DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 04/17/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 1 and 10 are independent claims.
Claims 1 and 10 are currently amended.
This Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis (US 2019/0044809 A1) in view of Chen (US 2018/0159963 A1).
As per claim 1, Willis teaches A system, wherein the system comprises:
an integrated processor; (Willis Fig 12 Block 1214 (Block Interface Controller))
a first hardware device; (Willis Fig 12 Block 1202 (Compute Engine))
a first storage (Willis Fig 12 Block 1206 (Memory)), wherein:
the integrated processor comprises at least one processor, at least one memory, and a queue, the at least one processor is connected to the at least one memory and the queue through an internal bus (Willis Fig 14 [the arrows between the messaging queue manager 1412 and the SMP array 1422 represent internal buses])
the queue is connected to the first hardware device through a network (Willis [0073] Accordingly, messages and/or network packet data may be passed therebetween via one or more communication links, such as PCIe interconnects, to provide access to the host memory 1330 (e.g., the memory 1206 of the compute engine 1202 of FIG. 12).;
the first hardware device is configured to send a first notification message to the queue (Willis [0076] Each of the event logic units 1404 are configured to receive a particular type, or set of types, of event messages, as well as interpret and queue messages corresponding to the received messaged. Additionally, each of the event logic units 1404 are configured to build data structures based on an associated protocol which is readable by the SMP array 1422. For example, the fabric event logic unit 1406 may be configured to receive and interpret host fabric interface events, such as a message indicating a network packet is to be transmitted between the NIC 1214 and one of the host CPUs 1328. [0088] . In block 1512, the host CPU 1328 [hardware device] transmits a notification (i.e., a descriptor notification) to a flexible host interface (e.g., the illustrative flexible host interface 1314 of FIG. 14) of the NIC 1214 which notifies the NIC 1214 that the one or more generated descriptors have been placed into to the array of descriptors and the corresponding index(s) in the descriptor ring)
wherein the first notification message indicates that there is to-be-transmitted data in the first storage (Willis [0088] In block 1512, the host CPU 1328 transmits a notification (i.e., a descriptor notification) to a flexible host interface (e.g., the illustrative flexible host interface 1314 of FIG. 14) of the NIC 1214 which notifies the NIC 1214 that the one or more generated descriptors have been placed into to the array of descriptors and the corresponding index(s) in the descriptor ring. See also Fig 15 Steps 1502 and 1504);
the queue is configured to receive the first notification message and store the first notification message in a first hardware queue in the queue; (Willis [0077] The messaging queue manager 1412 is configured to manage event message queues 1414 between the event logic units 1404 and the SMP array 1422. To do so, the messaging queue manager 1412 is configured to create/destroy the appropriate event message queues 1414 based on the corresponding event logic units 1404. In some embodiments, the messaging queue manager 1412 is additionally configured to enqueue and dequeue messages into/from the appropriate one of the event message queues 1414. The illustrative messaging queue manager 1412 includes one or more fabric event queues 1416 (i.e., for queueing messages received from the fabric event logic unit 1406))
the at least one memory stores programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to:
obtain the first notification message from the first hardware queue; (Willis [0091] the SMP array 1422 determines whether to retrieve a message in a message queue (e.g., one of the event message queues 1414, the DMA queues 1432, the descriptor queues 1442, the offload queues 1450, etc.) [0092] If the SMP array 1422 determines that a message is to be retrieved, the method 1700 advances to block 1704, in which the SMP array 1422 retrieves the message from the appropriate message queue.).
access the to-be-transmitted data in the first storage based on the first notification message. (Willis [0101] In data flow 1838, the DMA engine 1434 fetches the payload of the network packet from the packet buffer host address (i.e., in host memory)…. n data flow 1842, the DMA engine 1432 forwards the message to the SMP array 1422. See paragraph 102 for more details about message processing)
Willis does not teach wherein the first hardware device and the first storage are two separate components of the system.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first hardware device and the first storage are two separate components of the system (Chen Figs 4 and 5 and [0114]… As shown in FIG. 4, in addition to a local memory (for example, a DRAM using a DDR interface), a CPU 1 in a CPU resource pool also has remote storage spaces (a storage space A and a storage space B) allocated by a system. Each physical storage space is mapped to a global address space. A mapping relationship of the address space is stored in a driver of a cloud controller corresponding to each CPU [hardware device]…. And [0121] the response command queue module notifies, by means of an interrupt, the CPU 1 that the write complete operation in which an identifier is 0x01 has been received, and the CPU 1 learns that the write operation of writing 1 MB data in the 100.sup.th GB address is complete.)
It would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with the system of Willis to have storage and device in separate components. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Chen into the system of Willis for the purpose of avoiding delays in read/write operations (Chen paragraph 06).
As per claim 2, Willis teaches wherein the integrated processor is obtained by encapsulating the at least one processor and the queue into a chip. (Willis 0065] Accordingly, the communication circuitry 1212 may be configured to use any one or more communication technology (e.g., wired or wireless communications) and associated protocols (e.g., Ethernet, Bluetooth®, Wi-Fi®, WiMAX, etc.) to effect such communication. As noted previously, the illustrative communication circuitry 1212 includes the NIC 1214, which may also be referred to as a smart NIC or an intelligent/smart host fabric interface (HFI), and is described in further detail in FIGS. 13 and 14. The NIC 1214 may be embodied as one or more add-in-boards, daughter cards, network interface cards, controller chips, chipsets, or other devices that may be used by the compute device 1200 to transmit/receive network communications to/from another compute device).
As per claim 3, Willis teaches wherein the queue comprises a plurality of hardware queues, the first hardware queue is one of the plurality of hardware queues, and the first hardware queue is configured to store a notification message of the first hardware device. (Willis [0077] The messaging queue manager 1412 is configured to manage event message queues 1414 between the event logic units 1404 and the SMP array 1422. To do so, the messaging queue manager 1412 is configured to create/destroy the appropriate event message queues 1414 based on the corresponding event logic units 1404. In some embodiments, the messaging queue manager 1412 is additionally configured to enqueue and dequeue messages into/from the appropriate one of the event message queues 1414. The illustrative messaging queue manager 1412 includes one or more fabric event queues 1416 (i.e., for queueing messages received from the fabric event logic unit 1406), one or more MMIO event queues 1418 (i.e., for queueing messages receive from the MMIO event logic unit 1408), and one or more signaling event queues 1420 (i.e., for queueing messages receive from the signaling event logic unit 1410)).
As per claim 4, Willis teaches wherein the queue is configured to identify, in the plurality of hardware queues comprised in the queue, the first hardware queue associated with the first hardware device, and store the first notification message in the first hardware queue. (Willis [0077] The messaging queue manager 1412 is configured to manage event message queues 1414 between the event logic units 1404 and the SMP array 1422. To do so, the messaging queue manager 1412 is configured to create/destroy the appropriate event message queues 1414 based on the corresponding event logic units 1404. In some embodiments, the messaging queue manager 1412 is additionally configured to enqueue and dequeue messages into/from the appropriate one of the event message queues 1414. The illustrative messaging queue manager 1412 includes one or more fabric event queues 1416 (i.e., for queueing messages received from the fabric event logic unit 1406), one or more MMIO event queues 1418 (i.e., for queueing messages receive from the MMIO event logic unit 1408), and one or more signaling event queues 1420 (i.e., for queueing messages receive from the signaling event logic unit 1410)).
As per claim 5, Willis teaches wherein the first hardware device is further configured to generate the first notification message, wherein the first notification message comprises a location identifier and an identifier of the first hardware device, and wherein the location identifier indicates a storage location of the to-be-transmitted data in the first storage. (Willis [0087] As described previously, descriptors are associated with a network packet, or a particular portion thereof. Accordingly, for example, one descriptor may correspond to a payload of the network packet, while another descriptor may correspond to a header of the network packet. The descriptor additionally includes information (i.e., descriptor information) usable to identify a storage location of the associated portion of the network packet, as well as a network protocol associated with a network packet. In some embodiments, the descriptor may include additional information which indicates or is otherwise usable to identify a type of data associated with the network packet, a packet flow of the network packet, etc. Accordingly, the descriptor information may be used to identify one or more operations to be performed thereon. [0088] In block 1506, the host CPU 1328 stores the generated descriptor(s) into an array of descriptors. In some embodiments, the array of descriptors may be structured as a descriptor table stored in a cache memory accessible by the host CPU 1328. It should be appreciated that, in other embodiments, the descriptor(s) may be placed into an alternative cache data structure. In block 1508, the host CPU 1328 identifies the array index corresponding to each location of the stored descriptor(s). In block 1510, the host CPU 1328 places the identified index(es) into a descriptor ring, which may be stored in a cache memory accessible by the host CPU 1328. In block 1512, the host CPU 1328 transmits a notification (i.e., a descriptor notification) to a flexible host interface (e.g., the illustrative flexible host interface 1314 of FIG. 14) of the NIC 1214 which notifies the NIC 1214 that the one or more generated descriptors have been placed into to the array of descriptors and the corresponding index(s) in the descriptor ring. Additionally, in some embodiments, in block 1514, the host CPU 1328 may include in the notification an indication of the number of indices placed into the descriptor ring)
As per claim 6, Willis teaches the queue is configured to send the first notification message to a first processor core, wherein the first processor core is a processor core in the at least one processor; and the first processor core is configured to obtain the first notification message from the first hardware queue, and obtain the to-be-transmitted data from the first storage based on a location identifier comprised in the first notification message.(Willis [0091] Referring now to FIG. 17, in use, the compute device 1200, or more particularly an SMP array of a flexible host interface of the NIC 1214 (the SMP array 1422 of the illustrative flexible host interface 1314 of FIG. 14), may execute a method 1700 for processing messages received at the SMP array. The method 1700 begins in block 1702, in which the SMP array 1422 determines whether to retrieve a message in a message queue (e.g., one of the event message queues 1414, the DMA queues 1432, the descriptor queues 1442, the offload queues 1450, etc.). As described previously, the queued messages may be formatted based on various different protocols. As such, for example, the event logic units 1404 are configured to build messages having data structures based on an associated protocol which is readable by the SMP array 1422. Accordingly, it should be appreciated that the SMP array 1422 can dynamically support processing of multiple protocols, such as may be based on assignment at initialization (e.g., of a virtual function which has been mapped to a particular message queue). [0092] If the SMP array 1422 determines that a message is to be retrieved, the method 1700 advances to block 1704, in which the SMP array 1422 retrieves the message from the appropriate message queue. In block 1706, the SMP array 1422 identifies a core (e.g., one of the processor cores 1424 of FIG. 14) to process the retrieved message. In block 1708, the SMP array 1422, or more particularly the identified core of the SMP array 1422, processes the retrieved message to identify whether any long-latency operations (e.g., a DMA fetch operation) need to be performed. In block 1710, the SMP array 1422 determines whether any long-latency operations were identified. If so, the method 1700 branches to block 1712, in which the SMP array 1422 identifies instructions to be performed as a function of the identified long-latency operation. For example, if the long-latency operation has been identified as a DMA operation, the instructions may include a fetch instruction with any information necessary to perform the DMA fetch operation. In block 1714, the SMP array 1422 generates a message which includes the identified instructions. In block 1716, the SMP array 1422 includes the next step to be performed into the message (e.g., an operation to be performed subsequent to the long-latency operation having completed). In block 1718, the SMP array 1422 transmits the generated message to an appropriate hardware unit scheduler (e.g., the DMA controller 1438 of the illustrative DMA engine 1434 of FIG. 14) to perform the long-latency operation see also paragraph 101-102).
As per claim 7, Willis teaches wherein the first storage comprises a main memory. (Willis Fig 12 Block 1206 (Memory) and [0101] In data flow 1838, the DMA engine 1434 fetches the payload of the network packet from the packet buffer host address (i.e., in host memory). In data flow 1840, upon the fetch operation having completed (i.e., the payload has been fetched from host memory and stored in a temporary buffer, such as the SRAM 1322 or the DDR SDRAM 1326), the DMA engine 1434 generates a message which indicates the payload is available for transmission and to transmit the associated network packet. In data flow 1842, the DMA engine 1432 forwards the message to the SMP array 1422. As noted previously, while not illustratively shown, it should be appreciated that the message is queued in one of the descriptor queues 1442, which allows for the message to be retrieved by the SMP array 1422 at its discretion)
As per claim 8, Willis teaches wherein the network comprises Ethernet or peripheral component interconnect express. (Willis [0073] The flexible host interface 1314 may be embodied as any type of host interface device capable of performing the functions described herein. The flexible host interface 1314 is configured to function as an interface between each of the host CPUs 1328 (e.g., each of the processors 1204 of the compute engine 1202 of FIG. 12) and the NIC 1214. As illustratively shown, the flexible host interface 1314 is configured to function as an interface between the host CPUs 1328 (e.g., one of the processors 1204 of the compute engine 1202 of FIG. 12) and the memory fabric 1306 (e.g., via the memory fabric interface 1304), as well as function as an interface between the host CPUs 1328 and the infrastructure 1316. Accordingly, messages and/or network packet data may be passed therebetween via one or more communication links, such as PCIe interconnects, to provide access to the host memory 1330 (e.g., the memory 1206 of the compute engine 1202 of FIG. 12)).
As per claim 9, Willis teaches wherein the system is used in one of a storage array, a server, or a switch. (Willis [0056] The compute device 1200 may be embodied as a server (e.g., a stand-alone server, a rack server, a blade server, etc.), a compute node, a storage node, a switch (e.g., a disaggregated switch, a rack-mounted switch, a standalone switch, a fully managed switch, a partially managed switch, a full-duplex switch, and/or a half-duplex communication mode enabled switch), a router, and/or a sled in a data center (e.g., one of the sleds 204, 404, 504, 1004, 1130, 1132, 1134), any of which may be embodied as one or more physical and/or virtual devices. As shown in FIG. 12, the illustrative compute device 1200 includes a compute engine 1202, an input/output (I/O) subsystem 1208, one or more data storage devices 1210, communication circuitry 1212, and, in some embodiments, one or more peripheral devices 1216. Of course, in other embodiments, the compute device 1200 may include other or additional components, such as those commonly found in a compute device (e.g., a power supply, cooling component(s), a graphics processing unit (GPU), etc.). It should be appreciated that they types of components may depend on the type and/or intended use of the compute device 1200. For example, in embodiments in which the compute device 1200 is embodied as a compute sled in a data center, the compute device 1200 may not include the data storage devices. Additionally, in some embodiments, one or more of the illustrative components may be incorporated in, or otherwise form a portion of, another component).
As to claim 10, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 11, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 2.
As to claim 12, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 3.
As to claim 20, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 3.
As to claim 13, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 5.
As to claim 14, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 6.
As to claim 15, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 18, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 17, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 7.
As to claim 19, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 8.
As to claim 16, it is rejected based on the same reason as claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply because of the introduction of new art by Chen.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAN KAMRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196