DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 09/02/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 9, 14, 21-22 and 24-27 are amended, Claims 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 16, and 19 are canceled, Claims 20-28 have been added, and Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20-28 remain pending in the application. The claim objections to Claims 24 and 27 are withdrawn. The 112(b) rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 09/02/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “smartglassses front frames” should read “smartglasses front frames”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 12-13, 20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryner (US20210255480A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Ryner discloses a spring-loaded hinge for glasses, comprising:
a first hinge component (See annotated Fig. 8B-- first hinge component) configured to couple to a smartglasses front frame end piece (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) comprising:
a box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A);
a u-shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) at least partially disposed within the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), the u- shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) comprising a u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) extending towards a pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs), each leg (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs) having an end piece (Fig. 15-- element 1001 is connected to the pair of legs) fixedly coupled (Fig. 15—element 1001 is coupled to element 1006 via element 1020) to a male barrel component (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006);
a post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]);
a spring (Fig. 15--element 1012, spring; [0084]) disposed between (Fig. 15—element 1012 is deposed between element 1014 and element 1010) the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) of the u-shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) and the post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]) and configured to compress upon movement (Fig. 8B and 15—as element 1014 moves, element 1012 is compressed along element 1010) of the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]), and
a second hinge component (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) comprising at least two female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]), the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) configured to receive and rotate about a rotation axis (Fig. 15—element 1001 is coupled to element 1006 via element 1020 and rotates about the axis provided by element 1020) the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006); and
wherein at least a portion of the pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs, element 1001 is the leg endpiece) are configured to translate outward (Fig. 8—element 1001 extends out of the housing) of the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) being fixed (Fig. 15—element 1001 is connected to the pair of legs) to the pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs) such that the translation increases a spacing between the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) and the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) and outwardly displaces the axis of rotation relative to the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
With respect to Claim 2, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 1, and further discloses wherein each of the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) is formed with a male barrel opening and each of the female barrel components are formed with a female barrel opening, and the female barrel openings configured to align with the male barrel openings of the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) and receive a screw (Fig. 15-- element 1020, fastener; [0079]) therethrough.
With respect to Claim 3, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]) abuts (Fig. 10—element 1010 abuts element 1001) at least one female barrel component (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006).
With respect to Claim 6, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first hinge component (See annotated Fig. 8B-- first hinge component) is configured to be disposed (Fig. 1B—the first hinge component is attached to element 105 at 170A and 170B) on an end piece of a smartglasses front frame (Fig. 1A-- element 170A and 170B, sides; [0055]) and the second hinge component (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) is configured to be disposed on an end piece of a smartglasses temple (Fig. 8B—element 1006 is attached to the end of element 110A).
With respect to Claim 9, Ryner discloses a smartglasses device comprising:
a pair of spring-loaded hinges (Fig 8B— element 1000, hinge assembly; [0074]) configured to pivotally connect a pair of temples (Fig. 1B-- element 110A and 110B, right and left temple; [0042]) to a front frame of smartglasses (Fig. 1B-- element 105, frame; [0042]), each spring-loaded hinge (Fig 8B— element 1000, hinge assembly; [0074]) comprising:
a first hinge component (See annotated Fig. 8B-- first hinge component) disposed on a smartglasses front frame end piece (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) comprising:
a box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A);
a u-shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) at least partially disposed within the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), the u- shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) comprising a u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) extending towards a pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs), each leg (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs) having an end piece (Fig. 15-- element 1001 is connected to the pair of legs) fixedly coupled (Fig. 15—element 1001 is coupled to element 1006 via element 1020) to a male barrel component (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006);
a post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]);
a spring (Fig. 15--element 1012, spring; [0084]) disposed between (Fig. 15—element 1012 is deposed between element 1014 and element 1010) the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) of the u-shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) and the post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]) and configured to compress upon movement (Fig. 8B and 15—as element 1014 moves, element 1012 is compressed along element 1010) of the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]), and
a second hinge component (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) disposed on a smartglasses temple end piece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) and comprising at least two female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]), the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) configured to interface with and rotate about an axis of rotation (Fig. 15—element 1001 is coupled to element 1006 via element 1020 and rotates about the axis provided by element 1020) with respect to at least a portion of each of the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) and;
wherein application of an outward force to the smartglasses temples (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) translates the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) to compress the spring (Fig. 15--element 1012, spring; [0084]) against the post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]) and laterally displaces at least a portion of the pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs, element 1001 is the leg endpiece) outward of the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), thereby increasing a spacing between the front frame end piece (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) and the temple end piece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) and displacing the axis of rotation of the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) to enable the temple (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) to rotate beyond 90° relative to the smartglasses front frame (Fig. 1B-- element 105, frame; [0042]) (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
With respect to Claim 12, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 9, wherein the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) of the first hinge component (See annotated Fig. 8B-- first hinge component) comprises at least one "T" shaped anchor ([0078] and Fig. 13D—element 1016 is a t-shaped element which limits the motion of element 1014, not allowing it to hyper-extend past a point which would make the glasses insecure) configured support securement of the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) to an end piece of smartglasses front frames (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]).
With respect to Claim 13, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the second hinge component (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) is formed with an endcap (Fig, 8B—element 1002, protrusion; [0074]) for attachment to a temple endpiece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A), the end cap (Fig, 8B—element 1002, protrusion; [0074]) configured with a durable flat surface ([0078]: element 1002 may be any shape such as flat) for interfacing with the end piece of the front frame (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) to distribute and decrease torsion on the smartglasses temple endpiece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) during over- extension of the spring-loaded hinge (Fig 8B— element 1000, hinge assembly; [0074]) loads ([0074]: element 1002 prevent wear on the glasses during hyper-extension).
With respect to Claim 20, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 6, and further discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) and the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) reduces rotational interference between the end piece of the smartglasses front frame (Fig. 1B-- element 105, frame; [0042]) and the end piece of the smartglasses temple (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between elements 105 and 110A).
With respect to Claim 23, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the at least two female barrel (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) are arranged to define a first channel between a first pair of the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) and a second channel between a second pair of the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]), the first and second channels being configured to rotate relative to respectively received male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) (Fig. 15—the female barrel components create channels that allow engagement with the male barrel components and allow the pieces to rotate about an axis).
However, Ryner does not disclose a second hinge component comprising three female barrel components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a female barrel component to make a hinge with a total of three female barrel components, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 24, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 23, and further discloses wherein each leg of the pair (Annotated Fig. 15-- pair of legs) is configured to travel in a respective leg channel (Fig. 10—space is provided in element 125A for the pair of legs) formed in the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), and wherein the leg channels (Fig. 10—space is provided in element 125A for the pair of legs) are aligned (Fig. 15—the leg channels are aligned with the protruding portion of element 1006) with the first and second channels formed by the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) of the second hinge components (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 17, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryner (US20210255480A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 14, Ryner discloses a smartglasses device comprising:
a pair of spring-loaded hinges (Fig 8B— element 1000, hinge assembly; [0074]) configured to pivotally connect a pair of temples (Fig. 1B-- element 110A and 110B, right and left temple; [0042]) to a front frame of smartglasses (Fig. 1B-- element 105, frame; [0042]), each spring-loaded hinge (Fig 8B— element 1000, hinge assembly; [0074]) comprising:
a first hinge component (See annotated Fig. 8B-- first hinge component) coupled to a front frame endpiece (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) comprising:
a box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) for at least partially housing:
a u-shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) comprising a u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) integrally formed with a pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs), each leg (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs) extending from a respective arm of the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) and being integrally formed with a male barrel component (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) at an endpiece (Fig. 15-- element 1001, hinge; [0073]) thereof;
a post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]);
a spring (Fig. 15--element 1012, spring; [0084]) disposed between (Fig. 15—element 1012 is deposed between element 1014 and element 1010) the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) of the u-shaped element (Fig. 15-- element 1014, bushing; [0086]) and the post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]) and configured to compress upon movement (Fig. 8B and 15—as element 1014 moves, element 1012 is compressed along element 1010) of the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]),
a second hinge component (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) disposed on a temple endpiece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) comprising female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]), the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) configured to receive at least a portion of the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006): and
wherein application of a force against an interior wall (Fig. 8B—overextending the glasses will put force on the inner portion of element 110A) of a smartglasses temple (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) translates the u-shaped portion (Fig. 15-- inside cavity of element 1014, bushing; [0086]) to compress the spring (Fig. 15--element 1012, spring; [0084]) against the post (Fig. 15--element 1010, elongated pin; [0073]) and laterally displaces at least a portion of the pair of legs (Annotated Fig. 15--pair of legs, element 1001 is the leg endpiece) outward of the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), thereby increasing a spacing between the front frame end piece (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) and the temple end piece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) and displacing the axis of rotation of the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) to increase available rotational clearance of the temple endpiece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) and permitting over-extension of the temple (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) beyond 90° relative to the smartglasses front frame (Fig. 1B-- element 105, frame; [0042]) (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
However, Ryner does not disclose a second hinge component comprising three female barrel components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a female barrel component to make a hinge with a total of three female barrel components, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 15, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 14, and further discloses wherein at least one of the temples (Fig. 1B-- element 110A and 110B, right and left temple; [0042]) comprises a printed circuit board (Fig. 15-- element 1022, FPC; [0087]), a battery ([0089]: battery is used to power processor, but is not shown), a microphone (Fig 1B—element 130, microphone; [0049]), one or more speakers (Fig 1B—element 132, speaker; [0049]), a connectivity module (Fig 1B—high-speed wireless circuitry; [0049]), and a cellular communications unit (Fig 1B—low-power wireless circuitry; [0049]), in electronic communication ([0096]: element 100 may communicate with a host computer via the wireless circuitry), and wherein the connectivity module (Fig 1B—high-speed wireless circuitry; [0049]) and the cellular communications unit (Fig 1B—low-power wireless circuitry; [0049]) are configured and programmed to pair or connect the smartglasses to a smart device and support active priority the smart device ([0049]: element 100 has Bluetooth capabilities).
With respect to Claim 17, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the smartglasses (Fig. 1A—element 100, eyewear; [0038]) are configured and programmed to receive oral requests or commands at the microphone (Fig 1B—element 130, microphone; [0049]) to perform mobile device tasks or applications and process and communicate the oral requests or commands to a mobile device application controlling paired or connected devices or systems used for display or presentation of information related to the requested or commanded tasks or applications ([0098]: element 900 may receive voice commands for identification and connect to a mobile device via Bluetooth).
With respect to Claim 26, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) comprise a first external female barrel component, a second external female barrel component, the first and second channels each adapted to engage and rotate with respect to respective male barrel components (Fig. 15—the female barrel components create channels that allow engagement with the male barrel components and allow the pieces to rotate about an axis).
However, Ryner does not disclose wherein the female barrel components comprise and a central female barrel component disposed between the first and second external female barrel components, wherein a first channel is formed between the first external female barrel component and the central external female component and a second channel is formed between the second external female barrel component and the central female barrel component, and wherein the central female component has a width greater than a width of each of the first and second female barrel components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a female barrel component to make a hinge with a total of three female barrel components and two channels between the three components, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Ryner discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the central female component has a width greater than a width of each of the first and second female barrel components. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to create a wider central female barrel component, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A).
With respect to Claim 27, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 26, and further discloses wherein each leg of the pair (Annotated Fig. 15-- pair of legs) is configured to travel in a respective leg channel (Fig. 10—space is provided in element 125A for the pair of legs) formed in the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A), wherein each leg channel (Fig. 10—space is provided in element 125A for the pair of legs) is aligned (Fig. 15—the leg channels are aligned with the protruding portion of element 1006) with a respective one of the first and second channels (Fig. 15—the female barrel components create channels that allow engagement with the male barrel components and allow the pieces to rotate about an axis) formed by the female barrel components (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]) of the second hinge components (Fig. 15-- element 1006, cap hinge; [0073]).
However, Ryner does not disclose wherein the leg channels are spaced apart from one another by a distance at least as great as the width of the central female barrel component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a female barrel component to make a hinge with a total of three female barrel components and two channels between the three components, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Ryner discloses the claimed invention except for the leg channels are spaced apart from one another by a distance at least as great as the width of the central female barrel component. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to space the leg channels apart from one another by a distance at least as great as the width of the central female barrel component, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A).
With respect to Claim 28, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 14, and further discloses wherein an endcap is disposed near a rear end of each female barrel component (Fig. 15-- protruding portion of element 1006, cap hinge; [0073], the end cap (Fig., 15—flat surface of element 1006 opposite the female barrel components) having a durable flat surface portion adapted to interface with an end piece of the smartglasses endpiece (Fig. 8a—element 1006 is attached to element 110A) to support over-extension of a pair of the temples (Fig. 1B-- element 110A, right temple; [0042]) beyond 90° relative to the smartglasses front frame (Fig. 1B-- element 105, frame; [0042]) (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 21-22 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 18, Ryner discloses the smartglasses device of claim 14, however neither Ryner nor any combination of the prior art discloses wherein the spring-loaded hinge contains no electrical wiring in combination with all limitations of the claims from which claim 18 depends.
With respect to Claim 21, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 1, and further discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) and the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) occurs and maintains the structural integrity of the spring-loaded hinge (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
However, neither Ryner nor any combination of the prior art discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the box housing and the male barrel components occurs without creating a gap between the pair of legs from the male barrel components in combination with all limitations of the claims from which claim 21 depends.
With respect to Claim 22, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 9, and further discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) and the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) occurs and maintains the structural integrity of the spring-loaded hinge (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
However, neither Ryner nor any combination of the prior art discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the box housing and the male barrel components occurs without creating a gap between the pair of legs from the male barrel components in combination with all limitations of the claims from which claim 22 depends.
With respect to Claim 25, Ryner discloses the spring-loaded hinge for glasses of claim 14, and further discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the box housing (Fig. 8B-- the housing which encloses elements inside element 125A) and the male barrel components (Fig. 15-- the portion of element 1001 that is received by element 1006) occurs without occurs and maintains the structural integrity of the spring-loaded hinge (Fig. 8B—element 1000 can hyperextend, more of element 1001 is exposed, creating distance between the male components of 1001 and the housing).
However, neither Ryner nor any combination of the prior art discloses wherein increasing the spacing between the box housing and the male barrel components occurs without creating a gap between the pair of legs from the male barrel components in combination with all limitations of the claims from which claim 25 depends.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Ryner does not disclose or suggest at least a u-shaped element having a pair of legs, each leg fixedly coupled to or integrally formed with a male barrel component. Ryner discloses element 1014 which comprises a pair of legs, see annotated Fig. 15, and the legs are coupled to the male barrel components via elements 1010 and 1001.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that the duplication rational of In re Harza cannot supply the missing five-barrel, dual- channel structure. Examiner maintains that it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to create a third female component because there would be no unforeseen result. Adding a third female component would not disturb the current structure of Ryner which provides space for two distinct channels.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 20, filed 9/2/2026, with respect to claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 18 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872