DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/20226 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nas in view of Foti does not disclose the specific limitation of
“determining whether to register the UE with the first visited network based on whether the first list indicates that the first visited network is associated with a first network capability, wherein the first network capability is a network capability that is requested by the UE” (Remarks: Page 10-11).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to assert that due to the broadness of the claim language, Nas does disclose the limitation of,
determining whether to register the UE with the first visited network based on whether the first list indicates that the first visited network is associated with a first network capability, wherein the first network capability is a network capability that is requested by the UE (Nas: [0030]: a roaming PLMN roaming list that includes a listing of preferred VPLMNs, wherein the preferred PLMN roaming list can be based on phone capabilities such as preferred technology capability like W-CDMA or GSM).
Therefore, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance, and are still rejected as shown below.
Furthermore, Examiner would like to suggest Applicant to file the correct Automated Interview Request (AIR) form, or Applicant may also contact Examiner directly via Examiner’s office phone number to set up a telephonic interview. Thank you.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nas (US 2011/0217979) in view of Foti et al. (US 2024/0284320; priority date: 9/7/2022; hereinafter Foti).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Nas discloses a method for bringing network capability awareness to steering of roaming, the method comprising:
providing, in a home network, a first list of visited networks, wherein the first list includes visited networks, and the first list associates the visited networks with corresponding network capabilities of the respective visited networks ([0030]: providing a preferred PLMN roaming list containing preferred VPLMNs along with the network capabilities; [0030]: updating preferred PLMN roaming list while MS under HPLMN);
providing, in user equipment (UE), a roaming partners list (RPL) that includes a plurality of visited networks arranged in order of priority with a first visited network having priority over other visited networks in the plurality of visited networks ([0030]: a roaming PLMN roaming list that includes a listing of preferred VPLMNs; [0045]: being able to update to a more preferred VPLMN);
receiving, at the first visited network, a registration request from the UE, wherein registration request is a request to register the UE with the first visited network [(0031]: being able to register with the VPLMN); and
determining whether to register the UE with the first visited network based on whether the first list indicates that the first visited network is associated with a first network capability, wherein the first network capability is a network capability that is requested by the UE ([0030]: the preferred PLMN roaming list can be based on phone capabilities) .
Nas discloses all the limitations of the claim but is unclear about the visited network list being organized with a certain priority;
However, Foti does disclose the said feature of wherein the visited network list being organized with a certain priority ([0094]-[0111]: wherein the UE capabilities are determined to be able to handle a prioritized list of VPLMNs according to the Steering of Roaming functionality).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Foti’s disclosure to provide better prioritization of VPLMNs to roam to.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Nas in view of Foti discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, from the UE to the first visited network, the registration request that includes an indication that the first network capability is being requested by the UE ([0094]-[0111]: wherein the UE capabilities are determined to be able to handle a prioritized list of VPLMNs according to the Steering of Roaming functionality);
receiving, at the home network, an authentication request from the first visited network, wherein the authentication request indicates that the first network capability is being requested ([0094]-[0111]: wherein the UE capabilities are determined to be able to handle a prioritized list of VPLMNs according to the Steering of Roaming functionality);
comparing, at the home network, the first network capability to the network capabilities in the first list ([0094]-[0111]: wherein the UE capabilities are determined to be able to handle a prioritized list of VPLMNs according to the Steering of Roaming functionality); and
determining, based on the comparison, whether the first visited network supports the first network capability, and generating thereby a determination result ([0094]-[0111]: wherein the UE capabilities are determined to be able to handle a prioritized list of VPLMNs according to the Steering of Roaming functionality).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Nas discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining whether the first visited network supports the first network capability is based on comparing the first network capability to the network capabilities in the first list to determine whether the first network capability matches one or more network capabilities in the first list that are associated with the visited network ([0029]-[0030], [0032]: the MS may register to a preferred network based on the list of preferred PLMN which includes network capability; [0032]: the preferred list is customized to the particular subscriber capabilities);.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Das discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, when the determination result is that the first visited network supports the first network capability, the method further comprises:
sending, to the first visited network, an acceptance of the registration request ([0031]-[0031]: UE registering to the VPLMN); and
registering the UE with the first visited network ([0031]-[0031]: UE registering to the VPLMN).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Das discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, when the determination result is that the first visited network does not support the first network capability, the method further comprises:
sending, to the first visited network, an instruction for the UE to reorder the plurality of visited network in the RPL such that one or more other visited network that are determined by the comparison to the first list to support the first network capability are prioritized ahead of the first visited network ([0033]-[0036]: updating the preferred roaming list); and
registering the UE with a second visited network that is in a highest priority in the reordered RPL ([0033]-[0036]: updating and registering to the new preferred roaming list).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Das discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the first visited network to the UE, network-capability information indicating which of the visited networks in the first list are associated with which network capabilities ([0029]-[0030], [0032]: the MS may register to a preferred network based on the list of preferred PLMN which includes network capability; [0032]: the preferred list is customized to the particular subscriber capabilities);
determining that the UE wants a first network capability ([0029]-[0030], [0032]: the MS may register to a preferred network based on the list of preferred PLMN which includes network capability; [0032]: the preferred list is customized to the particular subscriber capabilities); and
comparing, at the UE, the first network capability to the received network-capability information to determine whether the first visited network supports the first network capability, and generating thereby a determination result ([0029]-[0030], [0032]: the MS may register to a preferred network based on the list of preferred PLMN which includes network capability; [0032]: the preferred list is customized to the particular subscriber capabilities).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Das discloses the method of claim 6, when the determination result is that the first visited network supports the first network capability, the method further comprises: registering the UE with the first visited network ([0029]-[0030], [0032]: the MS may register to a preferred network based on the list of preferred PLMN which includes network capability; [0032]: the preferred list is customized to the particular subscriber capabilities).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Das discloses the method of claim 6, wherein, when the determination result is that the first visited network does not support the first network capability, the method further comprises:
reordering the RPL such that an other visited network that supports the first network capability is moved to a top of the RPL and is thereby prioritized ahead of the first visited network; and registering the UE with the other visited network ([0033]-[0036]: updating and registering to the new preferred roaming list).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Das in view of Foti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first network capability is selected from the group consisting of a time sensitive network (TSN) feature, an access traffic steering (Foti: [0094]-[0111]: wherein the UE capabilities are determined to be able to handle a prioritized list of VPLMNs according to the Steering of Roaming functionality), switching and splitting (ATSSS) feature, an ATSSS lower layer (ATSSS-LL) feature, a voice over WiFi (VoWiFi) feature, an ethernet protocol data unit (PDU) feature, a multi-path transmission control protocol (MPTCP), an MPTCP Proxy feature, a fine timing measurement (FTM) feature, and a non-regulatory location services feature.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Foti’s disclosure to provide better prioritization of VPLMNs to roam to.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Das discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
registering the UE with the first visited network; after registering that the UE with the first visited network, signaling, at the UE, that based on the first list the first visited network does not support the first network capability; reordering the RPL such that an other visited network that supports the first network capability is moved to a top of the RPL and is thereby prioritized ahead of the first visited network; deregistering the UE with the first visited network; and registering the UE with the other visited network ([0033]-[0036]: updating and registering to the new preferred roaming list when the current network is not preferred).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644