DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-5, 14-15, 9-10, and 19-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) -(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action, 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. See MPEP 2304.01(c).
In particular, the Examiner is unable to find subject matter support in the following foreign application(s): KR10-2021-0040528 because the Examiner is unable to locate a suitable English translation of the document. An English translation of KR10-2021-0040528 is required to obtain the priority date associated with said application number.
Thus, the current benefit accords to the PCT application with filing date 03/23/2022 because the PCT application, PCT/KR2022/004078, provides adequate support or enablement for the subject matter of the claims.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0104] discloses “In order to solve this problem, in embodiments of the disclosure, the MN transmits to the MN not only information on the band combination but also information on a data rate of the MN, and thus selects a best band combination in the SN to allow efficient DC operations.” The Examiner assumes the transmission is from the MN to the SN. Furthermore, the Examiner assumes the SN performs the selection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14, and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14, and 19 recite “wherein, the first data rate information includes, latency information on the at least one band combination of the MCG.” There are unnecessary commas before and after “the first data rate information includes.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2023/0403111 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Yang discloses A secondary node (SN) apparatus for multi-radio-dual connectivity (MR-DC) in a wireless communication system, the apparatus comprising and A method of operating a secondary node (SN) for multi-radio-dual connectivity (MR-DC) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Fig. 2A):
a transceiver (Figs. 6A-6C and 8); and
at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (Figs. 6A-6C and 8),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Figs. 6A-6C and 8):
receive a request message from a master node (MN), wherein the request message includes information indicating at least one band combination and first data rate information on a data rate of a master cell group (MCG) for each of the at least one band combination (Fig. 2A: SgNB Addition Request, SgNB Modification Request, SN Addition Request, SN Modification Request. [0138]: Step B: the MN may signal a parameter such as allowedBC-ListMRDC together with achievable CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE) of MCG to the SN. [0134]: achievable CA throughput of the band combination and feature set may be contained in information elements (IEs) such as allowedBC-ListMRDC and selectedBandCombination … the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG),
identify a band combination from among the at least one band combination, based on the first data rate information and second data rate information on a data rate of a secondary cell group (SCG) (Fig. 2A, [0139]: Step C (which is shown as steps C-1 and C-2 in FIG. 2A): the SN may evaluate which band combination and feature set is the best for both MCG and SCG in terms of total MR-DC CA throughput, where SCG CA throughput evaluation may be performed based on the UE MR-DC capability and (secondary) node configuration. [0140]: Step D: the SN may select the band combination and feature set (e.g., indicated by a parameter such as selectedBandCombination) that is the highest rated one. [0134]: the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG), and
transmit a response message including information indicating the identified band combination to the MN (Fig. 2A: SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge, SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge, SN Addition Request Acknowledge, SN Modification Request Acknowledge. [0140]: Step D: the SN may select the band combination and feature set (e.g., indicated by a parameter such as selectedBandCombination) that is the highest rated one and signal it back to the MN with total achievable MR-DC CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE). [0134]: the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG).
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 12, Yang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 11 as outlined above.
Yang discloses wherein, in order to identify the band combination from among the at least one band combination, the at least one processor is further configured to select a band combination in which a sum of the first data rate and the second data rate is the highest from among the at least one band combination ([0140]: Step D: the SN may select the band combination and feature set (e.g., indicated by a parameter such as selectedBandCombination) that is the highest rated one and signal it back to the MN with total achievable MR-DC CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE). [0134]: the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG).
Regarding claim(s) 3 and 13, Yang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 11 as outlined above.
Yang discloses wherein the request message is received from the MN through radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0100]: During the secondary node addition and secondary node modification procedures, as described in 3GPP TS 37.340 V16.3.0, the MR-DC band combination may be chosen in the SN in coordination with the list of allowed MR-DC band combinations and feature sets (also referred as allowedBC-ListMRDC, e.g., as described in 3GPP TS 38.331 V16.2.0, where the entire content of this technical specification is incorporated into the present disclosure by reference, which may be an IE in an inter-node RRC message) signaled by the MN. Fig. 2A: SgNB Addition Request, SgNB Modification Request, SN Addition Request, SN Modification Request. [0138]: Step B: the MN may signal a parameter such as allowedBC-ListMRDC together with achievable CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE) of MCG to the SN. [0134]: achievable CA throughput of the band combination and feature set may be contained in information elements (IEs) such as allowedBC-ListMRDC and selectedBandCombination. [0134]: for an inter-node RRC message between the MN and the SN, e.g., the inter-node RRC message as described in 3GPP 38.331 V16.2.0, a new field may be introduced or an existing field may be reused to carry additional information about the achievable CA throughput of the band combination and feature set), and
wherein the SN uses new radio (NR) or long-term evolution (LTE) as a radio access technology (RAT), and the MN uses the NR or the LTE as the RAT (Fig. 2, [0135]: the signaling between an MN and an SN of all kinds of MR-DC configuration. [0090]: MR-DC is the general term given to a range of different dual connectivity configuration options, largely associated with 5G/NR. With MR-DC, the master radio access network (RAN) node may function as the controlling entity, utilizing a secondary RAN for additional data capacity).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yang discloses A master node (MN) apparatus for multi-radio-dual connectivity (MR-DC) in a wireless communication system, the apparatus comprising and A method of operating a master node (MN) apparatus for multi-radio-dual connectivity (MR-DC) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Fig. 2A):
a transceiver (Figs. 6A-6C and 8); and
at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (Figs. 6A-6C and 8),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Figs. 6A-6C and 8):
transmit a request message to a secondary node (SN), wherein the request message includes information indicating at least one band combination and first data rate information on a data rate of a master cell group (MCG) for each of the at least one band combination (Fig. 2A: SgNB Addition Request, SgNB Modification Request, SN Addition Request, SN Modification Request. [0138]: Step B: the MN may signal a parameter such as allowedBC-ListMRDC together with achievable CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE) of MCG to the SN. [0134]: achievable CA throughput of the band combination and feature set may be contained in information elements (IEs) such as allowedBC-ListMRDC and selectedBandCombination … the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG), and
receive a response message including information indicating an identified band combination from the SN (Fig. 2A: SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge, SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge, SN Addition Request Acknowledge, SN Modification Request Acknowledge. [0140]: Step D: the SN may select the band combination and feature set (e.g., indicated by a parameter such as selectedBandCombination) that is the highest rated one and signal it back to the MN with total achievable MR-DC CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE). [0134]: the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN), and
wherein the band combination is identified among the at least one band combination, based on the first data rate information and second data rate information on a data rate of a secondary cell group (SCG) ([0140]: Step D: the SN may select the band combination and feature set (e.g., indicated by a parameter such as selectedBandCombination) that is the highest rated one and signal it back to the MN with total achievable MR-DC CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE). [0134]: the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG).
Regarding claim(s) 7 and 17, Yang discloses all features of claim(s) 6 and 16 as outlined above.
Yang discloses wherein a band combination in which a sum of the first data rate and the second data rate is the highest from among the at least one band combination is selected as the band combination ([0140]: Step D: the SN may select the band combination and feature set (e.g., indicated by a parameter such as selectedBandCombination) that is the highest rated one and signal it back to the MN with total achievable MR-DC CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE). [0134]: the SN may select a MR-DC band combination and feature set that has the highest achievable total throughput of MCG and SCG, e.g., a sort of white-box selection in terms of “data rate” … the SN may provide the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MN. The MN can compare the estimated data rate achievable with the chosen MCG and SCG configuration to the MCG data rate achievable when not configuring the SCG).
Regarding claim(s) 8 and 18, Yang discloses all features of claim(s) 6 and 16 as outlined above.
Yang discloses wherein the request message is transmitted from the SN through radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0100]: During the secondary node addition and secondary node modification procedures, as described in 3GPP TS 37.340 V16.3.0, the MR-DC band combination may be chosen in the SN in coordination with the list of allowed MR-DC band combinations and feature sets (also referred as allowedBC-ListMRDC, e.g., as described in 3GPP TS 38.331 V16.2.0, where the entire content of this technical specification is incorporated into the present disclosure by reference, which may be an IE in an inter-node RRC message) signaled by the MN. Fig. 2A: SgNB Addition Request, SgNB Modification Request, SN Addition Request, SN Modification Request. [0138]: Step B: the MN may signal a parameter such as allowedBC-ListMRDC together with achievable CA throughput [Mbps] (e.g., in a new IE) of MCG to the SN. [0134]: achievable CA throughput of the band combination and feature set may be contained in information elements (IEs) such as allowedBC-ListMRDC and selectedBandCombination. [0134]: for an inter-node RRC message between the MN and the SN, e.g., the inter-node RRC message as described in 3GPP 38.331 V16.2.0, a new field may be introduced or an existing field may be reused to carry additional information about the achievable CA throughput of the band combination and feature set), and
wherein the SN uses new radio (NR) or long-term evolution (LTE) as a radio access technology (RAT), and the MN uses the NR or the LTE as the RAT (Fig. 2, [0135]: the signaling between an MN and an SN of all kinds of MR-DC configuration. [0090]: MR-DC is the general term given to a range of different dual connectivity configuration options, largely associated with 5G/NR. With MR-DC, the master radio access network (RAN) node may function as the controlling entity, utilizing a secondary RAN for additional data capacity).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov