DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 8/13/26 have been received. Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 17 and 19 have been amended. Claims 2 and 10 have been cancelled.
Specification
3. The amended specification was received on 8/13/26. The amended specification is acceptable.
Drawings
4. The objection to the drawings is withdrawn because the Applicant amended the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C).
Regarding claim 1, Leben discloses a battery assembly of a vehicle(Fig. 1, abstract), comprising: a one or more battery cells (battery elements 21, Fig. 1, [0052]); a battery housing in which the one or more battery cells are disposed(23, Fig. 1, [0054]); a suppressant conduit extending from the battery housing and configured to deliver a flow of fire suppressant to the one or more battery cells(supply line 33, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0060], [0016]); and an activation element configured to block the suppressant conduit and activate when a pressure exceeding a preselected threshold pressure is applied to the activation element, allowing a flow of fire suppressant to flow into the battery housing (actuating element 32 which can be a burst diaphragm or rupture membrane, Fig. 1, [0024], [0032], [0035]-[0036], [0059]-[0060]), the fire fighting device (10, Fig. 1) includes an inlet device (30, Fig. 1) that is fluidically connected to an inlet point 24 of the battery housing (Fig. 1, [0016]), the activation element has a burst diaphragm ([0035]) but does not explicitly disclose a conduit fitting secured to the battery housing; wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element having a first end secured to the battery housing and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end.
Holland teaches fire suppression systems for vehicles (p. 1, line 4, Fig. 1). Holland teaches a conduit fitting (pipe fitting 326, Fig. 3, p. 12, lines 28-29); wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element (Fig. 3) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit (piping 106, Figs. 1 & 2) is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end(rupture disk 322, Fig.3, p. 12, lines 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery assembly of Leben, a conduit fitting; wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element having a first end and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end as taught by Holland as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 6, modified Leben discloses the activation element includes one or more localized reductions in thickness to enable the activation at the preselected threshold pressure(Leben [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Leben discloses a vehicle (1, Fig. 1, [0052]), comprising: a vehicle body defining a passenger compartment(Fig. 1, [0001], [0052]); and a battery assembly disposed at the vehicle body(drive battery 20, Fig. 1, [0052]), the battery assembly including: a one or more battery cells (battery elements 21, Fig. 1, [0052]); a battery housing in which the one or more battery cells are disposed (23, Fig. 1, [0054]); a suppressant conduit extending from the battery housing and configured to deliver a flow of fire suppressant to the one or more battery cells (supply line 33, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0060], [0016]); an activation element configured to block the suppressant conduit and activate when a pressure exceeding a preselected threshold pressure is applied to the activation element, allowing the flow of fire suppressant into the battery housing (actuating element 32 which can be a burst diaphragm or rupture membrane, Fig. 1, [0024], [0032], [0035]-[0036], [0059]-[0060]), the fire fighting device (10, Fig. 1) includes an inlet device (30, Fig. 1) that is fluidically connected to an inlet point 24 of the battery housing (Fig. 1, [0016]), the activation element has a burst diaphragm ([0035]) but does not explicitly disclose a conduit fitting secured to the battery housing; wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element having a first end secured to the battery housing and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end.
Holland teaches fire suppression systems for vehicles (p. 1, line 4, Fig. 1). Holland teaches a conduit fitting (pipe fitting 326, Fig. 3, p. 12, lines 28-29); wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element (Fig. 3) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit (piping 106, Figs. 1 & 2) is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end(rupture disk 322, Fig.3, p. 12, lines 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery assembly of Leben, a conduit fitting; wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element having a first end and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end as taught by Holland as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 14, modified Leben discloses the activation element includes one or more localized reductions in thickness to enable the activation at the preselected threshold pressure(Leben [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Leben discloses a method([0072]), comprising: positioning an activation element(actuating element 32 which can be a burst diaphragm or rupture membrane, Fig. 1, [0024], [0032], [0035]-[0036], [0059]-[0060]) between a suppressant conduit (supply line 33, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0060], [0016]) and a battery assembly of a vehicle(drive battery 20 of vehicle 1, Fig. 1, [0052]); directing a flow of suppressant along the suppressant conduit toward the battery assembly ([0024], [0059]-[0060]); activating the activation element via the suppressant pressure on the activation element([0032]); and flowing the suppressant into the battery assembly([0032]), the fire fighting device (10, Fig. 1) includes an inlet device (30, Fig. 1) that is fluidically connected to an inlet point 24 of the battery housing (Fig. 1, [0016]), the activation element has a burst diaphragm ([0035]) but does not explicitly disclose a conduit fitting secured to the battery housing; wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element having a first end secured to the battery housing and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end.
Holland teaches fire suppression systems for vehicles (p. 1, line 4, Fig. 1). Holland teaches a conduit fitting (pipe fitting 326, Fig. 3, p. 12, lines 28-29); wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element (Fig. 3) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit (piping 106, Figs. 1 & 2) is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end(rupture disk 322, Fig.3, p. 12, lines 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery assembly of Leben, a conduit fitting; wherein the conduit fitting is a tubular element having a first end and a second end opposite the first end to which the suppressant conduit is operably connected; and wherein the activation element is disposed recessed inside of the conduit fitting between the first end and the second end as taught by Holland as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
9. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (CN112109657A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 3, modified Leben discloses the activation element is secured in the conduit fitting (Holland, Fig. 3) but does not explicitly disclose by one of welding, brazing or crimping.
Wei teaches a low cost high output columnar pyrotechnic airbag gas generator which comprises a pipe body (abstract). Wei teaches as shown in Figure 1, the left end of the rupture disc 3 is press-fitted with the tube body 1, and the rupture disc 3 is fixedly connected to the tube body 1 by laser welding([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the activation element of modified Leben with the activation element is secured in the conduit fitting by one of welding as taught by Wei as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
10. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dietrich et al. (DE102021211577A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, modified Leben discloses the activation element is configured to activate at a predefined pressure range or pressure value (Leben [0032]) but does not explicitly disclose at a pressure of 50 psi or greater.
Dietrich teaches a battery system for a vehicle and a method for operating such a battery system with improved extinguishing properties in the event of thermal runaway of at least one battery cell of the battery system ([0001]). Dietrich teaches the flooding device includes a check valve and/or a burst disc designed to break and direct the cooling medium from the first line section into the interior of the battery housing for at least partial flooding when the pressure within the first line section exceeds a predetermined pressure threshold([0016]). Dietrich teaches the flooding device 230 is further designed to be actuated when the pressure within the first line section 122 exceeds a predetermined pressure threshold, such as 6 bar ( ≈ 87 psi, Fig. 4, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery assembly of modified Leben with the activation element is configured to activate at a pressure of 50 psi or greater as taught by Dietrich as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
11. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0017111).
Regarding claim 5, modified Leben discloses the battery elements can be designed as lithium ion cells (Leben [0052]). Modified Leben discloses the rupture membrane can consist of a heat sensitive material having a melting point that corresponds to a temperature present when the heating state is detected (Leben [0036]) but does not explicitly disclose the activation element is configured to activate at a temperature greater than 1200 degrees Celsius.
Lee teaches a lithium ion battery fire suppressant capable of effectively suppressing a fire of a lithium ion battery and a lithium ion battery fire suppression sheet including the same(abstract). Lee teaches lithium melts at 108.5° C. and begins to boil rapidly at 500° C. or higher([0006]). Lee teaches in the case of a lithium ion battery, the main component of a white gas generated upon thermal runaway is lithium vapor([0006]). Lee teaches as lithium begins to boil, the pressure of a battery cell increases([0006]). Lee teaches lithium completely boils at 1337° C. and when the battery cell explodes, lithium gas rapidly reacts with oxygen and generates flame and heat, resulting in thermal runaway([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery assembly of modified Leben with the activation element is configured to activate at a temperature greater than 1200 degrees Celsius as Lee teaches lithium completely boils at a higher temperature.
12. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2023/0327278).
Regarding claim 7, modified Leben teaches the rupture membrane or thin spot can, for example, contain a pressure-sensitive material(Leben [0036]) but does not explicitly disclose the activation element is formed from a metallic material.
Shin teaches a battery pack having a gas venting path for allowing venting gas to flow out of a pack case safely and efficiently when gas is generated from a battery module([0001]). Shin teaches the venting port may include a rupturable membrane which ruptures under a predetermined pressure or above ([0013]). Shin teaches the rupturable membrane 223 may be in the form of an aluminum or plastic thin film, but is not limited thereto, and may be made of any material that can rupture by the predetermined pressure([0085], Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery assembly of modified Leben with the activation element is formed from a metallic material as taught by Shin, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
13. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Linsmeier et al. (US 2024/0063470).
Regarding claim 8, modified Leben discloses the suppressant conduit extends from the battery housing to a connection element 34 which can be designed to connect an external coolant supplier 50 (Leben, Fig. 1, [0060]). Modified Leben discloses the connection element 34 can be located in the area of a fuel filler flap, for example next to a charging port or a fuel tank opening (Leben [0061]) but does not explicitly disclose a flood port disposed at an exterior of the vehicle.
Linsmeier teaches systems and methods for battery thermal management on a vehicle (title). Linsmeier teaches the vehicle includes a flood port mounted on or integrated into an external wall, structure, or surface of the vehicle([0109]). Linsmeier teaches the flood port provides direct access to the internal volume of the global battery enclosure to provide cooling of the batteries and/or battery housings within the global battery enclosure (e.g., by flooding the internal volume with cooling fluid), upon connection of a fluid source to the flood port([0109]). Linsmeier teaches a conduit extends from the flood port 1600 to the battery enclosure 1602([0239]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Leben with the suppressant conduit extends from the battery housing to a flood port disposed at an exterior of the vehicle as taught by Linsmeier as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
14. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (CN112109657A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 11, modified Leben discloses the activation element is secured in the conduit fitting (Holland, Fig. 3) but does not explicitly disclose by one of welding, brazing or crimping.
Wei teaches a low cost high output columnar pyrotechnic airbag gas generator which comprises a pipe body (abstract). Wei teaches as shown in Figure 1, the left end of the rupture disc 3 is press-fitted with the tube body 1, and the rupture disc 3 is fixedly connected to the tube body 1 by laser welding([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the activation element of modified Leben with the activation element is secured in the conduit fitting by one of welding as taught by Wei as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
15. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Dietrich et al. (DE102021211577A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 12, modified Leben discloses the activation element is configured to activate at a predefined pressure range or pressure value (Leben [0032]) but does not explicitly disclose at a pressure of 50 psi or greater.
Dietrich teaches a battery system for a vehicle and a method for operating such a battery system with improved extinguishing properties in the event of thermal runaway of at least one battery cell of the battery system ([0001]). Dietrich teaches the flooding device includes a check valve and/or a burst disc designed to break and direct the cooling medium from the first line section into the interior of the battery housing for at least partial flooding when the pressure within the first line section exceeds a predetermined pressure threshold([0016]). Dietrich teaches the flooding device 230 is further designed to be actuated when the pressure within the first line section 122 exceeds a predetermined pressure threshold, such as 6 bar ( ≈ 87 psi, Fig. 4, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the vehicle of modified Leben with the activation element is configured to activate at a pressure of 50 psi or greater as taught by Dietrich as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
16. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0017111).
Regarding claim 13, modified Leben discloses the battery elements can be designed as lithium ion cells (Leben [0052]). Modified Leben discloses the rupture membrane can consist of a heat sensitive material having a melting point that corresponds to a temperature present when the heating state is detected (Leben [0036]) but does not explicitly disclose the activation element is configured to activate at a temperature greater that 1200 degrees Celsius.
Lee teaches a lithium ion battery fire suppressant capable of effectively suppressing a fire of a lithium ion battery and a lithium ion battery fire suppression sheet including the same(abstract). Lee teaches lithium melts at 108.5° C. and begins to boil rapidly at 500° C. or higher([0006]). Lee teaches in the case of a lithium ion battery, the main component of a white gas generated upon thermal runaway is lithium vapor([0006]). Lee teaches as lithium begins to boil, the pressure of a battery cell increases([0006]). Lee teaches lithium completely boils at 1337° C. and when the battery cell explodes, lithium gas rapidly reacts with oxygen and generates flame and heat, resulting in thermal runaway([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the vehicle of modified Leben with the activation element is configured to activate at a temperature greater than 1200 degrees Celsius as Lee teaches lithium completely boils at a higher temperature.
17. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2023/0327278).
Regarding claim 15, modified Leben teaches the rupture membrane or thin spot can, for example, contain a pressure-sensitive material(Leben [0036]) but does not explicitly disclose the activation element is formed from a metallic material.
Shin teaches a battery pack having a gas venting path for allowing venting gas to flow out of a pack case safely and efficiently when gas is generated from a battery module([0001]). Shin teaches the venting port may include a rupturable membrane which ruptures under a predetermined pressure or above ([0013]). Shin teaches the rupturable membrane 223 may be in the form of an aluminum or plastic thin film, but is not limited thereto, and may be made of any material that can rupture by the predetermined pressure([0085], Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the vehicle of modified Leben with the activation element is formed from a metallic material as taught by Shin, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
18. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Linsmeier et al. (US 2024/0063470).
Regarding claim 16, modified Leben discloses the suppressant conduit extends from the battery housing to a connection element 34 which can be designed to connect an external coolant supplier 50 (Leben, Fig. 1, [0060]). Leben discloses the connection element 34 can be located in the area of a fuel filler flap, for example next to a charging port or a fuel tank opening (Leben [0061]) but does not explicitly disclose a flood port disposed at an exterior of the vehicle body.
Linsmeier teaches systems and methods for battery thermal management on a vehicle (title). Linsmeier teaches the vehicle includes a flood port mounted on or integrated into an external wall, structure, or surface of the vehicle([0109]). Linsmeier teaches the flood port provides direct access to the internal volume of the global battery enclosure to provide cooling of the batteries and/or battery housings within the global battery enclosure (e.g., by flooding the internal volume with cooling fluid), upon connection of a fluid source to the flood port([0109]). Linsmeier teaches a conduit extends from the flood port 1600 to the battery enclosure 1602([0239]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of modified Leben with the suppressant conduit extends from the battery housing to a flood port disposed at an exterior of the vehicle body as taught by Linsmeier as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
19. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Dietrich et al. (DE102021211577A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 18, modified Leben discloses the activation element is configured to activate at a predefined pressure range or pressure value (Leben [0032]) but does not explicitly disclose at a pressure of 50 psi or greater.
Dietrich teaches a battery system for a vehicle and a method for operating such a battery system with improved extinguishing properties in the event of thermal runaway of at least one battery cell of the battery system ([0001]). Dietrich teaches the flooding device includes a check valve and/or a burst disc designed to break and direct the cooling medium from the first line section into the interior of the battery housing for at least partial flooding when the pressure within the first line section exceeds a predetermined pressure threshold([0016]). Dietrich teaches the flooding device 230 is further designed to be actuated when the pressure within the first line section 122 exceeds a predetermined pressure threshold, such as 6 bar ( ≈ 87 psi, Fig. 4, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of modified Leben with the activation element is configured to activate at a pressure of 50 psi or greater as taught by Dietrich as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
20. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view Wei et al. (CN112109657A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 19, modified Leben discloses the activation element is secured in the conduit fitting (Holland, Fig. 3) but does not explicitly disclose by one of welding, brazing or crimping.
Wei teaches a low cost high output columnar pyrotechnic airbag gas generator which comprises a pipe body (abstract). Wei teaches as shown in Figure 1, the left end of the rupture disc 3 is press-fitted with the tube body 1, and the rupture disc 3 is fixedly connected to the tube body 1 by laser welding([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the activation element of modified Leben with the activation element is secured in the conduit fitting by one of welding as taught by Wei as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
21. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leben et al. (DE102021126473A1) as cited in IDS dated 8/6/24 with citations from machine translation provided with previous Office Action in view of Holland et al. (CA2518534C) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Linsmeier et al. (US 2024/0063470).
Regarding claim 20, modified Leben discloses the suppressant conduit extends from the battery housing to a connection element 34 which can be designed to connect an external coolant supplier 50 (Leben, Fig. 1, [0060]). Modified Leben discloses the connection element 34 can be located in the area of a fuel filler flap, for example next to a charging port or a fuel tank opening (Leben [0061]) but does not explicitly disclose further directing the flow of suppressant along the suppressant conduit via a flood opening at an exterior of the vehicle.
Linsmeier teaches systems and methods for battery thermal management on a vehicle (title). Linsmeier teaches the vehicle includes a flood port mounted on or integrated into an external wall, structure, or surface of the vehicle([0109]). Linsmeier teaches the flood port provides direct access to the internal volume of the global battery enclosure to provide cooling of the batteries and/or battery housings within the global battery enclosure (e.g., by flooding the internal volume with cooling fluid), upon connection of a fluid source to the flood port([0109]). Linsmeier teaches a conduit extends from the flood port 1600 to the battery enclosure 1602([0239]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of modified Leben with further directing the flow of suppressant along the suppressant conduit via a flood opening at an exterior of the vehicle as taught by Linsmeier as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
22. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724