DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chavan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20130157491 A1).
As per claim 1, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, for providing electrical contact (see paragraph 67) to an interior (figure 22-23, see paragraph 88) of a conduit 18, comprising: a cone body 40 comprising one or more tabs 42 positioned on the cone body 40 and extending radially outward from the cone body 40, the one or more tabs 42 positioned separately from one another (see figure 21-23), at least one of the one or more tabs 42 having a helical edge (seen in figure 23), the helical edge (seen in figure 23) shaped to be received in a groove (along 18, shown in figure 21) of a thread (see paragraph 4), the cone body 40 comprising a cap end (along 254) and a bottom end 182 opposite the cap end (along 254); and a cap (along 24) extending longitudinally from the cone body 40 at the cap end (along 254) and extending toward the bottom end 182, wherein the cone body 40 and the cap (along 24) define a channel 70 sized to receive an end (along 18 end portion) of a conduit 18 therein.
As per claim 2, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the helical edge (seen in figure 23) further comprises a projection (along end portion of 42) protruding radially outward from a remaining of the helical edge (seen in figure 23).
As per claim 3, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cone body 40 comprises a bulging portion 72 extending radially outward from a remaining of the cone body 40.
As per claim 4, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cone body 40 comprises a leading portion (along 182) positioned at the bottom end 182 of the cone body 40 and positioned longitudinally further away from the cap (along 24) than the helical edge (seen in figure 23).
As per claim 5, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cone body 40 comprises a plurality of tabs 42, the helical edges (seen in figure 23) of the plurality of tabs 42 shaped to be received in grooves (along 18, shown in figure 21) of threads (see paragraph 4).
As per claim 6, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the ground cone 16 is integrally formed into one single piece (see figure 15-18).
As per claim 7, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cap (along 24) further comprises a flange 254 extending radially outward away from a remaining of the cap (along 24).
As per claim 8, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, for providing electrical contact (see paragraph 67) to an interior (figure 22-23, see paragraph 88) of a conduit 18, comprising: a cone body 40 comprising one or more tabs 42 positioned on the cone body 40 and extending radially outward from the cone body 40, the one or more tabs 42 positioned separately from one another (see figure 21-23), at least one of the one or more tabs 42 having an edge 242 comprising a projection (along end portion of 42) protruding radially outward from a remaining of the edge 242, the cone body 40 comprising a cap end (along 254) and a bottom end 182 opposite the cap end (along 254); and a cap (along 24) extending longitudinally from the cone body 40 at the cap end (along 254) and extending toward the bottom end 182, wherein the cone body 40 and the cap (along 24) define a channel 70 sized to receive an end (along 18 end portion) of a conduit 18 therein.
As per claim 9, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein at least one of the edges 242 is a helical edge (seen in figure 23), the helical edge (seen in figure 23) shaped to be received in a groove (along 18, shown in figure 21) of a thread (see paragraph 4).
As per claim 10, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cone body 40 comprises a plurality of tabs 42, the helical edges (seen in figure 23) of the plurality of tabs 42 shaped to be received in grooves (along 18, shown in figure 21) of threads (see paragraph 4).
As per claim 11, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cone body 40 comprises a bulging portion 72 extending radially outward from a remaining of the cone body 40.
As per claim 12, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cone body 40 comprises a leading portion (along 182) positioned at the bottom end 182 of the cone body 40 and positioned longitudinally further away from the cap (along 24) than the edge 242.
As per claim 13, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the ground cone 16 is integrally formed into one single piece (see figure 15-18).
As per claim 14, Chavan teaches a ground cone 16, wherein the cap (along 24) further comprises a flange 254 extending radially outward away from a remaining of the cap (along 24).
As per claim 15, Chavan teaches a method, of fabricating a conduit assembly (figure 21, see paragraph 88), comprising: providing a conduit 18; providing a ground cone 16, wherein the ground cone 16 includes: a cone body 40 including one or more tabs 42 positioned on the cone body 40 and extending radially outward from the cone body 40, the one or more tabs 42 positioned separately from one another (see figure 21-23), at least one of the one or more tabs 42 having an edge 242 comprising a projection (along end portion of 42) protruding radially outward from a remaining of the edge 242, the cone body 40 including a cap end (along 254) and a bottom end 182 opposite the cap end (along 254); and a cap (along 24) extending longitudinally from the cone body 40 at the cap end (along 254) and extending toward the bottom end 182, wherein the cone body 40 and the cap (along 24) define a channel 70 sized to receive an end (along 18 end portion) of the conduit 18 therein; and coupling (see paragraph 22-23) the ground cone 16 with the conduit 18.
As per claim 16, Chavan teaches a method, wherein the coupling (see paragraph 22-23) further comprises: pushing the cone body 40 into the conduit 18 such that the projection (along end portion of 42) engages with the conduit 18.
As per claim 17, Chavan teaches a method, wherein at least one of the edges 242 is a helical edge (seen in figure 23), the helical edge (seen in figure 23) shaped to be received in a groove (along 18, shown in figure 21) of a thread (see paragraph 4) of the conduit 18, and the coupling (see paragraph 22-23) further comprises rotatably coupling (see paragraph 22-23) the ground cone 16 with the conduit 18 by: engaging the helical edge (seen in figure 23) with the thread (see paragraph 4) of the conduit 18.
As per claim 18, Chavan teaches a method, wherein the cone body 40 includes a plurality of tabs 42, the helical edges (seen in figure 23) of the plurality of tabs 42 shaped to be received in grooves (along 18, shown in figure 21) of threads (see paragraph 4) of the conduit 18, and the coupling (see paragraph 22-23) further comprises rotatably coupling (see paragraph 22-23) the ground cone 16 with the conduit 18 by: engaging the helical edges (seen in figure 23) with the threads (see paragraph 4) of the conduit 18.
As per claim 19, Chavan teaches a method, wherein the cone body 40 includes a bulging portion 72 extending radially outward from a remaining of the cone body 40, and the coupling (see paragraph 22-23) further comprising: coupling (see paragraph 22-23) the ground cone 16 with the conduit 18 such that the bulging portion 72 presses against the conduit 18.
As per claim 20, Chavan teaches a method, wherein the cone body 40 includes a leading portion (along 182) positioned at the bottom end 182 of the cone body 40 and positioned longitudinally further away from the cap (along 24) than the edge 242, and the coupling (see paragraph 22-23) further comprising: inserting the leading portion (along 182) into the conduit 18; and coupling (see paragraph 22-23) the one or more tabs 42 with the conduit 18.
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831