Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/26/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all claims depend from claim 1 so all claims encompass claim 1. This is not found persuasive because invention I is a product and invention II is a method of making the product so as long as the product can be shown to be able to be made by a materially different method restriction is valid regardless of what common limitations they contain.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 109875123 – of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a porous body (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10 and 20 together)) for an electronic vaporization device (Fig. 7) comprising a first surface (Fig. 1, above layer 10) and a second surface (Fig. 1, below layer 20) and at least two-unit layers where one unit layer comprises a liquid locking advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10) and the other unit layer comprising a liquid storage advantage layer combined with a liquid locking advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20; Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches that the liquid storage advantage layer and the liquid locking advantage layer are arranged alternatively from the first to the second surface (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10, 20).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches that the porous body comprises porous aluminum ceramics (Para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches a vaporization core (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 200) for an electronic vaporization device (Fig. 7) comprising a heating body (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 30) and the porous body of claim 1 (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10 and 20) where the heating body is arranged on the surface of the liquid storage advantage layer.
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches that the heating body is made of a metal heating sheet (Para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches an electronic vaporization device (Fig. 7) comprising a liquid storage cavity (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 120), a vaporization cavity (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 320), and the vaporization core (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 200) of claim 16. The surface of the porous body on which the heating body is arranged (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 200; bottom surface) communicates with the vaporization cavity in an air guiding manner (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. R2) and the opposite surface of the porous body on which the heating body is arranged (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 200; top surface) communicates with the liquid storage cavity in a liquid guiding manner (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. R1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 109875123).
Regarding claim 3, Chen does not explicitly teach the thickness of the liquid locking advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10); however, Chen teaches that the thickness of the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20) is 80 µm to 1000 µm (Para. [0046]) and clearly shows that the liquid locking advantage layer is thicker than the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the liquid locking advantage layer have a thickness of greater than 80 µm to 1000 µm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 10 µm to 1000 µm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not explicitly teach the thickness of the whole porous body (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10 and 20); however, Chen teaches that the thickness of the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20) is .08 to 1 mm (Para. [0046]) and clearly shows that the liquid locking advantage layer is thicker than the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to for the whole porous body have a thickness of greater than .08 to 1 mm, which overlaps with the claimed range of .8 to 3 mm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches that the porosity of the liquid locking advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10) is 30% to 60% (Para. [0042]) and that the porosity of the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20) is higher than that (Para. [0043]). That would make the porosity of the whole porous body greater than 30% to 60%, which overlaps with the claimed range of 50% to 75% which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 6, Chen does not explicitly teach the thickness of the liquid locking advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10); however, Chen teaches that the thickness of the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20) is .08 mm to 1 mm (Para. [0046]) and clearly shows that the liquid locking advantage layer is thicker than the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to each unit layer have a thickness of at least .08 mm to 1 mm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 mm to 1.5 mm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches that the liquid storage advantage layer contains a large pore structure (Para. [0043]) and the liquid locking advantage layer has a small pore structure (Para. [0042]). Chen teaches that the pore size of the liquid storage advantage layer is larger than the pore size of the liquid locking advantage layer (Para. [0043]) which overlaps the claimed range of 1.5 to 2.5 times which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches that the liquid storage advantage layer contains a large pore structure (Para. [0043]) and the liquid locking advantage layer has a small pore structure (Para. [0042]). Chen teaches that the average pore size of the small pore structure is 5 to 60 µm (Para. [0042]), which overlaps the claimed range of 15 to 100 µm which is a prima facie case of obviousness. Chen also teaches that the average pore size of the large pore structure is greater than 5 to 60 µm (Para. [0043]), which overlaps the claimed range of 50 to 150 µm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches that the liquid storage advantage layer contains a high porosity (Para. [0043]) and the liquid locking advantage layer has a low porosity (Para. [0042]). Chen teaches that the porosity of the liquid storage advantage layer is larger than the porosity of the liquid locking advantage layer (Para. [0043]) which overlaps the claimed range of 1.2 to 2 times which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches that the liquid storage advantage layer contains a high porosity (Para. [0043]) and the liquid locking advantage layer has a low porosity (Para. [0042]). Chen teaches that the porosity of the low porosity layer is 30% to 60% (Para. [0042]), which overlaps the claimed range of 45% to 70% which is a prima facie case of obviousness. Chen also teaches that the porosity of the high porosity layer is greater than 30% to 60% (Para. [0043]), which overlaps the claimed range of 55% to 90% which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches that the thickness of the liquid storage advantage layer (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20) is .08 to 1 mm (Para. [0046]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 to 1.7 mm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749