DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 10/22/25. Accordingly the application has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bonshor (7926770).
Claim 1. Bonshor discloses a solid siding mounting block, comprising: a backplate, including a nail flange (228 as in figure 9 or 28 figure 3) configured to attach to a support surface,
a perimeter wall (42 in figure 3, 230 in figure 8), extending substantially perpendicular to the nail flange, and one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the annotated figure) projecting inward from the perimeter wall; and
a face block (220 or 320) formed from a solid siding material and configured to position inside the perimeter wall and attach to the backplate, the face block mounting to the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure),
wherein the backplate is characterized by an absence of a snap ring (there is no snap ring disclosed).
Claim 2. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more water drainage spacers (60) projecting inward from the perimeter wall and creating a drainage gap between the face block and the perimeter wall (as seen in figure 7).
Claim 3. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, further comprising:
a perimeter raised section (74,76,78) between the nail flange and the perimeter wall, wherein the perimeter raised section is annular and surrounds the perimeter wall (where 74,76,78 is annularly around the perimeter wall as seen in the figures).
Claim 4. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, wherein the backplate is formed as a single piece (as seen in the figures).
Claim 5. The solid siding mounting block of claim 4, wherein the backplate may be installed horizontally or vertically (where it is capable of the claimed intended use).
Claim 6. The solid siding mounting block of claim 5, wherein the backplate is hoodless (where there is no hood disclosed or shown).
Claim 7. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, further comprising:
a recessed water diverter (the channel formed between 42 and 52 as seen in the figures or 71/84/82 as seen in figures 4-5) between the perimeter wall and the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures)
Claim 8. The solid siding mounting block of claim 7, further comprising: an inner wall (52) attached to the perimeter wall, wherein the recessed water diverter is attached to, or formed in, the inner wall (as seen in the figures).
Claim 20. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, wherein the face block is a substantially flat plate that mounts onto the one or more attachment bosses such that the perimeter wall surrounds the face block (as seen in the figures).
Claim 21. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, wherein the perimeter wall is annular and surrounds the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures).
Claim 22. The solid siding mounting block of claim 21, wherein the one or more attachment bosses include an annular attachment boss substantially perpendicular to the perimeter wall and substantially parallel to the annular nail flange (as seen in the annotated figure).
Claim 23. The solid siding mounting block of claim 22, wherein the backplate further includes an annular water diverter channel (formed by wall 232 or52interposed between and recessed with respect to the perimeter wall and the annular attachment boss (as seen in the figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-9,20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bonshor (7566035).
Claim 1. Bonshor discloses a solid siding mounting block, comprising: a backplate, including a nail flange (60 or 32’’’ as seen in figure 9) configured to attach to a support surface,
a perimeter wall (comprised of 76,86,140), extending substantially perpendicular to the nail flange, and one or more attachment bosses (82) projecting inward from the perimeter wall; and
a face block (96) formed from a solid siding material and configured to position inside the perimeter wall and attach to the backplate, the face block mounting to the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure),
wherein the backplate is characterized by an absence of a snap ring (there is no snap ring disclosed).
Claim 2. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more water drainage spacers (sloped blade portion 142) projecting inward from the perimeter wall and creating a drainage gap between the face block and the perimeter wall (as seen in the figures).
Claim 4. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, wherein the backplate is formed as a single piece (as seen in the figures).
Claim 5. The solid siding mounting block of claim 4, wherein the backplate may be installed horizontally or vertically (where it is capable of the claimed intended use).
Claim 6. The solid siding mounting block of claim 5, wherein the backplate is hoodless (where there is no hood disclosed or shown).
Claim 7. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, further comprising:
a recessed water diverter (the sloped blade portions of 70,68 as seen in the figures) between the perimeter wall and the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures)
Claim 8. The solid siding mounting block of claim 7, further comprising: an inner wall (50) attached to the perimeter wall, wherein the recessed water diverter is attached to, or formed in, the inner wall (as seen in the figures).
Claim 9. The solid siding mounting block of claim 8, wherein the inner wall has a draft angle of greater than 12 degrees (as seen in the figures).
Claim 20. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, wherein the face block is a substantially flat plate that mounts onto the one or more attachment bosses such that the perimeter wall surrounds the face block (as seen in the figures).
Claim 21. The solid siding mounting block of claim 1, wherein the perimeter wall is annular and surrounds the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures).
Claim(s) 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonshor (7926770).
Claim 24. Bonshor discloses a mounting block assembly, comprising:
a single-piece backplate including an annular nail flange (228 as in figure 9 or 28 figure 3) configured to attach to a support surface, an annular perimeter wall (42 in figure 3, 230 in figure 8), projecting substantially perpendicular from an inner perimeter of the annular nail flange, an annular attachment boss (as noted in the annotated figure below) substantially parallel to the annular nail flange and projecting inward from an interior surface of the annular perimeter wall, and an annular water diverter channel the channel formed between 42 and 52 as seen in the figures or 71/84/82 as seen in figures 4-5) interposed between and recessed with respect to the annular perimeter wall and the annular attachment boss (as seen in the figures); and
a single-piece face block (220 or 320) including a substantially flat plate body formed from a solid siding material and configured to nest inside the perimeter wall and attach to the backplate (as seen in the figures), the face block mounting onto the annular attachment boss such that the annular perimeter wall surrounds the face block,
wherein the backplate is characterized by an absence of a snap ring (where there is no snap ring). Bonshor discloses the claimed invention except for the flat plate body is formed from a cement or mineral composite solid siding material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pursue known design options and modify the material of Bonshor to be a cement or mineral composite solid siding material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In the instant case it would have been obvious for at least the reason of the durability and aesthetic appeal of cement or mineral composite solid siding or to match existing cement or mineral composite siding material already disposed at the intended installation location.
Claim 25,28,30. Bonshor discloses a solid siding mounting block, as presented above including the present claimed features as noted in claims 1,24 above. The method comprising the steps of “forming” and “mounting” are obvious method steps for manufacturing the solid siding mounting block as in the claims above, the block is necessarily “formed” and it is disclosed for mounting.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to manufacture the solid siding mounting block as in claims 1,24 by forming the backplate and faceblock and mounting the face block to the one or more attachment bosses (as seen in the figures, where it is mounted thereto), to achieve the predictable result of device that is capable of being used.
Claim 26. The method of claim 25, wherein the backplate further includes a plurality of water drainage spacers (60) projecting inward from the perimeter wall and creating a drainage gap between the face block and the perimeter wall.
Claim 27. The method of claim 25, wherein the backplate further includes a perimeter raised section (74,76,78) interposed between the nail flange and the perimeter wall, wherein the perimeter raised section is annular and surrounds the perimeter wall (as seen in the figures and noted above).
Claim 29. The method of claim 25, wherein the face block mounts onto the one or more attachment bosses such that the perimeter wall surrounds the face block and an exterior surface of the face block is coplanar with or recessed inward from a terminal edge of the perimeter wall (as seen in the figures).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JESSICA L. LAUX
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JESSICA L LAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635