DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogerus et al. (WO 2019154501 A1), herein referred to as Krogerus and further in view of Carlson et al. (US 5719353 A), herein referred to as Carlson, and Wolf (US 20100085262 A1), herein referred to as Wolf.
Regarding claim 1, Krogerus discloses an electronic device (page 1, lines 15-16), comprising: a device body (page 1, described in lines 16-18); and an antenna module (fig. 4a), disposed in the device body and comprising: a conductive structure (402), comprising a structure body and a slot (407), wherein the slot is formed on the structure body and penetrates the structure body in a thickness direction of the structure body (See fig. 4b); and a coaxial cable (page 9, line 25), comprising a core wire (409), a shielding layer (410), wherein the shielding layer (410) wraps the core wire (409, see fig. 4b), a section of the shielding layer (410) is connected to the structure body, a physical portion of the structure body and the section of the shielding layer are respectively located on two opposite sides of the slot (407) in a width direction of the slot (see figs, 4a and 4b), and a section of the core wire (409) extends out from the section of the shielding layer (410) and overlaps the slot (407) and the physical portion in the thickness direction (see fig. 4b) and a conductive connection member (411), the conductive connection member is disposed on the structure body (see fig. 4b), and the section of the shielding layer (410) contacts the conductive connection member (411), so as to be connected to the structure body through the conductive connection member (page 10, lines 1-3), wherein an edge of the conductive connection member is aligned to an end of the shielding layer (see fig. 4b) wherein the conductive connection member does not overlap with the section of the core wire (see fig. 4a, the connection member is extended towards the side, away from the core wire).
Krogerus does not specifically disclose an outer jacket and wherein the outer jacket wraps the shielding layer, a section of the shielding layer extends out from the outer jacket or wherein the conductive connection member is a clip.
However, the common construction of a coaxial cable is well known in the art, and as seen in Carlson, includes an outer jacket (22) which wraps the shielding layer (16), and therefore a section of the shielding layer extends out from the outer jacket (at 411).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Krogerus with an outer jacket and wherein the outer jacket wraps the shielding layer, a section of the shielding layer extends out from the outer jacket, as suggested by the teachings of Carlson, to protect the inner cable (col. 2, lines 5-8).
Furthermore, Wolf discloses a similar antenna wherein a connection member is a clip (para. 0067, fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Krogerus wherein the conductive connection member is a clip, as taught by Wolf, in order to hold the coax cable at a desired position with respect to the slot (para. 0067).
Regarding claim 5, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
The embodiment of Krogerus figure 4a-d does not disclose wherein the slot is an open slot.
However, Krogerus does disclose an open slot within the same device (page 20, lines 29-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Krogerus wherein the slot is an open slot, as further taught by Krogerus, to fine tune for certain frequencies (page 21, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 6, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus also discloses wherein the slot is a closed slot (see figs. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 7, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus also discloses wherein the slot has a horizontal linear shape (see figs. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 8, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus also discloses wherein the conductive structure, the section of the core wire, and the section of the shielding layer constitute a slot antenna (fig. 4a-d, page 5, line 22).
Regarding claim 9, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus does not disclose wherein the coaxial cable comprises an inner insulation layer, and the inner insulation layer completely wraps the section of the core wire extended from the shielding layer.
However, as discussed previously in claim 1, the common construction of a coaxial cable is well known, and Carlson teaches a coaxial cable with an inner insulation layer (14) which completely wraps the core layer (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Krogerus wherein the coaxial cable comprises an inner insulation layer, and the inner insulation layer completely wraps the section of the core wire extended from the shielding layer, as suggested by the teachings of Carlson, to protect the core layer.
Regarding claim 10, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus also discloses wherein in the width direction of the slot, the section of the shielding layer (410) and the slot (407) are spaced from each other by a distance (see figs. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 11, Krogerus discloses an antenna module (fig. 4a) comprising: a conductive structure (402), comprising a structure body and a slot (407), wherein the slot is formed on the structure body and penetrates the structure body in a thickness direction of the structure body (See fig. 4b); a coaxial cable (page 9, line 25), comprising a core wire (409), a shielding layer (410), wherein the shielding layer (410) wraps the core wire (409, see fig. 4b), a section of the shielding layer (410) is connected to the structure body (see fig. 4b), a physical portion of the structure body and the section of the shielding layer are respectively located on two opposite sides of the slot (407) in a width direction of the slot (see figs, 4a and 4b), and a section of the core wire (409) extends out from the section of the shielding layer (410) and overlaps the slot (407) and the physical portion in the thickness direction (see fig. 4b) and a conductive connection member (411), the conductive connection member is disposed on the structure body (see fig. 4b), and the section of the shielding layer (410) contacts the conductive connection member (411), so as to be connected to the structure body through the conductive connection member (page 10, lines 1-3), wherein an edge of the conductive connection member is aligned to an end of the shielding layer (see fig. 4b) wherein the conductive connection member does not overlap with the section of the core wire (see fig. 4a, the connection member is extended towards the side, away from the core wire).
Krogerus does not specifically disclose an outer jacket and wherein the outer jacket wraps the shielding layer, a section of the shielding layer extends out from the outer jacket or wherein the conductive connection member is a clip.
However, the common construction of a coaxial cable is well known in the art, and as seen in Carlson, includes an outer jacket (22) which wraps the shielding layer (16), and therefore a section of the shielding layer extends out from the outer jacket (at 411).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna module of Krogerus with an outer jacket and wherein the outer jacket wraps the shielding layer, a section of the shielding layer extends out from the outer jacket, as suggested by the teachings of Carlson, to protect the inner cable (col. 2, lines 5-8).
Furthermore, Wolf discloses a similar antenna wherein a connection member is a clip (para. 0067, fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Krogerus wherein the conductive connection member is a clip, as taught by Wolf, in order to hold the coax cable at a desired position with respect to the slot (para. 0067).
Regarding claim 15, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
The embodiment of Krogerus figure 4a-d does not disclose wherein the slot is an open slot.
However, Krogerus does disclose an open slot within the same device (page 20, lines 29-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Krogerus wherein the slot is an open slot, as further taught by Krogerus, to fine tune for certain frequencies (page 21, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 16, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus also discloses wherein the slot is a closed slot (see figs. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 17, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus also discloses wherein the slot has a horizontal linear shape (see figs. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 18, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus also discloses wherein the conductive structure, the section of the core wire, and the section of the shielding layer constitute a slot antenna (fig. 4a-d, page 5, line 22).
Regarding claim 19, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus does not disclose wherein the coaxial cable comprises an inner insulation layer, and the inner insulation layer completely wraps the section of the core wire extended from the shielding layer.
However, as discussed previously in claim 1, the common construction of a coaxial cable is well known, and Carlson teaches a coaxial cable with an inner insulation layer (14) which completely wraps the core layer (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Krogerus wherein the coaxial cable comprises an inner insulation layer, and the inner insulation layer completely wraps the section of the core wire extended from the shielding layer, as suggested by the teachings of Carlson, to protect the core layer.
Regarding claim 20, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus also discloses wherein in the width direction of the slot, the section of the shielding layer (410) and the slot (407) are spaced from each other by a distance (see figs. 4a-4b).
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf and further in view of He (CN 101764280A), herein referred to as He.
Regarding claim 2, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus does not disclose further comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is a part of the keyboard bracket.
However, He teaches a device comprising a keyboard bracket (22), wherein the conductive structure is a part of the keyboard bracket (para. 0042, attached translation). The specific method of manufacturing/attaching is not germane to the patentability of the device itself, and therefore has not been given patentable weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Krogerus comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is a part of the keyboard bracket, as taught by He, to regulate impedance (para. 0042).
Regarding claim 3, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Krogerus does not disclose further comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is assembled to the keyboard bracket.
However, He discloses further comprising a keyboard bracket (22), wherein the conductive structure is assembled to the keyboard bracket (para. 0042). The specific method of manufacturing/attaching is not germane to the patentability of the device itself, and therefore has not been given patentable weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Krogerus further comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is assembled to the keyboard bracket, as taught by He, to regulate impedance (para. 0042).
Regarding claim 12, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus does not disclose further comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is a part of the keyboard bracket.
However, He teaches a device comprising a keyboard bracket (22), wherein the conductive structure is a part of the keyboard bracket (para. 0042). The specific method of manufacturing/attaching is not germane to the patentability of the device itself, and therefore has not been given patentable weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Krogerus comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is a part of the keyboard bracket, as taught by He, to regulate impedance (para. 0042).
Regarding claim 13, Krogerus, Carlson, and Wolf render obvious all limitations of base claim 11.
Krogerus does not disclose further comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is assembled to the keyboard bracket.
However, He discloses further comprising a keyboard bracket (22), wherein the conductive structure is assembled to the keyboard bracket (para. 0042). The specific method of manufacturing/attaching is not germane to the patentability of the device itself, and therefore has not been given patentable weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Krogerus further comprising a keyboard bracket, wherein the conductive structure is assembled to the keyboard bracket, as taught by He, to regulate impedance (para. 0042).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845