DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to the filing on 9/22/2026. Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 21-28, 30-40, and 42-45.
The present application, filed on or after 3/16/2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claim 45 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 45, line 2, “each of a plurality of hearing devices” should be --each of the plurality of hearing devices--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C 101.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-28, 30-40 and 42-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a different combination of references.
The new limitations presented in Applicant’s amended claims are rendered obvious with the new combination of references noted in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 and 34-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0095528 (Miller, III et al., hereinafter Miller) in view of US 2014/0314261 (Selig et al., hereinafter Selig).
Regarding claim 21, Miller discloses a system that interfaces a hearing aid with external electronics (title and abstract; paragraphs 12-76; figures 3A-C and 4-9). Miller shows the following steps being performed by a computer system, which would include a processor and computer readable media (paragraphs 17, 19, and 63):
receiving, by one or more remote computing devices, information associated with a plurality of hearing devices in use by users (paragraphs 26, 63, 69, 72, and 73; information is collected from hearing devices of different patients and entered into a database on a remote server; see fig 4);
logging the information as part of a hearing device information database at the one or more remote computing devices (paragraphs 26 and 63-73; information is collected from hearing devices of different patients and entered into a database on a remote server);
analyzing, at the one or more remote computing devices, the hearing device information database to identify a settings adjustment for a target hearing device (paragraphs 26 and 63-73; database has several fittings from multiple users and can provide to patient settings based on patients with similar situations); and
providing, by the one or more remote computing devices, the settings adjustment to the target hearing device where the operations of the hearing device are modified based on the settings adjustment (paragraphs 26, 63, 69, 72, and 73; settings are provided to users based on patient request, fitting, or environment).
However, Miller does not show that the information includes feedback regarding settings adjustments previously provided for use by the plurality of hearing devices and where determining the settings adjustment for a target device is based on feedback received from users of multiple hearing devices of the plurality of hearing devices.
In a related area, Selig discloses a method for augmenting hearing for an audio output device/hearing device (title and abstract; figures 1-5; paragraphs 11-73). Selig discloses the use of feedback from settings adjustments previously provided for use by a plurality of hearing devices with updates being stored on a remote server (paragraphs 23-27and 41-47). Selig shows that the hearing profile for the device is selected or adjusted via singular user feedback or from feedback from several users (paragraph 43; which would require multiple hearing devices) which then modifies the operations of the present user’s hearing device (paragraphs 41-73; changes in volume and sound filters and transforms for audio processing in the hearing device are modified based on device profile settings). Selig states that this allows for aiding the user to hear in various sound environments and augments a user’s sound experience (paragraphs 14-15). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Miller to include information with feedback settings adjustments from a plurality of hearing devices and basing the settings adjustment on the feedback from users of multiple hearing devices, as taught by Selig, to aid the user to hear in various sound environments and augment a user’s sound experience.
Regarding claim 22, Miller and Selig disclose the limitations of claim 21. In addition, Miller shows in paragraph 72 and figure 8 the process of fitting/adjustment of the device based on average fittings or compared with data from patients with similar situations (which would require information from a plurality of hearing devices), which can be considered as evolutionary adaptation based on information received from the plurality of hearing devices to determine the settings adjustment.
Regarding claims 23-24, Miller and Selig disclose the limitations of claim 21. Miller further shows in paragraph 69 the collecting of a user’s sound environment with automatic updating. As noted in paragraphs 26, 63, 69, 72, and 73, the information is stored in a database that has information from hearing devices of multiple users that can be used for suggesting settings based on similarly situated patients, which would require the collecting of information from the plurality of hearing devices about settings for each of the plurality of hearing devices.
Regarding claim 25, Miller and Selig disclose the limitations of claim 21. Miller further shows in paragraphs 24, 69, 71, and 72 that there are different fittings/adjustments based on different sound environments where each hearing device is specialized for certain environments (meeting the limitation of claim 25).
Regarding claim 34, Miller discloses a system that interfaces a hearing aid with external electronics (title and abstract; paragraphs 12-76; figures 3A-C, 4-7, and 9). Miller shows a computer system, which would include a processor and computer readable media (paragraphs 17, 19, and 63) where the system performs the following steps:
log, in a database, information about each of a plurality of hearing devices in use by respective users (paragraphs 26, 63, 69, 72, and 73; information is collected from hearing devices of different patients and entered into a database);
perform evolutionary adaption on the information in the database to determine one or more settings for a target hearing device (Miller shows in paragraph 72 and figure 8 the process of fitting/adjustment of the device based on average fittings or compared with data from patients with similar situations (which would require information from a plurality of hearing devices), which can be considered as evolutionary adaptation based on information received from the plurality of hearing devices to determine the settings adjustment); and
provide the one or more settings to the target hearing device (paragraphs 26, 63, 69, 72, and 73; settings are provided to users based on patient request, fitting, or environment).
However, Miller does not show that the information includes feedback regarding settings adjustments previously provided for use by the plurality of hearing devices and where determining the settings adjustment for a target device is based on feedback received from users of multiple hearing devices of the plurality of hearing devices.
In a related area, Selig discloses a method for augmenting hearing for an audio output device/hearing device (title and abstract; figures 1-5; paragraphs 11-73). Selig discloses the use of feedback from settings adjustments previously provided for use by a plurality of hearing devices with updates being stored on a remote server (paragraphs 23-27and 41-47). Selig shows that the hearing profile for the device is selected or adjusted via singular user feedback or from feedback from several users (which would require multiple hearing devices) which then modifies the operations of the present user’s hearing device (paragraphs 41-73; changes in volume and sound filters and transforms for audio processing in the hearing device are modified based on device profile settings). Selig states that this allows for aiding the user to hear in various sound environments and augments a user’s sound experience (paragraphs 14-15). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the instructions in the computer readable storage media of Miller to include information with feedback settings adjustments from a plurality of hearing devices and basing the settings adjustment on the feedback from users of multiple hearing devices, as taught by Selig, to aid the user to hear in various sound environments and augment a user’s sound experience.
Regarding claims 35-36, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 34. Miller further shows in paragraph 69 the collecting of a user’s sound environment with automatic updating. As noted in paragraphs 26, 63, 69, 72, and 73, the information is stored in a database that has information from hearing devices of multiple users that can be used for suggesting settings based on similarly situated patients, which would require the collecting of information from the plurality of hearing devices about settings for each of the plurality of hearing devices.
Regarding claim 37, Miller and Selig disclose the limitations of claim 34. Miller further shows in paragraphs 24, 69, 71, and 72 that there are different fittings/adjustments based on different sound environments where each hearing device is specialized for certain environments (meeting the limitation of claim 37).
Claim(s) 26-28, 30-33, 38-40, and 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0095528 (Miller, III et al., hereinafter Miller) in view of US 2014/0314261 (Selig et al., hereinafter Selig) as applied to claims 21, 23, and 34 above, and further in view of US 2012/0183165 (Foo et al., hereinafter Foo).
Regarding claims 26-28, 30-33, 38-40, and 42-45, Miller and Selig disclose the limitations of claims 21, 23, and 34 but do not describe information about the sound environment. In a related area, Foo discloses a process and system that updates hearing aid profiles (title; abstract, figures 1-9; paragraphs 9-82). Foo shows in paragraphs 12, 13, 56, and 63 state that the system includes a data store (remote hearing aid profile service over a network with a database), a computer operating environment comprising a hearing aid processor and a memory arranged to store hearing aid profiles and processing instructions that are executed by a processor. Foo discloses that the steps performed by the processor (figures 3 and 5-8 flowcharts; paragraphs 56-67) include:
receiving information regarding a sound environment from an auditory prosthesis, wherein the information describes a sound environment (paragraphs 65-67);
based upon the information, selecting a settings adjustment from a plurality of settings adjustments (paragraphs 41-44 and 63-67; note that the network and servers contain a collection of hearing aid profiles; there can be several different hearing aid profiles for different external environments, which is a plurality of settings adjustments);
providing the settings adjustment to the auditory prosthesis / providing settings adjustments to a hearing device (paragraphs 63-67; updated hearing aid profile is sent back to hearing aid user to replace the current hearing aid profile and is evaluated by user,);
receiving feedback data regarding the provided settings adjustments (paragraphs 63-67; user makes evaluations and records audio response from auditory prosthesis and comments for the hearing aid profile service); and
logging the feedback data in the database and using the feedback to determine effectiveness of the settings adjustment (paragraphs 60-72 - updates database with user evaluations, thus meeting limitations of claims 30 and 42).
Foo shows that any audio received by the hearing aid (see figure 5; paragraphs 63-64) would naturally have information regarding the sound environment and would contain information regarding the presence of wind, presence of multiple speakers, or the loudness of surrounding speech because any information regarding presence or loudness would naturally be present in the signal. Note that information about presence is whether something is there or not, which is why Foo meets the limitations about presence of wind or multiple speakers, thus meeting the limitations of claims 26-27 and 38-39. Foo also describes collecting sound recordings of sound environments for updating hearing aid profiles in paragraphs 38, 39, 66, 67, and 76, which meets the limitations of claims 28 and 40. Foo also discloses the step of receiving a request for a settings adjustment of the hearing aid prior to providing settings and dynamically adjusts the settings based on the recording of the current audio environment of the user (paragraphs 11, 28-33, 42-44, and 56-73), which meets the limitations of claims 31, 33, and 44. Foo also discloses determining the acceptance or rejection of the settings adjustment in response to receiving an indication that the settings adjustment was accepted or rejected and storing the settings and profile along with relevant facts such as time, place, and identity of the user (paragraphs 60-67). Positive evaluation of a profile can be considered as an acceptance response while a not positive evaluation can be considered as the rejection response, which are limitations of claims 32, 43, and 45. Foo states that the information collected allows for hearing aid profile modification that is consistent with a hearing aid user’s current situation (paragraphs 28) and allows for determining when updated hearing aid profiles are acceptable to a user in real time (paragraphs 10, 13, 59-64). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and non-transitory computer readable storage media with instructions of Miller and Selig to include the information collected and feedback evaluation disclosed by Foo in order to allow for hearing aid profile modification in real time that is consistent with a hearing aid user’s current situation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791