DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0118490, filed on 09/06/2023; as well as Application No. KR10-2022-0114099, filed on 09/08/2022.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/23/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14-18, 20 were amended.
Claims 6, 13, and 19 were cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, 20 remain pending in the application.
The specification objection to the title has been removed due to the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks filed 06/23/2026) have been considered but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant has made the following arguments on pg 10 (Remarks filed 06/23/2026), first full paragraph, reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Cui’s experiment on how scaling affects reconstruction quality is later used in the gain unit (Section 3.1 and 3.2) as a way to control quality (or information loss). Applicant states that this is different from deriving a set of selected elements of a quantized latent representation and entropy encoding the selected elements. Figure 6 demonstrates the process; starting in the top-left area, the “Attention Module”, as one with ordinary skill in the art would know, derives selected elements in the latent representation using attention (involving importance, or saliency, mapping or masking). Part of this data is then passed to the Gain Unit (which helps in controlling quality), then passed into the UnivQuan (which converts the latent representation into a quantized latent representation). The instant claims state “deriving a set of selected elements of the quantized latent representation”; the attention module points out important elements, or selected elements with the importance map; then at the UnivQuan stage, the selected elements are selected, or derived, at this point. After the UnivQuan stage, these (which includes the selected elements) are passed into a process that involves the Asymmetry Gaussian Entropy Model, which handles entropy encoding (or entropy coding); do note there is another entropy model in Figure 6, along with encoding/decoding sections. In summary, the gain unit helps with controlling quality (or information loss), which includes the selected elements (because of the importance map), and then entropy encoding is applied.
Applicant makes further arguments on pg 10, last two paragraphs, reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, as stated earlier, and with Figure 6, the gain unit is used, which is then passed into quantization, and then passed into entropy encoding. The gain unit is part of the process of entropy encoding.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Applicant makes the following argument on pg 12, paragraph 1, reproduced below:
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant appears to summarize the Li method and state that Li does not appear to have the limitations from claim 1. Evidence doesn’t appear to be shown, but hinted at, similar as to the why; in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner will address some of the statements. Applicant’s summary of Li discloses selected elements of the quantized latent representation (“which portions of binary codes are retained or trimmed”); “binary codes” are the quantized latent representations, “which portions” shows selected elements. Entropy coding (or entropy encoding), is taught in Section 3.1.3 (¶1) of Li: “the code length after quantization is spatially invariant, and entropy coding is then used”. Further, “quantized latent representation” doesn’t appear to be specifically defined in the specifications, nor in the claims. One with ordinary skill in the art would guess that these are the binary codes so that entropy coding may be done to encode and predict the entropy pattern in the binary code, otherwise, entropy coding would not work at all.
The remaining dependent claims rely upon the independent claims, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Accordingly, the claims, as they are currently written, do not place the instant application into an allowable state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 14-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cui (“Asymmetric Gained Deep Image Compression With Continuous Rate Adaptation”, Aug 2022).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Cui teaches A method for image encoding (Cui, pg 1, column 2, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
, “Novel image compression framework, AG-VAE” is being interpreted as involving image encoding [for claim 1] and decoding [for claims 8 and 15]), comprising:
generating a latent representation using an input image (Cui, pg 3, column 1, Section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
. “We taken one image as input of the encoder to obtain its latent representation”);
generating a quantized latent representation (Cui, pg 3, column 1, Section 3.1, ¶2-3, reproduced below:
. “Quantization loss of the latent representation” is being interpreted as involving “generating a quantized latent representation”) by performing adaptive quantization on the latent representation (Cui, pg 3, column 1, see Section 3.1, ¶2-3 image above: “scale the latent representation flexibly” is being interpreted as involving “adaptive quantization on the latent representation”);
deriving a set of selected elements of the quantized latent representation (Cui, see Section 3.1 images above for full context, but ¶1 cites: “We can conclude that the channels’ importance varies and can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality”. “Importance varies” shows a set of selected elements, the importance values. When combined with the “scale the latent representation flexibly” from ¶2 and the “quantization loss” from ¶3, shows “quantized latent representation”); and
generating encoded information of the selected elements by performing entropy encoding on the set of the selected elements (Cui, pg 1 column 2 last paragraph to pg 2 column lines1-4, reproduced below:
. “Asymmetric Gaussian entropy model” is being interpreted as involving entropy encoding. As the Cui framework does encoding and decoding, as see in Figure 1 text. Further. Section 3.5 shows the entropy model generates encoded information [“estimate the distribution of the latent representation”]), wherein
wherein the encoded information of the selected elements (Cui, pg 5, Fig 6, “Attention Module”, which is mentioned in reference 36, uses an importance map that obtains selected elements) is generated using an entropy-model (Cui, Figure 6, “Asymmetry Gaussian Entropy Model” is being interpreted as an example entropy-model that encodes information) parameter for a specific target quality level (Cui, pg 3, Section 3.2, ¶1: “By scaling the y to different intervals channel wisely, the gain unit can adjust the channel redundancy, thus control information loss of the quantization process effectively”. “Information loss” is being interpreted to involve quality, as the scaling affects reconstruction quality (Section 3.1). “Controlling information loss” is being interpreted to involve a “parameter for a specific target quality level”).
Regarding claim 2, Cui teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the quantized latent representation is generated for a specific target quality level (Cui, pg 3, section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
“can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality” is being interpreted to involve “a specific target quality level”).
Regarding claim 7, Cui teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the entropy-model parameter includes a scale parameter for the specific target quality level (Cui, section 3.1, ¶1, reproduced below:
. “can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality” is being interpreted as “a specific target quality level”. The “channels’ importance varies” is being interpreted as “a parameter” that can be scaled) or a mean parameter for the specific target quality level.
Claims 9 and 16 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 2 discussed above.
Claims 14 and 20 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 7 discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, in view of Li (“Learning Convolutional Networks for Content-weighted Image Compression”, 2017).
Regarding claim 3, Cui teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the set of the selected elements (Cui, see Section 3.1 images above for full context, but ¶1 cites: “We can conclude that the channels’ importance varies and can be scaled to control the reconstruction quality”. “Importance varies” shows a set of selected elements, the importance values. When combined with the “scale the latent representation flexibly” from ¶2 and the “quantization loss” from ¶3, shows “quantized latent representation”)
However, Cui does not appear to explicitly teach 3D binary mask; though does teach importance values as the Li reference does.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Li teaches
is determined using a 3D binary mask (Li, pg 4, column 2, full paragraphs 1-3, reproduced below:
. The “importance mask” with three-dimensions n x h x w, is being interpreted as involving a “3D binary mask”. Equation 5 shows the binary nature of the importance mask).
Cui and Li are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to learned image compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image compression with importance values (as taught by Cui) to include a 3D binary mask (as taught by Li) because the combination provides an improvement to image compression (Li, abstract). Further, Cui teaches 3D latent representation (Cui, section 3.1, line 5).
Claims 10 and 17 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 3 discussed above.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, as modified by Li, in view of Balle (“Variational image compression with a scale hyperprior”, 2018).
Regarding claim 4, Cui teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the 3D binary mask is generated (Li, pg 4, column 2, full paragraphs 1-3, reproduced below:
. The “importance mask” with three-dimensions n x h x w, is being interpreted as involving a “3D binary mask”. Equation 5 shows the binary nature of the importance mask).
However, Cui and Li do not appear to specifically teach hyper-decoder.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Balle teaches
using output of a specific layer of a hyper-decoder (Balle, pg 6, Figure 4, reproduced below:
”arithmetic decoder” is being interpreted as hyper-decoder since the right side of Figure 4 is the hyperprior model. The hyperprior model is being interpreted as outputting, note the z leading to the Q out of the specific layer from the hyperprior model at the end).
Cui, Li, and Balle are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to learned image compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image compression with importance values, modified to have a 3D binary mask (as taught by Cui and Li) to include an output of a specific layer of a hyper-decoder (as taught by Balle) because the combination provides an improvement to image compression (Balle, abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Balle teaches The method of claim 4, wherein a hyperprior is input to the hyper-decoder (Balle, pg 6, Figure 4, reproduced below:
”arithmetic decoder” is being interpreted as hyper-decoder since the right side of Figure 4 is the hyperprior model. The hyperprior is input into the hyper-decoder on the right side).
Cui, Li, and Balle are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to learned image compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image compression with importance values, modified to have a 3D binary mask (as taught by Cui and Li) to include the hyperprior as input to the hyper-decoder (as taught by Balle) because the combination provides an improvement to image compression (Balle, abstract).
Claims 11 and 18 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 4 discussed above.
Claim 12 is/are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 5 discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al (“Residual Non-Local Attention Networks for Image Restoration”, 2019) discloses entropy encoding of selected elements (interpreted from attention networks).
Qian et al (‘Entroformer: A Transformer-Based Entropy Model for Learned Image Compression”, 2022) discloses entropy encoding of selected elements (interpreted from attention networks).
/J.B.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667