Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/462,952 filed on 06 May 2026. Claims 1-13 and claim 15 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim 14 has been cancelled. Claims 1-13 and 15 have been rejected as follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because Figure 4 lacks content needed for interpretation. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 12 February 2026 have been considered and are PERSUASIVE. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 12 February 2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims
under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 12 February 2026 have been
considered and are NOT PERSUASIVE.
Applicant argues that wheeler does not disclose loading a map from a plurality of maps. However, Wheeler describes in paragraph [61]; " The HD map comprises maps of several geographical regions.”. Wheeler describes a plurality of maps for several geographic regions, and the map selected would be one of several.
Applicant also states that Wheeler doesn't describe "verifying by a unique identifier associated with the map, that the loaded map is the same that was used at the last available position". However, Wheeler teaches in paragraph [49]; "The localization APIs 250 determine the current location of the vehicle, for example, when the vehicle starts and as the vehicle moves along a route. The localization APIs 250 include a localize API that determines an accurate location of the vehicle within the HD Map.” Wheeler describes the localization API’s as identifiers unique to each location, that are used to verify an accurate location of the vehicle upon startup.
Furthermore, Applicant states that Schroff does not teach for a first map if a plurality of maps which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position. However, Schroff outlines in paragraph [123]; “determining a first location associated with a sensor system in an environment; determining a distance between the first location and a second location associated with a region in the environment; loading, into a working memory associated with a computing device of the sensor system, map data representing the region in the environment, wherein a level of detail associated with the map data is based at least in part on the distance; capturing, by the sensor system, sensor data; and performing an action based at least in part on the map data and the sensor data, wherein the action includes at least one of a localization action, a perception action, a prediction action, or a planning action.” Schroff also states in paragraph [43]; "In some examples, the one or more maps 228 can include the resolution component 230 and/or the semantic component 232. In some examples, the resolution component 230 can store, for each region of an environment, multiple maps associated with different resolutions or levels of detail". Additionally, paragraph [47] describes “For example, the distance component 236 can determine a first location associated with the vehicle in the environment. In some instances, the first location can correspond to a point in a map tile in which the vehicle 202 is currently located.”) The aforementioned cited paragraphs describe initializing a system with the vehicles last available position in a first map as a first location as well as describes a plurality of maps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma (JP 2006275856 A) in view of Cui (US 20210239471 A1), Schroff (US 11422259 B2) and Wheeler (US 20220042805 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takuma discloses wherein the localization system utilizes map data comprising a plurality of maps for localizing the vehicle in an area, (See at least ¶ [15]; "In this embodiment, the map data created by the map data distribution server 13 is divided into multiple categories, such as road data and house data, and each category is further divided into mesh units obtained by dividing the map into multiple areas") Takuma teaches the map data from the distribution server is divided into a multitude of maps to localize a vehicle. wherein the localization system is using map data comprising a plurality of maps for localizing the vehicle in an area, (See at least ¶ [15]; "In this embodiment, the map data created by the map data distribution server 13 is divided into multiple categories, such as road data and house data, and each category is further divided into mesh units obtained by dividing the map into multiple areas") The map data from the distribution server is divided into a multitude of maps to localize a vehicle.
Takuma does not explicitly disclose A computer-implemented method for initializing a localization system for a vehicle, wherein the method comprises, determining a position, or pose, of the vehicle in the area with respect to a map of the plurality of maps, wherein each map of the plurality of maps has been recorded by any of a sensor on the vehicle when driving in the area and other vehicles driving in the area, wherein each map is a representation of at least a portion of the area, - associating map related information with a last available position of the vehicle which was used by the localization system before shutdown of the localization system, wherein the map related information comprises a unique identifier, for a first map of the plurality of maps which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position, at start-up of the localization system with respect to the last available position, loading a map from the plurality of maps for localizing the vehicle at the last available position and verifying, by using the unique identifier, if the loaded map is the first map which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position when it is verified that the first map is loaded, initializing the localization system with the last available position in the first map, and - controlling the vehicle to automatically drive along a predetermined travelling path from the last available position in the first map.
However, Cui teaches A computer-implemented method for initializing a localization system for a vehicle, (see at least ¶ [001]; "The present disclosure relates generally to vehicles such as assisted-driving vehicles or autonomous vehicles (AVs), and in particular, some embodiments relate to determining an initial location and orientation of vehicles, or determining a pose relative to a map or a road.") Cui teaches a method that consists of at least a computer to initialize the current position, or a system for localizing a vehicle.
wherein the method comprises, - associating map related information with a last available position of the vehicle which was used by the localization system before shutdown of the localization system, (See at least ¶ [0008, 0036]; "In some embodiments, the obtaining the previous pose of the vehicle comprises obtaining a most recent pose of the vehicle before shutdown of the system…In some embodiments, the previous pose of the vehicle 101 may comprise a location, orientation, and/or velocity of the vehicle 101. ") Cui describes a method of associated location information, which would be considered map related information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate teachings of Cui which teaches a computer system for localizing the vehicle and obtaining the last available position of the localization system in order to be able to determine where a vehicle is located to be able for the vehicle to travel to another location.
Cui does not explicitly disclose determining a position, or pose, of the vehicle in the area with respect to a map of the plurality of maps, wherein each map of the plurality of maps has been recorded by any of a sensor on the vehicle when driving in the area and other vehicles driving in the area, wherein each map is a representation of at least a portion of the area, wherein the map related information comprises a unique identifier for a first map of the plurality of maps which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position, - at start-up of the localization system with respect to the last available position, loading a map from the plurality of maps for localizing the vehicle at the last available position and verifying, by using the unique identifier, if the loaded map is the first map which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available, and when it is verified that the first map is loaded, initializing the localization system with the last available position in the first map, and- controlling the vehicle to automatically drive along a predetermined travelling path from the last available position in the first map.
However, Wheeler teaches wherein the map related information comprises a unique identifier (see at least [0031]; "Embodiments of the invention select an appropriate localization technique and parameters tuned for the specific context to perform localization efficiently and accurately. The combination of a localization technique and corresponding parameter values is referred to as a localization variant. The HD map system estimates the performance of each localization variant for different contexts and uses an index to efficiently look up the best localization variants based on the current location of the autonomous vehicle. ") Wheeler describes the map related information comprising of a unique identifier as a localization variant which stores specific information that differentiates locations on a map.
at start-up of the localization system with respect to the last available position, loading a map from the plurality of maps for localizing the vehicle at the last available position and (see at least [49]; "The localization APIs 250 determine the current location of the vehicle, for example, when the vehicle starts and as the vehicle moves along a route…. The vehicle computing system 120 stores as internal state, location history records to improve accuracy of subsequent localize calls. The location history record stores history of location from the point-in-time, when the car was turned off/stopped. ") Wheeler describes the localization system at start up, loading a map from the last available position by calling it from its history.
verifying, by using the unique identifier, if the loaded map is the first map which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position (see at least [49, 0077,0014]; "The localization APIs 250 determine the current location of the vehicle, for example, when the vehicle starts and as the vehicle moves along a route…. The vehicle computing system 120 stores as internal state, location history records to improve accuracy of subsequent localize calls. The location history record stores history of location from the point-in-time, when the car was turned off/stopped….The localization module 290a present in the vehicle computing system 120 of an autonomous vehicle uses the localization variants while driving to select specific localization variants based on driving context, for example, the geographical region in which the autonomous vehicle is driving and uses the localization variants to perform localization for the autonomous vehicle… In an embodiment, the system maps coordinates of locations, for example, latitudes and longitudes, to localization variants.") Wheeler uses the localization variants as identifiers to determine the map which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position. Latitude and longitude are unique to each location.
- controlling the vehicle to automatically drive along a predetermined travelling path from the last available position in the first map.(see at least [39]; "The vehicle controls 130 control the physical movement of the vehicle, for example, acceleration, direction change, starting, stopping, and so on. The vehicle controls 130 include the machinery for controlling the accelerator, brakes, steering wheel, and so on. The vehicle computing system 120 continuously provides control signals to the vehicle controls 130, thereby causing an autonomous vehicle to drive along a selected route… "The localization APIs 250 determine the current location of the vehicle, for example, when the vehicle starts and as the vehicle moves along a route…. The vehicle computing system 120 stores as internal state, location history records to improve accuracy of subsequent localize calls. The location history record stores history of location from the point-in-time, when the car was turned off/stopped") Wheeler describes controlling the vehicle to drive along a predetermined traveling path, after the location is determined upon start up from calling the location history.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate teachings of Wheeler which teaches using a unique identifier such a latitude and longitude to be able to identify locations on a map, which also associate with the last available position based on the stored history in order to be able to specifically identify the location the vehicle is located and quickly be able to localize based on calling the stored information.
Wheeler does not explicitly disclose determining a position, or pose, of the vehicle in the area with respect to a map of the plurality of maps, wherein each map of the plurality of maps has been recorded by any of a sensor on the vehicle when driving in the area and other vehicles driving in the area, wherein each map is a representation of at least a portion of the area, for a first map of the plurality of maps which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position, when it is verified that the first map is loaded, initializing the localization system with the last available position in the first map.
However, Schroff teaches by determining a position, or pose, of the vehicle in the area with respect to a map of the plurality of maps, (see at least [37]; " In at least one example, the localization component 220 can include functionality to receive data from the sensor system(s) 206 to determine a position and/or orientation of the vehicle 202 (e.g., one or more of an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, or yaw). For example, the localization component 220 can include and/or request/receive a map of an environment and can continuously determine a location and/or orientation of the autonomous vehicle within the map.") Scroff outlines a localization system that determines a position of the vehicle in the area with respect to a map in a plurality of maps.
wherein each map of the plurality of maps has been recorded by any of a sensor on the vehicle when driving in the area and other vehicles driving in the area, and (see at least [11]; " For example, a computing device can analyze sensor data captured by one or more vehicles to determine an optimal combination of map tiles that contribute to localizing the vehicle in the environment.") Schroff describes a map being recorded by a sensor of a vehicle as well as other vehicles driving in the area.
wherein each map is a representation of at least a portion of the area, (see at least [12, 122]; " In some instances, map data can include discrete features or regions that are associated with semantic information (e.g., indicating that the map data corresponds to a building, a sidewalk, a curb, a road, a tree, etc.)…an area representing a least a portion of the environment around the autonomous vehicle is represented by a plurality of map tiles individually loaded into the working memory; ") Schroff describes a map being a representation of at least a potion of the area.
for a first map of the plurality of maps which was used for localizing the vehicle at the last available position, (see at least [13, 47]; " As can be understood, as the vehicle traverses the environment, a number of map tiles can be loaded and unloaded to and from memory. In one example, as a vehicle approaches a region in an environment (and a distance between the vehicle and the region is above a threshold distance), a first map tile associated with a first level of detail can be loaded into a memory of the vehicle and localization operations can be performed…..For example, the distance component 236 can determine a first location associated with the vehicle in the environment. In some instances, the first location can correspond to a point in a map tile in which the vehicle 202 is currently located.") Schroff describes a first map of a plurality of maps used to localize the vehicle at several locations, including the current and last available position.
when it is verified that the first map is loaded, initializing the localization system with the last available position in the first map, and (see at least [13, 47]; " As can be understood, as the vehicle traverses the environment, a number of map tiles can be loaded and unloaded to and from memory. In one example, as a vehicle approaches a region in an environment (and a distance between the vehicle and the region is above a threshold distance), a first map tile associated with a first level of detail can be loaded into a memory of the vehicle and localization operations can be performed…..For example, the distance component 236 can determine a first location associated with the vehicle in the environment. In some instances, the first location can correspond to a point in a map tile in which the vehicle 202 is currently located.") Schroff describes loading map tiles and initializing the system with a first location, which can be the last available position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate teachings of Schroff which teaches determining a position of the vehicle with relation to the maps recorded by a sensor of the vehicle, loading the first map and associating it with a first position, such as the last available position, in order to ready the vehicle to be able to navigate to a desired location.
Regarding Claim 4, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising, determining whether the vehicle has been stationary or not since the shutdown of the localization system, wherein initializing the localization system with the last available position in the first map is allowed when it also is determined that the vehicle has been stationary since the shutdown of the localization system, (see at least ¶ [31, 42-47]; "The current position calculation unit 200 calculates the relative displacement of the vehicle 14 based on the measurement signal from the sensor 16, and calculates the current position of the vehicle 14 based on the calculated relative displacement and the map data stored in the map data storage unit 201…If the predetermined time has elapsed (S103: Yes), the current position calculation unit 200 resets and starts the timer (S104), and acquires a measurement signal from the sensor 16 (S105). Then, the current position calculation unit 200 calculates the relative displacement of the vehicle 14 based on the measurement signal obtained from the sensor 16, and determines EPO machine translation whether the distance traveled by the vehicle 14 since the previous time has exceeded a predetermined distance (e.g., 20 m) (S106)."The calculation unit determines whether the vehicle has been stationary or not since the shutdown of the localization system and initializes the system using the last available position.
Regarding Claim 5, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises, - when determining that the vehicle has not been stationary since the shutdown of the localization system, refraining from initializing the localization system with the last available position in the first map, (see at least [0043 and 0044]; "If the predetermined time has elapsed (S103: Yes), the current position calculation unit 200 resets and starts the timer (S104), and acquires a measurement signal from the sensor 16 (S105). Then, the current position calculation unit 200 calculates the relative displacement of the vehicle 14 based on the measurement signal obtained from the sensor 16, and determines EPO machine translation whether the distance traveled by the vehicle 14 since the previous time has exceeded a predetermined distance (e.g., 20 m) (S106).If the distance traveled since the previous time is equal to or greater than a predetermined distance (S106: Yes), the current position calculation unit 200 refers to the status storage unit 202 based on the calculated relative displacement of the vehicle 14, and calculates the current position of the vehicle 14 using a file with a usable status among the map data files corresponding to the calculated relative displacement (S107).") Takoma teaches determining whether the vehicle has been stationary, and refraining from initializing the localization system with the last available position and calculating its current position instead.
Regarding Claim 11, Takuma discloses a localization system for a vehicle, wherein the localization system is configured to perform the steps of the method according to claim, (see at least ¶ [1, 22]; " The present invention relates to a navigation device that calculates and displays the current position of a vehicle.") Takuma teaches a device that consists of at least a computer to initialize the current position, or a system for localizing a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 12, Takuma discloses the localization system according to claim 11, comprising a sensor, or a group of sensors, for localizing the vehicle in an area, (see at least ¶ [0018]; "The sensor 16 is a GPS receiver, a direction sensor, a vehicle speed sensor, etc., and measures the current position of the vehicle") Takuma outlines a group of sensors for localizing the vehicle in an area.
Regarding Claim 13, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler discloses the method according to claim 1, furthermore, Takuma discloses a vehicle comprising the localization system according to claim 11, (see at least ¶ [0017]: The vehicle 14 has a display device 15 , a sensor 16 , a communication terminal 17 , and a navigation device 20.")
Regarding Claim 15, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler discloses the method according to claim 1, furthermore, Takuma discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program code for performing the steps of claim 1 when said program code is run on a computer, (see at least ¶ [0061]: "For example, each of the current position calculation unit 200, status update unit 203, file acquisition unit 204, and current position display unit 205 in the navigation device 20 may be realized in hardware using an integrated logic IC such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit) or FPGA (Field Programmable Gate Array), or may be realized in software using a DSP (Digital Signal Processor) or a general-purpose computer, or may be configured by combining functional blocks that are partially realized in hardware or software.)
Claims 2, 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma (JP 2006275856 A) in view of Cui (US 20210239471 A1), Schroff and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Klausner (US 20030114980 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler discloses the method according to claim 1.
Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler fails to disclose wherein the map related information further comprises information about which sensor, or group of sensors, that was used during localizing of the vehicle at the last available position.
However, Klausner teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the map related information further comprises information about which sensor, or group of sensors, that was used during localizing of the vehicle at the last available position, (see at least ¶ [20-21]; "The navigation system is therefore able to use the vehicle motion sensor data to extrapolate from the former position stored in a memory.") The navigation system, or map related information, uses information from a specific sensor that was used during localization of the vehicle at the last available position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate map related information about which sensor was used during localization of the vehicle at the last available position in order to effectively gather information about the location of the vehicle and its status.
Regarding claim 3, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler fail to disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises, - at start-up of the localization system with respect to the last available position, activating the sensor, or group of sensors, as indicated in the map related information.
However, Klausner teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises, - at start-up of the localization system with respect to the last available position, activating the sensor, or group of sensors, as indicated in the map related information, (see at least [0019]; "Processor 17 may include a memory (not shown) used to store a former position. Processor 17 may use a current position from positioning device 18 along with a former position and a sensor datum or sensor data to calculate a corrected current position. ") When started, the processor, or localization system, activates sensors from the last available position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate Klausner to activate the sensors related to the last available position and its’s associated map information at start-up of the vehicle in order to more efficiently determine the location of the vehicle and gather information about the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler fail to disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising, - at start-up of the localization system, determining if a global navigation satellite system, GNSS, is available for determining a GNSS position for the vehicle for initializing the localization system in the loaded map, and when it is determined that the GNSS is available, initializing the localization system with the GNSS position in the loaded map.
However, Klausner teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, - at start-up of the localization system, determining if a global navigation satellite system, GNSS, is available for determining a GNSS position for the vehicle for initializing the localization system in the loaded map, and when it is determined that the GNSS is available, initializing the localization system with the GNSS position in the loaded map, (see at least ¶ [0018]; "Positioning device 18 may use any number of positioning methods to determine the current position and to monitor progress along the selected route. These positioning systems may include GPS, DGPS (Differential GPS), AGPS (Assisted GPS), triangulation, hyperbolic intersection of time-delay solutions, and cell identification to position the user…Sensor 11 may transmit its status, in the form or any of the error or fault code, the health status, or the "all OK" signal, in response to an interrogatory from the diagnostic system communicated to the sensor 11 on the vehicle bus. Alternatively, sensor 11 may transmit its status on its own initiative, either upon sensing a fault, at a preset time, after a preset time interval, or upon commencing or completing a procedure (e.g. start-up)."). With GNSS referring to a satellite based navigation system, Klausner teaches satellite based navigation systems as well, such as a GPS. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate Klausner to initiate a GNSS system upon start-up after determining its availability in order for a vehicle to be ready to drive or navigate based on its current location.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma (JP 2006275856 A) in view of Cui (US 20210239471 A1) Schroff and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sung (US 20130162824 A1).
Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler fail to disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein determining whether the vehicle has been stationary or not since the shutdown of the localization system is performed using trip meter data of the vehicle.
However, Sung teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein determining whether the vehicle has been stationary or not since the shutdown of the localization system is performed using trip meter data of the vehicle, (see at least ¶ [3, 11 and especially 42], "The existing vehicle position recognizing apparatus collects the information about the traveling of the vehicle from additional sensors, such as a gyroscope or a trip meter, installed in the vehicle to calculate the current position of the vehicle using dead-reckoning, but the vehicle position recognizing apparatus 100 collects the information from the sensors in the vehicle on the internal network of the vehicle via the internal network of the vehicle connection unit 140 to calculate the current position of the vehicle, thereby reducing the cost of installing new sensors by the use of the existing sensors in the vehicle, rather than installing separate sensors.") Sung teaches the use of the trip meter to determine whether the vehicle has been stationary or not since shutdown of the localization system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate Sung to reference the trip meter to determine if the vehicle has been stationary or not in order to quickly identify whether the vehicle needs to be re-localized or is in the last available position.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma (JP 2006275856 A) in view of Cui (US 20210239471 A1), Schroff and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hiroyuki (JP H08334345 A).
Regarding claim 8, Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler disclose the method according to claim 1.
Takuma in view of Cui, Schroff and Wheeler fail to disclose - at start-up of the localization system, determining if a user set position is available for initializing the localization system in the loaded map, and when it is determined that the user set position is available, initializing the localization system with the user set position in the loaded map.
However, Hiroyuki teaches, - at start-up of the localization system, determining if a user set position is available for initializing the localization system in the loaded map, and when it is determined that the user set position is available, initializing the localization system with the user set position in the loaded map, (see at least ¶ [0013]: The current position is initialized at least when the current position is set by the user or when the current position is set by radio navigation.) Hiroyuki teaches initializing the user set position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate Hiroyuki to initialize a set position in the loaded map in order to utilize the user’s preferences and increase efficiency of localization of regular locations.
Regarding claim 9, Takuma in view of Cui Schroff, Wheeler and Hiroyuki disclose the method according to claim 8. Hiroyuki further teaches wherein determining if the user set position is available is checked during a time period, wherein the method further comprises refraining from using a user set position if no user set position is made available during the time period, (see at least ¶ [0013] The current position is initialized at least when the current position is set by the user or when the current position is set by radio navigation.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takuma to incorporate Hiroyuki to refrain from using a user set position if it’s not available during a time period in order to comply with the user preferences.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664