DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0341746) in view of Seita (US 2004/0212900).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an optical element driving mechanism (see figures 1-7, for instance), comprising: a movable portion (120) used for connecting an optical element (1202); a fixed portion (130) comprising a case (130) and a bottom (111), wherein the bottom surrounds the movable portion (120), the fixed portion and the movable portion are arranged along a main axis (along vertical optical axis of figure 3), wherein the movable portion (120) is movable relative to the fixed portion (130; [0090]); and the fixed portion (130) comprises a sidewall (see modified figure 5, below), wherein a first sidewall opening and a second sidewall opening are formed on the sidewall and separated from each other (openings on either side of 130 to accommodate both elements 1251); a driving assembly (124) used for driving the movable portion (120) to move relative to the fixed portion (130), wherein the driving assembly comprises: a first magnetic element (1241, left element of figure 3) disposed on the movable portion (122); a second magnetic element (1241, right element of figure 3, opposite to first magnetic element) disposed on the movable portion (122); a first driving coil (1251, left element of figure 3) disposed in the first sidewall opening (of 130) and corresponding to the first magnetic element; and a second driving coil (1251, right element of figure 3, opposite to first driving coil) disposed in the second sidewall opening and corresponding to the second magnetic element (see figure 3).
Modified Figure 5 of Chen
However, Chen does not expressly disclose a first low-reflection element disposed on the fixed portion, wherein the first low-reflection element is plate-shaped and having a first top surface perpendicular to the main axis; and a second low-reflection element disposed on the movable portion, wherein the second low-reflection element is plate-shaped and having a second top surface perpendicular to the main axis, wherein in a direction parallel to the main axis, the optical element and the case are disposed between the first low-reflection element and the low-reflection element.
Seita discloses an optical element driving mechanism (see figures 4-5, for instance), comprising a first low-reflection element (16) disposed on the fixed portion (10), wherein the first low-reflection element (16, [0040], “Moreover, providing the protective member 16 makes the aforesaid black finish easier”) is plate-shaped and having a first top surface perpendicular to the main axis (optical axis passing horizontally through figure 5); and a second low-reflection element (9; [0038], “An inner circumferential surface of an aperture 9a of an intermediate plate 9 in the present embodiment has a black finish rather than being provided with gray or white heat-resistant painting”) disposed on the movable portion (11), wherein the second low-reflection element (9) is plate-shaped (see figure 4) and having a second top surface perpendicular to the main axis, wherein in a direction parallel to the main axis, the optical element (12) and the case (10) are disposed between the first low-reflection element (16) and the low-reflection element (9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the first low-reflection element on the fixed portion and the second low-reflection element on the movable portion, such that wherein in a direction parallel to the main axis, the optical element and the case are disposed between the first low-reflection element and the low-reflection element, as Seita in the optical element driving structure of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide surfaces with the black finish to make it possible to prevent light from being irregularly reflected by the edge surfaces, as taught by Seita ([0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein: the movable portion (120) comprises a holder (122) and a blade (121) assembly; the blade assembly (121) comprises a first blade (121, bottom) and a second blade (121, left); the blade assembly (121) defines a blade opening (TH); the movable portion (120) and the fixed portion (111) are arranged along a main axis (101); the main axis penetrates the blade opening (TH); the main axis (101) extends in a first axis (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein: the first blade (121, bottom) and the second blade (121, left) at least partially overlap each other in the first axis (see fig. 3); the first blade does not overlap the second blade when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the main axis (since the blades 121 are layered vertically, and thus to not overlap when seen from a side perspective).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 3, wherein: the first blade (121) comprises a segment; the second blade (121) comprises a segment; the blade opening (TH) is defined by the segment of the first blade and the segment of the second blade (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, wherein the segment of the first blade or the segment of the second blade (121) has a straight shape or an arc shape (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein: the first low-reflection element (16, Seita) and the second low-reflection element (9, Seita) are arranged in the first axis (101); the first low-reflection element (16, Seita) comprises a first opening when viewed along the first axis; the second low-reflection element (9, Seita) comprises a second opening when viewed along the first axis; at least a portion of the second low-reflection element (9, Seita) is exposed from the first low-reflection element when viewed along the first axis (101).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 7, wherein: the first opening (112b) and the second opening (130) are greater than the blade opening (TH) in a first state; at least a portion of the blade assembly is exposed from the first opening in the first state when viewed along the first axis (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 7, wherein: at least one of the first opening (of 112b) and the second opening (of 111) is smaller than the blade opening (TH) in a second state; the blade assembly is not exposed from the first opening in the second state when viewed along the first axis (101).
Claim(s) 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Seita, and in further view of Park et al. (US 2024/0103343).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Seita discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 7. However, Chen in view of Seita does not expressly disclose the device further comprising a support assembly disposed between the movable portion and the fixed portion, wherein: the second opening has a circular shape; the main axis extends in a first axis and passes through a center of the second opening.
Park discloses an optical element driving mechanism (see figures 1-2, for instance), further comprising a support assembly (230) disposed between the movable portion (210) and the fixed portion (310), wherein: the second opening (40) has a circular shape; the main axis extends in a first axis and passes through a center of the second opening (see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the support assembly of Park in the device of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to rotatably and vertically guide the movement of the moveable part so as to enable auto-focus driving without interference, as taught by Park ([0008]; [0107]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 10, wherein: the support assembly comprises a first support element (Park 230, left) and a second support element (Park 230, right) arranged along a second axis; the first axis and the second axis are perpendicular when viewed along the main axis.
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 11, wherein: a virtual plane overlaps the main axis; the first support element (Park 230, left) and the second support element (Park 230, right) are disposed on an identical side of the virtual plane.
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 12, wherein: a connection of the first support element (Park 230, left) and the center and a connection of the center and the second support element (Park 230, right) defines an angle when viewed along the main axis; the angle is between 16 degrees and 164 degrees (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 13, wherein: the movable portion (120) comprises an extending portion when viewed along the second axis; at least a portion of the extending portion overlaps the support assembly (Park 230) along the first axis.
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 14, wherein at least a portion of the support assembly (Park 230) is exposed from the extending portion when viewed along the first axis (101).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 15, wherein: the support assembly (Park 230) is disposed on a support surface of the bottom; a distance between the support surface and the extending portion is greater than a height of the first support element (Park 230, left) in the first axis.
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 16, wherein: a gap greater than zero is between the first support element (Park 230) and the support surface or between the first support element and the extending portion; the gap is less than a distance between the support surface and the extending portion (see Park figures 1-2).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Seita, and in further view of Park, and in further view of Hwang et al. (US 2023/0176314).
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 17. However, Chen in view of Park does not expressly disclose the device further comprising a lubricating element disposed between the support assembly and the fixed portion; the lubricating element comprises lubricating oil or Teflon.
Hwang discloses an optical element driving mechanism (see figure 7, for instance), further comprising a lubricating element (1215a; [0273]-[0275]) disposed between the support assembly (1210) and the fixed portion (1215a); the lubricating element comprises lubricating oil or Teflon ([0275]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lubricant in the support assembly as Hwang in the device of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to rotatably and vertically guide the movement of the moveable part so as to impart an abrasion resistance function, a rust prevention function, as taught by Hwang ([0274]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park, and in further view of Hwang discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 18, wherein: the extending portion and the support surface do not overlap each other in the first axis (see Park figures 1-2, for instance).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Seita in view of Park, and in further view of Hwang discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 19, wherein: the first support element (Park 230, left) comprises a first support unit and a second support unit arranged along the first axis; the first support unit and the second support unit are spherical; the first support unit and the second support unit are in direct contact with the fixed portion and the movable portion (120, see Park figures 1-2).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 5/26/2026