DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s response filed on 10/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception because the amendments “outputting … an output image comprising the at least one image overlayed with a segmentation mask” cannot be performed in the human mind and the claims integrate the alleged judicial exception into a practical application.
The Examiner agrees; therefore, the previous 35 USC 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
With respect to the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection, Applicant argues that Maher does not teach or suggest “outputting, as a user interface, an output image comprising the at least one image overlayed with a segmentation mask,” as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Maher teaches displaying scanned core images at a user interface and displaying images of core samples in the UI. For example, Maher discloses the input and output devices 204 are configured to receive commands for controlling the operation of the scanner, receive input from a user to add or modify data, and to display results, data parameters, or other information. (paragraph 18) The scanner UI displays scanned images with overlays such as crop lines and templates. (paragraphs 19-21) The UI displays depth referencing boxes and lithology segments on top of the image. (paragraphs 24-26) and reports display images and classification outputs. (paragraph 38) Therefore, Maher teaches outputting an image to a UI.
Maher further discloses that the output image includes the at least one image of the core sample, such as displaying of images of core samples. (paragraph 18) The core sample image is displayed behind graphic overlays. (paragraphs 19-21) The depth referencing and lithology interfaces display the core image under overlays. (paragraphs 24-25) Therefore, Maher teaches displaying images of core samples in the UI.
Further, Maher discloses a segmentation mask. The segmentation model is configured to identify rock, non-rock, and depth marker segments of a row in a core box and may provide each row in the core box with a mapping of each pixel 1010 to a rock/depth-marker/non-rock classification value. Other suitable neural network configurations or machine learning algorithms are also contemplated. (paragraph 32) Maher also shows segmentation output displayed as overlaid regions. Depth marker boxes are displayed overlaid on top of the core image. (paragraph 24) Lithology segments 802 are drawn over core images. (paragraph 25) Segmented pixels are visualized (pixels 1010) and mapping of pixel classes is produced. (paragraph 32) Even though boxes or segments are used instead of masks, these are overlays corresponding to segmentation outputs. Therefore, Maher teaches overlaying segmentation output (pixel classification and labeled segments) on the core image.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,790,506. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader and encompassed by claims 1-20 of the patented claims. Therefore, the claims of the present application are anticipated by the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maher (WO 2019/167030 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Maher discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, at least one image of a core sample, wherein the at least one image comprises a plurality of regions; (figure 2; paragraphs 16-18; receive a core sample)
determining, based on the plurality of regions of the at least one image, one or more attributes of the core sample, wherein one or more regions of the plurality of regions comprise the one or more attributes; and (abstract; a server for logging the properties of core samples and managing instrumentation and equipment; a scanner to scan the core samples to generate images of the core samples)
outputting, at a user interface, an output image comprising the at least one image overlayed with a segmentation mask, (paragraphs 18-21, 24-26, 32 and 38) the segmentation mask indicating the one or more regions and the one or more attributes of the core sample. (paragraphs 16-18: output device; paragraph 29: The image data, including individual image data, and the combined stitched image data, may be stored in the scanner memory for further processing. The scanner processor is further configured to apply image analysis to the images or the image data from the optical camera to identify properties of the core samples)
Regarding claim 2, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein the at least one image comprises a plurality of images of the core sample, and wherein determining the one or more attributes of the core sample comprises determining, based on the plurality of images of the core sample, the one or more attributes of the core sample. (paragraph 29; For example, the scanner processor 220 may employ an image analysis subsystem capable of extracting optical features, such as color, shape, and texture, and applying machine learning models to generate predicted rock classifications such as lithology, alteration, and geotechnical parameters.)
Regarding claim 3, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein determining the one or more attributes of the core sample comprises determining, via at least one machine learning model, and based on the plurality of regions of the at least one image, the one or more attributes of the core sample. (paragraph 13 and 29)
Regarding claim 4, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein the at least one machine learning model comprises a segmentation model, a neural network, or a support vector machine. (paragraphs 32 and 34)
Regarding claim 5, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein the one or more attributes comprise a width based on the one or more regions of the plurality of regions. (paragraph 21)
Regarding claim 6, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein the one or more regions are associated with one or more core edges, one or more fractures, one or more broken zones, one or more beddings, one or more veins, or an orientation line of the core sample. (paragraphs 68)
Regarding claim 7, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein an image overlay comprising the one or more regions, or a mapping between the one or more regions and the one or more attributes. (paragraphs 18-21, 24-26, 32 and 38)
Regarding claim 9, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein determining the one or more attributes of the core sample comprises: classifying each pixel of the plurality of pixels, wherein one or more subsets of the plurality of pixels are classified as comprising the one or more attributes. (paragraphs 30-34)
Regarding claim 12, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein outputting the indication of the one or more attributes of the core sample comprises outputting one or more of: a segmentation mask indicative of the one or more attributes, an image overlay indicative of the one or more attributes, or a mapping of the one or more attributes to one or more portions of the core sample. (paragraph 33; The image analysis subsystem crops the segments of pixels identified as containing rock, into cropped segments. Adjacent cropped segments may overlap. The pixels may be assigned cropped segments.)
Regarding claim 13, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein receiving, via a user interface, one or more user edits (read as alter) to one or more of: the segmentation masks, the image overlay, or the mapping. (paragraphs 24-25)
Regarding claim 14, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein training, based on the one or more user edits, at least one machine learning model. (paragraph 13 and 29)
Regarding claim 16, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein the one or more structural features are associated with one or more measurements, and wherein the one or more measurements are based on one or more regions of the plurality of regions of the at least one image. (figure 7; paragraphs 22-24)
Regarding claim 19, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein the one or more structural features are compositionally distinct or texturally distinct within the core sample. (paragraphs 29, 37 and 54)
Regarding claim 20, Maher discloses the claimed invention wherein outputting the output image of the one or more structural features of the core sample comprises one or more of:
outputting an image overlay indicative of the one or more structural features; or
outputting a mapping indicative of the one or more structural features. (paragraph 33; The image analysis subsystem crops the segments of pixels identified as containing rock, into cropped segments. Adjacent cropped segments may overlap. The pixels may be assigned cropped segments.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher in view of Sung (US 10,753,918).
Regarding claim 10, Maher discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the indication of the one or more attributes of the core sample is indicative of a degree of jointing or fracturing in the core sample.
In related art, Sung discloses an indication of the one or more attributes of the core sample is indicative of a degree of jointing or fracturing in the core sample. (col. 3, lines 26-39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sung into the teachings of Maher for effective integration of physical reservoir rock interpretation data into reservoir formation modeling.
Regarding claim 11, Maher discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more attributes comprise one or more fractures or one or more broken zones.
In related art, Sung discloses the one or more attributes comprise one or more fractures or one or more broken zones. (col. 3, lines 26-39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sung into the teachings of Maher for effective integration of physical reservoir rock interpretation data into reservoir formation modeling.
Regarding claim 17, Maher discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more structural features comprise a fracture, a physical break, or a separation in the core sample.
In related art, Sung discloses one or more structural features comprise a fracture, a physical break, or a separation in the core sample. (col. 3, lines 26-39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sung into the teachings of Maher for effective integration of physical reservoir rock interpretation data into reservoir formation modeling.
Regarding claim 18, Maher discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more structural features are associated with one or more minerals within the core sample.
In related art, Sung discloses one or more structural features are associated with one or more minerals within the core sample. (col. 3, lines 26-39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sung into the teachings of Maher for effective integration of physical reservoir rock interpretation data into reservoir formation modeling.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665