DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response dated 8/27/26 is acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kersten (“Online and On-Board Battery Impedance Estimation of Battery Cells, Modules or Packs in a Reconfigurable Battery System or Multilevel Inverter”, published in IECON 2020 The 46th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, October 18-21, 2020, previously cited).1 2 Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kersten teaches a reconfigurable battery system and method, comprising: one or more battery clusters each having one or more switching devices and one or more battery cells (Section II: battery packs); and an integrated controller (Section V-B: controller) configured to: transmit, from the integrated controller to the one or more switching devices associated with the one or more battery cells, one or more signals (Section IV-B: the voltage signals)3 to generate a time-varying output current having a waveform (Section IV-A); measure a time-varying voltage in response to the time-varying output current being applied to a load (Section IV-A); and calculate an impedance based on the time-varying output current and the time-varying voltage at the frequency (Section V-A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited art fails to disclose all limitations of the claims. Applicant’s Remarks, pages 5-7. In particular, Applicant argues that Kersten fails to disclose “transmit, from the integrated controller to the one or more switching devices associated with the one or more battery cells, one or more signals to generate a time-varying output current having a waveform” as recited in claim 1. Id. at 5-6. However, Section IV-B of Kersten discloses a voltage signal which serves as the signal from the controller as recited in the claims. As a result, Kersten teaches this limitation and anticipates the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 See Non-patent literature dated 5/28/26.
2 In addition to the cited portions, please see also the associated figures.
3 See also additional discussion below.
4 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.