DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s amendment dated 29 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9-23 are pending.
New grounds set forth below are necessitated by the amendment dated 29 June 2026. For this reason, this action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-10 and 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MHETAR (AU-2021102027-A4) in view of GRIFFIN (Polymer Physics 54.2 (2016): 254-262)
Regarding Claim 1 and 14, MHETAR teaches laminate structures to cover or protect surfaces ([0045]). MHETAR further teaches that its coating layer exhibits anti-fog properties ([0085]; [0030], Figure 20). MHETAR teaches that its coating comprises a selectively sulfonated anionic block copolymer ([0006], [0064]) formed from A, B and D blocks ([0006], [0064]), where the A block is the same as is recited by Claim 1 ([0006], [0064]), the B block is susceptible to sulfonation ([0006], [0064]) and contains one or more polymerized vinyl aromatic monomers ([0006], [0067]) which matches the requirements recited by the claim, and the D block comprises a hydrogenated polymer or copolymer of a conjugated diene ([0006], [0068]) which satisfies the recited requirement of being derived from a conjugated diene. MHETAR teaches that the A and D blocks are resistant to sulfonation ([0006], [0064]). MHETAR teaches that its block B is selectively sulfonated to contain 10-100 mol% ([0006]) as is recited. MHETAR exemplifies sulfonated pentablock copolymers with blocks of t-butylstyrene (A blocks), ethylene-alt-propylene (B blocks: hydrogenated polyisoprene), and sulfonated styrene (B blocks)([00126]) with 52% sulfonation ([00126]).
MHETAR teaches an anti-fog test ([0035]) and that its coating layer exhibits an antifog property of at least 5 minutes and in some embodiments at least 15 minutes or at least 30 minutes ([0085]). Although it is not known how similar this test is to the ASTM F659 measurement recited by the claim, it is presumed that the coating taught by MHETAR that shows no fog after 5 minutes (300 seconds), 15 or 30 minutes (900 or 1800 seconds) would have a Tfog of > 8 seconds as recited by Claim 1 or a Tfog of > 20 seconds as recited by Claim 14 under the recited ASTM measurement as the length of time taught by MHETAR is so much greater than what is recited and also because MHETAR teaches a similar sulfonated block copolymer as the one used in the instant examples and uses the same 1:1 mixture of toluene/propanol as the solvent system for the coating film ([00126], cur spec: [0125]).
MHETAR is silent on the cylindrical morphology and the amount of interconnected channels in the sulfonated styrenic block copolymer coating layer, but MHETAR teaches examples similar to those disclosed in the instant specification with instant specification with styrene block copolymers sulfonated at 52% ([00126]), which is similar to the 68-70% sulfonation disclosed in the instant examples (cur spec: [0118]), and with the same 1:1 toluene/n-propanol solvent system ([00126]) as disclosed in the instant examples (cur spec: [0125]). One would inherently expect the films taught by MHETAR would have be within the scope of the claims and would have the same cylindrical morphology and 50% interconnected channels as those of the instant examples. MHETAR does not teach that block B forms the cylindrical domains. GRIFFIN, in a study of the morphology of sulfonated pentablock copolymers in binary solvent mixtures (Title) teaches the same toluene/n-propanol solvent system (p. 256, “Characterization” section; Fig. 3b) as exemplified by MHETAR ([00126]). GRIFFIN teaches the same five blocks in the same order with the same 52% sulfonation rate and obtains its block copolymer from Kraton which is the applicant of the MHETAR reference (p. 255, “Materials” section; Fig. 1; MHETAR ([00126]). Although GRIFFIN teaches a morphology of spherical micelles (Abstract), any micelle which is on the surface of the film can be interpreted as a cylinder which would satisfy the claim. GRIFFIN teaches that at lower n-propanol wt% that the sulfonated polystyrene (SPS) blocks form the core of the micelles with the t-butylstryene blocks (block A) and the hydrogenated isoprene blocks (block D) on the outside of the micelles, which suggests that the cylindrical morphology above would be formed by the B-block at lower amounts of n-propanol in the toluene/n-propanol system. GRIFFIN teaches that adjusting the solvent blend chemistry allows for tuning of the morphology and properties of block copolymer solutions and the polymer membranes into which they are cast (Abstract). GRIFFIN teaches that properties such as those pertaining to gas separation, water filtration, transport properties and viscoelastic properties are linked to the morphology of these block copolymer films (p. 254, Col 2). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the examples of MHETAR with the teachings of GRIFFIN and use a lower fraction of n-propanol in its n-propanol/toluene system for the purpose of tuning the morphology and the properties of the films cast from these compositions.
MHETAR is silent on the yellowness index of its sulfonated styrenic block copolymer films. Because MHETAR teaches a similar sulfonated block copolymer and the same 1:1 toluene/propanol solvent system as what is used in the instant examples ([00126], cur spec: [0125]) and because MHETAR teaches high transmission, high clarity and low haze films ([0086]) for use in face masks and face shields ([00124]), a coating layer with a yellow index of less than 4 as measured by ASTM E313 is an obvious modification of the invention of MHETAR.
Regarding Claim 3, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches solutions which contain 1-20% solids, preferably 5-8% solids for spraying ([00131]). The preferable range is within the recited range.
Regarding Claim 5, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 3 where MHETAR teaches a 1:1 ratio of non-polar toluene and polar 1-propanol ([00131]), the same as those used in the instant examples which is just outside the recited ranges of 9wt% to less than 50wt% polar solvent and greater than 50wt% to 91wt% of nonpolar solvent. GRIFFIN teaches a spectrum of concentrations of n-propanol and toluene (Fig. 3b) including a phase-change to SPS-core (block B) morphological features at around 28 wt% propanol/72wt% toluene (Fig. 3b) which is within the recited ranges.
Regarding Claim 6, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 5 where MHETAR teaches a mixture of toluene (which is on the list of recited second solvents) and 1-propanol (which is on the list of recited first solvents) ([00131])
Regarding Claim 7, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 3 where MHETAR teaches a mixture of toluene and 1-propanol ([00131]) which is one of the recited solvent pairs.
Regarding Claim 9, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches providing its sulfonated polymer in the form of a solution ([00104]) which can be a mixture of solvents ([00104]). MHETAR teaches forming solutions of its copolymer in a mixture of toluene/1-propanol. ([00131]) which is the same solvent system used in the instant examples (cur spec: [0125]). MHETAR does not characterize this as a solvent annealing step, but it can be interpreted as one, and the evidence provided by the instant specification (cur spec: [009], [010]) in the Claim 1 rejection discloses that the choice of solvent system affects the underlying morphology.
MHETAR also teaches that its sulfonated polymer layer may be thermally bonded when it is applied as a laminate ([00104]) and that thermal heating may be used to remove the solvents ([00104]). MHETAR does not characterize these steps as thermal annealing step to tailor the morphology, but they can be interpreted as such because heat is applied, and the resultant film obtains good fog properties ([0085]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches that its coating film can be formed by a variety of methods including but not limited to wire wound rod coating, slot die coating, pan fed reverse roll coating, nip fed coating knife coating, roll coating, curtain coating, spraying, spin coating, immersion coating, and dip coating ([00103]) which are all recited options for satisfying the claim.
Regarding Claim 13, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches that its coating layer has a thickness of > 1 µm, or 1-1000 µm or 1-100 µm for a self-sterilized surface ([0084]), which also has anti-fog properties ([0085]). The 1-100 µm range matches what is recited. MHETAR teaches many substrates including a support layer substrate which can be polycarbonate, acrylic, polyvinylchloride, polybisallyl carbonate, polyethylene terephthalate, polystyrene and polyethylene naphthenate or bi-axially oriented polypropylene ([0088]) as well as applying the copolymer directly to glass, plexiglass (PMMA which is an acrylic polymer) and Mylar (a form of biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate)([00132]). MHETAR exemplifies a film thicknesses of 25.4 µm on Mylar ([00128]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR is silent on the surface energy of its coating film. Because MHETAR exemplifies a similar sulfonated block copolymer and the same 1:1 toluene/propanol solvent system as the one used in the instant examples ([00126], cur spec: [0125]) and because MHETAR teaches many of the same substrates used in the instant invention (see Claim 13), then one would inherently expect the films of MHETAR to have the same surface energy as those used in the instant invention and satisfy the recited requirement that the surface is greater than 20 dyne/cm.
Regarding Claim 16, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR further teaches that its films have a transmission rate of at least 90% or at least 91% ([0086]), that its film have a haze value of < 1.5, or < 1.25, or < 1.0, or < 0.75 ([0086]) and a clarity of at least 99% or 99.5% ([0086]). These satisfy the recited requirements that the transmission, haze and clarity properties are > 80%, < 3, and > 90%, respectively.
Regarding Claim 17, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches the same para-substituted styrene monomers for the A component ([0066]) as is recited. MHETAR teaches the same vinyl aromatic monomers for the B component ([0067]) as is recited. MHETAR teaches that its D component may be hydrogenated isoprene, 1,3-butadiene and mixtures thereof ([0068]) which satisfies the claim.
Regarding Claim 18, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches many of the same block copolymer configurations as is recited ([0064]). MHETAR exemplifies poly[tert-butylstyrene-b-(ethylene-alt-propylene)-b-(styrene-co-styrene-sulfonate)-b-(ethylene-alt-propylene)-tert-butylstyrene] ([0126]) which, since ethylene-alt-propylene is hydrogenated cis-polyisoprene (B), has the block copolymer configuration of A-D-B-D-A which is one of the recited configurations. GRIFFIN teaches the same Poly(t-butyl styrene-b-hydrogenated isoprene-b -(styrene-costyrene sulfonate)-b-hydrogenated isoprene-b-t-butyl styrene) (tBS-HI-mSPS-HI-tBS)(p. 255 “Materials” section) which is also the A-D-B-D-A configuration.
Regarding Claim 19, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR generally teaches 10-100 mol% sulfonation ([0048]) and exemplifies 26-52% ([00126]; Example 6 in the [002] paragraph on p. 26).
Regarding Claim 20, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR generally teaches that the IEC of its sulfonated polymer is > 0.5 meq/g ([0080]-[001]; Claim 2), or 1.5-3.5 meq/g ([0080]-[001]) which overlaps the recited requirement of 0.5-2.6 meq/g. MHETAR teaches in Example 1 a pentablock copolymer with 52% sulfonation ([00126]). GRIFFIN teaches the same (tBS-HI-mSPS-HI-tBS) pentablock copolymer with the same 52% sulfonation with an ion exchange capacity of 2.0 meq/g (p. 255, “Materials” section) which is within the recited range.
Regarding Claim 21, MHETAR teaches laminate structures to cover or protect surfaces ([0045]). MHETAR further teaches that its coating layer exhibits anti-fog properties ([0085]; [0030], Figure 20). MHETAR teaches that its coating comprises a selectively sulfonated anionic block copolymer ([0006], [0064]) formed from A, B and D blocks ([0006], [0064]), where the A block is the same as is recited by Claim 1 ([0006], [0064]), the B block is susceptible to sulfonation ([0006], [0064]) and contains one or more polymerized vinyl aromatic monomers ([0006], [0067]) which matches the requirements recited by the claim, and the D block comprises a hydrogenated polymer or copolymer of a conjugated diene ([0006], [0068]) which satisfies the recited requirement of being derived from a conjugated diene. MHETAR teaches that the A and D blocks are resistant to sulfonation ([0006], [0064]). MHETAR teaches that its block B is selectively sulfonated to contain 10-100 mol% ([0006]) as is recited. MHETAR exemplifies sulfonated pentablock copolymers with blocks of t-butylstyrene (A blocks), ethylene-alt-propylene (B blocks: hydrogenated polyisoprene), and sulfonated styrene (B blocks)([00126]) with 52% sulfonation ([00126]).
MHETAR teaches an anti-fog test ([0035]) and that its coating layer exhibits an antifog property of at least 5 minutes and in some embodiments at least 15 minutes or at least 30 minutes ([0085]). Although it is not known how similar this test is to the ASTM F659 measurement recited by the claim, it is presumed that the coating taught by MHETAR that shows no fog after 5 minutes (300 seconds), 15 or 30 minutes (900 or 1800 seconds) would have a Tfog of > 8 seconds as recited by Claim 1 under the recited ASTM measurement as the length of time taught by MHETAR is so much greater than what is recited and also because MHETAR teaches a similar sulfonated block copolymer as the one used in the instant examples and uses the same 1:1 mixture of toluene/propanol as the solvent system for the coating film ([00126], cur spec: [0125]).
MHETAR is silent on the cylindrical morphology and the amount of interconnected channels in the sulfonated styrenic block copolymer coating layer, but MHETAR teaches examples similar to those disclosed in the instant specification with instant specification with styrene block copolymers sulfonated at 52% ([00126]), which is similar to the 68-70% sulfonation disclosed in the instant examples (cur spec: [0118]), and with the same 1:1 toluene/n-propanol solvent system ([00126]) as disclosed in the instant examples (cur spec: [0125]). One would inherently expect the films taught by MHETAR would have be within the scope of the claims and would have the same cylindrical morphology and 50% interconnected channels as those of the instant examples. MHETAR does not teach that blocks A and D forms the cylindrical domains. GRIFFIN, in a study of the morphology of sulfonated pentablock copolymers in binary solvent mixtures (Title) teaches the same toluene/n-propanol solvent system (p. 256, “Characterization” section; Fig. 3b) as exemplified by MHETAR ([00126]). GRIFFIN teaches the same five blocks in the same order with the same 52% sulfonation rate and obtains its block copolymer from Kraton which is the applicant of the MHETAR reference (p. 255, “Materials” section; Fig. 1; MHETAR ([00126]). Although GRIFFIN teaches a morphology of spherical micelles (Abstract), any micelle which is on the surface of the film can be interpreted as a cylinder which would satisfy the claim. GRIFFIN teaches that at higher n-propanol wt%, that the sulfonated polystyrene (SPS) blocks form the corona shell of the micelles with the t-butylstryene blocks (block A) and the hydrogenated isoprene blocks (block D) on the inside of the micelles, which suggests that the cylindrical morphology above would be formed by the A and D blocks at higher amounts of n-propanol in the toluene/n-propanol system with the B blocks on the outside forming the interconnected channels. GRIFFIN teaches that adjusting the solvent blend chemistry allows for tuning of the morphology and properties of block copolymer solutions and the polymer membranes into which they are cast (Abstract). GRIFFIN teaches that properties such as those pertaining to gas separation, water filtration, transport properties and viscoelastic properties are linked to the morphology of these block copolymer films (p. 254, Col 2). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the examples of MHETAR with the teachings of GRIFFIN and use a lower fraction of n-propanol in its n-propanol/toluene system for the purpose of tuning the morphology and the properties of films cast from these compositions.
MHETAR is silent on the yellowness index of its sulfonated styrenic block copolymer films. Because MHETAR teaches a similar sulfonated block copolymer and the same 1:1 toluene/propanol solvent system as what is used in the instant examples ([00126], cur spec: [0125]) and because MHETAR teaches high transmission, high clarity and low haze films ([0086]) for use in face masks and face shields ([00124]), a coating layer with a yellow index of less than 4 as measured by ASTM E313 is an obvious modification of the invention of MHETAR.
Regarding Claim 22, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 21. MHETAR teaches solutions which contain 1-20% solids, preferably 5-8% solids for spraying ([00131]). The preferable range is within the recited range.
Regarding Claim 23, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 22 where MHETAR teaches a 1:1 ratio of non-polar toluene and polar 1-propanol ([00131]), the same as those used in the instant examples which is just outside the recited ranges of greater than 50wt% to 91wt% polar solvent and 9wt% to less than 50wt% of nonpolar solvent. GRIFFIN teaches a spectrum of concentrations of n-propanol and toluene (Fig. 3b) including a phase-change to SPS-corona (block B) on the outside of micelles formed by the remaining blocks (A and D) at around 55 wt% propanol/45wt% toluene (Fig. 3b) which is within the recited ranges.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MHETAR (AU-2021102027-A4) in view of HANDLIN (US-8377514-B2)
Regarding Claims 11-12, modified MHETAR teaches the invention of Claim 1. MHETAR teaches that its sulfonated polymer film further comprises additives ([0077]), including a color change pH indicator ([0078]), as well as a group of additives ([0080]) including plasticizers, tackifiers, surfactants, film forming additives, dyes, pigments, crosslinkers, UV absorbers, catalysts, and particles and tubes (which are fillers). These additives can be included in any combination provided that they do not inhibit the efficacy of the material ([0080]). MHETAR does not teach amounts of these additives. HANDLIN, in an invention of sulfonated block copolymers (Abstract) which have the same general configuration of A, B and D blocks (Col 3: 18-26) and a solvent mixture of polar and non-polar solvents allowing for different microstructures (Col 30: 14-20), teaches that its exemplary materials may contain additions components such as pigments, antioxidants, stabilizers, surfactants, waxes, flow promoters and fillers (Col 36-40). HANDLIN teaches that the non-filler additives are present, they may be present in amounts of 0-10 wt% (Col 29: 44-49) which overlaps the recited range of 1-35 wt%. HANDLIN teaches that its additive filler components may be present in amounts of 0-50 wt% (Col 29: 54-59) which encompasses the recited range of 1-35wt%. HANDLIN teaches that these additives are added to enhance the processability and handling of the composition (Col 29: 60-64). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the invention of MHETAR with the teachings of HANDLIN and include additive components in amounts that are within the range taught by HANDLIN that are also within the 1-35 wt% recited by the claim for the purpose of enhancing the processability and handling of the composition. The amounts of 1-35wt% of additives, with the 65-99wt% remainder being the sulfonated copolymer, satisfies Claim 11. The specific additives taught by MHETAR and HANDLIN satisfies Claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendment to the specification correcting references to “blocks A and D” in [084] and [085] introduced no new matter and is accepted. These paragraphs are now consistent with the rest of the specification (e.g. [044]).
The amendment to Claim 6 addresses informalities. The objection to this claim has been withdrawn.
The amendment to Claim 19 narrows the range of sulfonation that is recited in Claim 1 resolving the issue where Claim 19 had previously failed to further limit Claim 1. The rejection under 35 USC 112(d) has been withdrawn.
Copending application 18/047,123 has been abandoned since the previous office action. The rejection under obviousness double patenting over application 18/047,123 are moot. These rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that MHETAR does not teach the morphology of its block copolymer films and which blocks of the copolymer contributed to this morphology. In response, MHETAR teaches examples which are very similar to those taught in the instant specification with the same copolymer in a similar sulfonation rate with the same toluene/n-propanol solvent system. One would inherently expect the same cylindrical morphology in the films taught by MHETAR as is claimed in Claim 1 and Claim 21. GRIFFIN, who teaches the same copolymer and solvent system as MHETAR, makes obvious tuning the relative amount of the polar/non-polar solvents to form morphological features with a core of the B blocks or inverted morphological features with A and D blocks in the core for the purpose of tuning the transport and viscoelastic properties of the film.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764