DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a receiver for receiving the posts” in claim 1, “a locking member for engaging with the received posts to lock the battery assembly together using a tongue-in-hole arrangement” in claim 1, “a receiver for receiving the posts” in claim 15, “a locking member for engaging with the received posts to lock the battery assembly together using a tongue-in-hole arrangement” in claim 15, “a receiver” for “receiving the posts” in claim 16 and “a locking member […] using a tongue-in-hole arrangement for engaging the locking member with the posts” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the limitation of “posts extending from the batteries” is unclear as the plain meaning of the limitation would mean that the posts are attached and extend from the batteries, while the specification makes clear that the posts “extend from the base plate” ([00011]) and Figures 1 and 4 clearly depict that the posts extend from the base plate at a greater distance than which the batteries extend as Figure 4 is another view of the base of Figure 1. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the limitation of “posts extending from the batteries” has been interpreted to mean --posts extending from a base plate along a length of the batteries--. It is noted that claim 8 recites the structure of “a base plate” and claim 11 recites that “the posts extend from the base plate.”
In regard to claim 1, the meaning of the phrase “to lock the battery assembly together” is unclear as it is unclear what structures of the battery assembly are being locked together. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as reciting --to lock the base plate, the batteries and the receiver together--.
In regard to claim 15, the limitation of “posts extending from the batteries” is unclear as batteries are not positively recited in the claim. Thus, it is unclear how the posts could “extend” from the batteries as recited. Additionally, the plain meaning of the limitation would mean that the posts are attached and extend from the batteries, while the specification makes clear that the posts “extend from the base plate” ([00011]) and Figures 1 and 4 clearly depict that the posts extend from the base plate at a greater distance than which the batteries extend as Figure 4 is another view of the base of Figure 1. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the limitation of “posts extending from the batteries” has been interpreted to mean --posts extending from a base plate along a length of the batteries--.
In regard to claim 15, the meaning of the phrase “to lock the battery assembly together” is unclear as it is unclear what structures of the battery assembly are being locked together and further unclear as the “battery assembly” has not been positively recited. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as reciting --to lock the base plate, the batteries and the receiver together--.
In regard to claim 16, the limitation of “posts extending from the batteries” is unclear as the plain meaning of the limitation would mean that the posts are attached and extend from the batteries, while the specification makes clear that the posts “extend from the base plate” ([00011]) and Figures 1 and 4 clearly depict that the posts extend from the base plate at a greater distance than which the batteries extend as Figure 4 is another view of the base of Figure 1. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the limitation of “posts extending from the batteries” has been interpreted to mean --posts extending from a base plate along a length of the batteries--. It is noted that claim 19 recites “a base plate from which the posts extend.”
In regard to claim 16, the meaning of the phrase “to lock the battery assembly together” is unclear as it is unclear what structures of the battery assembly are being locked together. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as reciting --to lock the base plate, batteries and the receiver together--.
The claims 2-14 and 17-19 are rejected based upon their dependency on a claim rejected above.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. It is unclear how the posts can both “extend from the base plate” as recited in claims 11 and 19 while also “extending from the batteries” as required in claims 1 and 16. Therefore, as currently written, claims 11 and 19 fail to include all the limitations of claims 1 and 16, respectively, as the claims claim an alternative or materially different arrangement than recited in the respective parent claim. It is noted that the above interpretations provided by the Examiner would correct the rejection under §112(d), and this rejection is provided to show the totality of the deficiencies of the claims in regard to §112 in total. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hahs, Jr. et al. (US 4,806,440; hereinafter “Hahs”).
In regard to claim 1, Hahs discloses a battery assembly (lantern battery pack) comprising batteries (cells 12,14,16 and 18); posts (the longitudinal structures which end in snap latches 22 and 24 and which are joined together by a pair of braces 25) extending from a base plate (upper plate 30) along a length of the batteries; a receiver (plate 56) for receiving the posts; and a locking member (retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) for engaging with the received posts to lock the battery assembly together using a tongue-in-hole arrangement (cooperation of the retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) for engaging the locking member with the posts. See col. 3, line 45 through col. 4, line 7; col. 5, lines 46-51; col. 6, lines 17-34 and Figures 1, 2 and 4.
In regard to claim 2, Hahs discloses wherein the locking member defines apertures (indentations 66,68) through which respective posts pass (the retainer members 62,64 are integral with the posts as defined in claim 1). See Figures 1 and 4.
In regard to claim 3, Hahs discloses wherein the locking member (retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66 and 68) can be slid along the receiver (plate 56) to engage the tongue-in-hole arrangement (cooperation of the retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) for locking as the retainer members 62,64 are slid past the plate 56 to be snapped into the indentations 66,68. See Figures 1 and 4.
In regard to claim 4, Hahs discloses wherein the locking member defines tongues (the tongue-like structure of the plate 56 formed between the apertures 26,28 and the indentations 66,68 which engages the snap latches as depicted in Figure 4) which engage within holes in the posts (the gap between the retainer members 62, 64 and the longitudinal structure of the post as defined in claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 5, Hahs discloses wherein the receiver (plate 56) defines apertures (apertures 26,28) through which respective posts are received. See Figures 1 and 4.
In regard to claim 6, Hahs discloses wherein the receiver (plate 56) includes an insulator plate as Hahs teaches wherein all parts except the terminals and bridges are preferably made of plastic which is well understood to mean that the parts are electrically insulative. See col. 4, lines 36-44.
In regard to claim 7, Hahs discloses wherein the receiver (plate 56) includes a current collector (electrical bridges 50 and 52) for engaging with the batteries. See Figure 1 and col. 5, lines 12-33.
In regard to claim 8, Hahs discloses a base plate (upper plate 30). See Figure 1.
In regard to claim 9, Hahs discloses wherein the base plate includes an insulator plate as Hahs teaches wherein all parts except the terminals and bridges are preferably made of plastic which is well understood to mean that the parts are electrically insulative. See col. 4, lines 36-44.
In regard to claim 10, Hahs discloses wherein the base plate (upper plate 30) includes a current collector (bridge 48 or spring terminals 44,46) for engaging with the batteries. See Figure 1 or col. 5, lines 13-33.
In regard to claim 11, Hahs discloses wherein the posts (the longitudinal structures which end in snap latches 22 and 24 and which are joined together by a pair of braces 25) extend from the base plate (upper plate 30). See Figure 1.
In regard to claim 12, Hahs discloses wherein the posts (the longitudinal structures which end in snap latches 22 and 24 and which are joined together by a pair of braces 25) are welded (i.e. unitary with or joined to) to the base plate (upper plate 30). It is noted that the process of making (being “welded”) does not further limit the patentability of the recited apparatus limitation. See MPEP §2113.
In regard to claim 15, Hahs discloses a retainer (lantern battery pack) for retaining batteries (cells 12,14,16 and 18) in a battery assembly (the combination of the lantern battery pack and the cells), the retainer comprising posts (the longitudinal structures which end in snap latches 22 and 24 and which are joined together by a pair of braces 25) extending from a base plate (upper plate 30) along a length of the batteries; a receiver (plate 56) for receiving the posts; and a locking member (retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) for engaging with the received posts to lock the battery assembly together using a tongue-in-hole arrangement (cooperation of the retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) for engaging the locking member with the posts. See col. 3, line 45 through col. 4, line 7; col. 5, lines 46-51; col. 6, lines 17-34 and Figures 1, 2 and 4.
In regard to claim 16, Hahs discloses a method for assembling a battery assembly (lantern battery pack), the battery assembly including batteries (cells 12,14,16 and 18) and posts (the longitudinal structures which end in snap latches 22 and 24 and which are joined together by a pair of braces 25) extending from a base plate (upper plate 30) along a length of the batteries, the method comprising receiving the posts with a receiver (plate 56); and engaging a locking member (retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) with the retained posts to lock the battery assembly together using a tongue-in-hole arrangement (cooperation of the retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66,68) for engaging the locking member with the posts. See col. 3, line 45 through col. 4, line 7; col. 5, lines 46-51; col. 6, lines 17-34 and Figures 1, 2 and 4.
In regard to claim 17, Hahs discloses wherein engaging a locking member (retainer members 62,64 and indentations 66 and 68) includes sliding the locking member along the receiver (plate 56) as the retainer members 62,64 are slid past the plate 56 to be snapped into the indentations 66,68. See Figures 1 and 4.
In regard to claim 18, Hahs discloses wherein engaging a locking member includes inserting one or more tongues (the tongue-like structure of the plate 56 formed between the apertures 26,28 and the indentations 66,68 which engages the snap latches as depicted in Figure 4) in holes (indentations 66,68). See Figure 4.
In regard to claim 19, Hahs discloses wherein the batteries (cells 12,14,16 and 18) are located on a base plate (upper plate 30) from which the posts (the longitudinal structures which end in snap latches 22 and 24 and which are joined together by a pair of braces 25) extend. See Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahs in view of Sjogren (US 4,125,681).
In regard to claims 13 and 14, Hahs is silent in regard to a casing for encasing the assembly. It is noted that Hahs discloses a lantern battery substitute. See Abstract and title.
Sjogren discloses a rechargeable lantern battery enclosure comprising a container (side closure 10 and bottom closure 12) and a lid (top closure 14) for fitting to the container to encase the cells 16,18,20 therein. Sjogren discloses that the enclosure is structured to resist impact loads. See Figure 1; col. 2, lines 33-42 and col. 4, lines 2-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lantern battery substitute of Hahs in further include a casing as taught by Sjogren for the purpose of containing the cells in a housing to provide structural stability to the lantern battery replacement.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-13 and 17-18 of copending Application No. 18/463424 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, due to the inclusion of limitations which are interpreted under §112(f), the scope of the reference claims are encapsulated by the scope of the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774