DETAILED ACTION
Statement of claims
The present application include :
Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-16 are being considered on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 and 11/18/2025 . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 10/12/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-8 directed to “A system ….comprising: a smart navigation aid integrated platform; a main operating system (OS) configured to operate on the smart navigation aid integrated platform, a lightweight virtual OS manager based on a docker engine, configured to operate on the main OS; a plurality of lightweight virtual OSs configured to operate on a container basis by the lightweight virtual OS manager; and service applications configured to operate to correspond to the plurality of lightweight virtual OSs. However, in view of the specification (see FIG. 2B, paragraphs [0035] , [0037] , [0063] and[0066]of the specification), the above recited “smart navigation aid integrated platform”, “a lightweight virtual OS manager based on a docker engine”, “a plurality of lightweight virtual OSs” , “a plurality of lightweight virtual OSs” and “service applications” appear to be software per se that is non statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JHA et al. (US 2023/02066755, JHA hereinafter) in view of Paschalis Mpeis et al. “The Anyplace 4.0 IoT Localization Architecture”, 2020, Paschalis hereinafter) .
As to claim 1, JHA teaches a system (e.g., Figure 1), for managing a multi-service for smart navigation aids (e.g., para 66 and 67 , “ a V-ITS-S 110, or by a stationary ITS-S, such as an R-ITS-S 130” for “Intelligent transport systems “ , “applications related to signalized intersections” and “to provide more intelligent services for end-users” , “provide any number of driving assistance” in para 20 and 53. Also, see Para 19-20, “ITS station (ITS-S) to ITS-S” , “ roadside units (RSUs) 130” . Thus, ITS station (ITS-S) to ITS-S” , “ roadside units (RSUs) 130 include smart navigation aids) , the system comprising:
a smart navigation aid integrated platform (e.g., “1300” Figures 13 and “2500” Figure 14, para 318, “ in-vehicle system 1400, which could be formed with UVCS 1300”. Thus, ) ;
a main operating system (OS) configured to operate on the smart navigation aid integrated platform (e.g., see para 318,” a service OS “ );
.
a virtual OS manager, configured to operate on the main OS (e.g., para 318, “hypervisor 1412 hosting a number of virtual machines (VMs) 1422-1428”, “Hypervisor 1412 may also implement some or all of the functions described earlier for a system management controller of a UVCS module”, “ hypervisor or VM manager (VMM)”. Thus, a virtual OS manager),
a plurality of virtual OSs configured to operate on a container basis by virtual OS manager (e.g., 318, the “VMs” coupled “number of user VMs 1424-1428” , “Linux”, “Android”, “other suitable OS” . Thus, a plurality of virtual OSs configured to operate on a container basis by the virtual OS manager); and
service applications configured to operate to correspond to the plurality of virtual OSs, respectively (e.g., para 318, “ a number of instrument cluster applications 1432”).
However, JHA does not teach the smart navigation aids based on microservice architecture, a lightweight virtual OS manager based on a docker engine, a plurality of lightweight virtual Oss.
Paschalis teaches a smart navigation aids based on microservice architecture (e.g., see page 218, Fig. 1 , “microservice”, “localization service” , “smart sensors” for “smart spaces(e.g., factories, health and ships)”, “floormaps and Pointsof-
Interest (POIs), along with wireless, light and magnetic signals used to localize users” . Thus, smart navigation aids based on microservice architecture) , a lightweight virtual OS manager based on a docker engine, configured to operate on a main OS (e.g., “Docker to enable the deployment of… “ , “… multi-node configurations, regardless of any dependencies or the underlying OS.” for “Windows IoT, RobotOS, Android, Linux, macOS” Fig. 4) ; a plurality of lightweight virtual OSs configured to operate on a container basis by the lightweight virtual OS manager (e.g., see page 221 and page 222, “a lightweight MVC framework” for “OS virtualization level “ , “Windows IoT, RobotOS, Android, Linux, macOS”, FIG. 4, “to isolate our service from any other machines in our clusters” ) and service applications (e.g., “API” for “radiopmap”, “Web”, Foor module”, FIG. 4) configured to operate to correspond to the plurality of lightweight virtual OSs, respectively (e.g., see pages 221-222, “a lightweight MVC framework for web applications” for “the application logic of the A4IoT service” , “ IV. A4IOT CONTAINERIZATION “, “the containerization of the A4IoTsoftware stack “,and “running instance of A4IoT “, “for “Windows IoT, RobotOS, Android, Linux, macOS”, Fig. 4) .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of JHA by adopting the teachings of Paschalis to have navigation aids based on microservice architecture, the system comprising: a smart navigation aid integrated platform; a main operating system (OS) configured to operate on the smart navigation aid integrated platform; a lightweight virtual OS manager based on a docker engine, configured to operate on the main OS; a plurality of lightweight virtual OSs configured to operate on a container basis by the lightweight virtual OS manager; and service applications configured to operate to correspond to the plurality of lightweight virtual OSs, respectively in order to provide “efficient consumption of raw IoT data a time-series database is incorporated into the Data Store.This enables real-time analytics and visualizations” (see Paschalis, page 223).
As to claim 2, JHA teaches wherein the service applications are configured to be present on independent containers in order to provide a sensor data streaming collection service (e.g., see Figure 2, para 80, “Sensor Information Containers”) , a local database service, a remote place data transfer service (e.g., para 420, “distributed collection of systems”and “ the distribution services” , “database records, database fields, database entities, associations between data and/or database entities (also referred to as a “relation”).” in para 426 and 446) , a battery monitoring service (e.g., see FIG. 15, para 364, “ battery monitor/charger 1578 to charge the battery 1576.”) , a computing resource monitoring service, a sensor failure diagnosis service, and a recovery service, respectively (e.g., para 23, “ ITS-Ss contribute context information (e.g., information about their perceived environments)” and “ to provide failure predictions, such as the state of health (SoH) and the state of function (SoF) of the battery 1576.” , “database workloads (e.g., a number of database queries during a period of time), a network-related workload (e.g., a number of network attachments, a number of mobility updates, a number of radio link failures, a number of handovers, an amount of data to be transferred over an air interface, and/or the like), and/or the like. Various algorithms may be used to determine a workload and/or workload characteristics, which may be based on any of the aforementioned workload types.” In Para 363 and 429. Thus, a local database service, a remote place data transfer service, a battery monitoring service a computing resource monitoring service, a sensor failure diagnosis service, and a recovery service, respectively).
As to claim 3, JHA teaches wherein: the sensor data streaming collection service is configured to store collected sensor data in a local database that is managed by the local database service, and the sensor data streaming collections are configured to be divided and operated by a plurality of containers based on information on a number and characteristics of sensors included in smart navigation aids (e.g., para 66, “ multiple containers” for “database records, database fields, database entities, associations between data and/or database entities (also referred to as a “relation”)”, “Sensor Information Container (or “Sensor Info Container) of type CpmPerceptionDataContainer containing the information object SensorInformationContainer may be present to provide information about the sensory capabilities that are available to an ITS sub-system” in para 80 and 446).
As to claim 4, JHA teaches wherein the sensor failure diagnosis service is configured to query about data of a sensor provided in smart navigation aids, which are continuously loaded into a local database that is managed by the local database service, and provide notification information when detecting a data pattern corresponding to a failure by analyzing a distribution of the data of the sensor (e.g., para 293, “features extracted from the image data are compared to the object identification models using a suitable pattern recognition technique.” for “to provide failure predictions” in para 363. Thus, wherein the sensor failure diagnosis service is configured to query about data of a sensor provided in smart navigation aids, which are continuously loaded into a local database that is managed by the local database service, and provide notification information when detecting a data pattern corresponding to a failure by analyzing a distribution of the data of the sensor).
As to claim 5, JHA teaches wherein the remote place data transfer service is configured to transmit, to at least one of a central server and another vessel, data that have been loaded into a local database that is managed by the local database service by using a predetermined communication module (e.g., para 264, “to transfer a remote perception” for “ ITS element (e.g., VRU device, vehicle, infrastructure, and/or the like)” for “vehicle” may refer to road vehicle designed “, “ boats, ships” in para 465. Thus, wherein the remote place data transfer service is configured to transmit, to at least one of a central server and another vessel, data that have been loaded into a local database that is managed by the local database service by using a predetermined communication module would have been inherent).
As to claim 6, JHA teaches wherein the battery monitoring service is configured to: monitor a state of a battery for smart navigation aids by analyzing a pattern of data collected from a remaining battery power sensor for the smart navigation aids, and provide notification information when detecting an abnormal pattern as results of the analysis of the pattern of the data (e.g., para 363, “A battery monitor/charger 1578 may be included in the edge computing node 1550 to track the state of charge (SoCh) of the battery 1576, if included. The battery monitor/charger 1578 may be used to monitor other parameters of the battery 1576 to provide failure predictions, such as the state of health (SoH) and the state of function (SoF) of the battery 1576. “) .
As to claim 7, JHA teaches wherein the computing resource monitoring service is configured to provide notification information when detecting a shortage of a computing resource or an abnormal pattern corresponding to smart navigation aids (e.g., 353, “monitor various systems implemented by node 1550 (e.g., when node 1550 is a CA/AD vehicle 110). The CSCs define how the DCUs 1574 are to interpret sensor data of sensors 1572 and/or CSD of other DCUs 1574 using multidimensional performance maps or lookup tables, and define how actuators/components are to be adjust/modified based on the sensor data.” And “Monitoring may include waiting for sensor data/CSD from various sensors/modules based on triggers or events, such as when the host vehicle reaches predetermined speeds and/or distances in a predetermined amount of time (with or without intermitted stops). The events/triggers may be AI agent specific, and may vary depending of a particular application, use case, design choice, and/or the like. The monitoring may be triggered or activated by an application or subsystem of the IVS 101 or by a remote device, such as compute node 140 and/or server(s) 160.” In para 357) .
As to claim 8, JHA teaches wherein the recovery service is configured to monitor all of a plurality of containers and transmit a re-execution command to a corresponding container when an abnormal pattern occurs or when it is determined that the corresponding container needs to be re-executed (e.g., para 363, “to provide failure predictions, such as the state of health (SoH) “ , “to determine actions that the edge computing node 1550 may perform, such as transmission frequency, mesh network operation” and “The charging may be performed using the Airfuel standard promulgated by the Airfuel Alliance, the Qi wireless charging standard promulgated by the Wireless Power Consortium, or the Rezence charging standard, promulgated by the Alliance for Wireless Power, among others” in para 364. Thus, wherein the recovery service is configured to monitor all of a plurality of containers and transmit a re-execution command to a corresponding container when an abnormal pattern occurs or when it is determined that the corresponding container needs to be re-executed would have been inherent).
As to claim 9, see rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claims 10-16, see rejection of claims 2-8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ricci et al. (US 2013/0167159) disclose A mobile computing device with a mobile operating system and personal computer or vehicle processing module operating system running concurrently and independently on a shared kernel without virtualization. The mobile operating system provides a user experience for the mobile computing device that suits the mobile environment. The personal computer operating system provides a full personal computer user experience when the mobile computing device is docked to a secondary terminal environment. The vehicle processing module operating system provides a full vehicle processing module user experience when the mobile computing device is docked to a secondary terminal environment. The mobile computing device may be a smartphone running the Android mobile OS and a full desktop Linux distribution on a modified Android kernel.
Roberto Morabito et al. “Consolidate IoT Edge Computing with Lightweight Virtualization” discloses Lightweight virtualization (LV) technologies have
refashioned the world of software development by introducing flexibility and new ways of managingand distributing software.
/ABDOU K SEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198