DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a number of winding turns of the primary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs as claimed in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121 (d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 20190043661 A1) in view of Chen (US 20230223185 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Jin teaches that a power converter, comprising:
a primary-side converter stage (16, Fig. ; para 0029-0041) and secondary-side converter stage (18); and
an integrated transformer (T1-T2; Fig. 1) electrically coupled between the primary-side converter stage and the secondary-side converter stage, comprising:
a magnetic core (M) comprising plurality of core legs; and
a primary winding (N1-N2; Fig. 2) extending around each of the plurality of core legs and a secondary winding (S1-S2; Fig. 2) extending around each of the plurality of core legs,
wherein:
a winding direction of the primary winding (i.e. winding direction of N12 is clockwise and N11 is anti-clockwise when look from left to right in Fig. 2) is alternated between adjacent core legs among the plurality of core legs; and
Jin teaches primary winding around the plurality of core legs except a number of winding turns of the primary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs.
However, Chen taught in claim 1 that the first primary coil and the second primary coil are respectively wound on the first winding column and the second winding column, and the number of turns of the first primary coil is different from the number of turns of the second primary coil, the first secondary coil and the second secondary coil are respectively wound on the first winding column and the second winding column.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a number of winding turns of the primary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs to provide magnetic element capable of reducing the overall size and maintaining a good energy conversion efficiency and a magnetic core structure thereof is a problem to be solved by the industry (see para 0005).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Jin teaches that a winding direction of the secondary winding is alternated between adjacent core legs among the plurality of core legs (see Fig. 3a; construed from the statement “AC fluxes on any two adjacent core columns M13 of the magnetic core of the magnetic component M in the present invention are opposite in direction” in Jin’s para 0044).
Regarding Claim 3, 16:
As applied to claim 1 and 15, the modified Jin teaches that a number of winding turns of the secondary winding around the plurality of core legs except a number of winding turns of the secondary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs.
However, Chen taught in claim 1 that the number of turns of the first primary coil is different from the number of turns of the second primary coil, the first secondary coil and the second secondary coil are respectively wound on the first winding column and the second winding column, and the number of turns of the first secondary coil is different from that of the second secondary coil.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a number of winding turns of the secondary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs to provide magnetic element capable of reducing the overall size and maintaining a good energy conversion efficiency and a magnetic core structure thereof is a problem to be solved by the industry (see para 0005).
Regarding Claim 5, 18:
As applied to claim 1 and 15, the modified Jin teaches that the magnetic core comprises a first air gap (see left side air gap in Chen’s Fig. 3B) for a first core leg among the plurality of core legs and a second, different air gap (see right side air gap in Chen’s Fig. 3B) for a second core leg among the plurality of core legs (see Chen’s claim 2).
Regarding Claim 6, 19:
As applied to claim 1 and 15, the modified Jin teaches that the integrated transformer comprises a first unit transformer (T1, Fig. 1) and a second unit transformer (T2, Fig. 1); the first unit transformer comprises a first total number of winding turns of the primary winding and the secondary winding around a first pair of core legs (back side M13-M131, Fig. 2) among the plurality of core legs; and the second unit transformer comprises a second, total number of winding turns of the primary winding and the secondary winding around a second pair of core legs (front side M13-M131, Fig. 2) among the plurality of core legs.
Jin does not teach that a first unit transformer and the second unit transformer comprises a second, different total number of winding turns of the primary winding.
However, Chen teaches that a first unit transformer (left side in Fig. 3B; para 0059) and second unit transformer (right side in Fig. 3B) comprises a second, different total number of winding turns of the primary winding (i.e. left primary coil has 3 turn and right side 2 turn in Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first unit transformer and the second unit transformer comprises a second, different total number of winding turns of the primary winding to provide magnetic element capable of reducing the overall size and maintaining a good energy conversion efficiency and a magnetic core structure thereof is a problem to be solved by the industry (see para 0005).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Jin teaches that the integrated transformer comprises a first unit transformer (T1) and a second unit transformer (T2); the first unit transformer comprises a first primary winding (N11, Fig. 2) and a first secondary winding (S1) ; and the second unit transformer comprises a second primary winding (N12) and a second secondary winding (S2).
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 8, the modified Jin teaches that the first primary winding and the second primary winding are series connected between nodes of the primary-side converter stage (see Fig. 2; i.e. N11 and N12 connected in series); except the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are series connected between nodes of the secondary-side converter stage.
However, such features are well-known and the Examiner takes Official Notice (see MPEP § 2144.03.A) that the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are series connected between nodes of the secondary-side converter stage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of what is well known into the combination of Jin and Chen to have t the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are series connected between nodes of the secondary-side converter stage.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the combination of Jin and Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing known structures to ensure successful device operation.
Regarding Claim 10:
As applied to claim 8, the modified Jin teaches that the first primary winding and the second primary winding are series connected between nodes of the primary-side converter stage; and the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are parallel connected between nodes of the secondary-side converter stage as explained claim 9 analysis in light of MPEP § 2144.03.A
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 8, the modified Jin teaches that the first primary winding and the second primary winding are parallel connected between nodes of the primary-side converter stage; and the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are series connected between nodes of the secondary-side converter stage as explained claim 9 analysis in light of MPEP § 2144.03.A
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Jin teaches that the plurality of core legs in the magnetic core are arranged in a matrix of core legs (see Fig. 22; i.e. 2x2 matrix).
Regarding Claim 15:
Jin teaches that an integrated transformer, comprising: a magnetic core (M) comprising plurality of core legs; and
a primary winding (N1-N2; Fig. 2) extending around each of the plurality of core legs and a secondary winding (S1-S2; Fig. 2) extending around each of the plurality of core legs,
wherein:
a winding direction of the primary winding (i.e. winding direction of N12 is clockwise and N11 is anti-clockwise when look from left to right in Fig. 2) is alternated between adjacent core legs among the plurality of core legs; and
the integrated transformer exhibits a primary-side inductor (N1) and a second- side inductor (N2).
Jin teaches primary winding around the plurality of core legs except a number of winding turns of the primary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs.
However, Chen taught in claim 1 that the first primary coil and the second primary coil are respectively wound on the first winding column and the second winding column, and the number of turns of the first primary coil is different from the number of turns of the second primary coil, the first secondary coil and the second secondary coil are respectively wound on the first winding column and the second winding column.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a number of winding turns of the primary winding around the plurality of core legs is different on at least two core legs among the plurality of core legs to provide magnetic element capable of reducing the overall size and maintaining a good energy conversion efficiency and a magnetic core structure thereof is a problem to be solved by the industry (see para 0005).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Chen and further in view of Wang (US 20200312541 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, 17:
As applied to claim 1 and 15, the modified Jin teaches that a total number of winding turns of the primary winding and the secondary winding around a first core leg is and a second core leg among the plurality of core legs except a total number of winding turns of the primary winding and the secondary winding around a first core leg is different than around a second core leg among the plurality of core legs.
However, Wang teaches that a total number of winding turns of the primary winding ( 430,, Fig. 8; para 0046-0051) and the secondary winding (431) around a first core leg (830) is different (i.e. total number of turns of 430 and 410 is different than total number of turn of 450 and 650 in Fig. 8) than around a second core leg (850) among the plurality of core legs.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a total number of winding turns of the primary winding and the secondary winding around a first core leg is different than around a second core leg among the plurality of core legs to provide novel and advantageous winding structures that include two additional compensation windings to balance the three-phase coupled inductors (para 0003).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Chen and further in view of Barthold (US 20140300442 A1).
Regarding Claim 13:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Jin teaches that the plurality of core legs except the plurality of core legs comprise at least two core legs having different profile shapes.
However, Barthold teaches that the plurality of core legs (352a-352b, 314a-314b; Fig. 3A; para 0036) comprise at least two core legs (354a-354b) having different profile shapes (construed form Fig. 3F).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of core legs comprise at least two core legs having different profile shapes to provide physical symmetry to the magnetic flux path (para 0036).
Regarding Claim 14:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Jin teaches that the plurality of core legs except the plurality of core legs comprise at least two core legs having different sectional surface areas.
However, Barthold teaches that the plurality of core legs (352a-352b, 314a-314b; Fig. 3A; para 0036) comprise at least two core legs (354a-354b) having different sectional surface areas (construed form Fig. 3F).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of core legs comprise at least two core legs having different sectional surface areas to provide physical symmetry to the magnetic flux path (para 0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 and 19 recites, integrated transformer comprises a first unit transformer, a second unit transformer, and a third unit transformer; a first polarity of magnetomotive force (MMF) of the first unit transformer and of the third unit transformer is different than a second polarity of the MMF of the second unit transformer
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837