DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the applicant's amendment submitted on 05/05/2026. Claims 1-6 and 8-18 have been amended. Claims 7 and 19-20 have been previously canceled. Thus, claims 1-6, 8-18 and 21-23 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 21 and 22, line 1, it is suggested that the limitation recites “The electronic of claim 1” should be changed to --The wireless connector of claim 1-- to avoid antecedence basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormack et al. (U.S Publication No. 20140273837 A1) in view of Gundel et al. (U.S Publication No. 20170250726 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McCormack discloses a wireless connector (which is an electronic device may include a mating assembly 1300 that retains one or both of first electronic insert 1308 and second electronic insert 1324 in mutual alignment, see fig. 13B, and abstract) comprising:
a first antenna (which is a first transmitter chip 1314 or a first receiver chip 1316) on a first substrate (which is a first PCB 1312), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0079]);
a second antenna (which is a second transmitter chip 1328 or a second receiver chip 1330) on a second substrate (which is a second PCB 1326), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0080]);
a first dielectric layer (which are a first dielectric cover 1318) disposed between the first antenna (1316 or 1314) and the second antenna (1328 or 1320), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0079]); and
a second dielectric layer (which is a second dielectric cover 1332) disposed between the first dielectric layer (1318) and the second antenna (1328 or 1320), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0080]).
McCormack does not explicitly disclose a first dielectric layer having a first dielectric constant, and a second dielectric layer having a second dielectric constant different than the first dielectric constant.
Gundel, on the other hand, discloses a wireless connector including a first antenna (210a and 220a) on the first substrate (201), a second antenna (210b and 220b) on the second substrate (202), (see fig. 2 and 3, paragraph [0056] and [0058]). FIG. 28 is a diagram that illustrates how different types of materials may be used to form a noise mitigation/signal enhancement structure. FIG. 28 shows wireless connectors 2810, 2820, 2830, and 2840, communicatively coupling PCBs 2801 and 2802. Various types of materials may be used for the first material 2805 and the second material 2806 to achieve noise mitigation/signal enhancement. For example, in some embodiments, the first material 2805 may be a relatively higher loss material and the second material 2806 may be a relatively lower loss material. In another example, the first material 2805 may be a relatively lower permittivity and lower loss material and the second material 2806 may be a relatively higher permittivity and higher loss material. In another example the first material 2805 may be a conductive material, e.g. structured as a conductive wall, and the second material 2806 may be a dielectric material. In another example, the first material 2805 may be air, and the second material 2806 may be a relatively high permittivity, relatively low loss material (see paragraph [0106]). Gundel further discloses in some cases, the material of the noise mitigation/signal enhancement structures can include materials having two or more properties, e.g., two dielectric constants. One of the materials may be more suitable for noise mitigation (keeping signals out generated by sources outside of the wireless connector outside the connector space) and another material may be more suitable for signal enhancement (keeping signals generated by the communicating chips of the wireless connector within the connector space). For example, one material used in a noise mitigation/signal enhancement stricture may comprise a low loss, high dielectric constant to act as waveguide for the signal within the wireless connector space. A second material may be a high loss material, a low loss material with low dielectric constant or even a conductor to help isolate the channels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the wireless connector as taught by McCormack with the wireless connector as taught by Gundel includes a first dielectric layer having a first dielectric constant, and a second dielectric layer having a second dielectric constant different than the first dielectric constant (see paragraph [0099] by Gundel).
The modification provides one of the materials may be more suitable for noise mitigation (keeping signals out generated by sources outside of the wireless connector outside the connector space) and another material may be more suitable for signal enhancement (keeping signals generated by the communicating chips of the wireless connector within the connector space). And one material used in a noise mitigation/signal enhancement stricture may comprise a low loss, high dielectric constant to act as waveguide for the signal within the wireless connector space; a second material may be a high loss material, a low loss material with low dielectric constant or even a conductor to help isolate the channels (see paragraph [0099] by Gundel).
Regarding claim 2, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric layer (1318) is disposed on the first substrate (a first PCB 1312) and overlaps the first antenna (1316 or 1314), (see fig. 13B, and paragraph [0079] by McCormack).
Regarding claim 3, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 2, wherein the second dielectric layer (1332) is disposed on the first substrate (a second PCB 1326) and overlaps the second antenna (1328 or 1330), (see fig. 13B, and paragraph [0079] by McCormack), (see fig. 13B, and paragraph [0080] by McCormack).
Regarding claim 4, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector claim 3, further comprising an air gap between the first dielectric layer (1318) and the second dielectric layer (1332), (see fig. 13B by McCormack).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 3, except for specifying that further comprising a first angled layer on the first dielectric layer; and a second angled layer on the second dielectric layer; wherein the first angled layer has a first surface contacting the first dielectric layer and a second surface opposite the first surface and non-parallel to the first surface, the second angled layer has a third surface contacting the second dielectric layer and a fourth surface opposite the third surface and non-parallel to the third surface, the first surface is parallel to the third surface, and the second surface is parallel to the fourth surface.
However, Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the wireless connector as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel by arrange a first angled layer on the first dielectric layer; and arrange a second angled layer on the second dielectric layer; and the first angled layer has a first surface contacting the first dielectric layer and a second surface opposite the first surface and non-parallel to the first surface, the second angled layer has a third surface contacting the second dielectric layer and a fourth surface opposite the third surface and non-parallel to the third surface, the first surface is parallel to the third surface, and the second surface is parallel to the fourth surface, in order to redirect wireless signals between the first and second antennas to allow the first and second substrates to be offset within the device. Since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric layer has a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the first surface is parallel to the second surface, the first surface faces the first substrate, the second dielectric layer has a third surface that contacts the second surface and has a fourth surface opposite the third surface (see fig. 13B by McCormack).
McCormack in view of Gundel does not explicitly disclose the fourth surface is non-parallel with respect to the first, second, and third surfaces.
However, Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the wireless connector as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel by arrange the fourth surface is non-parallel with respect to the first, second, and third surfaces, in order to redirect wireless signals between the first and second antennas to allow the first and second substrates to be offset within the device. Since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 9, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 8, further comprising: a third dielectric layer disposed between the second dielectric layer and the second antenna; and a fourth dielectric layer disposed between the third dielectric layer and the second antenna, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 10, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 9, wherein the third dielectric layer has a fifth surface parallel to the fourth surface and has a sixth surface opposite the fifth surface, the fifth surface is non-parallel to the sixth surface, the fourth dielectric layer has a seventh surface that contacts the sixth surface and an eighth surface opposite the seventh surface, and the eighth surface is parallel to the seventh surface and faces the second substrate, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 11, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 1, further comprising: a first transceiver on the first substrate and communicatively coupled with the first antenna and a first signal trace on the first substrate; a third antenna on the first substrate and communicatively coupled with the first transceiver; a second transceiver on the second substrate and communicatively coupled with the second antenna and a second signal trace on the second substrate; and a fourth antenna on the second substrate and communicatively coupled with the second transceiver, wherein the first antenna and the third antenna are configured to transmit, to the third antenna and the fourth antenna and through the first and second dielectric layers, wireless signals that include data conveyed over the first signal trace (see fig. 2 and 3, paragraph [0004], [0005], and [0056] by Gundel).
Regarding claim 12, McCormack discloses wireless circuitry (which is an electronic device may include an auxiliary circuit providing an operative function, a data signal circuit, and an extremely high frequency (EHF) wireless transmitter, see fig. 13B, and abstract) comprising:
a first substrate (which is a first PCB 1010 in fig. 10B, a first PCB 1024 in fig. 10C, or a first PCB 1312 in fig. 13B, see paragraph [0072], [0073] and [0079]);
a first transceiver (which is a wireless transceiver 1026) on the first printed circuit board (which is the first PCB 1024), (see fig. 10C, paragraph [0073]);
a second substrate (which is a second PCB 1016 in fig. 10B, or a second PCB 1326 in fig. 13B, see paragraph [0072] and [0080]);
a first antenna (1028 or 1030) communicatively coupled with the first transceiver (1026), the first antenna being disposed on the first printed circuit (1024), (see fig. 10C); and
a dielectric layer (which is a dielectric cover 1034) overlapping the first antenna (1028 or 1030), wherein the dielectric layer (1034) has a first surface facing the first printed circuit board (which is a PCB 1024) and a second surface opposite the first surface (see fig. 10C, paragraph [0073]).
McCormack does not explicitly disclose a second transceiver on the second printed circuit board; a second antenna communicatively coupled to the second transceiver, the second antenna being disposed on the second printed circuit board and being laterally offset with respect to the first antenna; and the second surface of the dielectric layer being non-parallel with respect to the first surface.
Gundel, on the other hand, discloses some embodiments are directed to wireless transceiver system that includes first and second PCBs. The first PCB comprises a plurality of first transceivers disposed thereon. Each first transceiver is adapted to modulate a first carrier signal with a first digital signal to generate a first modulated carrier signal and wirelessly transmit the first modulated carrier signal. The second PCB comprises a plurality of second transceivers disposed thereon. Each second transceiver is adapted to modulate a second carrier signal with a second digital signal to generate a second modulated carrier signal and wirelessly transmit the second modulated carrier signal. Each first transceiver corresponds to a different second transceiver and each first transceiver is adapted to wirelessly receive the second modulated signal wirelessly transmitted by the second transceiver corresponding to the first transceiver and demodulate the received second modulated carrier signal to extract the second digital signal. Each second transceiver is adapted to wirelessly receive the first modulated signal wirelessly transmitted by the first transceiver corresponding to the second transceiver and demodulate the received first modulated carrier signal to extract the first digital signal (see paragraph [0004] and [0005]). Gundel also discloses the communication chips 210a, 210b, 220a, 220b may be receiver-transmitter pairs, or both chips may be transceivers. The communication signals exchanged between the communication devices 210a, 210b, 220a, 220b can be transmitted by active electromagnetic radiative coupling from one or more transmit antennas to one or more receive antennas (see paragraph [0056]). In some implementations, a modular wireless connector element may comprise one half of a wireless connector. The modular wireless connector element may include a communication chip, e.g., transmitter, receiver, transceiver, which can be disposed on a modular PCB, along with some means for connecting the PCB of the modular wireless connector element to another PCB (see paragraph [0095]). One or both communicating chips and a wireless connector may be disposed on an extender.
Gundel further discloses electronic device may include an auxiliary circuit providing an operative function, a data signal circuit, and an extremely high frequency (EHF) wireless transmitter (see abstract). Gundel further discloses as illustrated in FIG. 10, one or more extenders 1031a, 1031b may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1010a, 1010b in a wireless connector 1010 are offset from one another on the PCBs; one or more extenders 1032 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1020a, 1020b in a wireless connector 1020 are disposed at right angles to one another, and/or one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the wireless circuitry as taught by McCormack with the wireless circuitry as taught by Gundel having a second transceiver on the second printed circuit board; a second antenna communicatively coupled to the second transceiver, the second antenna being disposed on the second printed circuit board and being laterally offset with respect to the first antenna in order to allow each transceiver in the system is configured to receive signals transmitted by every other transceiver in the system (see paragraph [0005] and [0007] by Gundel).
Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the wireless connector as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel by arrange the second surface of the dielectric layer being non-parallel with respect to the first surface, in order to redirect wireless signals between the first and second antennas to allow the first and second substrates to be offset within the device. Since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 13, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless circuitry of claim 12, except for specifying that wherein the second surface is angled towards the second antenna.
However, Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the electronic device as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel having the second surface is angled towards the second antenna, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 14, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless circuitry of claim 13, further comprising: an additional dielectric layer (which is a second dielectric cover 1332) overlapping the second antenna (1328 or 1330), (see fig. 13B), wherein the additional dielectric layer (1332) has a third surface facing the second printed circuit board and a fourth surface opposite the second surface (see fig. 13B by McCormack).
McCormack in view of Gundel does not explicitly disclose the fourth surface being non-parallel with respect to the third surface.
However, Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the wireless connector as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel by arrange the fourth surface being non-parallel with respect to the third surface, in order to redirect wireless signals between the first and second antennas to allow the first and second substrates to be offset within the device. Since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 15, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless circuitry of claim 14, except for specifying that wherein the third surface is angled towards the first antenna, and is parallel to the second surface, the fourth surface being parallel to the first surface.
However, Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the wireless circuitry as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel having the third surface is angled towards the first antenna, and is parallel to the second surface, the fourth surface being parallel to the first surface, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 16, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless circuitry of claim 12, except for specifying that wherein the first printed circuit board comprises a rigid printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board comprises a flexible printed circuit board.
Gundel further discloses the materials used for the partition or housing are those that can effectively attenuate or shield the signal. The material of the housing can be rigid or flexible and/or can be homogeneous or may comprise a composite material, such as a loaded polymer. One of the materials may be more suitable for noise mitigation (keeping signals out generated by sources outside of the wireless connector outside the connector space) and another material may be more suitable for signal enhancement (keeping signals generated by the communicating chips of the wireless connector within the connector space). For example, one material used in a noise mitigation/signal enhancement stricture may comprise a low loss, high dielectric constant to act as waveguide for the signal within the wireless connector space. . A second material may be a high loss material, a low loss material with low dielectric constant or even a conductor to help isolate the channels (see paragraph [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the wireless circuitry as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel having the first printed circuit board comprises a rigid printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board comprises a flexible printed circuit board, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 17, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless circuitry of claim 12, wherein the first printed circuit board (1312) and the second printed circuit board (1326) are non-overlapping (see fig. 13B by McCormack).
Regarding claim 18, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless circuitry of claim 12, further comprising further comprising: an additional dielectric layer interposed between the dielectric layer and the first antenna, wherein the additional dielectric layer has a third surface facing the first surface and has a fourth surface opposite the third surface and facing the first printed circuit board, the fourth surface being parallel to the third surface, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 21, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector of claim 1, wherein the first substrate comprises a first printed circuit board (which is a first PCB 1312) and the second substrate comprises a second printed circuit board (which is a second PCB 1326), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0079] and [0080] by McCormack).
Regarding claim 22, McCormack in view of Gundel discloses the wireless connector claim 1, wherein the first and second antennas are configured to convey radio-frequency signals at a frequency greater than 60 GHz (see paragraph [0054], [0114] and [0130] by Gundel).
Regarding claim 23, McCormack discloses an apparatus (which is an electronic device may include an auxiliary circuit providing an operative function, a data signal circuit, and an extremely high frequency (EHF) wireless transmitter, see fig. 13B, and abstract) comprising:
a first printed circuit board (which is a first PCB 1312), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0079]);
a second printed circuit board (which is a second PCB 1326), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0080]);
a first antenna (1316 or 1314) on the first printed circuit board (1312), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0079]);
a second antenna (1328 or 1330) on the second printed circuit board (1326), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0080]);
a first dielectric layer (which is a first dielectric cover 1318) on the first antenna (1316 or 1314), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0079]); and
a second dielectric layer (which is a second dielectric cover 1332 on the second antenna (1328 or 13330), (see fig. 13B, paragraph [0080]), wherein
the first antenna (1316 or 1314) is configured to wirelessly communicate with the second antenna (1328 or 1330), (see fig. 13B),
the first dielectric layer (1318) has a first surface that faces the second antenna (1328 or 13330), (see fig. 13B), and
the second dielectric layer (1332) has a second surface that faces the first antenna (1316 or 1314,) (see fig. 13B).
McCormack does not explicitly disclose the first antenna is offset from the second antenna; the first dielectric layer has a first surface that faces the second antenna and that is non-parallel to a lateral surface of the first printed circuit, and the second dielectric layer has a second surface that faces the first antenna and that is non-parallel to a lateral surface of the first printed circuit.
Gundel, on the other hand, discloses electronic device may include an auxiliary circuit providing an operative function, a data signal circuit, and an extremely high frequency (EHF) wireless transmitter (see abstract). Gundel further discloses as illustrated in FIG. 10, one or more extenders 1031a, 1031b may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1010a, 1010b in a wireless connector 1010 are offset from one another on the PCBs; one or more extenders 1032 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1020a, 1020b in a wireless connector 1020 are disposed at right angles to one another, and/or one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the electronic device as taught by McCormack with the electronic device as taught by Gundel having the first antenna is offset from the second antenna in which one or more extenders may be arranged so that the communicating chips in a wireless connector are disposed at right angles to one another, and/or one or more extenders may be arranged so that the communicating chips in a wireless connector are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068] by Gundel).
However, Gundel further discloses one or more extenders 1033 may be arranged so that the communicating chips 1030a, 1030b in a wireless connector 1030 are arranged at any suitable angle to one another that achieves acceptable noise mitigation and/or signal strength (see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the wireless connector as taught by McCormack in view of Gundel by arrange the first dielectric layer has a first surface that faces the second antenna and that is non-parallel to a lateral surface of the first printed circuit, and the second dielectric layer has a second surface that faces the first antenna and that is non-parallel to a lateral surface of the first printed circuit, in order to redirect wireless signals between the first and second antennas to allow the first and second substrates to be offset within the device. Since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-18 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 06/04/2026