DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 11 and 13 – 20 are pending. Claim 12 is allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the housing” in line 11. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “housing” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “the housing of the bolt tensioning piston”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the housing” in line 10. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “housing” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “the housing of the bolt tensioning piston”.
Claim 4 further recites the limitation “the housing” in line 22. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “housing” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “the housing of the bolt tensioning piston”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “plurality of O-ring supports” in line 2. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “plurality of O-ring supports” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “plurality of O-ring supports of the flange housing”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “plurality of through holes” in line 2. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “plurality of through holes” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “plurality of through holes of the flange housing”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the housing” in line 15. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “housing” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “the housing of the bolt support retainer”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the housing” in line 11. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “housing” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “the housing of the bolt retainer bushing”.
Claim 20 further recites the limitation “the housing” on page 10 line 27. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear as to which “housing” is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “the housing of the bolt tensioning piston”.
Claims 15 – 19 are further rejected as dependents of claims 13 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travis et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0075741 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Travis teaches a hydraulic tension adaptor (Fig. 1) comprising a flange housing (Annotated Fig. 1) and a bolt tensioning piston (Annotated Fig. 1); the flange housing (Annotated Fig. 1) is a T-shaped ring gasket (Fig. 1) comprising: a rim (Annotated Fig. 1); a center hole (Annotated Fig. 1); and a barrel (Annotated Fig. 1); the bolt tensioning piston comprising a housing (Annotated Fig. 1) and an aperture (Annotated Fig. 1); the rim (Annotated Fig. 1) of the flange housing (Annotated Fig. 1) is adjacent to the barrel (Annotated Fig. 1) wherein the rim (Annotated Fig. 1) is a disk- shaped member atop the barrel (Annotated Fig. 1), wherein the barrel (Annotated Fig. 1) is an elongated tubular member extending perpendicularly from the rim (Annotated Fig. 1); the center hole traverses through the flange housing (Annotated Fig. 1); the housing of the bolt tensioning piston is a disk-shaped member (Annotated Fig. 1)l whereby the aperture is a through hole concentrically traversing the bolt tensioning piston (Annotated Fig. 1); whereby the bolt tensioning piston (Annotated Fig. 1) is located proximally upon the barrel of the flange housing (Annotated Fig. 1).
Travis does not explicitly teach the flange housing with a plurality of ring grooves; and the barrel of the flange housing traversing through the aperture of the bolt tensioning piston as the device of Travis teaches an integral unit and the instant application teaches the individual components connected.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Travis)][AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Travis)]
[AltContent: textbox (Instant Application)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis to further include the flange housing with a plurality of ring grooves; and the barrel of the flange housing traversing through the aperture of the bolt tensioning piston, as claimed, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 2, Travis teaches the hydraulic tension adaptor (Fig. 1) further comprising a bolt support retainer (connector, 50) wherein said bolt support retainer (50) is a threaded flange (Fig. 1) comprising a bore (bore, 20) comprising internal threads (threaded end, 29); the housing of the bolt tensioning piston (Annotated Fig. 1) further comprising a top surface and a bottom surface (Annotated Fig. 1); wherein the top surface is oppositely parallel to the bottom surface (Annotated Fig. 1) ; and the bottom surface of the housing comprising a retainer recess (Annotated Fig. 1) wherein said recess houses at least a portion of the bolt support retainer (50).
Travis does not explicitly teach the barrel of the flange housing comprising external threads located on an outwardly facing surface of the barrel; the bolt support retainer threadedly engaging with the external threads of the barrel of the flange housing as the device of Travis teaches an integral unit and the instant application teaches the individual components connected.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis to further include the barrel of the flange housing comprising external threads located on an outwardly facing surface of the barrel; the bolt support retainer threadedly engaging with the external threads of the barrel of the flange housing, as claimed, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 3, Travis teaches the hydraulic tension adaptor (Fig. 1) of claim 2 as discussed above.
Travis does not explicitly teach the top surface of the of the bolt tensioning piston comprises a cutout circumferentially about the aperture wherein said cutout receives a secondary piston ring; the secondary piston ring is fitted about the circumference of the barrel of the flange housing and sits within the cutout of the bolt tensioning piston, as the device of Travis teaches an integral unit and the instant application teaches the individual components connected.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis to further include the top surface of the of the bolt tensioning piston comprises a cutout circumferentially about the aperture wherein said cutout receives a secondary piston ring; the secondary piston ring is fitted about the circumference of the barrel of the flange housing and sits within the cutout of the bolt tensioning piston, as claimed, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Travis teaches the hydraulic tension adaptor (Fig. 1) further comprising a plurality of stud assemblies (Figs. 2 – 4) wherein each of the plurality of stud assemblies comprise: a bolt retainer bushing (stud pistons, 60); a grub screw (70); a stud (80); and a nut (92); the bolt retainer bushing (60) is a housing comprising a cavity (68), a plurality of O-ring supports (Paragraph [0022]), and a shaft (64); the cavity (68) extends into the housing of the bolt retainer bushing (60); the shaft (64) extends distally from the housing (Fig. 2); the plurality of O-ring supports are a plurality of grooves wherein a plurality of O-rings are secured (Paragraph [0022]); the stud (80) is a threaded rod comprising a first end and a second end (Fig. 4) whereby the first end is opposite from the second end (Fig. 4); the first end of the stud being housed within the cavity (68) of the bolt retainer bushing (60); the grub screw (70) threadedly securing the bolt retainer bushing (60) to the stud (80; Fig. 1); the bolt tensioning piston (Annotated Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of slots (26) extending from the bottom surface of the housing (Fig. 1) the plurality of stud assemblies (Fig. 1) are received by the plurality of slots of the bolt tensioning piston (26) whereby the shaft (80) of the bolt retainer bushing is inserted into the plurality of slots (26; Fig. 1); and the nut (92) threadedly engaged, proximally, on the stud (Fig. 5).
Travis does not explicitly teach the bolt support retainer further comprising a top face and a plurality of through holes, wherein said through holes traverse the bolt support retainer from the top face wherein the plurality of slots are aligned with the plurality of through holes of the bolt retainer; traverses the plurality of through holes of the bolt support retainer, as the device of Travis teaches an integral unit and the instant application teaches the individual components connected.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis to further include the bolt support retainer further comprising a top face and a plurality of through holes, wherein said through holes traverse the bolt support retainer from the top face wherein the plurality of slots are aligned with the plurality of through holes of the bolt retainer; traverses the plurality of through holes of the bolt support retainer, as the device of Travis teaches an integral unit and the instant application teaches the individual components connected, as claimed, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 9, Travis teaches the hydraulic tension adaptor (Fig. 1) wherein the bolt tensioning piston (Annotated Fig. 1) further comprises an outer face (shown @14) whereby the outer face is the outwardly facing circumferential surface of the bolt tensioning piston (Fig. 1); the outer face comprising an at least one bleed port (Paragraph [0029]); and the at least one bleed port removably receiving an at least one plug (24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowed.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Travis et al teaches a hydraulic tension adapter, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious a retainer ring wherein said retainer ring is a circular collar comprising an outward surface and an inward surface; the outward surface being the outwardly facing circumferential surface of the collar; the inward surface being the inwardly facing circumferential surface of the collar, opposite the outward surface; the inward surface comprising threads whereby said threads of the retainer ring engage with an external thread of the bolt support retainer; and the external threads of the bolt support retainer being located on an outwardly facing surface of the threaded flange, as the reference of Travis is an integral unit thus fails to teach the adaptor, as claimed.
Claims 6 – 8 and 10 – 11 are further objected to as dependents of claim 5.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Travis et al teaches a hydraulic tension adapter, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious a retainer ring wherein said retainer ring is a circular collar comprising an outward surface and an inward surface; the outward surface being the outwardly facing circumferential surface of the collar; the inward surface being the inwardly facing circumferential surface of the collar, opposite the outward surface; the inward surface comprising threads whereby said threads of the retainer ring engage with an external thread of the bolt support retainer; and the external threads of the bolt support retainer being located on an outwardly facing surface of the threaded flange, as the reference of Travis is an integral unit thus fails to teach the adaptor, as claimed.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723