DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 06/19/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 04/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 16 have been amended. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 13-16, 19, 22 and 24-30 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment filed 06/19/2026, with respect to claims 1, 8 and 16 under 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Engwall, Knutson and/or ROJAC do not disclose or suggest the claimed 1) wherein the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material or 2) wherein the remaining releasable gap filler remains within the mold and does not adhere to the cured composite material when cured composite material is removed from the mold. It is noted that Applicant is arguing nonobvious of the claimed combination based on analysis of all of the Engwall, Knutson and/or ROJAC references. The Office Action does not cite and apply a reference to show either 1) wherein the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material or 2) wherein the remaining releasable gap filler remains within the mold and does not adhere to the cured composite material when cured composite material is removed from the mold. Consequently, the Engwall, Knutson and/or ROJAC references do not disclose or suggest the claimed invention because Engwall, Knutson and/or ROJAC, alone or in combination with one another, do not disclose or suggest the claimed 1) wherein the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material or 2) wherein the remaining releasable gap filler remains within the mold and does not adhere to the cured composite material when cured composite material is removed from the mold. KSR Int'l. v. Teleflex.” (page 10)
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Engwall teaches curing the releasable gap filler (“The sacrificial material 64 is expanded and cured in the holes and/or grooves”, co 7 li 51-52), and further teaches that the preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam (co 7 li 45-47) and it cures in the expanded condition (co 7 li 60-61). Additional supporting reference provided herewith (ROJAC) teaches that integral skin PU foam is otherwise known as “self-skinning foam” gives you a component with a tough, flexible skin that is moulded over a softer foam core, this type of polyurethane foam moulding is ideal for many applications including grab handles, armrests, headrests etc. Integral skin polyurethane moulded foam has a moulded, flexible, tear-resistant outer skin, and this skin is formed during the moulding process and protects a microcellular foam core with a predefined hardness.” (“What is integral skin foam?”, pages 1-2). Namely, the cured self-skinning foam is tack-free. Thus, Engwall teaches curing the releasable gap filler to a tack-free gel. Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that the releasable gap filler does not adhere to the cured composite material and the remaining releasable gap filler remains within the mold and does not adhere to the cured composite material when cured composite material is removed from the mold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 13-16, 19, 22 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engwall et al. (US 7,141,191) in view of Knutson et al. (US 2023/0391026). Additional Supporting evidence provided herewith by ROJAC (“Integral Skin Foam”, 2021) (All of record).
With respect to claim 1, Engwall teaches a method of forming a composite product (“a method and apparatus for use in forming, constructing and/or assembling a composite part”, co 3 li 50-52):
applying a releasable gap filler within a recess of a mold (“Upwardly opening recesses are machined into the upper surface 60 of the top plate 32”, co 6 li 44-46; “The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64”, co 6 li 56-57); then
curing the releasable gap filler to a tack-free gel (“The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam. It can be applied as a bead or a cut strip in the groove 62 and covered with a smooth molded caul sheet. Vacuum tracks may be molded into the underside of the caul sheet by laying a bead of sealing tape. The sacrificial material 64 is expanded and cured in the holes and/or grooves by covering the holes and/or groove with the caul sheet and a vacuum bag, and sealing the edges of the vacuum bag to the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 with putty-like sealing tape known in the art for this purpose. The vacuum bag is evacuated to a vacuum of about 10 inches of vacuum and vacuum is applied in the vacuum tracks to help hold the caul sheet down against the top surface 60 of the tool over the groove 62 while the foam expands against the underside of the caul sheet over the groove 62 and then cures in the expanded condition.”, co 7 li 41-61; Additional supporting reference provided herewith (ROJAC) teaches that “Integral skin PU foam is otherwise known as “self-skinning foam” gives you a component with a tough, flexible skin that is moulded over a softer foam core, this type of polyurethane foam moulding is ideal for many applications including grab handles, armrests, headrests etc. Integral skin polyurethane moulded foam has a moulded, flexible, tear-resistant outer skin. This skin is formed during the moulding process and protects a microcellular foam core with a predefined hardness.” (“What is integral skin foam?”, pages 1-2). Namely, the cured self-skinning foam is tack-free.); then
applying an uncured composite material directly over the releasable gap filler and onto the mold without a release agent or a release layer between the uncured composite material and the releasable gap filler (“The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64 (see FIG. 3) on which the constituent materials forming the composite part 220 can be laid up on the top plate 32 flush with the upper surface 60.”, co 6 li 56-60; “A release coating can be previously applied to the tool face 60 to ensure that the composite part will not adhere to the tool face.”, co 7 li 66-co 8 li 1); then
curing the uncured composite material to form a cured composite material on the mold (“The lay-up tool 30 is transferred to an autoclave where pressure and heat causing the preimpregnated resin in the plies to flow and then cure while any out gassing from the curing resin is evacuated through the vacuum line.”, co 8 li 10-14), wherein the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material (“The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam.”, co 7 41, 45-47; Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material.); then
trimming the cured composite material over the recess such that trimming the cured composite material cuts through the cured composite material and into the releasable gap filler (“Once the composite part 220 is molded or formed within the lay-up tool 30, the tool is transported and positioned on the machine tool bed 42.”, co 9 li 32-34; “the controller guides a cutter 68 along a predefined path to cut the peripheral edge of the composite part... the cutter extends beyond the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 and cuts into the sacrificial material 64 within the groove 62. Again, the cutting and other machining can be achieved without having to remove the composite part 220 from the lay-up tool 30.”, co 13 li 16-27); and then
removing the cured composite material from the mold and a remaining releasable gap filler, wherein the remaining releasable gap filler remains within the mold and does not adhere to the cured composite material when cured composite material is removed from the mold (“the composite part can be removed from the lay-up tool 30 following the drilling of the positioning holes 244”, co 14 li 42-44; “The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam.”, co 7 41, 45-47; Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that the remaining releasable gap filler remains within the mold and does not adhere to the cured composite material when cured composite material is removed from the mold.).
Engwall further teaches removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool (co 7 li 7-8), but does not explicitly teach applying an additional releasable gap filler over the remaining releasable gap filler in the recess after trimming; and applying a subsequent uncured composite material directly over the additional releasable gap filler and onto the mold.
In the same field of endeavor, composite material processing, Knutson teaches that after any desired processing of uncured composite material 402, tool 200 can be used to support additional uncured composite materials for cutting, in some illustrative examples, after removing uncured composite material 402 from tool 200 and prior to performing cutting operations on additional uncured composite materials on tool 200, remaining groove filler 508 is removed from groove 204 of tool 200, additional groove filler is placed into groove 204 after removal of remaining groove filler 508, and in some illustrative examples, after removing uncured composite material 402 from tool 200 and prior to performing cutting operations on additional uncured composite materials on tool 200, an additional groove filler is placed on top of remaining groove filler 508 to refill groove 204 of tool 200 (Pa [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Engwall with the teachings of Knutson and substitute placing an additional gap filler on top of remaining gap filler for removing the sacrificial material out of the groove in order to refill the groove of mold and applying a subsequent uncured composite material directly over the additional releasable gap filler onto the mold.
With respect to claim 4, Engwall as applied to claim 1 above further teaches removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler from the recess after the cured composite material is removed from the mold (“To facilitate removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool, a separate strip of resin-impregnated fabric may be inserted into the groove 62 prior to applying the sacrificial material therein.”, co 7 li 6-11), but is silent to removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler from the recess by hand.
However, one would have found it obvious to perform the step of removing the releasable gap filler from the recess either by hand or by mechanical or automatic means, since it has been held that to provide a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity, which accomplishes the same result, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192 (CCPA 1958) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
With respect to claim 5, Engwall as applied to claim 4 above does not explicitly teach applying a second releasable gap filler into the recess after removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler; and applying a subsequent uncured composite material directly over the second releasable gap filler and onto the mold. However, one would have found it obvious to perform the claimed steps in order to start a subsequent manufacturing of a new composite product using the same mold.
With respect to claims 7 and 28, Engwall as applied to claims 1 and 5 above further teaches shaping the releasable gap filler to match a contour of a surface of the mold prior to applying the uncured composite material directly over the releasable gap filler (“It can be applied as a bead or a cut strip in the groove 62 and covered with a smooth molded caul sheet. Vacuum tracks may be molded into the underside of the caul sheet by laying a bead of sealing tape. The sacrificial material 64 is expanded and cured in the holes and/or grooves by covering the holes and/or groove with the caul sheet and a vacuum bag, and sealing the edges of the vacuum bag to the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 with putty-like sealing tape known in the art for this purpose. The vacuum bag is evacuated to a vacuum of about 10 inches of vacuum and vacuum is applied in the vacuum tracks to help hold the caul sheet down against the top surface 60 of the tool over the groove 62 while the foam expands against the underside of the caul sheet over the groove 62 and then cures in the expanded condition.”, co 7 li 47-61).
With respect to claim 8, Engwall teaches a method of forming a composite product (“a method and apparatus for use in forming, constructing and/or assembling a composite part”, co 3 li 50-52):
placing an uncured composite material over and in direct contact with a releasable gap filler within a recess in a mold without a release agent or a release layer between the uncured composite material and the releasable gap filler (“Upwardly opening recesses are machined into the upper surface 60 of the top plate 32”, co 6 li 44-46; “The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64 (see FIG. 3) on which the constituent materials forming the composite part 220 can be laid up on the top plate 32 flush with the upper surface 60.”, co 6 li 56-60; “A release coating can be previously applied to the tool face 60 to ensure that the composite part will not adhere to the tool face.”, co 7 li 66-co 8 li 1); then
curing the releasable gap filler to a tack-free gel (“The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam. It can be applied as a bead or a cut strip in the groove 62 and covered with a smooth molded caul sheet. Vacuum tracks may be molded into the underside of the caul sheet by laying a bead of sealing tape. The sacrificial material 64 is expanded and cured in the holes and/or grooves by covering the holes and/or groove with the caul sheet and a vacuum bag, and sealing the edges of the vacuum bag to the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 with putty-like sealing tape known in the art for this purpose. The vacuum bag is evacuated to a vacuum of about 10 inches of vacuum and vacuum is applied in the vacuum tracks to help hold the caul sheet down against the top surface 60 of the tool over the groove 62 while the foam expands against the underside of the caul sheet over the groove 62 and then cures in the expanded condition.”, co 7 li 41-61; Additional supporting reference provided herewith (ROJAC) teaches that “Integral skin PU foam is otherwise known as “self-skinning foam” gives you a component with a tough, flexible skin that is moulded over a softer foam core, this type of polyurethane foam moulding is ideal for many applications including grab handles, armrests, headrests etc. Integral skin polyurethane moulded foam has a moulded, flexible, tear-resistant outer skin. This skin is formed during the moulding process and protects a microcellular foam core with a predefined hardness.” (“What is integral skin foam?”, pages 1-2). Namely, the cured self-skinning foam is tack-free.); then
curing the uncured composite material while in direct contact with the releasable gap filler to form a cured composite material (“The lay-up tool 30 is transferred to an autoclave where pressure and heat causing the preimpregnated resin in the plies to flow and then cure while any out gassing from the curing resin is evacuated through the vacuum line.”, co 8 li 10-14), wherein the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material (“The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam.”, co 7 41, 45-47; Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material.); then
trimming the cured composite material prior to removing the cured composite material from the mold, wherein trimming comprises cutting through the cured composite material and into the releasable gap filler to form a cut gap filler (“Once the composite part 220 is molded or formed within the lay-up tool 30, the tool is transported and positioned on the machine tool bed 42.”, co 9 li 32-34; “the controller guides a cutter 68 along a predefined path to cut the peripheral edge of the composite part... the cutter extends beyond the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 and cuts into the sacrificial material 64 within the groove 62. Again, the cutting and other machining can be achieved without having to remove the composite part 220 from the lay-up tool 30.”, co 13 li 16-27); and then
removing the cured composite material from the mold and the cut gap filler, leaving the releasable cut gap filler within the recess (“the composite part can be removed from the lay-up tool 30 following the drilling of the positioning holes 244”, co 14 li 42-44; Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that the releasable cut gap filler remains within the recess during removing the cured composite material from the mold.).
Engwall further teaches removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool (co 7 li 7-8), but does not explicitly teach applying an additional releasable gap filler over the cut gap filler; and applying a subsequent composite material directly over and in direct contact with the additional releasable gap filler.
In the same field of endeavor, composite material processing, Knutson teaches that after any desired processing of uncured composite material 402, tool 200 can be used to support additional uncured composite materials for cutting, in some illustrative examples, after removing uncured composite material 402 from tool 200 and prior to performing cutting operations on additional uncured composite materials on tool 200, remaining groove filler 508 is removed from groove 204 of tool 200, additional groove filler is placed into groove 204 after removal of remaining groove filler 508, and in some illustrative examples, after removing uncured composite material 402 from tool 200 and prior to performing cutting operations on additional uncured composite materials on tool 200, an additional groove filler is placed on top of remaining groove filler 508 to refill groove 204 of tool 200 (Pa [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Engwall with the teachings of Knutson and substitute placing an additional gap filler on top of the cut gap filler for removing the sacrificial material out of the groove in order to refill the groove of mold and applying a subsequent composite material directly over and in direct contact with the additional releasable gap filler.
With respect to claim 9, Engwall as applied to claim 8 above further teaches removing the additional releasable gap filler and the cut gap filler from the recess after removing the cured composite material from the mold (“To facilitate removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool, a separate strip of resin-impregnated fabric may be inserted into the groove 62 prior to applying the sacrificial material therein.”, co 7 li 6-11).
With respect to claim 10, Engwall as applied to claim 9 above does not explicitly teach applying a second releasable gap filler into the recess after removing the additional releasable gap filler and the cut gap filler; and applying a subsequent uncured composite material directly over and in direct contact with the second releasable gap filler. However, one would have found it obvious to perform the claimed steps in order to start a subsequent manufacturing of a new composite product using the same mold.
With respect to claim 13, Engwall as applied to claim 8 above further teaches applying release material onto the mold and the recess (“A release coating can be previously applied to the tool face 60 to ensure that the composite part will not adhere to the tool face.”, co 7 li 66-co 8 li 1). but silent to applying release material onto the mold and the recess after a plurality of uses.
However, one would have found it obvious to coat the release agent onto the mold and the recess after a plurality of uses in order to ensure that the composite part will not adhere to the tool face after a plurality of uses.
With respect to claim 14, Engwall as applied to claim 9 above further teaches that removing the additional releasable gap filler and the cut gap filler comprises: removing the additional releasable gap filler and the cut gap filler using a plastic scraper or other non-marring hand tools (“To facilitate removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool, a separate strip of resin-impregnated fabric may be inserted into the groove 62 prior to applying the sacrificial material therein.”, co 7 li 6-11).
With respect to claim 15, Engwall as applied to claim 8 above further teaches applying the releasable gap filler within a hole in the mold (“recesses located on the top plate 32 where holes can be drilled through the composite part 220… The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64”, co 6 li 51-53, 56-57); and drilling through the cured composite material and into the releasable gap filler within the hole (“the controller 46 guides a drill to match drill a plurality of securing holes 248 through the hardware 240, 241 and into the composite part 220 while the composite part is still in the lay-up tool 30.”, co 12 li 32-35).
With respect to claim 16, Engwall teaches a method of forming a composite product (“a method and apparatus for use in forming, constructing and/or assembling a composite part”, co 3 li 50-52):
applying a releasable gap filler into trim channels in a mold (“The recesses include groove 62, such as a peripheral groove, located on the top plate 32 where the peripheral edge of the part can be cut”, co 6 li 49-51; “The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64”, co 6 li 56-57); then
applying the releasable gap filler into drill holes in the mold (“recesses located on the top plate 32 where holes can be drilled through the composite part 220… The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64”, co 6 li 51-53, 56-57); then
curing the releasable gap filler to a tack-free gel (“The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam. It can be applied as a bead or a cut strip in the groove 62 and covered with a smooth molded caul sheet. Vacuum tracks may be molded into the underside of the caul sheet by laying a bead of sealing tape. The sacrificial material 64 is expanded and cured in the holes and/or grooves by covering the holes and/or groove with the caul sheet and a vacuum bag, and sealing the edges of the vacuum bag to the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 with putty-like sealing tape known in the art for this purpose. The vacuum bag is evacuated to a vacuum of about 10 inches of vacuum and vacuum is applied in the vacuum tracks to help hold the caul sheet down against the top surface 60 of the tool over the groove 62 while the foam expands against the underside of the caul sheet over the groove 62 and then cures in the expanded condition.”, co 7 li 41-61; Additional supporting reference provided herewith (ROJAC) teaches that “Integral skin PU foam is otherwise known as “self-skinning foam” gives you a component with a tough, flexible skin that is moulded over a softer foam core, this type of polyurethane foam moulding is ideal for many applications including grab handles, armrests, headrests etc. Integral skin polyurethane moulded foam has a moulded, flexible, tear-resistant outer skin. This skin is formed during the moulding process and protects a microcellular foam core with a predefined hardness.” (“What is integral skin foam?”, pages 1-2). Namely, the cured self-skinning foam is tack-free.); then
placing an uncured composite material onto the mold and in direct contact with the releasable gap filler without a release agent or a release layer between the uncured composite material and the releasable gap filler (“The grooves and/or recesses receive a sacrificial material 64 (see FIG. 3) on which the constituent materials forming the composite part 220 can be laid up on the top plate 32 flush with the upper surface 60.”, co 6 li 56-60; “A release coating can be previously applied to the tool face 60 to ensure that the composite part will not adhere to the tool face.”, co 7 li 66-co 8 li 1); then
curing the uncured composite material to form a cured composite material (“The lay-up tool 30 is transferred to an autoclave where pressure and heat causing the preimpregnated resin in the plies to flow and then cure while any out gassing from the curing resin is evacuated through the vacuum line.”, co 8 li 10-14), wherein the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material (“The sacrificial material 64 …The preferred material used in this embodiment is B.F. Goodrich #PL657 heat expandable self-skinning foam.”, co 7 41, 45-47; Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that the releasable gap filler is configured to not adhere to the cured composite material.); then
trimming the cured composite material at locations over the trim channels in the mold such that trimming removes some releasable gap filler from the trim channels (“Once the composite part 220 is molded or formed within the lay-up tool 30, the tool is transported and positioned on the machine tool bed 42.”, co 9 li 32-34; “the controller guides a cutter 68 along a predefined path to cut the peripheral edge of the composite part... the cutter extends beyond the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 and cuts into the sacrificial material 64 within the groove 62. Again, the cutting and other machining can be achieved without having to remove the composite part 220 from the lay-up tool 30.”, co 13 li 16-27); then
drilling into the cured composite material at locations over the drill holes such that drilling removes some releasable gap filler from the drill holes (“the controller 46 guides a drill to match drill a plurality of securing holes 248 through the hardware 240, 241 and into the composite part 220 while the composite part is still in the lay-up tool 30.”, co 12 li 32-35); and then
removing the cured composite material from the mold, leaving a remaining releasable gap filler within the trim channels (“the composite part can be removed from the lay-up tool 30 following the drilling of the positioning holes 244”, co 14 li 42-44; Since the releasable gap filler (“the sacrificial material 64”) is expanded and cured to a tack-free foam in the holes and/or groove, one would appreciate that a remaining releasable gap filler remains within the trim channels during removing the cured composite material from the mold.).
Engwall further teaches removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool (co 7 li 7-8), but does not explicitly teach applying additional releasable gap filler over the remaining releasable gap filler.
In the same field of endeavor, composite material processing, Knutson teaches that after any desired processing of uncured composite material 402, tool 200 can be used to support additional uncured composite materials for cutting, in some illustrative examples, after removing uncured composite material 402 from tool 200 and prior to performing cutting operations on additional uncured composite materials on tool 200, remaining groove filler 508 is removed from groove 204 of tool 200, additional groove filler is placed into groove 204 after removal of remaining groove filler 508, and in some illustrative examples, after removing uncured composite material 402 from tool 200 and prior to performing cutting operations on additional uncured composite materials on tool 200, an additional groove filler is placed on top of remaining groove filler 508 to refill groove 204 of tool 200 (Pa [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Engwall with the teachings of Knutson and substitute placing an additional gap filler on top of remaining gap filler for removing the sacrificial material out of the groove in order to refill the groove of mold before another operation of a new uncured composite material.
With respect to claim 19, Engwall as applied to claim 8 above further teaches removing the remaining releasable gap filler from within the trim channels without use of abrading or sanding (“To facilitate removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool, a separate strip of resin-impregnated fabric may be inserted into the groove 62 prior to applying the sacrificial material therein.”, co 7 li 6-11).
With respect to claim 25, Engwall as applied to claim 16 above further teaches removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler after the cured composite material is removed from the mold (“To facilitate removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool, a separate strip of resin-impregnated fabric may be inserted into the groove 62 prior to applying the sacrificial material therein.”, co 7 li 6-11).
With respect to claim 26, Engwall as applied to claim 25 above does not explicitly teach applying a second releasable gap filler after removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler; and applying a subsequent uncured composite material directly over the second releasable gap filler and onto the mold. However, one would have found it obvious to perform the claimed steps in order to start a subsequent manufacturing of a new composite product using the same mold.
With respect to claim 27, Engwall as applied to claim 25 above further teaches that removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler comprises: removing the additional releasable gap filler and the remaining releasable gap filler using a plastic scraper or other non-marring hand tools (“To facilitate removal of the sacrificial material 64 from the groove 62 after the composite part is removal from the lay-up tool, a separate strip of resin-impregnated fabric may be inserted into the groove 62 prior to applying the sacrificial material therein.”, co 7 li 6-11).
With respect to claims 22, 24, 29 and 30, Engwall as applied to claims 8, 10, 16 and 26 above further teaches shaping the releasable gap filler to match a contour of a surface of the mold prior to applying the uncured composite material directly over the releasable gap filler (“It can be applied as a bead or a cut strip in the groove 62 and covered with a smooth molded caul sheet. Vacuum tracks may be molded into the underside of the caul sheet by laying a bead of sealing tape. The sacrificial material 64 is expanded and cured in the holes and/or grooves by covering the holes and/or groove with the caul sheet and a vacuum bag, and sealing the edges of the vacuum bag to the facing surface 60 of the top plate 32 with putty-like sealing tape known in the art for this purpose. The vacuum bag is evacuated to a vacuum of about 10 inches of vacuum and vacuum is applied in the vacuum tracks to help hold the caul sheet down against the top surface 60 of the tool over the groove 62 while the foam expands against the underside of the caul sheet over the groove 62 and then cures in the expanded condition.”, co 7 li 47-61).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742