Fig. 2 – fixed to the outboard portion via elements 11).
Regarding claim 18, Kasuga in view of Ohhama and Kawano also discloses the vehicle body according to claim 17, further comprising a pair of enlarged portions provided at both ends of the front portion, respectively, wherein a width of each enlarged portion gradually increases from each end of the front portion toward the inboard portion of the corresponding outrigger portion (Fig. 2 – a pair of elements 14).
Regarding claim 19, Kasuga in view of Ohhama and Kawano also discloses the vehicle body according to claim 18, wherein each enlarged portion comprises: a side extension wall extending obliquely from the respective end of the front portion toward the corresponding outrigger portion (Fig. 2 – the side wall of elements 14); a horizontal wall connecting the side extension wall and a vertical wall of the cross portion (Fig. 2 – a bottom wall connecting the side wall of element 14 to any vertical wall of the cross portion 10); and a plurality of reinforcing ribs provided between the side extension wall and the vertical wall of the cross portion (Fig. 2 – the fins connecting the side wall of elements 14 to the vertical wall of portion 10).
Regarding claim 20, Kasuga in view of Ohhama and Kawano also discloses the vehicle body according to claim 11, further comprising a plurality of mounting bosses integrally provided on a bottom surface of the cross portion (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 46-59 – elements 16 and 17).
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 would have been obvious over Kasuga, Ohhama, and Kawano as discussed in claim 11 above, in view of incorporating the reinforcement ribs at the positions shown in Fig. 2 of Kasuga into the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion making the space between the vertical wall of the front portion and the vertical wall of the cross portion divided into a plurality of vertical though holes of either rectangular or square shapes (see Fig. 2 of Kasuga).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasuga and Ohhama as applied to claims 1, 5-9, 21, and 24 above, and further in view of Wuest et al. (US 2011/0193369 A1 - Wuest).
Regarding claim 22, Kasuga in view of Ohhama also discloses the vehicle dash crossmember according to claim 7, wherein each enlarged portion comprises a first reinforcing rib directly connected to the side extension wall and extending obliquely to intersect with the side extension wall (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a second reinforcing rib directly connected to the vertical wall of the front portion and extending along the width direction of the vehicle body (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and a plurality of third reinforcing ribs arranged in a parallel shape between the second reinforcing rib and the vertical wall of the cross portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
However, Kasuga and Ohhama do not disclose the third reinforcing ribs arranged in a zigzag shape.
Wuest discloses reinforcing ribs arranged in a zigzag shape ([0009]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the reinforcing ribs arranged in a zigzag shape into the plurality of third reinforcing ribs taught by Kasuga and Ohhama to provide the structure with a capability of absorbing energy from impacts (Wuest: [0009]).
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484