DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0118490, filed on 09/06/2023; as well as Application No. KR10-2022-0114099, filed on 09/08/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/07/2023 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, 13-16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cui (“Asymmetric Gained Deep Image Compression With Continuous Rate Adaptation”, Aug 2022).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Cui teaches A method for image encoding (Cui, pg 1, column 2, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
, “Novel image compression framework, AG-VAE” is being interpreted as involving image encoding [for claim 1] and decoding [for claims 8 and 15]), comprising:
generating a latent representation using an input image (Cui, pg 3, column 1, Section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
. “We taken one image as input of the encoder to obtain its latent representation”);
generating a quantized latent representation (Cui, pg 3, column 1, Section 3.1, ¶2-3, reproduced below:
. “Quantization loss of the latent representation” is being interpreted as involving “generating a quantized latent representation”) by performing adaptive quantization on the latent representation (Cui, pg 3, column 1, see Section 3.1, ¶2-3 image above: “scale the latent representation flexibly” is being interpreted as involving “adaptive quantization on the latent representation”);
deriving a set of selected elements of the quantized latent representation (Cui, see Section 3.1 images above for full context, but ¶1 cites: “We can conclude that the channels’ importance varies and can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality”. “Importance varies” shows a set of selected elements, the importance values. When combined with the “scale the latent representation flexibly” from ¶2 and the “quantization loss” from ¶3, shows “quantized latent representation”); and
generating encoded information of the selected elements by performing entropy encoding on the set of the selected elements (Cui, pg 1 column 2 last paragraph to pg 2 column lines1-4, reproduced below:
. “Asymmetric Gaussian entropy model” is being interpreted as involving entropy encoding. As the Cui framework does encoding and decoding, as see in Figure 1 text. Further. Section 3.5 shows the entropy model generates encoded information [“estimate the distribution of the latent representation”]).
Regarding claim 2, Cui teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the quantized latent representation is generated for a specific target quality level (Cui, pg 3, section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
“can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality” is being interpreted to involve “a specific target quality level”).
Regarding claim 6, Cui teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the encoded information of the selected elements is generated using a parameter for a specific target quality level (Cui, section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
. “can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality” is being interpreted as “a specific target quality level”. The “channels’ importance varies” is being interpreted as “a parameter”).
Regarding claim 7, Cui teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the parameter includes a scale parameter for the specific target quality level (Cui, section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
. “can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality” is being interpreted as “a specific target quality level”. The “channels’ importance varies” is being interpreted as “a parameter” that can be scaled) or a mean parameter for the specific target quality level.
Claims 9 and 16 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 2 discussed above.
Claims 13 and 19 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 6 discussed above.
Claims 14 and 20 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 7 discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, in view of Li (“Learning Convolutional Networks for Content-weighted Image Compression”, 2017).
Regarding claim 3, Cui teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the set of the selected elements (Cui, see Section 3.1 images above for full context, but ¶1 cites: “We can conclude that the channels’ importance varies and can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality”. “Importance varies” shows a set of selected elements, the importance values. When combined with the “scale the latent representation flexibly” from ¶2 and the “quantization loss” from ¶3, shows “quantized latent representation”)
However, Cui does not appear to explicitly teach 3D binary mask; though does teach importance values as the Li reference does.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Li teaches
is determined using a 3D binary mask (Li, pg 4, column 2, full paragraphs 1-3, reproduced below:
. The “importance mask” with three-dimensions n x h x w, is being interpreted as involving a “3D binary mask”. Equation 5 shows the binary nature of the importance mask).
Cui and Li are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to learned image compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image compression with importance values (as taught by Cui) to include a 3D binary mask (as taught by Li) because the combination provides an improvement to image compression (Li, abstract). Further, Cui teaches 3D latent representation (Cui, section 3.1, line 5).
Claims 10 and 17 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 3 discussed above.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, as modified by Li, in view of Balle (“Variational image compression with a scale hyperprior”, 2018).
Regarding claim 4, Cui teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the 3D binary mask is generated (Li, pg 4, column 2, full paragraphs 1-3, reproduced below:
. The “importance mask” with three-dimensions n x h x w, is being interpreted as involving a “3D binary mask”. Equation 5 shows the binary nature of the importance mask).
However, Cui and Li do not appear to specifically teach hyper-decoder.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Balle teaches
using output of a specific layer of a hyper-decoder (Balle, pg 6, Figure 4, reproduced below:
”arithmetic decoder” is being interpreted as hyper-decoder since the right side of Figure 4 is the hyperprior model. The hyperprior model is being interpreted as outputting, note the z leading to the Q out of the specific layer from the hyperprior model at the end).
Cui, Li, and Balle are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to learned image compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image compression with importance values, modified to have a 3D binary mask (as taught by Cui and Li) to include an output of a specific layer of a hyper-decoder (as taught by Balle) because the combination provides an improvement to image compression (Balle, abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Balle teaches The method of claim 4, wherein a hyperprior is input to the hyper-decoder (Balle, pg 6, Figure 4, reproduced below:
”arithmetic decoder” is being interpreted as hyper-decoder since the right side of Figure 4 is the hyperprior model. The hyperprior is input into the hyper-decoder on the right side).
Cui, Li, and Balle are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to learned image compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image compression with importance values, modified to have a 3D binary mask (as taught by Cui and Li) to include the hyperprior as input to the hyper-decoder (as taught by Balle) because the combination provides an improvement to image compression (Balle, abstract).
Claims 11 and 18 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 4 discussed above.
Claim 12 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 5 discussed above.
Conclusion
/J.B.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667