DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 3/17/2026.
In Amendment, claims 2, 4, 7, and 15-17 are cancelled and claims 21-26 are added. Thus, claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-14, and 18-26 are pending in this application. This Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-14, and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakra (US 2020/143385) in view of Takeda (US 2008/0109121).
As per claim 1, Chakra in view of Takeda discloses a method of providing information to a plurality of recipients, comprising:
providing product information from an electric bike to a backend (Chakra, paragraph 23 “In some embodiments of the invention, the customization system 100 tracks the usage of at least one product 150 on the computer system 120, thus enabling the product announcements associated with that product 150 to be customized as described herein. Generally, in some embodiments of the invention, the customization system 100 tracks all components 140 of such a product 150, also referred to as a participating product 150, but alternatively, the customization system 100 may track only selected components 140. The components 140 whose usages are tracked to enable customization of product announcements are referred to herein as tracked components 140.” Takeda, paragraphs 14-15 illustrate an e-bike registration database with a training plan, ranking, and maintenance reminders.);
providing recipient information from the electric bike to the backend (Chakra, paragraph 20 “Embodiments of the invention allow a user to focus on product announcements, including upgrades, that are most relevant to that user's specific usage. As a result, users are less likely to miss critical updates and other announcements related to components that are actually being used, and thus, products are more likely to be kept up to date.” Takeda, paragraphs 14-15 illustrate an e-bike registration database with a training plan, ranking, and maintenance reminders.);
providing usage information of the electric bike to the backend (Chakra, paragraph 3 “tracking usage history of a plurality of components of one or more products.” Takeda, paragraphs 14-15 illustrate an e-bike registration database with a training plan, ranking, and maintenance reminders.);
determining the plurality of recipients, using the backend based on the product information, the recipient information, the usage information, and the specification (Chakra, paragraph 3); and
providing the information to the plurality of recipients (Chakra, paragraph 3 “customizing product announcements. A non-limiting example of the computer-implemented method includes tracking usage history of a plurality of components of one or more products. An original set of announcements about the one or more products is received, where the original set of announcements includes a plurality of announcement records. The plurality of announcement records are prioritized based on the usage history of the plurality of components. A usage-based set of announcements is generated based on the prioritization of the plurality of announcement records.”).
Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses providing a specification and the information to the backend, the specification and the information provided by the sender (Paragraphs 14-15 “[0014] Databases 6 include a user registration database 6a, a user information database 6b, a ranking database 6c, and a geographical area information database 6d. Information identifying registered users is stored in user registration database 6a, and personal information such as cycling history data for individual registered users, bicycle components associated with the user, and so on, may be stored in user information database 6b. This means that user information need not be permanently stored in the user's cycle computer, thus making it possible to manufacture the cycle computer inexpensively with smaller capacity. Furthermore, a bicycle or component manufacturer may use the information stored in user information database 6b (if desired by the user) to provide better customer service. Cyclists also may share information among themselves, thus enhancing the group experience.
[0015] Ranking information may be stored on a per-item basis for registered users (e.g. cycling distance, cycling time, etc.) in ranking database 6c, and geographical area information (e.g., weather information, transportation timetables, restaurant or bike shop information, etc.), which users may or may not have requested in the past, is stored in geographical area information database 6d. The information stored in geographical area information database 6d may be data that has been downloaded from various web pages and processed.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Chakra to include the teachings of Takeda because it provides for the purpose of further customizing the user experience by maintaining a database of registered users and attempting to send the best information to the users.
As per claim 2, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the product information is provided by an electric bike (Paragraph 3).
As per claim 3, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the product information includes manufacturer information of the electric bike, dealer information of the electric bike, a bike ID of the electric bike, model information of the electric bike, year of manufacture of the electric bike, accessory information of the electric bike, electrical system information of the electric bike, and/or equipment information of the electric bike (Paragraph 14 “bicycle components associated with the user,”).
As per claim 5, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the recipient information comprises a user ID (Paragraph 3 “a user registration unit that registers identifying information corresponding to the bicycle user.”).
As per claim 6, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the recipient information comprises physical information related to a recipient (Paragraph 17 “For example, body weight, height, percentage of body fat, etc. may be stored in user information database 6b, and training plan unit 7c may plan course settings and the like using further information sent from the user's cycle computer 2 (e.g., desired hear rate), as described below.”).
As per claim 8, Chakra further discloses wherein the usage information includes application software usage information (Paragraph 3).
As per claim 9, Chakra further discloses wherein the product information is static and the usage information is variable (Paragraph 3).
As per claim 10, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein:
determination of the plurality of recipients is made for at least a first recipient group and a second recipient group, the first recipient group comprises all user IDs (Paragraph 14), and
the second recipient group is restricted by manufacturer information of the electric bike (Paragraph 14).
As per claim 11, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein:
the determination of the plurality of recipients is made for an additional recipient group (Paragraph 14), and
the additional recipient group is restricted by distributor information of the electric bike (Paragraph 14).
As per claim 12, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the specification comprises a product specification, a recipient specification, and/or a usage specification (Paragraphs 13-14).
As per claim 13, Chakra further discloses wherein: a send criterion is provided to the backend by the sender (Paragraph 25), and
sending of the information to the plurality of recipients occurs based on the send criterion (Paragraph 25).
As per claim 14, Chakra further discloses wherein the information is displayed on a mobile terminal (Paragraph 18).
As per claim 18, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein:
the usage information comprises a usage duration of the electric bike, a frequency of use of the electric bike, a location of use of the electric bike, a mode of use of the electric bike, a maintenance frequency of the electric bike, and/or wear information of the electric bike (Paragraphs 14-17).
As per claim 19, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein:
the usage information is configured as application software usage information (Paragraphs 14-17), and
the usage information comprises a frequency of use or a mode of use of application software of a mobile terminal (Paragraphs 14-17).
As per claim 20, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the information is displayed on a display screen of the electric bike or a mobile terminal connected to the electric bike (Paragraph 3).
As per claim 21, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the sender is (i) a manufacturer of the electric bike or at least one component of the electric bike, (ii) a service provider of the electric bike or at least one component of the electric bike, or (iii) a distributor of the electric bike or at least one component of the electric bike (Paragraph 3).
As per claim 22, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses further comprising:
providing or adjusting a web interface based on the product information, the recipient information, and the usage information (Paragraph 13);
wherein the web interface comprises at least three selection areas (Paragraphs 13-15).
As per claim 22, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein a first selection area of the at least three selection areas is configured as an electric bike category (Paragraph 3 “an apparatus for processing and sharing information relevant to a bicycle user. In one embodiment, a bicycle user information apparatus comprises an information receiver that receives information corresponding to the bicycle user through the Internet”).
As per claim 24, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein:
a second selection area of the at least three selection areas is configured as a geographic area (Paragraph 15), and
each product of the product information is assigned location information based on the recipient information (Paragraph 15).
As per claim 25, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein a third selection area of the at least three selection areas is configured as a route area traveled with the electric bike (Paragraph 45).
As per claim 26, Chakra does not expressly disclose but Takeda discloses wherein the specification corresponds to a selection of the sender in the web interface using at least one of the at least three selection areas of the web interface (Paragraph 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered.
On page 8-9, Applicant argues:
In the rejection of claim 1, Chakra was alleged to provide disclosure of determining the plurality of recipients, but no reference to Chakra was provided in the Office Action. (See Office Action at page 4). Chakra does not provide this disclosure.
Chakra discloses an approach for assisting users in "digesting product announcements." (Paragraph [0019]). The user has a computer system 120 with a product 150 that has hundreds or thousands of components 140. (Paragraph [0026]). The user may only utilize certain of the components 140 and may also prioritize certain of the components 140. (Id.). The computer system 120 receives hundreds or thousands of announcements in a set of announcements. However, the user would be overwhelmed and does not need to see product announcements for products and components that are not used. (Paragraph [0042]). Thus, the method of Chakra filters and prioritizes the product announcements, at the computer system 120 using an announcement vehicle, before presenting a resulting customized version of the product announcements. (Paragraph [0019]). This is a different approach from that of claim 1.
At paragraph [0032] in describing block 203, Chakra discloses that the set of
announcements is received at the announcement vehicle 110 of the computer system 120 of the recipient. The set of announcements includes all of the announcements and the user of the computer is the recipient. Then, the local system, using the announcement vehicle 110, may generate a reduced version based on product usage. This is not what is required by claim 1.
In amended claim 1, the recipients are determined based on the product information, the recipient information, the usage information, and the specification before any information is provided to a recipient. Only after the recipients are determined based on the specified factors, is any information provided to the recipients.
Thus, claim 1 "filters" recipients before sending the data. Whereas, Chakra sends the set of announcements to all of the computer system 120 and then local filtering is performed by the announcement vehicle 110. This is a clear difference between Chakra and the claimed invention and is the first reason why the obviousness rejection is inaccurate.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Chakra in view of Takeda discloses the claims as amended. For example, Chakra was cited to show customizing product information based on product usage. Missing from Chakra was the amended claimed step of providing a specification and the information to the backend, the specification and the information provided by the sender, which is disclosed by Takeda. For example, paragraphs 14-15 provide a database which allows a user to register and store information such as ranking, user info, and geographic area info. This information is used to create services for the user, such as connecting with local riders to finding local bike shops to weather info.
Chakra meets the newly amended claim limitation by having the user register their information (ie, claimed providing a specification and the information) with the database (ie, claimed backend). The sender in this case is the user.
Thus, Chakra meets the newly amended claim.
All other amendment to add from the electric bike and to the electric bike are met by either reference as they both deal tin the realm of electric bicycles.
On page 9, Applicant argues:
Further in rejecting claim 1, the Examiner acknowledged that Chakra does not disclose
providing the specification and the information by the sender. (Office Action at page 5). Takeda was cited as providing this disclosure.
It is respectfully submitted that a skilled person would not modify the computer system 100 of Chakra to receive the specification and the information by the sender. The computer system 100 of Chakra is a local machine and does not send the announcements to other systems. Moreover, Takeda does not disclose filtering a set of announcements before the system of Chakra sends the set of announcements to the computer system 120.
Based on the above, the combination of references does not arrive at the invention of claim 1, and a skilled person would not have modified Chakra based on Takeda to arrive at the claimed invention. Accordingly, the Office Action has not made a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to claim 1 and the rejection thereof should be withdrawn.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that two inventions related to electric bicycles are analogous. A person of ordinary skill would see teachings of Chakra and be motivated to combine with Takeda because it provides for the purpose of further customizing the user experience by maintaining a database of registered users and attempting to send the best information to the users.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY A MUDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198 4/22/2026