DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/13/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and/or 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the office action mailed 10/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (JP-2001158925-A).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakata teaches a method of forming a Titanium alloy (claim 1) product comprising: Mixing and kneading metal powder and binder; [0080]
Injection molding to form a green part, [0085]
Degreasing to remove the binder, [0086]
Sintering which his performed at 900-1350 C for 0.5-8 hrs [0061-0063] overlapping with the claimed range of 800-995 C. In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I)) However, the prior art does not teach that sintering was performed for 48-200 hours. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the sintering time to the claimed range as extended sintering time is known to improve density closer to theoretical density, improving mechanical properties such as strength.
Regarding Claim 2, the sintering is performed in a vacuum of 10^-6 Torr [0066] which reads on 10^-3 Pa or less.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art teaches the powder may be hydrogenated to precent adsorption of oxygen and an oxygen content of 0.8% or less [0023] is taught for the sintered product, and overlaps with the claimed range of 0.13% by mass or less; however, the claimed invention requires the starting powder to have 0.13% mass or less. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to minimize the starting oxygen content in the powder to ensure oxygen is not present before degreasing and any formed during degreasing and sintering is further removed.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, an exemplary composition of Ti-6 wt% al-4wt% V is used [0090], which is considered to read on the claimed limitation of 5.5-6.5% Al, 3.5-4.5%V and the claimed limitations of Fe, O, C, N, H as the balance is Ti, so the concentration for these elements are assumed 0 or trace.
Regarding a relative density of 97% or more, porosity which is the inverse of density was taught to be preferably 5% or less (95% dense or more) [0067], overlapping with the claimed range. In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I))
The prior art is silent regarding the mean grain size and aspect ratio as claimed and the fatigue strength as claimed, however since the products are substantially identical and made by similar methods, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect similar properties under the expectation that similar products have similar properties. (See MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sakata does not teach or suggest sintering for 48-200 hours and the recited range has the beneficial property of forming a low oxygen alloy, with high relative density, and high fatigue strength, However, this is not persuasive, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to lengthen sintering time to further increase densification and improved strength is a known benefit of high-density sintered products. Further, the degree of sintering (relative density) and oxygen content are already broadly disclosed by the prior art (See Claim 1 rejection);
Regarding Claim 4, applicant argues the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed fatigue strength; however the present rejection relies on the products being substantially similar and made by similar methods where such a property would be considered met by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 3, the current rejection addresses the starting oxygen content of the metal powder.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738