DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 9/7/2023 for application number 18/462,914.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 (representative of independent claims 11, 21, and 30) recites:
A processing system comprising: a memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the processing system to: access a set of training data; determine a transformation group comprising a plurality of group elements; generate, based on the set of training data, a first set of unconstrained weights for a first layer of a machine learning model; generate, based on the set of training data, a first set of parameter values for a first likelihood function for the first layer; and generate a first set of constrained weights, based at least in part on the first likelihood function and the first set of unconstrained weights, such that the first set of constrained weights is equivariant with respect to at least a first subset of the plurality of group elements.
(2A, prong 1) The underlined portions of the claim recite an abstract idea, specifically a mental process and mathematical calculations and equations. A human can determine a transformation group (see spec. para. 0077 as published). The broadest reasonable interpretation of generating unconstrained weights, parameter values, and constrained weights are mathematical calculations and equations: Generating the unconstrained weights uses backpropagation and SGD which are mathematical calculations (spec. para. 0031), and generating the parameter values and constrained weights uses mathematical equations (see equations at spec. para. 0033-51).
(2A, prong 2) This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the additional elements of [a] generic computer components like processor and memory, and [b] accessing training data. Additional element [a] is a mere instruction to apply the exception because it merely adds generic computer components after-the-fact to the abstract idea. Additional element [b] is insignificant extra-solution activity because it is mere data gathering for the abstract idea. Even when all of the additional elements are considered in ordered combination with the recited abstract idea, the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements only add mere instructions to apply the exception and insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea.
(2B) The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additional element [a] is a mere instruction to apply the exception as explained above. Additional element [b] is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, analogous to storing and retrieving information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(d) citing Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Even when all of the additional elements are considered in ordered combination with the recited abstract idea, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself because the additional elements only add mere instructions to apply the exception and insignificant extra-solution activity that is well-understood, routine, and conventional to the abstract idea.
With respect to dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, and 22-29, these claims add further mathematical calculations to the abstract idea (see calculations and equations at spec. para. 0033-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10-11, 16, 20-21, 26, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al., Approximately Equivariant Networks for Imperfectly Symmetric Dynamics (see NPL [U]).
In reference to claim 1, Wang discloses a processing system comprising: a memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (the machine learning of Wang would be implemented on a generic computer) and cause the processing system to: access a set of training data (training data like simulated smoke and jet flow data, page 2); determine a transformation group comprising a plurality of group elements (group of elements is determined, 3. Approximately Equivariant Networks, pages 3-4); generate, based on the set of training data, a first set of unconstrained weights for a first layer of a machine learning model (symmetry-independent weights are determined through training, 3.2. Relaxed Steerable Convolution and 3.3. Soft Equivariance Regularization, pages 3-4); generate, based on the set of training data, a first set of parameter values for a first likelihood function for the first layer (parameters for loss function are determined based on training data, 3.3. Soft Equivariance Regularization, page 4); and generate a first set of constrained weights, based at least in part on the first likelihood function and the first set of unconstrained weights, such that the first set of constrained weights is equivariant with respect to at least a first subset of the plurality of group elements (set of constrained weights that are equivariant are determined, 3.2. Relaxed Steerable Convolution and 3.3. Soft Equivariance Regularization, pages 3-4).
In reference to claim 6, Wang discloses the processing system of claim 1, wherein, to generate the first set of parameter values for the first likelihood function, the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to compute a loss based on divergence between the first likelihood function and a uniform distribution (loss is computed, 3.3. Soft Equivariance Regularization, page 4).
In reference to claim 10, Wang discloses the processing system of claim 1, wherein the first likelihood function defines, for each respective group element of the plurality of group elements, a respective non-binary degree of equivariance for the first layer (the loss function controls the degree of equivariance, 3.3. Soft Equivariance Regularization, page 4).
In reference to claim 11, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 16, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 20, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 10 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 21, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 26, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 29, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 10 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 30, this claim is directed to a system similar in scope to the system claimed in claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-8, 12-14, 17-18, 22-24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., Approximately Equivariant Networks for Imperfectly Symmetric Dynamics (see NPL [U]) in view of van der Ouderaa, Relaxing Equivariance Constraints with Non-stationary Continuous Filters (cited in IDS of 9/7/2023).
In reference to claim 2, Wang does not explicitly teach the processing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to further execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to generate a respective set of constrained weights for each respective layer of the machine learning model based on the first likelihood function.
Van der Ouderaa teaches the processing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to further execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to generate a respective set of constrained weights for each respective layer of the machine learning model based on the first likelihood function (equivariance learned “in each layer,” Automatic symmetry discovery on page 3, also see fig. 2 on page 6: each layer can have a set of constrained weights generated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Wang and van der Ouderaa before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa because van der Ouderaa explicitly states it is an improvement over Wang (van der Ouderaa, 2. Related Work, page 2).
In reference to claim 3, Wang does not explicitly teach the processing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to further execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to: generate, based on the set of training data, a second set of unconstrained weights for a second layer of the machine learning model; generate, based on the set of training data, a second set of parameter values for a second likelihood function for the second layer; and generate a second set of constrained weights, based at least in part on the second likelihood function and the second set of unconstrained weights, such that the second set of constrained weights is equivariant with respect to at least a second subset of the plurality of group elements.
Van der Ouderaa teaches the processing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to further execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to: generate, based on the set of training data, a second set of unconstrained weights for a second layer of the machine learning model; generate, based on the set of training data, a second set of parameter values for a second likelihood function for the second layer; and generate a second set of constrained weights, based at least in part on the second likelihood function and the second set of unconstrained weights, such that the second set of constrained weights is equivariant with respect to at least a second subset of the plurality of group elements (see 5.3 Gradient-based learning of relaxed equivariance, pages 8-9 and Intuition behind frequency parameters, page 6: each layer can has different levels of equivariance constraints for different subgroups, so a second layer could have a different set of constrained weights that are equivariant for a different subset of group elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Wang and van der Ouderaa before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa because van der Ouderaa explicitly states it is an improvement over Wang (van der Ouderaa, 2. Related Work, page 2).
In reference to claim 4, van der Ouderaa teaches the processing system of claim 3, wherein the first and second likelihood functions differ with respect to at least one group element of the plurality of group elements (see 5.3 Gradient-based learning of relaxed equivariance, pages 8-9 and Intuition behind frequency parameters, page 6: each layer can has different levels of equivariance constraints for different subgroups, so a second layer could have a different set of constrained weights that are for different elements).
In reference to claim 7, Wang does not explicitly teach the processing system of claim 1, wherein, to generate the first set of constrained weights, the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to project the first set of unconstrained weights to the first set of constrained weights based on the first likelihood function.
Van der Ouderaa teaches the processing system of claim 1, wherein, to generate the first set of constrained weights, the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to project the first set of unconstrained weights to the first set of constrained weights based on the first likelihood function (unconstrained weights are projected to get constrained weights, see 3.3 The group convolution to 4.2 Parameterising the kernel, pages 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Wang and van der Ouderaa before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa because van der Ouderaa explicitly states it is an improvement over Wang (van der Ouderaa, 2. Related Work, page 2).
In reference to claim 8, Wang does not explicitly teach the processing system of claim 1, wherein the first set of parameter values comprises Fourier series coefficients.
Van der Ouderaa teaches the processing system of claim 1, wherein the first set of parameter values comprises Fourier series coefficients (see Intuition behind frequency parameters, page 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Wang and van der Ouderaa before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the layers of Wang to include the set of constrained weights for each layer of van der Ouderaa because van der Ouderaa explicitly states it is an improvement over Wang (van der Ouderaa, 2. Related Work, page 2).
In reference to claim 12, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 13, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 3 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 14, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 4 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 17, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 7 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 18, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the system claimed in claim 8 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 22, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 23, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 3 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 24, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 4 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 27, this claim is directed to a method associated with the system claimed in claim 7 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 15, 19, 25, and 28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5, 15, and 25 recite, “wherein, to generate the second set of parameter values for the second likelihood function, the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the processing system to compute a loss based on divergence between the second likelihood function and the first likelihood function.” While Wang in view of van der Ouderaa teaches calculating loss and first and second likelihood functions, they do not teach generating the second set of parameters for the second loss function based on a divergence between the first and second likelihood functions.
Claims 9, 19, and 28 recite, “initialize the first set of unconstrained weights using randomly generated values; and initialize the first set of parameter values such that the first likelihood function is a uniform distribution.” The prior art does not teach initializing the first set of parameter values so that the first likelihood function is a uniform distribution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references in the Notice of References Cited and not used above are generally relevant to equivariance in machine learning.
/ANDREW T CHIUSANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144