DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ng et al. US 9620892 B2.
In reference to claim 1, Ng teaches a modular cable exit assembly (illustrated in Fig. 5) comprising: a receptacle housing (1) including one or more contact cavities (3) for electrical terminals (not shown, but secured in 3) configured to be connected to at least one cable (30), said receptacle housing including a coupling portion (i.e. the body of 1); and a cable exit adapter (5; fig. 3) including an exit collar (13, 32; fig. 5) for accommodating a portion of said at least one cable coming out of said receptacle housing (see fig. 5), said cable exit adapter including a body (see fig. 3); wherein said body and said coupling portion are coupled by a snap-fit connection (see A; shown in the illustration below, where the latch of the cable exit adapter 5 latches to a wall of the housing) of at least one of said body and said coupling portion; and wherein said cable exit adapter includes one or more retention hooks (see “latch” shown in the illustration below) suitable for securing said cable exit adapter to a retention wall of said receptacle housing (see the protrusion on the wall of the housing where the “latch” secures to).
In reference to claim 2, Ng teaches the modular cable exit assembly according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of first guides (25; fig. 4) are formed on said body of said cable exit adapter and a plurality of second guides (sidewalls of 28; fig. 4) are formed on said coupling portion and said plurality of first guides is configured to be fit into said mating second guides (see fig. 4).
In reference to claim 4, Ng teaches the modular cable exit assembly according to claim 1, wherein said body of said cable exit adapter includes a cantilever (see “latch” shown in the illustration below) and said coupling portion includes a seat (28; fig. 3) and said cantilever is configured to be inserted into said seat.
In reference to claim 8, Ng teaches the modular cable exit assembly according to claim 1, wherein said cable exit adapter is removably coupled to said receptacle housing.
In reference to claim 10, Ng teaches a method for assembling a modular cable exit assembly comprising: providing a receptacle housing (1) including one or more contact cavities (3) for electrical terminals configured to be connected to at least one cable, said receptacle housing including a coupling portion (near lead line 28); providing a cable exit adapter (5; fig. 2) including an exit collar (13, 32; fig. 5) for accommodating a portion of said at least one cable coming out of said receptacle housing (see fig. 5), said cable exit adapter including a body (i.e. the body of 5); assembling said receptacle housing and said cable exit adapter by coupling said body and said coupling portion by a snap-fit connection (see A; shown in the illustration below, where the latch of the cable exit adapter 5 latches to a wall of the housing); and securing said cable exit adapter to a retention wall (i.e. the sidewall wall of 28; fig. 3) of said receptacle housing using retention hooks (25 secures to the slots of 28, therefore 25 is seen as a retention hook).
In reference to claim 12, Ng teaches the method for assembling the modular cable exit assembly according to claim 10, further comprising inserting a cantilever (see “latch” shown in the illustration below) of said cable exit adapter into a seat (28) of said coupling portion.
In reference to claim 13, Ng teaches the modular cable exit assembly according to claim 1, wherein said body of said cable exit adapter includes a mating tab (see “latch”; shown in the illustration below) and said coupling portion of said receptacle housing includes a seat (pertaining to the protrusion that secures to the latch shown in A in the illustration below) receiving the mating tab to form said snap fit connection, said retention hooks (25) separate and discrete from said mating tab and coupled to said retention wall of said receptacle housing remote from said seat.
In reference to claim 14, Ng teaches wherein said one or more retention hooks (25) are fixed hook structures fixed relative to said body of said cable exit adapter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. US 9620892 B2.
In reference to claim 5, Ng substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Ng does not teach wherein said exit collar is slanted by an angle of 45° with respect to a plane passing through said coupling portion.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of exit collar, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the shape of the exit collar to arrive at the results of claim 5 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the exit collar to arrive at the results of claim 5. The exit collar still guides the cables, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 6, Ng substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Ng does not teach wherein said exit collar is slanted by an angle of 90 degrees with respect to a plane passing through said coupling portion.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the exit collar, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the shape of the exit collar to arrive at the results of claim 6 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the exit collar to arrive at the results of claim 6. The exit collar still guides the cables, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 7, Ng substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Ng does not teach wherein said exit collar is parallel to a plane passing through said coupling portion.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the exit collar, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the shape of the exit collar to arrive at the results of claim 7 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the exit collar to arrive at the results of claim 7. The exit collar still guides the cables, therefore new results are not produced.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. US 9620892 B2 in view of Nishio et al. US 20140294349 A1.
In reference to claim 9, Ng substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Ng does not teach further comprising a cover element for covering said receptacle housing.
Nishio teaches of a cover element (26; fig. 2) for covering said housing (H; fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Nishio, as taught by Nishio [0032], lines 1-4, to improve the connector by preventing dust and debris from entering the connector housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 11, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 07/01/2026