DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. KR 20170022778 A. (It is noted that the Lee citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a smart battery cycle charging method [fig. 3c], comprising:
detecting a current voltage per battery cell of battery cells in a battery device [pars. 87-88; voltage sensor 161 senses the voltage per cell (cell 110, fig. 1), a plurality of cells can be used (par. 82)];
according to voltage ranges and charging times corresponding to the voltage ranges in a mapping table, after detecting and determining that the current voltage per battery cell is within one of the voltage ranges, using a constant current to charge the battery cells for one of the charging times corresponding to the one of the voltage ranges [par. 104 (par. 46 in the original); fig. 2; the voltages are used to switch stages between the various CC stages, thus according to a voltage range (V0 to V1) a first current is applied for a first time t1 (as well as for V1-V2, V2-V3); pars. 120, 122-127, 130 & 133 the time of the CC application is used to determine the associated times, and then the time can be used to control the duration of each interval and the total charge time]; and
using a constant voltage to charge the battery cells [fig. 2-3C; in between the CC stages are constant voltage stages].
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a smart battery cycle charging device [fig. 1], comprising:
a battery device having battery cells [pars. 87-88; voltage sensor 161 senses the voltage per cell (cell 110, fig. 1), a plurality of cells can be used (par. 82)]; and
a charging device having a processor and a mapping table [fig. 1, MPU 160], and coupled to the battery cells , wherein the mapping table has voltage ranges and charging times corresponding to the voltage ranges, wherein after the processor detects and determines that a current voltage per battery cell is within one of the voltage ranges, the processor controls the charging device to use a constant current to charge the battery cells for one of the charging times corresponding to the one of the voltage ranges [par. 104 (par. 46 in the original); fig. 2; the voltages are used to switch stages between the various CC stages, thus according to a voltage range (V0 to V1) a first current is applied for a first time t1 (as well as for V1-V2, V2-V3); pars. 120, 122-127, 130 & 133 the time of the CC application is used to determine the associated times, and then the time can be used to control the duration of each interval and the total charge time], and
wherein after the one of the charging times, the processor controls the charging device to use a constant voltage to charge the battery cells [fig. 2-3C; in between the CC stages are constant voltage stages].
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Lee discloses wherein after charging the battery cells using the fixed current for the one of the charging times, the battery device is charged to about 70% of a maximum capacity of the battery device [fig. 5; after a certain number of cycles (“charging times”), 70% of the initial capacity (maximum capacity) is reached; par. 140].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR 20170022778 A in view of Sheng CN 110556598 A. (It is noted that the Lee and Sheng citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claims 3-4 and 9-10, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein using the constant current to charge the battery cells uses a C-rate of 0.8C to charge the battery cells or wherein the constant voltage is 4.2V per battery cell.
However, Sheng discloses a CC-CV charging method for a battery comprising using the constant current to charge the battery cells uses a C-rate of 0.8C to charge the battery cells [par. 24] or wherein the constant voltage is 4.2V per battery cell [par. 24].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to further include using the constant current to charge the battery cells uses a C-rate of 0.8C to charge the battery cells and wherein the constant voltage is 4.2V per battery cell since these are safe values for a lithium ion battery, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the voltage ranges comprise: a first range, wherein the current voltage per battery cell is less than or equal to 3V; a second range, wherein the current voltage per battery cell is between 3V and 3.2V; a third range, wherein the current voltage per battery cell is between 3.2V and 3.5V; a fourth range, wherein the current voltage per battery cell is between 3.5V and 3.7V; a fifth range, wherein the current voltage per battery cell is between 3.7V and 4V; and a sixth range, wherein the current voltage per battery cell is greater than 4V” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 5.
Claim 6, being dependent on claim 5, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kimura et al. US PGPUB 2018/0241233 discloses a CC-CV charging method which predicts charging time using the time for each stage.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859