DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/463,151 filed on September 7th, 2023.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 01/14/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 12 – 20 are canceled.
Claims 1 – 11 and 21 – 29 are pending.
Claims 7, 8, and 10 are objected to.
Claims 1 – 6, 9, 11, and 21 – 29 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election / Restriction
In response to the Requirement for Election / Restriction, Applicant elects Group I, claims 1-11, without traverse, and without prejudice. Thus, claims 12 – 20 are canceled herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 21, claim 21 recites the limitation “identify a transmission received from a base station, the transmission to trigger a non-preamble uplink (UL) transmission from the UE” on line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 21 is an independent claim and there was no mention of any UE prior to this claim limitation highlighted above. It is not clear which UE the limitation above is referring to.
For examination purposes, the claim limitation will be understood as “identify a transmission received from a base station, the transmission to trigger a non-preamble uplink (UL) transmission from a UE”.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitations on line 4 appear to be missing a linking word. The limitations recite “identifying the non-preamble UL transmission received from the UE, a UL synchronization state of the UE…”. The underlined section appears to be missing a linking word. Applicant should consider revising the limitation as presented in order to avoid unclear claim limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 11, 21 – 25, and 27 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. [WO 2019213892 A1] hereinafter Xu-3892.
Regarding claim 1, Xu-3892 teaches a method comprising:
identifying a transmission received from a base station, the transmission to trigger a non-preamble uplink (UL) transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein an element of the cellular network (e.g., a base station) activates SP-CSI reporting on PUSCH for UE 106 (i.e., the UE receives transmission from the base station that triggers the UE to send SP-CSI report on PUSCH (i.e., wherein PUSCH is a type of non-preamble uplink transmission)));
identifying that a UL synchronization state of a user equipment (UE) is out of synchronization prior to the non-preamble UL transmission being transmitted by the UE (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 stores information indicating the configuration of the SP-CSI reports on PUSCH and that the SP-CSI are activated. Based on TAT expiry, UE 106 goes out-of-sync (i.e., at the point when the UE goes out-of-sync, it still has SP-CSI report on PUSCH configuration stored for subsequent transmissions. Therefore, the UE realizes it is out-of-sync before the next configured transmission of the SP-CSI report)); and
performing a procedure to transmit the non-preamble UL transmission to the base station (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 performs a RACH procedure and re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH (i.e., after the UE discovers it is out-of-sync, it performs a RACH procedure to get back in the in-sync state, then subsequently sends the already scheduled/stored SP-CSI report on PUSCH after the establishing synchronization with the base station)).
Regarding claim 2, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the non-preamble UL transmission comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Xu-3892: ¶ 85, Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein the UE is synchronized with the cellular network for uplink transmissions (e.g., using a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) , Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) , and/or Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), and the SP-CSI is sent on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 3, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein identifying that the UL synchronization state is out of synchronization comprises identifying that the UL synchronization state is out of synchronization at a scheduled time for the non-preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; in view of the base station that configures the SP-CSI report on a periodical patter (e.g., by specifying the periodicity and offset) and based on this activated configuration, the UE 106 sends the SP-CSI reports on PUSCH to the network 100 as shown in Fig. 6. Therefore, if the reports are configured on a periodical pattern, the UE will identify the out of synchronization state at a scheduled time for the non-preamble UL transmission), and wherein performing the procedure comprises to:
generating, for transmission to the base station, a UL synchronization request (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 85, ¶ 88; wherein the UE is configured to re-enter the in-sync state by performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure to acquire initial uplink time alignment for uplink synchronization);
identifying a timing advance command (TAC) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) received from the base station (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein the UE is also configured to re-enter the in-sync state upon receiving a TAC MAC CE from the network);
synchronizing the UE based on the TAC MAC CE to have the UL synchronization state of the UE be in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) . In some embodiments, the duration of the TAT is configured by the cellular network and the TAT is reset when TACs are received by a UE); and
generating, for transmission, the non-preamble UL transmission while the UL synchronization state is in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 4, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the procedure comprises to:
generating, for transmission to the base station, the non-preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH); and
restarting a timing alignment timer (TAT) upon the transmission of the non- preamble UL transmission, the restarting of the TAT to cause the UL synchronization state of the UE to be in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, Fig. 8, ¶ 86, ¶ 102, ¶ 108; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)…wherein the UE re-enters the in-sync state by restarting the TAT (i.e., the UE starts the TAT received in the TAC MAC CE and re-enters the in-sync state before the transmission of the non-preamble UL transmission).
Regarding claim 5, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the procedure comprises to:
restarting a timing alignment timer (TAT) upon expiration of the TAT, the restarting of the TAT to cause the UL synchronization state of the UE to be in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, Fig. 8, ¶ 86, ¶ 102, ¶ 108; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)…wherein the UE re-enters the in-sync state by restarting the TAT (i.e., the UE starts the TAT received in the TAC MAC CE and re-enters the in-sync state before the transmission of the non-preamble UL transmission); and
generating, for transmission to the base station, the non-preamble UL transmission, the non-preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state of the UE is in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 11, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the procedure comprises:
triggering a random access channel (RACH) procedure for UL synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 performs a RACH procedure and re-enters the in-sync state. (i.e., after the UE discovers it is out-of-sync, it performs a RACH procedure to get back in the in-sync state));
synchronizing the UE based on the RACH procedure (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 performs a RACH procedure and re-enters the in-sync state); and
generating, for transmission, the non-preamble UL transmission, the non- preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state is in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 21, Xu-3892 teaches an apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry (Xu-3892: Fig. 3, ¶ 75; in view of Processor(s) 302) to:
identify a transmission received from a base station, the transmission to trigger a non-preamble uplink (UL) transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein an element of the cellular network (e.g., a base station) activates SP-CSI reporting on PUSCH for UE 106 (i.e., the UE receives transmission from the base station that triggers the UE to send SP-CSI report on PUSCH (i.e., wherein PUSCH is a type of non-preamble uplink transmission))) from the UE (Xu-3892: Fig. 3, ¶ 75; in view of UE 106);
identify that a UL synchronization state of the UE is out of synchronization prior to the non-preamble UL transmission being transmitted by the UE (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 stores information indicating the configuration of the SP-CSI reports on PUSCH and that the SP-CSI are activated. Based on TAT expiry, UE 106 goes out-of-sync (i.e., at the point when the UE goes out-of-sync, it still has SP-CSI report on PUSCH configuration stored for subsequent transmissions. Therefore, the UE realizes it is out-of-sync before the next configured transmission of the SP-CSI report)); and
perform a procedure to transmit the non-preamble UL transmission to the base station (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 performs a RACH procedure and re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH (i.e., after the UE discovers it is out-of-sync, it performs a RACH procedure to get back in the in-sync state, then subsequently sends the already scheduled/stored SP-CSI report on PUSCH after the establishing synchronization with the base station)); and
interface circuitry to receive the transmission from the base station (Xu-3892: Fig. 3, ¶ 76-77; in view of connector interface 320, the wireless communication circuitry 330, and the antenna(s) 335).
Regarding claim 22, Xu-3892 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the non-preamble UL transmission comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Xu-3892: ¶ 85, Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein the UE is synchronized with the cellular network for uplink transmissions (e.g., using a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) , Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) , and/or Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), and the SP-CSI is sent on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 23, Xu-3892 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein to identify that the UL synchronization state is out of synchronization comprises to identify that the UL synchronization state is out of synchronization at a scheduled time for the non-preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; in view of the base station that configures the SP-CSI report on a periodical patter (e.g., by specifying the periodicity and offset) and based on this activated configuration, the UE 106 sends the SP-CSI reports on PUSCH to the network 100 as shown in Fig. 6. Therefore, if the reports are configured on a periodical pattern, the UE will identify the out of synchronization state at a scheduled time for the non-preamble UL transmission), and wherein to perform the procedure comprises to:
generate, for transmission to the base station, a UL synchronization request (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 85, ¶ 88; wherein the UE is configured to re-enter the in-sync state by performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure to acquire initial uplink time alignment for uplink synchronization);
identify a timing advance command (TAC) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) received from the base station (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein the UE is also configured to re-enter the in-sync state upon receiving a TAC MAC CE from the network);
synchronize the UE based on the TAC MAC CE to have the UL synchronization state of the UE be in synchronization(Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) . In some embodiments, the duration of the TAT is configured by the cellular network and the TAT is reset when TACs are received by a UE); and
generate, for transmission, the non-preamble UL transmission while the UL synchronization state is in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 24, Xu-3892 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein to perform the procedure comprises to:
generate, for transmission to the base station, the non-preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH); and
restart a timing alignment timer (TAT) upon the transmission of the non-preamble UL transmission, the restart of the TAT to cause the UL synchronization state of the UE to be in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, Fig. 8, ¶ 86, ¶ 102, ¶ 108; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)…wherein the UE re-enters the in-sync state by restarting the TAT (i.e., the UE starts the TAT received in the TAC MAC CE and re-enters the in-sync state before the transmission of the non-preamble UL transmission).
Regarding claim 25, Xu-3892 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein to perform the procedure comprises to:
restart a timing alignment timer (TAT) upon expiration of the TAT, the restart of the TAT to cause the UL synchronization state of the UE to be in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, Fig. 8, ¶ 86, ¶ 102, ¶ 108; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)…wherein the UE re-enters the in-sync state by restarting the TAT (i.e., the UE starts the TAT received in the TAC MAC CE and re-enters the in-sync state before the transmission of the non-preamble UL transmission); and
generate, for transmission to the base station, the non-preamble UL transmission, the non-preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state of the UE is in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 27, Xu-3892 teaches a method comprising:
generating, for transmission to a user equipment (UE) (Xu-3892: Fig. 3, ¶ 75; in view of UE 106), a transmission to trigger a non- preamble uplink (UL) transmission from the UE (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein an element of the cellular network (e.g., a base station) activates SP-CSI reporting on PUSCH for UE 106 (i.e., the UE receives transmission from the base station that triggers the UE to send SP-CSI report on PUSCH (i.e., wherein PUSCH is a type of non-preamble uplink transmission))); and
identifying the non-preamble UL transmission received from the UE (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 performs a RACH procedure and re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH (i.e., after the UE discovers it is out-of-sync, it performs a RACH procedure to get back in the in-sync state, then subsequently sends the already scheduled/stored SP-CSI report on PUSCH after the establishing synchronization with the base station)), a UL synchronization state of the UE being out of synchronization prior to transmission of the non- preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein UE 106 stores information indicating the configuration of the SP-CSI reports on PUSCH and that the SP-CSI are activated. Based on TAT expiry, UE 106 goes out-of-sync (i.e., at the point when the UE goes out-of-sync, it still has SP-CSI report on PUSCH configuration stored for subsequent transmissions. Therefore, the UE realizes it is out-of-sync before the next configured transmission of the SP-CSI report)).
Regarding claim 28, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the non-preamble UL transmission comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Xu-3892: ¶ 85, Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein the UE is synchronized with the cellular network for uplink transmissions (e.g., using a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) , Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) , and/or Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), and the SP-CSI is sent on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 29, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 27, further comprising:
identifying a UL synchronization request received from the UE (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 85, ¶ 88; wherein the UE is configured to re-enter the in-sync state by performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure to acquire initial uplink time alignment for uplink synchronization); and
generating, for transmission to the UE, a timing advance command (TAC) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein the UE is also configured to re-enter the in-sync state upon receiving a TAC MAC CE from the network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. [WO 2019213892 A1] hereinafter Xu-3892, as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. [US 20170325057 A1] hereinafter Zhang-5057.
Regarding claim 6, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the procedure comprises generating, for transmission to the base station, the non-preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Xu-3892 does not explicitly disclose that the non-preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state of the UE is out of synchronization.
Referring to the invention of Zhang-5057, Zhang-5057 teaches that a non-preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state of the UE is out of synchronization (Zhnag-5057: ¶ 98, ¶ 115, ¶ 132, ¶ 179; wherein if the UE already loses uplink synchronization, the UE needs to report the beam identity information by means of a random access process, and adds the beam identity information to a random access message 3 and sends the random access message 3 (i.e., when the UE is out-of-sync with a base station, it can send the beam identity (which is a type of non-preamble UL information) to the base station by sending it along with the Msg3 in a RACH procedure)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of the MSg3 step in a RACH procedure to send a non-preamble uplink information to a base station as taught by Zhang-5057 into the RACH procedure teachings of Xu-3892 in order to avoid unnecessary contention, speed up access, and improve reliability in scenarios where the UE already has scheduled resources or is in a contention-free mode.
Regarding claim 26, Xu-3892 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein to perform the procedure comprises to generate, for transmission to the base station, the non-preamble UL transmission (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Xu-3892 does not explicitly disclose that the non-preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state of the UE is out of synchronization.
Referring to the invention of Zhang-5057, Zhang-5057 teaches that a non-preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state of the UE is out of synchronization (Zhnag-5057: ¶ 98, ¶ 115, ¶ 132, ¶ 179; wherein if the UE already loses uplink synchronization, the UE needs to report the beam identity information by means of a random access process, and adds the beam identity information to a random access message 3 and sends the random access message 3 (i.e., when the UE is out-of-sync with a base station, it can send the beam identity (which is a type of non-preamble UL information) to the base station by sending it along with the Msg3 in a RACH procedure)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of the MSg3 step in a RACH procedure to send a non-preamble uplink information to a base station as taught by Zhang-5057 into the RACH procedure teachings of Xu-3892 in order to avoid unnecessary contention, speed up access, and improve reliability in scenarios where the UE already has scheduled resources or is in a contention-free mode.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. [WO 2019213892 A1] hereinafter Xu-3892, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. [US 20070201397 A1] hereinafter Zhang-1397.
Regarding claim 9, Xu-3892 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the procedure comprises:
identifying a timing advance command (TAC) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) received from the base station (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein the UE is also configured to re-enter the in-sync state upon receiving a TAC MAC CE from the network);
synchronizing the UE based on the TAC MAC CE to have the UL synchronization state of the UE be in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 86-88; wherein a Timing Alignment Timer (TAT) controls UE synchronization state. The TAT may be started based on receiving a timing advance command (TA) from the network, e.g., via a Timing Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) . In some embodiments, the duration of the TAT is configured by the cellular network and the TAT is reset when TACs are received by a UE); and
generating, for transmission, the non-preamble UL transmission, the non- preamble UL transmission to be transmitted while the UL synchronization state is in synchronization (Xu-3892: Fig. 6, ¶ 97; wherein subsequently, UE 106… re-enters the in-sync state. Based on the previously stored SP-CSI configuration, UE 106 then sends an SP-CSI report on PUSCH).
Xu-3892 does not explicitly disclose generating, for transmission to the base station, a UL synchronization request, the UL synchronization request for transmission via layer 1 (L1), layer 2 (L2), or layer 3 (L3) signaling.
Referring to the invention of Zhang-1397, Zhang-1397 teaches generating, for transmission to the base station, a UL synchronization request, the UL synchronization request for transmission via layer 1 (L1), layer 2 (L2), or layer 3 (L3) signaling (Zhang-1397: Fig. 1, ¶ 34; wherein the WTRU has buffered (user) data to transmit in to a Node-B (step 105), but needs to have a scheduling grant for uplink data transmission… then the WTRU transmits a full-version uplink scheduling request to the Node-B as L1/L2 control signaling or higher layer signaling… when at least a predetermined number of sub-frames elapsed since the last time a full-version UL scheduling request was transmitted and the WTRU has a scheduling grant).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the uplink scheduling request via L1/L2 teachings of Zhang-1397 into the uplink synchronization process as taught by Xu-3892 in order to reduce interruption and improve responsiveness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “initiating countdown of a timer at a same time that a countdown of a timing alignment timer (TAT) is initiated, a countdown time of the timer being shorter than a countdown time of the TAT, wherein identifying that the UL is out of synchronization comprises identifying an expiration of the timer that occurs prior to transmission of the non-preamble UL transmission”.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “identifying a time that a timing alignment timer (TAT) is to expire; identifying a window including a certain amount of time prior to the expiration of the TAT; and identifying that the non-preamble UL transmission has not been transmitted prior to the window”.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the UL synchronization state that is determined to be out of synchronization corresponds to a first timing advance group (TAG), and wherein transmitting the UL synchronization request comprises transmitting the UL synchronization request via a second TAG”.
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao e al. [US 20200127726 A1]: System and Method for Allocating Resources. Gao teaches a UE that performs resynchronization procedure when it is out of sync with the base station.
Suzuki et al. [US 20140086219 A1]: Uplink Timing Maintenance Upon Time Alignment Timer Expiry. Suzuki teaches applying a TAC MAC CE for resuming uplink synchronization and TAT expiry processes.
Bergquist et al. [US 20190007993 A1]: Signaling Reduction for Out-Of-Sync Users. Bergquist teaches continuous monitoring of the synchronization state of the UE and sending TAC MAC CE for the UE to restart the TAT and re-sync with the network.
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414