DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/7/2023, 12/3/2024, 12/31/2024, 5/19/2025, 5/19/2025, and 12/3/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-8, without traverse in the reply filed on May 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura et al. (JPS 5723080 A, cited in IDS 12/3/2024) in view of Watanabe et al. ("Self‐humidifying polymer electrolyte membranes for fuel cells." Journal of the electrochemical Society 143.12 (1996): 3847-3852; cited in IDS 9/7/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuura et al. teaches a manufacturing method for electrolyte membrane including noble-metal particles comprising:
impregnating cationic noble metal complex ions with a first region of a surface of a cation exchange membrane by spraying solution (page 3, first line) containing the cationic noble metal complex ions on the cation exchange membrane (page 2, lines 26-35; inorganic salts or organic complexes of noble metals are embedded in the membrane surface) and drying the sprayed member (page 3, line 13 from the top).
Matsuura et al. teaches reducing the noble metal salt by thermal decomposition. The “reducing treatment” is interpreted as a separate step and thus in interest of compact prosecution it is assumed that Matsuura et al. does not explicitly teach applying a reducing treatment to the cation exchange membrane impregnated with the cationic noble metal complex ions.
Watanabe et al. teaches self-humidifying polymer electrolyte membranes for fuel cells (Title). Watanabe teaches applying a reducing treatment to the cation exchange membrane impregnated with the cationic noble metal complex ions, specifically by dispersing platinum nanocrystallites in the polymer electrolyte membranes (PEMs) by a cation exchange treatment with a platinum complex solution followed by reducing the exchanged Pt2+ with hydrazine (Page 3848, left column, Experimental section).
The references are analogous because both relate to the preparation of polymer electrolyte membranes containing dispersed noble metal catalysts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Matsuura to include the chemical reducing treatment taught by Watanabe because doing so provides an effective and established method for reducing the noble metal complex ions into dispersed noble metal particles within the membrane. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding with claims 2 and 3, Matsuura et al. teaches wherein the cationic noble metal complex includes noble metals platinum, iridium, palladium, etc. (page 2, lines 26-27). Matsuura et al. does not explicitly teach that the ligand is a neutral molecule when the neutral molecule is NH3 or amine (claim 3).
Watanabe teaches that platinum nanocrystallites can be dispersed in polymer electrolyte membranes by a cation exchange treatment with a [Pt(NH₃)₄]Cl₂ solution (Page 3848, left column, Experimental section). This reads on a cationic noble metal complex where the neutral molecule is ammonia (NH₃).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated the cationic noble metal complex, such as [Pt(NH₃)₄]Cl₂, taught by Watanabe into the method of Matsuura. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a suitable noble metal complex as an effective noble metal complex for incorporating in a membrane.
Regarding claim 4, Matsuura et al. teaches successively repeating the operation multiple times (page 3, line 23).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuura et al. teaches subjecting the ion exchange membrane to a gas stream at 100°C (page 4, line 22). This broadly reads on hot air.
Regarding claim 6, Matsuura et al. teaches using 2% by weight of the solution containing the noble metal ion (page 5, line 6).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe et al. teaches applying a reducing treatment to the cation exchange membrane impregnated with the cationic noble metal complex ions by a cation exchange treatment with a platinum complex solution followed by reducing the exchanged Pt2+ with hydrazine (Page 3848, left column, Experimental section).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches reducing the noble metal salt in a reducing atmosphere such as hydrogen (page 3, line 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure. YASUNORI (CA 2637391A1) teaches a similar method of reducing hydrogen gas permeating through an electrode membrane by incorporating noble metal particles in an electrolyte layer of a membrane.
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795