DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below:
Applicant's arguments and Examiner’s respond:
Applicant's arguments 1: Applicant's arguments, page 12-13, recites “Applicant respectfully submits that TSENG does not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, TSENG does not disclose one or more processors configured to "receive cell characteristic information of multiple network nodes associated with different network architectures; [and] select a network node, from the multiple network nodes, based at least in part on applying a mapping rule to the cell characteristic information," as recited in amended claim 1.” ….”First, TSENG does not disclose "receiv[ing] cell characteristic information of multiple network nodes associated with different network architectures," as recited in amended claim 1. Paragraphs 96 and 97 and Fig. 5 of TSENG describe a UE receiving a measurement configuration from a single source base station as part of a conditional handover procedure…. Second, TSENG does not disclose "select[ing] a network node, from the multiple network nodes, based at least in part on applying a mapping rule to the cell characteristic information," as recited in amended claim 1”.
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner’s rejections are based on the recited claim limitations and the examiner must interpret the claim limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). The claim limitation as it was warranted:
First: TSENG does not disclose "receiv[ing] cell characteristic information of multiple network nodes associated with different network architectures", in response, Tseng teaches: “receive cell characteristic information of multiple network nodes associated with different network architectures; [and] select a network node, from the multiple network nodes, based at least in part on applying a mapping rule to the cell characteristic information”, in response, it was revealed from the PGPub of the instant application, para [0048]-[0056], where, Cell characteristics information may include one or mere RSRP parameter, RSSI parameter, Cell ID, UE ID etc. Here in response Tseng teaches: First: “receive cell characteristic information of multiple network nodes associated with different network architectures (Tseng: fig 5, UE 502, para [0096]-[0097], steps 510-534, where, the UE 502 receives measurement configuration from Source base station among plurality of base stations equivalent to “network node”); [and] Second: select a network node, from the multiple network nodes, based at least in part on applying a mapping rule to the cell characteristic information” (TSENG: Tseng: fig 5, UE 502, para [0097], steps 510-534, where, the UE 502 receives measurement configuration from Source base station among plurality of base stations equivalent to “network node”, where, in some implementations, the NTN (equivalent to “different network architecture) assistance information may be included in the Conditional Handover Command (e.g., CHO Command #1 or CHO Command #2). Hence Tseng teaches all the limitation. Therefore the arguments are traversed and maintained the rejection.
Applicant's arguments 2: Applicant's arguments, page 12-13, recites “Applicant respectfully submits that TSENG does not disclose each and every feature recited in claim 8. Claim 8 is directed to an apparatus at a network node associated with a satellite and recites one or more processors configured to "receive, from a user equipment (UE), a message; and route, based at least in part on information associated with the message, the message to an upper layer node associated with a network architecture.
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner’s rejections are based on the recited claim limitations and the examiner must interpret the claim limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). The claim include the similar limitation that is recited in independent claim 1. Further, the network node receives the message and routed using the RRC messaging, see para [0100] and Table-US-00001. Therefore Tseng teaches all the limitations and hence the arguments are traversed and maintains the rejections.
All the remaining arguments are based on the arguments above and are responded to in full.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-16, 19, 22, 24-26, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al (US 2023/0344508 A1), hereinafter, “Tseng”.
Regarding 1, Tseng discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Tseng: fig 3, para [0007], where, UE 30 includes the apparatus, para [0070]), comprising: memory (Tseng: fig 3, para [0025], where, UE 30 includes the Memory, para [0008]); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to cause the UE (Tseng: fig 3, para [0008], where, UE 30 includes the Memory and processor, para [0008]), to: receive cell characteristic information of multiple network nodes (Tseng: fig 5, UE 502, para [0096]-[0097], steps 510-534, where, the UE 502 receives measurement configuration from Source base station among plurality of base stations equivalent to “network node”), associated with different network architectures (Tseng: fig 5, UE 502, para [0097], steps 510-534, where, the UE 502 receives measurement configuration from Source base station among plurality of base stations equivalent to “network node”, where, in some implementations, the NTN (equivalent to “different network architecture) assistance information may be included in the Conditional Handover Command (e.g., CHO Command #1 or CHO Command #2));
select a network node, from the multiple network nodes, (Tseng: fig 5, para [0106], where, the UE may perform an intra-RAT handover procedure, to handover from a source cell to a target cell equivalent to “network node” from multiple base stations 504, 506 and 508, see further para [0116]), based at least in part on applying a mapping rule to the cell characteristic information (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, in fig 5, the UE 502 selected the cell based on the mapping rules and, fig 3, para [0070] and Table 1, where, UE 30 receives NTN assistance information equivalent to “cell characteristic information”), wherein the mapping rule is associated with UE information and cell or network information (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, in fig 5, where, “the mapping rules may also be pre-defined in the 3GPP technical specifications. Thus, the serving NTN cell may transmit an index value, wherein each index value may be associated with one (unique) TA value indication, to the UE, So, the UE can calculate the NTA pre based on a (pre-configured) formula accordingly”); and transmit a random access channel (RACH) message to establish a connection with the network node (Tseng: fig 3-5, where, the UE initiates a RACH procedure to establish connection with the base station/ node/target cell to transmit preamble).
Regarding claim 8, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the wireless communication apparatus performed at a network node associated with a satellite, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto. The claim further requires message from the UE routed using upper layer messaging. TSENG teaches: while the UE is instructed to reset the MAC entity by the upper layers (e.g., the RRC entity may instruct the MAC entity to be reset through internal control signaling in the UE side) (TSENG: para [0100], Table 1).
Regarding claim 22, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the wireless communication method performed by the UE (User Equipment), and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 26, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 8 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 8 in order to define the wireless communication method performed by the network node, and the rejection to claim 8 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, Tseng discloses: wherein the cell characteristic information is received via system information blocks (SIBs) associated with the multiple network nodes (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, SIBs are associated to the (1) Serving Cell and (2) NTN Specific node).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng discloses: wherein the UE information indicates one or more of: a UE service type (Tseng: para [0004], where, “The 5G NR system is designed to provide flexibility and configurability to optimize the network services and types, accommodating various use cases such as enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB), massive Machine-Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communication (URLLC)”).
[[a quality of service (QoS), a UE type, a UE state, a UE speed, a UE connection history, a UE capability, or a radio access technology (RAT)]].
Regarding claim 5, Tseng discloses: wherein the cell or network information indicates one or more of: a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070], where, the NTN assistant information indicates a “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture”), [[an expected radio access network (RAN) delay, an expected quality of service (QoS) to be supported, a radio access technology (RAT), a radio quality, or an orbit type.]]
Regarding claim 6, Tseng discloses: wherein the mapping rule is configured by a network via a broadcast or a dedicated message (Tseng: para [0100] and Table 1, where, mapping rule may be configured via a broadcast).
[[or the mapping rule is preconfigured in a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE.]]
Regarding claim 7, Tseng discloses: wherein the network node is selected based at least in part on the UE camping on a cell or attempting a connection establishment (Tseng: para [0135], where, UE may select/reselect cell based on camping on a cell).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng discloses: wherein the network node is a routing node (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070]-[0071] and par [0043], where, NTN node is a routing node and the routing node is a radio unit (RU), para [0026], where, a radio communication network architecture (e.g., a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) system”). [[distributed unit (DU), or a central unit (CU) associated with the satellite.]]
Regarding claim 11, Tseng discloses: wherein the network node is configured with a mapping rule associated with the message and the upper layer node (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, mapping rules are associated upper layer messaging, such as RRC messaging).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng discloses: wherein the mapping rule is configured by the network node or the upper layer node (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, mapping rules are associated upper layer messaging, such as RRC messaging) and the mapping rule is changed semi-statically or dynamically based at least in part on a status of the upper layer node (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, mapping rules are changed/modified based on GNSS capability of the NTN cell equivalent to upper layer node).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Tseng discloses: wherein: the message is identified based at least in part on one or more of: a bandwidth part (BWP) (Tseng: para [0075], where, the message is identified based on “an Uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) configuration”); the upper layer node is identified by one or more of: configured via a broadcast or dedicated signaling (Tseng: para [0100] and Table 1, where, mapping rule may be configured via a broadcast).
[[a specific uplink channel or signal, a specific time or frequency resource of an uplink transmission, , a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), a logical channel identifier (LCID), a bearer identifier, a flow identifier, a medium access control element (MAC CE), a radio link control (RLC) packet data unit (PDU), a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) PDU, a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) PDU, or a radio resource control (RRC) message]];
[[the mapping rule is associated with UE information and the message, a node identifier, or an endpoint identifier; or the message is received from the UE based at least in part on a mapping rule configured for the UE, , and the mapping rule is preconfigured in a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE]].
Regarding claims 14, Tseng discloses: The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the upper layer node is identified by one or more of: a node identifier, or an endpoint identifier (Tseng: para [0117], where, “the format of the MAC CE may include target cell information (e.g., a cell identity associated with at least one target cell or an index associated with a target cell, where the index may be indicated implicitly based on the sequence of candidate cells appeared in the (conditional) handover command)”).
Regarding claims 15, Tseng discloses: wherein the message is received from the UE based at least in part on a mapping rule configured for the UE , the mapping rule is associated with UE information and the message (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, mapping rules are associated upper layer messaging, such as RRC messaging) and dedicated signaling (Tseng: para [0100] and Table 1, where, mapping rule may be configured via a broadcast).
[[or the mapping rule is preconfigured in a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE or configured via a broadcast]].
Regarding claims 16 and 30, Tseng discloses: further comprising: receiving, from the upper layer node, an indication of a rejection of the message based at least in part on a status of the upper layer node (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070], where, NTN node is equivalent to “upper layer node”); and routing the message to another upper layer node (Tseng: fig 5, para [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claims 19, Tseng discloses: wherein the UE establishes simultaneous connections to multiple non-terrestrial network (NTN) architectures (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070], where, the NTN assistant information indicates a “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture”), the UE is associated with multiple services, and first packets associated with a first service are configured to be routed to a first upper layer node and second packets associated with a second service are configured to be routed to a second upper layer node (Tseng: fig 5, para [0106]-[0109], where, the NTN assistant information indicates a “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture” and other upper layer nodes, fig 6).
Regarding claim 24, Tseng discloses: wherein: the UE information indicates one or more of: a UE service type (Tseng: para [0004], where, “The 5G NR system is designed to provide flexibility and configurability to optimize the network services and types, accommodating various use cases such as enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB), massive Machine-Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communication (URLLC)”).
[[a quality of service (QoS), a UE type, a UE state, a UE speed, a UE connection history, a UE capability, or a radio access technology (RAT); and the cell or network information indicates one or more of: a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070], where, the NTN assistant information indicates a “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture”), an expected radio access network (RAN) delay (Tseng: par a[0067], where, “the propagation delay between a UE and an NTN cell may be very large”), an expected QoS to be supported, the RAT, a radio quality, or an orbit type.
Regarding claim 25, Tseng discloses: wherein: the mapping rule is configured by a network via a broadcast or a dedicated message, or the mapping rule is preconfigured in a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE (Tseng: para [0100] and Table 1, where, mapping rule may be configured via a broadcast); or the network node is selected based at least in part on the UE camping on a cell or attempting a connection establishment.
Regarding claims 28, Tseng discloses: wherein: the network node is a routing node, and the routing node is a radio unit (RU), a distributed unit (DU), or a central unit (CU) associated with the satellite (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070]-[0071] and par [0043], where, NTN node is a routing node and the routing node is a radio unit (RU), para [0026], where, a radio communication network architecture (e.g., a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) system”).
or the network node is configured with a mapping rule associated with the message and the upper layer node, the mapping rule is configured by the network node or the upper layer node, and the mapping rule is changed semi-statically or dynamically based at least in part on a status of the upper layer node.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 13, 17-18, 20-21, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Tseng et al (US 2023/0344508 A1), hereinafter, “Tseng” in view of Kuang et al (US 2024/0031972 A1), hereinafter, “Kuang”.
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Tseng discloses: wherein: the cell characteristic information is received via system information blocks (SIBs) associated with the multiple network nodes (Tseng: para [0100], Table 1, where, SIBs are associated to the (1) Serving Cell and (2) NTN Specific node) and Tseng does not teach: the different network architectures are associated with multiple cells associated with a public land mobile network (PLMN).
Kuang teaches: the different network architectures are associated with multiple cells associated with a public land mobile network (PLMN) (Kuang: fig 4, para [0154]-[0155], where, different multiple cells are associated with PLMN (public land mobile network identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “the different network architectures are associated with multiple cells associated with a public land mobile network (PLMN)” as taught by Kuang into Tseng in order to facilitate efficient operation of the communication system (Kuang: para [0003]).
Regarding claims 9, 13, 17-18 and 27, Tseng discloses: wherein the network architecture is one of different non-terrestrial network (NTN) architectures associated with multiple cells (Tseng: fig 3, para [0070], where, the NTN assistant information indicates a “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) architecture”), Tseng does not teach: associated with different public land mobile networks (PLMNs), and a home PLMN is deprioritized in relation to other PLMNs depending on UE information and the NTN architecture.
Kuang teaches: associated with different public land mobile networks (PLMNs), and a home PLMN is deprioritized in relation to other PLMNs depending on UE information and the NTN architecture (Kuang: fig 4, para [0154]-[0155], where, different multiple cells are associated with PLMN (public land mobile network identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “associated with different public land mobile networks (PLMNs), and a home PLMN is deprioritized in relation to other PLMNs depending on UE information and the NTN architecture” as taught by Kuang into Tseng in order to facilitate efficient operation of the communication system (Kuang: para [0003]).
Regarding claims 20-21, Tseng modified by Kuang disclose: wherein the upper layer node is a first upper layer node (Tseng: fig 5, para [0100], Table 1, RRC equivalent to “first upper layer” with associated UE equivalent to “node”) and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node (Tseng: fig 8, Processor 826, para [0143]) to: receive a UE context setup request from a second upper layer node (Kuang: fig 3, “AMF” equivalent to “second upper layer node”, para [0108]-[0109], where, “the AMF prepares the UE context data (including, e.g., PDU session context, the Security Key, UE Radio Capability and UE Security Capabilities, etc.) and sends it to the gNB with the INITIAL CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST”); and transmit a UE context setup response to the second upper layer node, wherein the UE is reconfigured based at least in part on the UE context setup response and a connection is established between the UE and the second upper layer node based at least in part on a reconfiguration of the UE (Kuang: fig 6, para [0109], where, “Data Radio Bearer(s), DRB(s) by means of transmitting to the UE the RRCReconfiguration message and, in response, receiving by the gNB the RRCReconfigurationComplete from the UE. For a signalling-only connection, the steps relating to the RRCReconfiguration are skipped since SRB2 and DRBs are not setup. Finally, the gNB informs the AMF that the setup procedure is completed with the INITIAL CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461